Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th October 2008, 15:43   #6741  |  Link
itsancho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 29
btw, madshi, is there any chance eac3to to report if AC3 track is DD-EX?
10x again and again...
;-)
itsancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 16:06   #6742  |  Link
svgame
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 17
thank you Madshi,just there has a problem.i make 3 step
1) use eac3to demux TrueHD track directly from BD/HD
2) type command "eac3to 00001.thd audio.thd" "eac3to 00001.thd audio.ac3",demuxing to ac3 core and lossless part
3) rename audio.thd to audio.mlp,and import to Scenarist.at 100%,its hung!!!about 2 minute,get a error message "External component has thrown an exception"
where is problem?Madshi
svgame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 17:45   #6743  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACrowley
WOW ! Nice now i can get 7Ch Output from, DTS ES 6.1 Matrix Tracks.
I made a few Tests with DTS ES 6.1 Matrix and it looks right to me ?! The BC output from arcsoft -7 looks/sound Ok
I'll wait for tebasuna51's check...
Not all Ok here.
If we name source channels like Rear: RL, RR, RC and

RL' = +90º phase shift RL
RR' = -90º phase shift RR

seems the phase shift is make at encoder phase and is the same for 'matrix' and 'discrete' DTS-ES in all the tests.

The output channels after encode to 3/3.1 DTS-ES discrete and decoded with ArcSoft:

1) 3/3.1 -> 5.1 (like previous test)

SL = RL' + 0.71 x RC
SR = RR' + 0.71 x RC
Ok

2) 3/3.1 -> 6.1

BC = RC
SL = RL'
SR = RR'
Ok

3) 3/3.1 -> 7.1

SL = 0.40 x RL' + 0.60 x RC
SR = 0.40 x RR' + 0.60 x RC
BL = 0.75 x RL'
BR = 0.75 x RR'
Seems wrong: RC only in Side and most Rear part in Back, I think must be the other way, Side <-> Back

----------------------------
The output channels after encode to 3/3.1 DTS-ES matrix and decoded with ArcSoft:

1) 3/3.1 -> 5.1

SL = RL' + 0.71 x RC
SR = RR' + 0.71 x RC
Ok

2) 3/3.1 -> 7.1

SL = 0.71 x RL' + 0.50 x RC
SR = 0.71 x RR' + 0.50 x RC
BL = 0.71 x RL' + 0.50 x RC
BR = 0.71 x RR' + 0.50 x RC
For me seems ArcSoft can't recover the RC mixed in RL-RR because RC must be present only in Back channels.

3) 3/3.1 -> 6.1, eac3to crash with this bugreport.txt

The report was made with 2.70 but is the same with 2.72, I send the 2.70 bug because was made after a reset with the minimum of soft running.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 18:48   #6744  |  Link
piratburner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexor View Post
eac3to does not produce m2ts files. it's a demuxing tool (it only stores video into mkv if you tell it to). So your best bet is to use eac3to to convet that DTS-HD into something TSmuxer can work with. Ask the guys in TSmuxer thread regarding which formats that tool is good for.
OK if I use eac3to with -demux I got all files I need, can I then use this files to make a m2ts file ? if so wich program ? TsMuxer ?
piratburner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 18:53   #6745  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by piratburner View Post
OK if I use eac3to with -demux I got all files I need, can I then use this files to make a m2ts file ? if so wich program ? TsMuxer ?
Yes. eac3to+TSMuxer.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 19:14   #6746  |  Link
odin24
Registered User
 
odin24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Great North (the better half of North America)
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by rica View Post
Yes. eac3to+TSMuxer.

If the -demux feature is used does this demux the entire BD/HDDVD? Or is -demux used for specific streams in a track. Normally I would specify which stream I want along with it's destiation without using -demux.
odin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 19:22   #6747  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
It will demux the entire title you set.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 19:30   #6748  |  Link
piratburner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautilus7 View Post
It will demux the entire title you set.
I using this command...
L:\leon>eac3to h:\bt\LEON 1) -demux


Then I going to test this in TsMuxeR instead for the original m2ts files,

Its looks there are a bug in TsMuxer for 7.1 DTS-HD
piratburner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 19:51   #6749  |  Link
odin24
Registered User
 
odin24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Great North (the better half of North America)
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by piratburner View Post
I using this command...
L:\leon>eac3to h:\bt\LEON 1) -demux


Then I going to test this in TsMuxeR instead for the original m2ts files,

Its looks there are a bug in TsMuxer for 7.1 DTS-HD

DTS-HD 7.1 works fine for me, HDDVD --> BD with DTSHD-MA 7.1, using tsMuxeR. All demuxed using eac3to. Maybe try demuxing the individual track instead of the whole disc.

