Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th May 2008, 22:51   #4941  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
I got this already:



But the right track info has been given in the first SS.

Track 3 was what i wanted.


Last edited by rica; 25th May 2008 at 23:02.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2008, 00:02   #4942  |  Link
saint-francis
too much lurking
 
saint-francis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 668
I suggest we split the eac3to thread into two separate threads; one for development and related topics and one for general questions. This thread is getting enormous and finding answers by using search is surely difficult if not like trying to find a needle in a hay stack.
saint-francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2008, 01:12   #4943  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
Totally agree with you.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2008, 10:31   #4944  |  Link
Joniii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 284
I've got one .ddp track that won't decode to DTS. EAC3TO gives error (this track is not clean...). I've tried DelayCut (selected fix crc errors), I always end up with file that is only about 100 Mb, original is about 1 Gb. Am I doing something wrong or is this file unrepairable?
Joniii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2008, 10:34   #4945  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,372
I'm new to eac3to, and am having some trouble converting DTS-HD to AC3 for my 'Sunshine' Bluray disk. Using tsRemuxeR, I demuxed the main audio stream first, then I used the following command to convert the demuxed DTS-HD stream:

eac3to.exe 00001.track_4352.dts 00001.track_4352.ac3 -640 -down6 -8ms

When I remux the lot, what I get is a file that will not stream at all: very jittery, that is; like it's < 10 fps (TwonkyMedia). But the sound is okay! If I stream the original .m2ts file, I hear no sound (which is logical, as I use the Optical Cable on my PS3, which doesn't support DTS-HD). So, it's not a bandwidth issue; at least, none that I can think of. The new AC3 track is only about 500MB, when done. Seems fair to me; but apparently it's not. :) The new, remuxed, .m2ts file plays just fine from my hard-disk, btw.

So, what could cause this to happen? This is the output of eac3to:

DTS Master Audio, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48khz
The Sonic decoder doesn't seem to work, will use libav instead.
The libav DTS decoder doesn't decode the full DTS-HD information.
Extracting DTS core...
Remapping channels...
Loading white noise (needed for dithering)...
Applying RAW/PCM delay...
Encoding AC3...
Creating file 00001.track_4352.ac3...
eac3to processing took 2 minutes, 37 seconds.
Done.

Thanks.
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2008, 11:09   #4946  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joniii View Post
I've got one .ddp track that won't decode to DTS. EAC3TO gives error (this track is not clean...). I've tried DelayCut (selected fix crc errors), I always end up with file that is only about 100 Mb, original is about 1 Gb. Am I doing something wrong or is this file unrepairable?
Make sure your delaycut version is 1.3.0.0. If you get a lot of errors, then your track might be severely damaged.

Where did you get that ddp track and how did you demux it? Re-ripping the disc might solve the problem.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2008, 11:17   #4947  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by asarian View Post
I'm new to eac3to, and am having some trouble converting DTS-HD to AC3 for my 'Sunshine' Bluray disk. Using tsRemuxeR, I demuxed the main audio stream first, then I used the following command to convert the demuxed DTS-HD stream:

eac3to.exe 00001.track_4352.dts 00001.track_4352.ac3 -640 -down6 -8ms

When I remux the lot, what I get is a file that will not stream at all: very jittery, that is; like it's < 10 fps (TwonkyMedia). But the sound is okay! If I stream the original .m2ts file, I hear no sound (which is logical, as I use the Optical Cable on my PS3, which doesn't support DTS-HD). So, it's not a bandwidth issue; at least, none that I can think of. The new AC3 track is only about 500MB, when done. Seems fair to me; but apparently it's not. The new, remuxed, .m2ts file plays just fine from my hard-disk, btw.

So, what could cause this to happen? This is the output of eac3to:

DTS Master Audio, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48khz
The Sonic decoder doesn't seem to work, will use libav instead.
The libav DTS decoder doesn't decode the full DTS-HD information.
Extracting DTS core...
Remapping channels...
Loading white noise (needed for dithering)...
Applying RAW/PCM delay...
Encoding AC3...
Creating file 00001.track_4352.ac3...
eac3to processing took 2 minutes, 37 seconds.
Done.

Thanks.
Not sure what's wrong, but you can try the following:

* Use the original .m2ts file as input in eac3to and don't demux the track with tsmuxer.
* Don't use the -down6 switch, since both sonic and libav decoders output 6 channels.

