Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD burning

Old 14th March 2002, 02:16   #1  |  Link
wakebrder

(safe) GB size limit for DVD-R

Hello-

I'm pretty new to this, but have managed to burn a few sucessfull DVD backups on DVD-Rs. The only two I've had problems with are:

Don't Say A Word 3.97 GB
The Fast And The Furious 4.17 GB

These 2 discs play fine in PowerDVD 4.0, but suffer audio/video breakups in the last few minutes on my standalone (Pioneer 525). The first 95% of these movies play fine. Am I getting too close to the capacity of the DVD-R? I thought I read somewhere the capacity was not actually 4.7 GB? The shorter movies I've ripped have no problems. Is there a safe limit I should stay under to avoid this problem? BTW, I'm just ripping the main movie with 1 soundtrack. Sorry if I posted this in the wrong place. Thanks
wakebrder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2002, 21:31   #2  |  Link
Coop920

the actual size of a 4.7 gb dvdr is 4.37 gb's...i don't see why those movies aren't working well in your dvd player...could be the player, cause they work fine for me
Coop920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2002, 21:45   #3  |  Link
troyb

What media are you using? I have had the same problem on a few movies when using cheaper dvds.Maybe that's your problem.
troyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2002, 23:12   #4  |  Link
wakebrder

Hey guys, using meritline DVD-Rs. Thought that might be the problem too, but the shorter movies seem to work. Maybe just coincidence? I don't know. If I get a few more coasters under my belt, maybe I'll discover the problem. Probably something stupid that I just happened to do on those 2 movies.

troyb - what type of media would you suggest that isn't too pricey?