Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th November 2009, 14:38   #1  |  Link
mdoubledragon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 33
Which H.264 decoder in Windows 7?

I recently installed Windows 7 and found out that it includes an H.264 decoder. I was just wondering which one is it. Did they license it from someone or did they come up with their own?
mdoubledragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 15:04   #2  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,134
AFAIK it's their own. And it should be noted that it only works inside Windows Media Player and Windows Media Center. Tools like Media Player Classic are locked out.

At the same time other H.264 decoders are locked out from Windows Media Player/Center. At least if you don't use a special tool to circumvent the lock and force your preferred filter in.

And even that won't work always. Well, CoreCodec has announced the CoreAVC 2.0 will work in Windows Media Player/Center without "hacks", but I have no what they did...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 15:14   #3  |  Link
fastplayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
AFAIK it's their own. And it should be noted that it only works inside Windows Media Player and Windows Media Center. Tools like Media Player Classic are locked out.
"Microsoft DTV-DVD Video Decoder" works just fine inside MPC-HC.
fastplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 15:44   #4  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,134
How can it work in a DirectShow-based player when it's implemented as a MediaFoundation filter? Do they provide a DirectShow wrapper or what ???
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 15:53   #5  |  Link
Keiyakusha
契約者
 
Keiyakusha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,576
Have no idea about MF, but their decoder works fine in directshow-based players. It can decode mpeg1-2 too and supports DXVA (for all these formats) if connected to EVR. However its slooow in software.
Keiyakusha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 15:59   #6  |  Link
fastplayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 799
It's implemented both as MF and DS.
You must've missed the whole "Win7-uses-only-MS-DS-filters" story.
fastplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 18:43   #7  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,134
No, I didn't miss it. Microsoft has started using MediaFoundation filters indeed. Those MediaFoundation filters have a higher priority than any DirectShow filters in Windows Media Player/Center.

Even with clsid's tool, we can't "force" the WMP/WMC to use custom DirectShow filters, as soon as it is using MediaFoundation. And of course the MediaFoundation filters don't work in DirectShow players!

That said, there also are "new" DirectShow filters. And those M$ filters are preferred over third-party DirectShow filters too. But, in contrast to MediaFoundation, we can hack the "preferred" DirectShow filters.

If the "Microsoft DTV-DVD Video Decoder" works in Media Player Classic, then it's obviously one of those "preferred" DirectShow filters and not one of the new MediaFoundation filters. My bad
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 30th November 2009 at 18:45.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 20:11   #8  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,087
With the latest version of the tweak tool it is possible to disable the Microsoft decoders (by renaming their corresponding DLL files).
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 20:32   #9  |  Link
mdoubledragon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 33
So they implemented their own H.264 decoder! Would be interesting to see how does it compare in performance to other decoders. I doubt it will be even close to CoreAVC or Divx (in software) but if its faster than FFMPEG, then they have done a reasonable job.
mdoubledragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 20:45   #10  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,134
Now that I noticed the Micorosft decoder can be used as a DirectShow filter, I have updated my recent speed comparision:
http://85.230.118.136/showpost.php?p...&postcount=179

Summary: It's slightly slower than ffdshow (FFmpeg-MT), which means it is MUCH slower than the fastest one (currently DiAVC) and also slower than CoreAVC/DivX.

(BTW: I have no idea why the M$ decoder reports those absurdly high "fps" values, but you must look at "dfps" or at the "real" decoding time)
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 30th November 2009 at 20:55.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 21:08   #11  |  Link
Keiyakusha
契約者
 
Keiyakusha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
(BTW: I have no idea why the M$ decoder reports those absurdly high "fps" values, but you must look at "dfps" or at the "real" decoding time)
With Graphstudio it shows not even high but astronomical fps values. Maybe its somewhat broken...
Keiyakusha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 21:13   #12  |  Link
stax76
Registered Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,427
I wonder which decoder people use with DirectShowSource and european HD DVB captures?
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 21:15   #13  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
I wonder which decoder people use with DirectShowSource and european HD DVB captures?
I currently use CoreAVC. Works perfectly fine with DVBViewer. However there's only one HD channel (EinsFestival HD) available through DVB-S1 at my location currently.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 30th November 2009 at 21:40.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2009, 21:39   #14  |  Link
stax76
Registered Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,427
DivX and MS also work in DVBViewer but ffdshow produces macro blocks. In StaxRip I want to create a grf file using the dshow API, I hope it's possible and not too painful.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009, 17:54   #15  |  Link
avivahl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 215
I wonder... is there a way to benchmark the decoder when it runs w/ DXVA?
avivahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009, 18:03   #16  |  Link
ChronoReverse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 143
Interestingly enough, Microsoft's DXVA implementation uses less cpu than CoreAVC CUDA or MPCHC DXVA on my system.
ChronoReverse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009, 18:05   #17  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,134
Haali's TimeCodec supports VMR7, VMR9, Overlay Mixer and Null Renderer.

If the decoder supports DXVA with one of those renderers (that would be VMR9, I guess), the benchmarking should work...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 17:15   #18  |  Link
Cyber-Mav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 244
im using graphedit how would i go about benchmarking the various codecs using timecodec. i would be greatful if you could help.
Cyber-Mav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 17:18   #19  |  Link
Keiyakusha
契約者
 
Keiyakusha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,576
timecodec is a separate app, i don't think it has something to do with graphedit
Keiyakusha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 17:43   #20  |  Link
Cyber-Mav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 244
thankyou, i just figured it out now and all is well. i will be doing some codec benches now
Cyber-Mav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.