I also suggest you use the sonic decoder (if you don't have it, buy it ), since it decodes the full dts-hd info, and your ac3 track will (theoretically) sound better.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2008, 13:52   #4948  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautilus7 View Post
Not sure what's wrong, but you can try the following:

* Use the original .m2ts file as input in eac3to and don't demux the track with tsmuxer.
* Don't use the -down6 switch, since both sonic and libav decoders output 6 channels.

I also suggest you use the sonic decoder (if you don't have it, buy it :p ), since it decodes the full dts-hd info, and your ac3 track will (theoretically) sound better.
Thanks for your extensive answer. :)

Sonic works, but, sadly, the result was the same: video drops to < 10fps. I also tried to take the original m2ts file as input, but I get

1: Chapters, 32 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: DTS Master Audio, English, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48khz, -9ms
4: AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 384kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -23ms
5: DTS, German, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbit/s, 48khz, -9ms
6: DTS, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbit/s, 48khz, -9ms
7: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 224kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -23ms
8: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 224kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -23ms
Track 4 is used for destination file "00001.ac3".

Uhhm, no, I don't wanna use Track 4 (which seems to be commentary track). I want Track 3, converted to AC3, instead. Is there a way I can force eac3to to use a specific track? I couldn't find a switch for it.

I'm still baffled, though, as to why the video framerate drops so significantly in the stream. Interestingly enough, if I actually DO use track 2 + 3, within tsRemuxeR, the resulting m2ts file streams just fine (but you get the Director's Commentary dubbed over the sound). So, it almost must be related to the new AC3 stream, but I don't know why.
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2008, 14:08   #4949  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
You command line should be:

Code:
eac3to input.m2ts 3: output.ac3
This way you'll get a perfect audio track. Regarding video, i can't really help since i don't use tsmuxer (your output is .m2ts, right?). I believe you should ask there (tsmuxer's thread) for an answer.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2008, 15:11   #4950  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautilus7 View Post
You command line should be:

Code:
eac3to input.m2ts 3: output.ac3
This way you'll get a perfect audio track. Regarding video, i can't really help since i don't use tsmuxer (your output is .m2ts, right?). I believe you should ask there (tsmuxer's thread) for an answer.
You're a brilliant man! It's solved now!

Actually, I don't think it was the AC3 stream at all. But taking your advice a bit further, I decided NOT to demux the video first, either, and instead just to click away everything but the H.264 VC-1 stream, and then to add the new AC3 stream. And voila! now it's perfect again.

I guess something in the demuxed video stream gets screwed up (even though it would play just fine from harddisk) that is required for proper streaming; that's why the original stream + DTS-HD would play well streamed too: because it wasn't demuxed first (and why I mistakingly thought the new audio must be at fault).

Ok, well, thank you again very much! And I'll go talk to the tsRemuxeR folks about the demuxing weirdness.

__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2008, 18:48   #4951  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by asarian View Post
You're a brilliant man! It's solved now!
Nice and... thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by asarian View Post
... the H.264 VC-1 stream...
Maybe a typo mistake, but it's H.264 or MPEG-4 AVC or just AVC.

VC-1 it's a complete different codec (by Microsoft).
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2008, 18:53   #4952  |  Link
laserfan
Aging Video Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Off the Map
Posts: 2,461
From Post #1 and eac3to built-in Help:
Code:
eac3to v2.46, freeware by madshi.net...

Options:
-448              use "192", "448" or "640" kbit/s for AC3 encoding...
I'm one of those wierd guys that reads this stuff, and after I used BeLight/BeSweet to re-code an AC3 from 640kbps to 384kbps (to meet a filesize need) and was unhappy with the result, I tried instead eac3to w/the -384 param and it worked! The Help should be fixed--I wonder what other params could be used that it's not telling us about?
laserfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2008, 19:19   #4953  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
When i ask madshi about this (yes, i did exactly the same question), he told me that he didn't put all this bitrates in the 1st post/help in order not to make them long and tough to read.

Of course all legal bitrates are supported for AC3 and dts encoding.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2008, 19:20   #4954  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautilus7 View Post
Nice and... thanks! :)

Maybe a typo mistake, but it's H.264 or MPEG-4 AVC or just AVC.