Leon, as in the Professional on BD? Not in North America yet , one of my favs!
odin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 19:52   #6750  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautilus7 View Post
It will demux the entire title you set.
Actually, only the first of however many video streams.
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 20:35   #6751  |  Link
piratburner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by odin24 View Post
DTS-HD 7.1 works fine for me, HDDVD --> BD with DTSHD-MA 7.1, using tsMuxeR. All demuxed using eac3to. Maybe try demuxing the individual track instead of the whole disc.

Leon, as in the Professional on BD? Not in North America yet , one of my favs!
Yes !
Léon 1994 Ultimate Edition 1080p Blu-ray GER AVC DTS-HD MA 7.1

With English sound

Here is a trackname for one DTS-HD when using -demux ....
00005 - 3 - DTS Hi-Res, German, 7.1 channels, 24 bits, 2864kbps, 48khz.dtshr


When playing a original m2ts file from Léon i have sound from my TviX but after TsMuxer = No Sound :-(

Last edited by piratburner; 27th October 2008 at 20:41.
piratburner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 20:45   #6752  |  Link
piratburner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by odin24 View Post
DTS-HD 7.1 works fine for me, HDDVD --> BD with DTSHD-MA 7.1, using tsMuxeR. All demuxed using eac3to. Maybe try demuxing the individual track instead of the whole disc.
Are you always using eac3to to demux a BD and then TsMuxer ??


I have always used TsMuxer from original BD and make a "movie only" m2ts, So I will see how it works when using eac3to first :-)
piratburner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 20:45   #6753  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by odin24 View Post
If the -demux feature is used does this demux the entire BD/HDDVD? Or is -demux used for specific streams in a track. Normally I would specify which stream I want along with it's destiation without using -demux.
I don't use -demux option. I specify the files as well.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 21:44   #6754  |  Link
piratburner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by piratburner View Post
Are you always using eac3to to demux a BD and then TsMuxer ??


I have always used TsMuxer from original BD and make a "movie only" m2ts, So I will see how it works when using eac3to first :-)
Ok I got this 2 files from eac3to ... using -demux
00005 - 2 - h264, 1080p24.h264
00005 - 4 - DTS Hi-Res, English, 7.1 channels, 24 bits, 2864kbps, 48khz.dtshr

Add this 2 into TsMuxeR -> M2TS muxing -> play the file from TviX And I got NO sound

Used version 1.8.8
piratburner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 21:59   #6755  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
Obviously the problem is NOT eac3to. Why do you keep posting here? It would be better to open a new thread and discuss your problem there.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 22:10   #6756  |  Link
shroomM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 46
Hey,

first, a big thank you for the program, it is a godsend
But I do have a couple of quick questions...

I have a RAW/PCM, 5.1 channels, 16 bits, 48khz track and would like to encode it to Dolby Digital 5.1. I know I can encode using eac3to by just specifying the output file as .ac3, but here's what I'm more interested in...

When I demux the PCM track, here's the eac3to's output...

Code:
[a04] Reading RAW/PCM...
[a04] Swapping endian...
[a04] Remapping channels...
[a04] Swapping endian...
[a04] Remapping channels...
[a04] Creating file "D:\bluray\eng.pcm"...
If I later run eac3to with the syntax eac3to D:\bluray\eng.pcm D:\bluray\eng_flac.flac, the output is....

Code:
This might be a RAW/PCM file. Trying to figure out the details.
This will probably take a while. Please be patient...
The RAW/PCM file seems to be big endian.
The RAW/PCM file seems to have a bitdepth of 16 bits.
The RAW/PCM file seems to have 6 channels.
RAW/PCM, 5.1 channels, 0:08:28, 16 bits, 4608kbps, 48khz
This is probably a Blu-ray PCM track. Will remap channels accordingly.
Reading RAW/PCM...
Swapping endian...
Remapping channels...
Encoding FLAC with libFlac...
I'm now wondering ... is the ordering of channels in the FLAC file OK or is it swapped?

The second question is about downmixing 5.1 to stereo (I know it's pretty much obsolete, but I need it in this case)...

Assuming that the FLAC file above is OK (channels and all), can I just load that FLAC in i.e. meGUI (provided that I have madFlac installed). Would that downmix be OK?

Is the alternative, adding a -down2 to eac3to when generating the FLAC also OK ?
shroomM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 22:47   #6757  |  Link
himan2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 22
Quote:
2. Is there a way with eac3to to demux in 1 step TrueHD track directly from BD/HD into ac3 core and lossless part (for Scenarist)?
I tried it with HD DVD yesterday and i made 2 steps: 1) thd+ac3 track creation 2) demuxing to ac3 and mlp. It's not a problem for me, just curious.
Still the same "issue" with DTS and the -core option.

I personly dislike 7.1 downmixing from DTS-HD 7.1 files, when
a "clean" 5.1 core is present.

