Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th March 2007, 20:58   #1  |  Link
slimer5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 30
ColorMatrix Help Needed

hey everyone,

i have been running my Jackass 2 dvd through DVD-RB multiple times with each time having an output with a noticeable loss of color. after talking to kumi and playing it with DGIndex to find out the colorimetry, he said that i need to add colormatrix to my avisynth plugins and put in the right "call" into dvd-rb's filter editor.

now, being a noob to the program, i am not exactly sure of the uses of matrices and i have no idea how to put in the correct "call" into the filter editor. if someone would be so generous as to put up a process of what to do after putting the dll in the avisynth plugins directory, since i do not know what to do from there, i would be very grateful.

thanks for anything.
slimer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2007, 22:19   #2  |  Link
kumi
Straight to video
 
kumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimer5 View Post
hey everyone,

i have been running my Jackass 2 dvd through DVD-RB multiple times with each time having an output with a noticeable loss of color. after talking to kumi and playing it with DGIndex to find out the colorimetry, he said that i need to add colormatrix to my avisynth plugins and put in the right "call" into dvd-rb's filter editor.

now, being a noob to the program, i am not exactly sure of the uses of matrices and i have no idea how to put in the correct "call" into the filter editor. if someone would be so generous as to put up a process of what to do after putting the dll in the avisynth plugins directory, since i do not know what to do from there, i would be very grateful.

thanks for anything.
1/ Put Colormatrix.dll in your autoloading plugin folder. It's probably C:\Program Files\Avisynth 2.5\plugins

2/ Use mode="Rec.601->rec.709" in step 3 if DGIndex information shows one of these two:
Colorimetry: ITU-R BT.470-2
Colorimetry: SMPTE 170M

Use mode="SMPTE 240M->rec.709" in step 3 if DGIndex information shows:
Colorimetry: SMPTE 240M

Use mode="FCC->rec.709" in step 3 if DGIndex information shows:
Colorimetry: FCC

3/ After a prepare phase, open the DVD Rebuilder Beta Segment Viewer, and expand the list of VIDEO TITLE SETS.

If the VTS marked (feature) is the only one you need to apply ColorMatrix() on, paste this code into the Filter Editor window, press "Save and Exit", and re-run the prepare phase. Replace mode="foo->bar" with the correct conversion for your feature VTS:
Code:
f:p:ColorMatrix(mode="foo->bar")
f:i:ColorMatrix(mode="foo->bar", interlaced=true)
If all of the VTSs need the same conversion, paste this code into the Filter Editor window, press "Save and Exit", and re-run the prepare phase. Replace mode="foo->bar" with the correct conversion for your VTSs:
Code:
p:ColorMatrix(mode="foo->bar")
i:ColorMatrix(mode="foo->bar", interlaced=true)
If the Feature needs one type of conversion, and the extras need another, you can use the f: (feature) and e: (extras) prefixes in the Filter Editor window for each type of VTS. Replace mode="foo->bar" and mode="abc->xyz"with the correct conversion for the feature/extras VTSs:
Code:
f:p:ColorMatrix(mode="foo->bar")
f:i:ColorMatrix(mode="foo->bar", interlaced=true)
e:p:ColorMatrix(mode="abc->xyz")
e:i:ColorMatrix(mode="abc->xyz", interlaced=true)
kumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2007, 23:54   #3  |  Link
slimer5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 30
wow, thank you very much for the detailed response, i will definitely put this to work.
slimer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2007, 00:03   #4  |  Link
kumi
Straight to video
 
kumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 637
My pleasure.

By the way, I'm assuming here that you're using HC, CCE, or ProCoder. All three assume Rec.709 coefficients, hence the mode= parameters I recommended.

If you're using QuEnc, ReJig, or AutoQmatEnc, you'll have to ask someone which coefficients they use.
kumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2007, 02:54   #5  |  Link
canuckerfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 317
uhm, little confused. rec601 or rec709 for mpeg2 using cce????

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=119644 (look at foxyshadis' post)
canuckerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2007, 03:09   #6  |  Link
kumi
Straight to video
 
kumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 637
I think she accidentally switched the two around in the post.

CCE outputs Rec.709 streams. So I assume it expects Rec.709 as well.

Thus, use colormatrix(mode="FOO->Rec.709"), where FOO is your source colorimetry as specced by Gspot or DGIndex.
kumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2007, 07:34   #7  |  Link
slimer5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 30
bit of a problem,

i put in the following code into the filter editor:

Code:
f:p:ColorMatrix(mode="Rec.601->rec.709")
f:i:ColorMatrix(mode="Rec.601->rec.709", interlaced=true)
then, i ran the encode, but HC gave me an error that the m2v was not present. so I switched to cce and the output was the following:



what am I doing wrong?
slimer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2007, 07:40   #8  |  Link
kumi
Straight to video
 
kumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 637
Colormatrix.dll probably isn't being autoloaded. Try adding this line to the first line of the Filter Editor (remember to re-run the prepare phase.)

