Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Linux, Mac OS X, & Co

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd November 2008, 18:45   #1  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
AutoX264 (Multi Encoder GUI for X264) v.18

Here my new creation.. AutoX264

AutoX264 is a cross platform application (avaiable for windows and linux) that can use several h.264 encoders to deliver outstanding encoding on mp4, mkv or m2ts

On its basic way AutoX264 use mencoder , mplayer, xterm and MP4Box.

AutoX264 can decode/encode, using mencoder, ffmpeg,X264.exe, DGAVCIndex, DGIndex, FFmpegSource , near all files, from m2ts to avi, to mkv

AutoX264 also support MeGui X264 profiles

WARINING FOR UBUNTU USER: make sure you select options avaiable in your mencoder build.
b_adapt=2 isn't actually avaiable in ubuntu 's mencoder build (for example...)

here the link to AutoX264 0.18 version

Linux : http://www.64k.it/andres/data/autox264/autox264.tar.gz

Windows : http://www.64k.it/andres/data/autox2...8.171.1640.rar
windows update : http://www.64k.it/andres/data/autox264/autox264.exe

AutoX264 Manual: http://www.64k.it/andres/data/autox2....%200.15).html

The windows link (rar) is a FULL inclusive BUT remember to update with the executable autox264.exe

For Linux User: make sure you have installed mencoder/mplayer/mp4box.
You should already have installed xterm and gtk2 libs

Optionally you can install mkvtoolnix (for mkv muxing), and wine (and avisynth).. for using the windows full package (already tested and working)
For using MeGui profiles, just create a "profiles" folder and put here the xml files

Linux user should install mediainfo/mkvtoolnix/tsmuxer using repository

I have also tested linux autox264 windows with Wine, and it's fully fuctional (remember to install avisynth, and download applications pack)

Autox264 also support MeGui X264 profiles

WARINING FOR UBUNTU USER: make sure you select options avaiable in your mencoder build.
b_adapt=2 isn't actually avaiable in ubuntu 's mencoder build (for example...)

here some image












the application is tested on Ubuntu 8.04 Fedora 10 64bit, Windows XP SP3

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8

Last edited by buzzqw; 18th February 2009 at 08:40. Reason: update link
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2008, 19:32   #2  |  Link
froggy1
ffx264/ffhevc author
 
froggy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,444
Good job buzzqw!
__________________
ffx264--ffhevc--ffxvid
froggy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2008, 22:35   #3  |  Link
mocham
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 48
Kewl! I'll try it today!

The 0.7 version is just seg faulting on an Ubuntu Intrepid box, the 0.6 version is starting though.

Last edited by mocham; 22nd November 2008 at 22:44.
mocham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2008, 23:09   #4  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
@mocham
maybe corrupted file ?

try this http://www.64k.it/andres/data/autox2...7.linux.tar.gz

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2008, 01:29   #5  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,685
I can confirm. That link in the first post segfaults on Sabayon 3.5.1 x64bit.

The second link appears to be working.

Couple of things.

1) It would be nice to be able to resize the main window, as currently much of the options are half cut off.
2) Switching between crf and 2 pass does not cause a change in the crf or bitrate selection box.
3, but not so important) How about a little more color? It's pretty white.

But all in all, an excellent start!
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo

Last edited by Adub; 23rd November 2008 at 01:36.
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2008, 03:01   #6  |  Link
talen9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 286
Segfault confirmed here too (Ubuntu 8.10 64bit), here's the strace output:

Quote:
# strace ./autox264e ./autox264

execve("./autox264", ["./autox264"], [/* 39 vars */]) = 0
[ Process PID=6436 runs in 32 bit mode. ]
brk(0) = 0xa041000
access("/etc/ld.so.nohwcap", F_OK) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
mmap2(NULL, 8192, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0xfffffffff7eff000
access("/etc/ld.so.preload", R_OK) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
mmap2(NULL, 4096, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_ANONYMOUS, -1, 0) = 0xfffffffff7efe000
set_thread_area(0xff820300) = 0
--- SIGSEGV (Segmentation fault) @ 0 (0) ---
+++ killed by SIGSEGV +++
Process 6436 detached
talen9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2008, 03:10   #7  |  Link
mocham
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzqw View Post
@mocham
maybe corrupted file ?

try this http://www.64k.it/andres/data/autox2...7.linux.tar.gz

BHH
That one works, thanks!
mocham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2008, 09:32   #8  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
thanks all for feedback and nice words !

some answers

Quote:
It would be nice to be able to resize the main window, as currently much of the options are half cut off.
yep.. on purebasic isn't to so easy to do "dinamyc sizing" box.. but let me search about

Quote:
Switching between crf and 2 pass does not cause a change in the crf or bitrate selection box.
when you select the 1 pass or 2 pass, you must simply edit the value reported on "Final MB (or CRF)", autox264 will compute bitrate to fit the specified MB size.
The "manual bitrate" is to "override" the compute of bitrate

Quote:
, but not so important) How about a little more color? It's pretty white.
, any suggestion ?