But is not possible to reencode directly in 1 step to ac3 from the -core. eac3to always sees the 7.1 MA and try to downmix from the extention. At the moment, first the -core must be exported, than you can ac3-encode from the 5.1 core.
himan2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 23:01   #6758  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by himan2001 View Post
Still the same "issue" with DTS and the -core option.

I personly dislike 7.1 downmixing from DTS-HD 7.1 files, when
a "clean" 5.1 core is present.

But is not possible to reencode directly in 1 step to ac3 from the -core. eac3to always sees the 7.1 MA and try to downmix from the extention. At the moment, first the -core must be exported, than you can ac3-encode from the 5.1 core.
Core is not an independent file as in THD+ac3 (BD);
it can not be read individually since core is an obligation for DTS-HD format: system works in this manner: core+extensions.
So if you want to re-encode it to ac3, eac3to must decode and downmix before encoding in case of extension is 7.1.

EDIT:
Some points:
If you want to extract core dts (5.1) as is, use -core option.
When you try to re-encode (or to make a simple revision like convert 24 to 16), not only eac3to but any program has to decode the original file first.
If you don't ask eac3to extracting core, it is gonna directly try to decode DTS-HD which is 7.1 in your case.
But default encoder (aften) is not able to encode to 7.1; so the original has to be downconverted to 5.1 by eac3to.
Unless you use a pro encoder by Dolby, you will never able to get an 7.1 dolby re-encode; even in this case, as you guess, eac3to must firstly decode your DTS-HD.
So difference between you and the guy from whom you taken the quote is;
he is getting/or extracting a seperate ac3 (as is) from thd+ac3 combination -it is not a core,
but he has to make a second command line since it needs a lossless thd as well.
you, on the other hand, are re-encoding DTS-HD, not core.
So the way you follow;
extracting core dts
and later,
converting it to 5.1 is normal process.
BTW; shift+arrow up repeats your previous command.

Last edited by rica; 28th October 2008 at 02:23.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2008, 03:05   #6759  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by shroomM View Post
...
I'm now wondering ... is the ordering of channels in the FLAC file OK or is it swapped?
Must be Ok. If you detect any problem please report it.

Quote:
The second question is about downmixing 5.1 to stereo (I know it's pretty much obsolete, but I need it in this case)...

Assuming that the FLAC file above is OK (channels and all), can I just load that FLAC in i.e. meGUI (provided that I have madFlac installed). Would that downmix be OK?
Why not?

Quote:
Is the alternative, adding a -down2 to eac3to when generating the FLAC also OK ?
Of course. Test yourself.

If the raw/pcm track from your BD is the 'x' you can use directly:
eac3to D:\bluray x: D:\bluray\eng_flac2.flac -down2
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2008, 09:39   #6760  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Not all Ok here.
If we name source channels like Rear: RL, RR, RC and

RL' = +90º phase shift RL
RR' = -90º phase shift RR

seems the phase shift is make at encoder phase and is the same for 'matrix' and 'discrete' DTS-ES in all the tests.

The output channels after encode to 3/3.1 DTS-ES discrete and decoded with ArcSoft:

1) 3/3.1 -> 5.1 (like previous test)

SL = RL' + 0.71 x RC
SR = RR' + 0.71 x RC
Ok

2) 3/3.1 -> 6.1

BC = RC
SL = RL'
SR = RR'
Ok

3) 3/3.1 -> 7.1

SL = 0.40 x RL' + 0.60 x RC
SR = 0.40 x RR' + 0.60 x RC
BL = 0.75 x RL'
BR = 0.75 x RR'
Seems wrong: RC only in Side and most Rear part in Back, I think must be the other way, Side <-> Back

----------------------------
The output channels after encode to 3/3.1 DTS-ES matrix and decoded with ArcSoft:

1) 3/3.1 -> 5.1

SL = RL' + 0.71 x RC
SR = RR' + 0.71 x RC
Ok

2) 3/3.1 -> 7.1

SL = 0.71 x RL' + 0.50 x RC
SR = 0.71 x RR' + 0.50 x RC
BL = 0.71 x RL' + 0.50 x RC
BR = 0.71 x RR' + 0.50 x RC
For me seems ArcSoft can't recover the RC mixed in RL-RR because RC must be present only in Back channels.

3) 3/3.1 -> 6.1, eac3to crash with this bugreport.txt

The report was made with 2.70 but is the same with 2.72, I send the 2.70 bug because was made after a reset with the minimum of soft running.
mhhh...youre right.
I compared only the BC Channels.
And the BC looks fully identical as you can see in my Post

But i think this can be fixed ?
I hope so ,because i have a lot of dts es 6.1 "Matrix" Tracks on my HDD ,waitnig for a proper Method to decode all 7 CH for a reencode ( all PAL Audio Tracks/Target is PAL to NTSC-reencode to dts es 6.1 "discrete")

On the other Side, i dont think the 6.1 Output from matrix 6.1from Arcsoft is sooooo wrong..better then nothing ?!
ACrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.