Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > DVD2AVI / DGIndex

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th January 2010, 09:50   #1001  |  Link
aegisofrime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 452
neuron2, supposedly the new VP5 engine in the GT240 and the upcoming Fermi series supports MPEG-4 ASP. Will DG NV tools support MPEG-4 ASP indexing as well, for those cards?
aegisofrime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2010, 10:00   #1002  |  Link
InsulinJunkie
Registered User
 
InsulinJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by aegisofrime View Post
neuron2, supposedly the new VP5 engine in the GT240 and the upcoming Fermi series supports MPEG-4 ASP.
I don't believe Nvidia has gotten around to adding driver support for the 210/220/240's hardware acceleration of MPEG-4 ASP yet.

At least it's not there as of the 195.81 betas.
InsulinJunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2010, 12:19   #1003  |  Link
Deinorius
Najarenthur
 
Deinorius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austria (Vienna)
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by aegisofrime View Post
neuron2, supposedly the new VP5 engine in the GT240 and the upcoming Fermi series supports MPEG-4 ASP. Will DG NV tools support MPEG-4 ASP indexing as well, for those cards?
Source? IIRC it's the VP4, not VP5.
Deinorius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2010, 14:10   #1004  |  Link
aegisofrime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deinorius View Post
Source? IIRC it's the VP4, not VP5.
Source is right here at Anandtech, so it should be reliable.

http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3657&p=3

And yes, it's VP4, which means that the VP5 on the Fermi cards should support it too right?
aegisofrime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2010, 15:40   #1005  |  Link
Deinorius
Najarenthur
 
Deinorius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austria (Vienna)
Posts: 202
Yeah, it should. But I've no idea, what functions they want to add additionally. It already supports quite everything any user can need, or is there something I forgot?
Deinorius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2010, 16:00   #1006  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by aegisofrime View Post
Will DG NV tools support MPEG-4 ASP indexing as well, for those cards?
Maybe. What is the compelling application?
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2010, 16:07   #1007  |  Link
stax76
staxrip & mpv.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,239
I've uploaded new StaxRip test build supporting DGSource. I didn't experience a single crash/hangup so I have high hopes DGDecNV is now fully usable in StaxRip. Thanks to Neuron2, Multitask and Zathor for helping.

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...61#post1364661
__________________
StaxRip - use pastebin for log files and imgbox for screenshots
mpv.net player
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2010, 19:06   #1008  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Nice work, stax76! We greatly appreciate your efforts to support the DGNV tools.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2010, 20:48   #1009  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by aegisofrime View Post
supposedly the new VP5 engine in the GT240 and the upcoming Fermi series supports MPEG-4 ASP.
If only my new PNY GT240 card was working correctly...

After installing the card, updated the drivers for the mobo and installed a piece of software, after a period of time the system would just bog down.

A reboot fixed it, for a hort while. I got a copy of the Process Explorer program so that I could see what the hell was going on. I eliminated the new program by making sure the DLLs that it called could never execute and that I just didn't run it. Well, that wasn't it.

So, I removed the Nvidia drivers, mobo and graphics. Still didn't go away. What was happening is that after about 5-10 minutes the hardware interrupts would go into runaway mode. While the monitor program would show me that the CPU was getting creamed and that it was because of hardware interrupts, the program cannot display what the hardware interrupt is.

Since the only new hardware in the system was the graphics card, I put the PNY 7600 back into the system (even though it doesn't have a GPU fan, as it was frozen). Problem solved.

Once the GT240 got into the situation where any program called it (I suspect for hardware accelleration, as normal displaying didn't), it went into hardware interrupt runaway mode. Kill the program and the interrupts stopped. Come to think of it, it wasn't because of hardware accelleration, because if I copied a file from one hard drive to another, the interrupts would also happen.

So, for the moment, a warning about the PNY GT240, until I get this resolved with them.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2010, 20:58   #1010  |  Link
MuLTiTaSK
Registered User
 
MuLTiTaSK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 668
@MrVideo

so it might be borked after all i say return it and get one from the GTX series also remember to choose which drivers you install wisely cause they will have a role on how good your card performs
MuLTiTaSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2010, 21:23   #1011  |  Link
Deinorius
Najarenthur
 
Deinorius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austria (Vienna)
Posts: 202
Does anyone have any experience installing a nvidia card as a second next to a ATI card? My preferred graphics card is ATI, but I would like to use DGIndexNV.
Deinorius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2010, 21:35   #1012  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by MuLTiTaSK View Post
so it might be borked after all i say return it and get one from the GTX series also remember to choose which drivers you install wisely cause they will have a role on how good your card performs
I'll be beating PNY over the head for a replacement, or a different card.

Um, you have no choice as to what drivers are installed. They come with the card. I also get the latest Nvidia drivers from the Nvidia website.

In this particular case, even with no Nvidia drivers for the card intalled, just running native Windblows VGA support, the card croaks.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2010, 23:53   #1013  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deinorius View Post
Does anyone have any experience installing a nvidia card as a second next to a ATI card? My preferred graphics card is ATI, but I would like to use DGIndexNV.
Yes, if you have Vista or Win7 it is easy. If XP, then there is a gotcha but it can be worked around.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2010, 00:09   #1014  |  Link
Deinorius
Najarenthur
 
Deinorius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austria (Vienna)
Posts: 202
Vista? Since when? IIRC there isn't possible to install more than one graphics driver.

Something different: This card would be only used for video decoding with DGDecode (PhysX would be nice too But just with hacks). Would there be any speed difference between, let's say, G210 or GT240?

Last edited by Deinorius; 18th January 2010 at 00:12.
Deinorius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2010, 01:04   #1015  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deinorius View Post
Would there be any speed difference between, let's say, G210 or GT240?
You can find out just as easily as I can.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2010, 01:30   #1016  |  Link
Deinorius
Najarenthur
 
Deinorius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austria (Vienna)
Posts: 202
May be you missunderstood my question or I can't follow you. I meant any decoding speed difference. I don't know exactly, if gpu frequency or bandwidth has any relevant influence in decoding speed.
Deinorius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2010, 01:53   #1017  |  Link
an3k
Registered User
 
an3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deinorius View Post
Source? IIRC it's the VP4, not VP5.
Prove: http://www.nvidia.com/object/io_1260507693932.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by aegisofrime View Post
Source is right here at Anandtech, so it should be reliable.

http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3657&p=3

And yes, it's VP4, which means that the VP5 on the Fermi cards should support it too right?
MPEG-4 ASP is hardware supported since VP4

GT240 has VP5, not VP4.

Short quote:
Quote:
NVIDIA GPUs that can decode 3D Blu-ray content include the GeForce GT 240 ($99 U.S. MSRP), as well as upcoming next-generation GF100 GPUs based on the NVIDIA “Fermi” architecture.
And the GT240 can handle AVC-MVP (which is 3D Blu-ray content), thus it's VP5

Last edited by an3k; 18th January 2010 at 02:15.
an3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2010, 05:47   #1018  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by MuLTiTaSK View Post
so it might be borked after
It might not be afterall.

It took longer. but I am now getting runaway hardware interrupts with the old card, but at about half the CPU eating power as the new graphics card.

A reboot makes the problem go away, but eventually it will be back.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2010, 07:48   #1019  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,924
@MrVideo

That's off-topic for this thread. Please open a new thread about it in PC Hardware forum.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2010, 07:50   #1020  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
@MrVideo

That's off-topic for this thread. Please open a new thread about it in PC Hardware forum.
Sorry, I only brought it up as there are those here who may be interested in it for use with this specific tool.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.