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2008, 12:28   #9  |  Link
Henrikx
Registered User
 
Henrikx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 306
Tested on Debian Lenny.
Works fine!!

Henrikx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2008, 21:25   #10  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,685
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzqw View Post
when you select the 1 pass or 2 pass, you must simply edit the value reported on "Final MB (or CRF)", autox264 will compute bitrate to fit the specified MB size.
The "manual bitrate" is to "override" the compute of bitrate
Ah, okay. I am just used to a straight "Bitrate" interface. However, this way works to. Leave it like this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzqw View Post
, any suggestion ?
I will have to think for a little while. Mostly the biggest thing is color variance. When everything looks the same the human eye has trouble discerning difference in content. A deeper grey color for the background is not a horrible idea with some a slightly different shade for the buttons, as right now they blend in with the background, except for the shadow.


Also, is there a reason why all of my test videos are scaled? I inserted a basic 1280x720 video, that needed no cropping or resizing, and it automatically calculated a new resolution of 1152x632. However (1152/632)= 1.822784810126582278, which is nearly equivalent to the DAR presented in the information box, 1.8234.

And here I thought that the DAR was supposed to be 16:9. What am I missing here? Are you getting the DAR from some entry in the input file's metadata?
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2008, 09:48   #11  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
Quote:
Also, is there a reason why all of my test videos are scaled? I inserted a basic 1280x720 video, that needed no cropping or resizing, and it automatically calculated a new resolution of 1152x632. However (1152/632)= 1.822784810126582278, which is nearly equivalent to the DAR presented in the information box, 1.8234.
the ar is computed by mplayer, you can always change the ar displayed to 1.7778, and autox264 will use this value

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2008, 23:21   #12  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,685
Okay, I thought it was something like that. Odd that it would choose 1.822.
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2008, 23:37   #13  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,685
Small bug report. When choosing the no_fast_pskip option, the generated commandline says "nodfast_pskip".
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2008, 09:11   #14  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
update the windows and linux build

thanks for the bug!

(also added support to subtitle)

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2008, 09:55   #15  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,685
Okay, we are getting there.

1) I don't think mencoder supports ssa/ass subtitle hardcoding yet. I just tested with an .ass file containing "This is a test!!", and the end video shows no output. I don't think that feature has been fully implemented yet. I would like to say I am wrong.

2) Feature Requests:
---Ability to save log.
---Ability to delete intermediate files, ex "autox264.h264", etc.

3) small bug, when in the subtitles tab, and the "mux to mp4" radio button is selected, if you select a subtitle file, the radio button jumps to "encrust in video"
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2008, 10:42   #16  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
autox264 will switch between encrust and mux if subtitle isn't compatible with mencoder ...
ssa subtitle isnt' directly supported by mp4box so is "encrusted" by mencoder
srt can be muxed and encrust
same fo ass

Quote:
Ability to delete intermediate files, ex "autox264.h264", etc
already present, "Program Path"

Quote:
Ability to save log
.. to be done (but not so easy, since application aim to be cross compiling..)

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2008, 10:53   #17  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,685
Quote:
Quote:
Ability to delete intermediate files, ex "autox264.h264", etc
already present, "Program Path"
Ooops, my bad.

Quote:
autox264 will switch between encrust and mux if subtitle isn't compatible with mencoder ...
ssa subtitle isnt' directly supported by mp4box so is "encrusted" by mencoder
srt can be muxed and encrust
same fo ass
Ah, it seems I was misunderstanding the meaning of "encrust". I thought it hardcoded the subtitles onto the video. I see now that it doesn't. The file that I tested with earlier just needed the subs (which I didn't know where there) enabled in the player.
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2008, 11:29   #18  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
encrust mean hardcode ... try with a srt

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2008, 12:15   #19  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,685
Weird. Because with a .ass it just muxes to the final output, even though "encrust" is selected. What I mean is that I have to select the subtitle in my player when playing the resulting video.

Okay, now I can't get any subs to burn in, be them ass or srt. The only way I can get srt to display is if I use the mux option, and even then they are only on for around 3 seconds.
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2008, 12:44   #20  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
could you please post the encoding bat (add to queue and post it (copy&paste)) ?

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gui, linux, mencoder, windows, x264

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.