Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th October 2008, 21:57   #81  |  Link
azad
Registered User
 
azad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greif View Post
@nwg/@azad: could either of you show me the output of the discs you are trying to extract from (with DTS HD MA)?

Show me the result of this:
Code:
eac3to.exe [disc location]
ex. eac3to.exe f:
And then show me the result of the stream listing for the selected feature:
Code:
eac3to.exe [disc location] [stream#]
ex. eac3to.exe f: 1)
Thanks.
Here it is:
Code:
D:\>eac3to e:
1) 00000.mpls, 00001.m2ts, 1:52:02
   - h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
   - DTS Master Audio, English, multi-channel, 48khz
   - AC3, French, multi-channel, 48khz
   - AC3, English, stereo, 48khz

2) 00002.mpls, 00003.m2ts, 0:16:44
   - MPEG2, 480i60 /1.001 (16:9)
   - AC3, English, stereo, 48khz
And the stream listing:
Code:
D:\>eac3to e: 1)
M2TS, 1 video track, 3 audio tracks, 3 subtitle tracks, 1:52:02
1: Chapters, 17 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: DTS Master Audio, English, 7.1 channels, 16 bits, 48khz
4: AC3, French, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
5: AC3, English, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
6: Subtitle (PGS), English
7: Subtitle (PGS), English
8: Subtitle (PGS), Spanish
__________________
Agent 47: "Eat your sandwich, I need to get some sleep."
azad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2008, 04:25   #82  |  Link
Greif
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 227
For those having issues, give the latest version a try.
Greif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2008, 11:45   #83  |  Link
azad
Registered User
 
azad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 69
@Greif
Now everything works fine!!!
The DTS MA stream is listed in the stream listing.

And for the dtshd extension!
__________________
Agent 47: "Eat your sandwich, I need to get some sleep."
azad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2008, 12:46   #84  |  Link
spida_singh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 125
Greif, 100% fine over here! Good work!
spida_singh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2008, 13:01   #85  |  Link
nwg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 819
Sorry I haven't posted updates but I have been busy. THanks for the new version and will test it as soon as I can.

One thing I did notice. a couple of times I had had to cancel extracting due to picking the wrong options. When I do that, it exits the program. I then have to load the disc back in. Would it be possible for it not to exit?
nwg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2008, 13:41   #86  |  Link
Greif
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 227
Since the idea of this window is to be a MeGUI tool. The extraction process will be done via a job in the MeGUI queue. Thus, having all the benefits of the queue, such as: setting priority, aborting, etc.

For the executable version, I'll think about adding a button for canceling the extract.
Greif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2008, 13:42   #87  |  Link
Greif
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 227
am I missing any other extract types for audio? Can they be cleaned up a bit?
Greif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2008, 09:42   #88  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
JFYI: The latest eac3to version reports DTS-HD and TrueHD\AC3 tracks differently compared to older versions.

Old version:
Code:
M2TS, 1 video track, 3 audio tracks, 1:59:20
1: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
2: TrueHD/AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 48khz
3: DTS Hi-Res, English, 7.1 channels, 24 bits, 2864kbit/s, 48khz
4: AC3, Czech, 5.1 channels, 640kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -28dB
New version:
Code:
M2TS, 1 video track, 3 audio tracks, 1:59:20
1: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
2: TrueHD/AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 48khz
   (embedded: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz)
3: DTS Hi-Res, English, 7.1 channels, 24 bits, 2864kbps, 48khz
   (core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1536kbps, 48khz)
4: AC3, Czech, 5.1 channels, 640kbit/s, 48khz, dialnorm: -28dB
Don't know if you have to adjust your GUI to that?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2008, 13:21   #89  |  Link
Greif
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 227
I'll need to make changes to parse in the embedded/core details of the stream. However, the program should still work in the meantime.

Thanks for the update.
Greif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2008, 15:19   #90  |  Link
nwg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 819
DTS Master Audio is now showing up ok. It would be great if it could extract the AC3 and DTS tracks from HD audio.
nwg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2008, 16:25   #91  |  Link
Greif
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 227
@nwg

I believe you can do that using the -core option. That is more of a eac3to usability question. You might want to confirm on the eac3to thread. (or check the wiki)
Greif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 17:55   #92  |  Link
nwg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greif View Post
@nwg

I believe you can do that using the -core option. That is more of a eac3to usability question. You might want to confirm on the eac3to thread. (or check the wiki)
I already do it with the Eac3to and more Gui but it would be good to do with your one. I find yours much user friendly to use.
nwg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 18:23   #93  |  Link
Greif
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by nwg View Post
I already do it with the Eac3to and more Gui but it would be good to do with your one. I find yours much user friendly to use.
You can do it; you just need to populate the correct options/extract type.

