Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th September 2007, 15:10   #141  |  Link
The Scientist
Registered User
 
The Scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 275
I've just tried: http://www.clonead.co.uk/ worked fine.
The Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2007, 15:21   #142  |  Link
weaver4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 925
Just tried it again. I get an error.

http://www.clonead.co.uk/

What is the IP address? Could be DNS entry problem.

Also tried www.dvduk.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk and it did not work either.

I am in the US, east coast.

Last edited by weaver4; 14th September 2007 at 15:29.
weaver4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2007, 20:27   #143  |  Link
weaver4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 925
The link is now working again.

BTW: I think it was a DNS problem not a server problem because my local DNS server could not resolve the IP address.
weaver4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2007, 19:00   #144  |  Link
The Scientist
Registered User
 
The Scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 275
I forgot about index.NET when I changed some paths for avi.NET thus index.NET will not work with the v2.5.6.0 (14th Sep). Fixed version re-uploaded, sorry.

Use v2.5.6.0 (15th Sep).
The Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 22:23   #145  |  Link
fana
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Hello!

First of all, thank you for the great program and support.

I installed the latest version (15th september) and avi.net keeps crashing. It happens after indexing, just when the message "Loading Movie" appears. The program is then closed without any notice.

I then downloaded your support pack and installed everything. Same error. Tried with another DVD and nothing, both from the direct source and the pgc.net file.

The older version worked just fine.

These are my specs:

Windows Vista 32bits Ultimate
Xvid 1.1.3
Vobsub 2.2.3
Avisyth 2.5.7
avi.net 2.5.6.0 (15th september)

Pentium IV 3.0
1024 RAM

I had it working fine with version 2.5.1.0

Hope you can help me figuring this one out.
fana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2007, 12:16   #146  |  Link
J-Wo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 216
Hi Scientist! I just started to use your great program for my DivX encodes and had a couple questions:

1) Which quantization matrix is used for DivX? I rather like the H263 Optimized matrix but I'm not sure which one the program uses

2) Can I manually edit the AVS file before the encode? I'm converting a tv show (Dexter S1) and avi.net (as does DGIndex) detects the material as 29.9fps interlaced. However a simple telecide/decimate will produce 23.976fps progressive frames. With avi.net my only choices are to leave the material interlaced or deinterlace and encode as 29.9fps progressive

3) Is it possible to select a "no resize" option? I encode my dvds at 720x480 with 16:9 NTSC pixal aspect ratio, which is the highest resolution that my standalone player will accept. It recognizes the PAR flag and plays the files at the correct aspect ratio. Which brings me to my next question

4) Can I select the PAR that the program uses to encode? Currently it uses 1:1 square PAR, and I can modify the output with MPEG4 Modifier after the fact. But it would be nice if I could select this option through the program outright.

5) Just wondering how avi.NET is handling the 2nd pass of DivX encodes. When I do my encodes manually with VirtualDub, the 1st pass (fast mode) takes 15 min and the 2nd pass usually 30 mins. However with avi.NET both passes are done in 15 mins! I'm impressed and just curious as to what's going on in the background.

6) I would like an option for the preview window to not autoplay after loading the source file. I'm constantly right clicking and hitting pause immediately because I don't want to be spoiled by episodes I'm encoding that I haven't seen yet!

Thanks again for a great program, and I hope I'm not asking too many questions on my first post in this thread.

Last edited by J-Wo; 22nd October 2007 at 12:39.
J-Wo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 02:48   #147  |  Link
J-Wo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 216
Just wanted to bump this thread.. Hoping someon can respond, thanks.
J-Wo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 21:04   #148  |  Link
avdw
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 71
Hehehe,

I just installed this avi.NET tool, did my first encode to Xvid size 700 MB, width 560x256...... ended up with a horrible 250MB encoded file. This tool is a joke
avdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2007, 21:37   #149  |  Link
J-Wo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 216
avdw: you must install the XviD version that comes with the program (it's available in a seperate support file). Here's a link

http://www.dvduk.pwp.blueyonder.co.u...vi.SUPPORT.zip
J-Wo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2007, 00:03   #150  |  Link
avdw
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 71
Aaaah, much better. Thanks J-Wo !
avdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2007, 14:18   #151  |  Link
avdw
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 71
Just one more Q, why does avi.NET add so much junk to the avi file ?
avdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2007, 18:13   #152  |  Link
The Scientist
Registered User
 
The Scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 275
It doesn't.... DivXNetworks DivXMux does.
The Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2007, 11:07   #153  |  Link
avdw
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 71
Thanks Scientist, just three more questions ...

