Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th August 2020, 04:43   #24061  |  Link
vosya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
There is no functional difference on which side the queue is.
The video renderer I use, Overlay Mixer - it seems to me has no queue at all. Therefore, there is no alternative to a queue in a video decoder.
vosya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2020, 08:03   #24062  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,001
Use a better video renderer. There are no plans to add something like this.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2020, 10:08   #24063  |  Link
vosya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
There are no plans to add something like this.
Not critical, the last couple of years the built-in PotPlayer filters have reached the level that suits me and there is a constant positive dynamics. The need to use LAV Filters, previously absolutely necessary, is constantly decreasing.
vosya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2020, 14:46   #24064  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,529
Overlay Mixer has been deprecated since 2001; it's now 2020, it's long since time to move on. Overlay is great because you hardly have to do anything, the driver takes care of everything. But Overlay means you can't customize anything, because the driver takes care of everything.

Plus, you know, high bit depth? HDR? Shaders? Things that people might like to have in 2020, that Overlay won't give you.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2020, 17:22   #24065  |  Link
vosya
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxyshadis View Post
Things that people might like to have in 2020, that Overlay won't give you.
There are a lot of things that I personally don't need. Including the redundant capabilities of modern video renderers, as well as advice on their choice.
vosya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2020, 19:51   #24066  |  Link
PCU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 112
Why MPEG-4 HW acceleration is unavailable in D3D11? (i5 5th Gen)
PCU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2020, 20:31   #24067  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,001
MPEG-4 acceleration is rather buggy, and any modern CPU can decode it without even breaking a sweat, so simply because its easier not to allow it.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2020, 14:20   #24068  |  Link
PCU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 112
PCU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2020, 22:54   #24069  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,588
madVR get's kinda nuts with progressive decoded 23p dvds.
the file still get's reported as 29p. with film mode it is switching to 23p "correctly" but according to the OSD it doesn't get a deinterlaced flag so why would it even care about film mode or video mode is it maybe present for 1 frame?
so i just want to make sure the frame times are not wrong or something else in the first place before i bring this up to madshi.
there doesn't seem to be a difference between hardware and software decode.

this doesn't happen when the DVD navigator is used the file is then decoded to 29i with hard telecine.
the file has been tested with direct vob file play DVD structure(DVDnavigator) and MKV remux.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2020, 11:36   #24070  |  Link
GTPVHD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 260
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/down...aspx?id=101577

Quote:
DirectX Video Acceleration Specification for AV1 Video Coding
nev, can you please add AV1 hardware decoding to LAV Filters?
GTPVHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2020, 13:01   #24071  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTPVHD View Post
nev, can you please add AV1 hardware decoding to LAV Filters?
Hey, that idea never occured to me.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2020, 22:33   #24072  |  Link
VictorLS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Russian Crimea
Posts: 239
GTPVHD
Thanks for link, it seems news about hardware acceleration of AV1 in future releases of Ampere-based nVIDIA videocards can be true.
VictorLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2020, 23:38   #24073  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,588
https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce...-av1-decoding/

it's been confirmed.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2020, 06:13   #24074  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,842
And for AMD Radeon RX 6000 series of course:
https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pa...or-AMD-VCN-3.0
__________________
Win 10 x64 (19041.450) - Core i3-4170 - Radeon RX 470 (20.8.1)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all
NikosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2020, 22:18   #24075  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
No, this would be a terrible experience. "I changed the stream but audio was still the wrong language for several seconds", yeah, not wasting my time on that, sorry.
Is it possible to implement this only for subtitles? That is, there will be no such issues with audio.
__________________
R3 2200G / Vega8 / Samsung UE40NU7100
Win10Pro 1909 / 4K RGB 59Hz / AMD 20.1.3
MPC-HC 1.9.1 / madVR 0.92.17 / FSW / 10bit@59Hz

Last edited by DMU; 21st September 2020 at 22:35.
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2020, 22:54   #24076  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,001
The same thing would happen with subtitles, and potentially even more pronounced since subtitles themselves can show for a longer time. You would switch it and only see the switch after several seconds of playback.
The current solution is the best compromise available. A tiny playback glitch when the user presses a button is not very disruptive.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.