Or maybe I'm not understanding your problem...
Greif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 22:44   #94  |  Link
nwg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greif View Post
You can do it; you just need to populate the correct options/extract type.

Or maybe I'm not understanding your problem...
I want to extract the DTS core from DTS HD tracks or the Ac3 for from TrueHD. All I can do with your program is select the audio type. The options box does nothing for me at all. It is just a empty box.

If I select DTS for a DTS HD MA track, I get the full DTS HD audio. I thought if I select DTS rather than DTSHD then I would get the core track but I didn't.
nwg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 23:46   #95  |  Link
spida_singh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by nwg View Post
I want to extract the DTS core from DTS HD tracks or the Ac3 for from TrueHD. All I can do with your program is select the audio type. The options box does nothing for me at all. It is just a empty box.

If I select DTS for a DTS HD MA track, I get the full DTS HD audio. I thought if I select DTS rather than DTSHD then I would get the core track but I didn't.
Confirmed, extracted a dtshd file when saving as dtshd and dts, but, saving as ac3 does work ok.
spida_singh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2008, 01:03   #96  |  Link
Greif
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 227
To extract the core DTS from a DTS-HD stream you need to use the -core option.

To get the AC3 from TruHD/AC3 (embedded AC3) or TrueHD (without embedded AC3) steams just extract as AC3. With the TrueHD/AC3 stream it will just extract the core AC3, with the TrueHD stream it will transcode to AC3.

At least this is how I believe it works...

This is a quote from a post madshi made on the eac3to thread:
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi
HD DVD style TrueHD tracks consist of only TrueHD frames. These are identified by eac3to as being "TrueHD". The correct extension for such tracks is "*.thd". Blu-Ray style TrueHD tracks consist of TrueHD audio frames and AC3 audio frames. Both types of frames are interweaved. eac3to identifies these tracks as "TrueHD/AC3". The correct file extension is "*.thd+ac3". The file extension "*.ac3" is self explaining.

So, if you demux a HD DVD style TrueHD track to "*.thd", the track is demuxed as it is. If you demux it to "*.thd+ac3", eac3to creates AC3 frames on the fly and interweaves them with the HD DVD data to create a Blu-Ray compatible "TrueHD/AC3" track. If you demux a HD DVD style TrueHD track to "*.ac3", the TrueHD track is transcoded to AC3.

If you demux a Blu-Ray style TrueHD track to "*.thd", the track is demuxed with the interweaved AC3 frames stripped away. If you demux it to "*.thd+ac3", the track is demuxed unmodified. If you demux a Blu-Ray style TrueHD track to "*.ac3", the AC3 frames are demuxed as they are with the TrueHD frames stripped away.

It can be even more complicated: If you demux a Blu-Ray TrueHD/AC3 track by using e.g. "eac3to source 2: audio.thd+ac3 -192", eac3to strips the original interweaved AC3 frames away, creates new AC3 frames with 192kbit/s on the fly and interweaves them with the original TrueHD frames coming from the Blu-Ray track.

I hope you're finally confused now...

Last edited by Greif; 5th November 2008 at 01:07.
Greif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2008, 16:31   #97  |  Link
nwg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 819
I haven't had any problems with this program for a while now. I made use of it when I realised I didn't have enough disc space. I used it to select just the Video track and the DTS-HD MA audio from a Blu ray while using AnyDVD. I saved having to copy over 15GB of data I didn't want. It took a little longer than I was expecting but it did it ok.
nwg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2008, 17:16   #98  |  Link
nwg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 819
I have extracted a truehd+ac3 from Blade Runner HD DVD. The file name has audio delay -1ms. I want to create a Blu Ray in tsmuxer. When I load the audio track in, there is a box for audio delay. Do I put -1ms in it, or is the audio already synced with the video and keep it at 0?
nwg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2008, 17:51   #99  |  Link
idbirch2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 680
You can do. That said, if you don't and go on to actually notice a 1ms delay, I will hand deliver you a solid gold unicorn.
idbirch2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2008, 03:35   #100  |  Link
ron spencer
DVD Magistrate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sodor
Posts: 988
cool tool!!!

But I cannot resize your proggy's window
ron spencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to, hdbrstreamextractor

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.