1) How come none of my encoded (to Xvid .AVI) DVD's play on my standalone ?
They all show weird coloured contours.

Is there an option I have to (un)check to make the encoded AVI compatible with standalone players ?

2) Also, how come converted movies show bigger black borders on TV than original ?

3) GSpot shows a min quantizer of "1" for every encoding, is it possible to change this into "2" which would allow much better overall quality per compression ?

Thanks a lot in advance !

Last edited by avdw; 2nd November 2007 at 18:58.
avdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2007, 02:08   #154  |  Link
J-Wo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 216
Scientist:

Is there a way to select which quantization matrix is used for either XviD or DivX?
J-Wo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2007, 03:00   #155  |  Link
The Scientist
Registered User
 
The Scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by avdw View Post
Thanks Scientist, just three more questions ...

1) How come none of my encoded (to Xvid .AVI) DVD's play on my standalone ?
They all show weird coloured contours.

Is there an option I have to (un)check to make the encoded AVI compatible with standalone players ?

2) Also, how come converted movies show bigger black borders on TV than original ?

3) GSpot shows a min quantizer of "1" for every encoding, is it possible to change this into "2" which would allow much better overall quality per compression ?

Thanks a lot in advance !
Try it without "HQ" selected and as for problem number 2 it's most probably because you have a crap standalone, check your settings, if it's a dodgy ESS based player they have a habit of playing in extra-skinney vision.
The Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2007, 12:30   #156  |  Link
avdw
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 71
Thanks the scientist,

I pretty much gave up on Auto Gording Knot, since whatever Xvid codec was installed, it keeps on spewing out completely undersized encodings and it aint even able to remember default advanced settings I always choose. On the other hand, your tool really looks promising, is there any option to encode the audio in 112kb/s instead of 128kb/s ? I didn't find it in the current version.

Just to add, I'm currently in an episode of filling my free days encoding DVD's using multiple tools (AGK, AutoMKV, FairUse Wizard 2 & Avi.net) and whatever options I choose, or even out of the box encoding, I can only conclude something that sounds impossible, but it seems even true : avi.NET not only is the fastest of them all, it also produces the best results. That can only be done by a truly great author who actually KNOWS what he is doing.

Once again, thanks a lot !

Last edited by avdw; 3rd November 2007 at 19:14.
avdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2007, 17:34   #157  |  Link
avdw
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 71
Sorry, can I just ask a few more questions ?
Your answers can make a lot clear and hopefully get more people to use this tool since, however you do it, it's great !

Q1) Is there any option to encode the audio in 112kb/s instead of 128kb/s ? I didn't find it in the current version.

Q2) I have a DVD movie which starts with some text displayed on a black background, I guess this is the reason why avi.NET thinks the upper&lower black borders are bigger than they actually are.
When converting to Xvid (700MB) with a chosen with of 480, it resized to 480 x 208, correct me if I'm wrong, but I think the height of 208 is too low, hence the poor quality of the encoded AVI.
So, Is there any change to make avi.NET guess by looking for borders not from the start of the movie, but say for a certain frame-range ?

Thanks in advance for this nice tool !

Last edited by avdw; 6th November 2007 at 17:34.
avdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2007, 00:01   #158  |  Link
avdw
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 71
The avi.NET project is abandoned, disregard previous posts.

Last edited by avdw; 16th November 2007 at 14:40.
avdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2007, 12:58   #159  |  Link
digidragon
Registered User
 
digidragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 147
Do you mean that your project is abandoned, or the avi.NET project?
digidragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2007, 04:57   #160  |  Link
s3rious
Registered User
 
s3rious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
can anybody confirm whether the avi.NET project is abandoned or not ?
s3rious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.