VC-1 it's a complete different codec (by Microsoft).
Brain typo. :) Meant AVC, of course.
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2008, 04:10   #4955  |  Link
laserfan
Aging Video Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Off the Map
Posts: 2,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautilus7 View Post
When i ask madshi about this (yes, i did exactly the same question), he told me that he didn't put all this bitrates in the 1st post/help in order not to make them long and tough to read.

Of course all legal bitrates are supported for AC3 and dts encoding.
Then the Help should read simply "supports all legal AC3 bitrates"!!!
laserfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2008, 12:19   #4956  |  Link
Jaja1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 59
Got a missing sync byte error in Finding Neverland. What's does that mean? And is there any way to repair or avoid this error?

Quote:
eac3to v2.46
command line: eac3to 00000.m2ts 2:d:\Finding_1.mkv 3:d:\Finding_1.ac3
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 1 video track, 8 audio tracks, 0:58:34
1: Chapters, 8 chapters
2: MPEG2, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: RAW/PCM, English, 5.1 channels, 16 bits, 48khz
4: AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 640kbit/s, 48khz
5: DTS, Italian, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1536kbit/s, 48khz
6: AC3, Italian, 5.1 channels, 640kbit/s, 48khz
7: DTS, German, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1536kbit/s, 48khz
8: AC3, German, 5.1 channels, 640kbit/s, 48khz
9: DTS, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 16 bits, 1536kbit/s, 48khz
10: AC3, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 640kbit/s, 48khz
[v02] Extracting video track number 2...
[a03] Extracting audio track number 3...
[a03] Reading RAW/PCM...
[a03] Swapping endian...
[a03] Remapping channels...
[a03] Encoding AC3...
[v02] Muxing video to Matroska...
[a03] Creating file "d:\Finding_1.ac3"...
[v02] This TS/M2TS file seems to be damaged (sync byte missing).
[a03] This TS/M2TS file seems to be damaged (sync byte missing).
Aborted at file position 3761389568.
Jaja1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2008, 13:24   #4957  |  Link
BlackJack1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 71
Used eac3to app. many times w/o problems before but newest version gave me undone job
Demuxing main video track, chapers and eac3 640 kbps track I received this:
Quote:
eac3to v2.46
command line: eac3to "d:\goodfellas\hvdvd_ts\pevob_1.evo"+"d:\goodfellas\hvdvd_ts\pevob_2.evo" 2: d:\googfellas.txt 3: d:\goodfellas.mkv 4: d:\goodfellas.ac3
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
EVO, 1 video track, 5 audio tracks, 5 subtitle tracks, 2:25:27
"Feature Presentation"
1: Joined EVO file
2: Chapters, 48 chapters with names
3: VC-1, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9) with pulldown flags
4: E-AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 640kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
5: E-AC3, French, 2.0 channels, 192kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
6: E-AC3, German, 2.0 channels, 192kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
7: E-AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
"Cast and crew commentary"
8: E-AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 192kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
"Cop and crook commentary"
9: Subtitle, English
10: Subtitle, English, "SDH"
11: Subtitle, French
12: Subtitle, German
13: Subtitle, German, "SDH"
Creating file "d:\googfellas.txt"...
[v03] Extracting video track number 3...
[v03] Muxing video to Matroska...
[a04] Extracting audio track number 4...
[a04] Removing dialog normalization...
[a04] Decoding with DirectShow (Nero Audio Decoder 2)...
[a04] This track is not clean. Processing aborted.
[a04] Please clean the track with delaycut and then retry eac3to.
[a04] DirectShow reports 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48khz
[a04] Encoding AC3...
Aborted at file position 163840.
How can I clean track with delaycut if it's not accept *.evo files...?
BlackJack1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2008, 17:16   #4958  |  Link
Jaja1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 59
Quote:
How can I clean track with delaycut if it's not accept *.evo files...?
You can demux the audiotrack with evodemux or xport. And clean it with delaycut.
Jaja1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2008, 17:25   #4959  |  Link
Henry The Ripper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaja1 View Post
You can demux the audiotrack with evodemux or xport. And clean it with delaycut.
Does delaycut support .eac3 tracks? Witch version?
Henry The Ripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2008, 19:59   #4960  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
v1.3.0.0

http://madshi.net/delaycut.rar
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.