Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th March 2011, 13:14   #1  |  Link
billsantos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 21
any way to install Nero 7 and keep Nero 8 on XP SP3?

Recently tried to install Nero 7 so that I could use the encoders from it for DD extraction using eac3to. However, when trying to install, I get the message that the newer version I have (Nero 8) must be uninstalled first and I really don't want to do this. I would like to be able to use the encoders from Nero 7 rather than the default in eac3to for the audio extractions. Currently using XP PS3 as OS. Any way to make this work? Thanks.
billsantos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2011, 19:49   #2  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,478
You can (try to, at least) decompress the Nero 7 installer with the "Universal Extractor", copy the required files, and do the subsequent 'registry-trickery' . Since Nero 7 is a quite-old application already , it's very-probable its installer is not «uniextract-resistant».

Last edited by Midzuki; 20th March 2011 at 19:51. Reason: grammar
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2011, 00:03   #3  |  Link
shon3i
BluRay Maniac
 
shon3i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midzuki View Post
You can (try to, at least) decompress the Nero 7 installer with the "Universal Extractor", copy the required files, and do the subsequent 'registry-trickery' . Since Nero 7 is a quite-old application already , it's very-probable its installer is not «uniextract-resistant».
And it work flawlessly on Windows 7, and maybe last nero that i installed, before jump on ImgBurn.
__________________
ChapterGen - manipulate with chapters in various i/o formats, with CLI support
Official website or Doom9 thread
shon3i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2011, 02:06   #4  |  Link
billsantos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 21
Thanks, guys, but what I ended up doing was just uninstalling Nero 8 from my identically cloned PC and installing Nero 7. I can afford to not have Nero 8 on that one because I hardly ever use it.
billsantos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.