Code:
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\Avisynth 2.5\plugins\colormatrix.dll")
Substitute the path for your own, of course.
kumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2007, 07:52   #9  |  Link
slimer5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 30
i was wondering how it knew where the plugin was,


thanks once again!
slimer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2007, 05:27   #10  |  Link
slimer5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 30
im still getting the error with HC

this is the code im using

Code:
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\Avisynth 2.5\plugins\colormatrix.dll")
p:ColorMatrix(mode="Rec.601->rec.709")
i:ColorMatrix(mode="Rec.601->rec.709", interlaced=true)
this is a copy of the log

[00:09:21] One Click encoding activated...
-----------------
[00:09:25] Phase I, PREPARATION started.
- "Steal Space from Extras" mode is enabled.
- VTS_03: 1,937,935 sectors.
-- Scanning and writing .D2V file
-- Processed 134,737 frames.
-- Building .AVS and .ECL files
- VTS_04: 1,096,095 sectors.
-- Scanning and writing .D2V file
-- Processed 80,722 frames.
-- Building .AVS and .ECL files
- VTS_05: 545,112 sectors.
-- Scanning and writing .D2V file
-- Processed 40,335 frames.
-- Building .AVS and .ECL files
- VTS_06: 111,219 sectors.
-- Scanning and writing .D2V file
-- Processed 8,456 frames.
-- Building .AVS and .ECL files
- VTS_07: 275,382 sectors.
-- Scanning and writing .D2V file
-- Processed 22,073 frames.
-- Building .AVS and .ECL files
- Reduction Level for DVD-5: 49.9%
- Overall Bitrate : 2,441Kbs
- Space for Video : 3,558,834KB
- Movie improvement from extra reduction = 59.4%
- HIGH/LOW/AVERAGE Cell Bitrates: 5,627/600/2,441 Kbs
[00:20:50] Phase I, PREPARATION completed in 11 minutes.
[00:20:50] Phase II ENCODING started
- Creating M2V for VTS_03 segment 0
-- Encoding resulted in no .M2V, retrying.
- Creating M2V for VTS_03 segment 0
-- Encoding resulted in no .M2V, retrying.
- Creating M2V for VTS_03 segment 0
Aborted.

any suggestions?
slimer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2007, 05:31   #11  |  Link
kumi
Straight to video
 
kumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 637
What do you see when you open one of the V03*.AVS files (located in your working directory after a prepare phase) in a media player such as VirtualDub or VirtualDubMod?
kumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2007, 05:45   #12  |  Link
slimer5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by kumi View Post
What do you see when you open one of the V03*.AVS files (located in your working directory after a prepare phase) in a media player such as VirtualDub or VirtualDubMod?
Avisynth open failure:
Script error: syntax error
(K:\WORKING\D2VAVS\V03*.AVS, line 9, column 2
slimer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2007, 05:59   #13  |  Link
kumi
Straight to video
 
kumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 637
Oh I think I see what the problem is...

You need at least version 1.20.4 of DVD Rebuilder Professional edition for the "i:", "p:", "f:" and "e:" modifiers to work.
kumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2007, 16:06   #14  |  Link
slimer5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by kumi View Post
Oh I think I see what the problem is...

You need at least version 1.20.4 of DVD Rebuilder Professional edition for the "i:", "p:", "f:" and "e:" modifiers to work.
there's no code that works with the free version?
slimer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2007, 20:44   #15  |  Link
JohnGalt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 132
You can use RB-Opt (which installs with RB itself, I believe) to add whatever filters you like to any VTS you like. Use RB in 3-click mode, run Prepare, then load your resultant INF file in RB-Opt. Select a VTS in the left pane, then click "AVS Settings" on the right. A new window will pop up allowing you to add or delete lines in the AVS script. Save your altered INF file. Then run the Encode stage in RB, continuing as usual.
JohnGalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2007, 01:14   #16  |  Link
slimer5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnGalt View Post
You can use RB-Opt (which installs with RB itself, I believe) to add whatever filters you like to any VTS you like. Use RB in 3-click mode, run Prepare, then load your resultant INF file in RB-Opt. Select a VTS in the left pane, then click "AVS Settings" on the right. A new window will pop up allowing you to add or delete lines in the AVS script. Save your altered INF file. Then run the Encode stage in RB, continuing as usual.
i will try this out and get back to you.
slimer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2007, 02:27   #17  |  Link
slimer5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 30
i placed the following code into each VTS

Code:
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\Avisynth 2.5\plugins\colormatrix.dll")
p:ColorMatrix(mode="Rec.601->rec.709")
i:ColorMatrix(mode="Rec.601->rec.709", interlaced=true)
is that what i should have done?
slimer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2007, 03:52   #18  |  Link
kumi
Straight to video
 
kumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 637
No. The "p:" and "i:" are flags used by DVD Rebuilder. They are not part of AviSynth, and will produce the error you described earlier.

An AVS like this:
Code:
#------------------
# AVS File Created by DVD Rebuilder 
# VOBID:01, CELLID:06
#------------------
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\DVD-RB PRO 1.21\DGDecode.dll")
mpeg2source("D:\DVDRB WORKING\D2VAVS\V01.D2V",idct=7)
trim(107926,109862)
ConvertToYV12(interlaced=true)
Should end up like this:
Code:
#------------------
# AVS File Created by DVD Rebuilder 
# VOBID:01, CELLID:06
#------------------
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\DVD-RB PRO 1.21\DGDecode.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\Avisynth 2.5\plugins\colormatrix.dll")
mpeg2source("D:\DVDRB WORKING\D2VAVS\V01.D2V",idct=7)
ColorMatrix(mode="Rec.601->rec.709", interlaced=true)
trim(107926,109862)
ConvertToYV12(interlaced=true)
Colormatrix() should always be placed immediately after the MPEG2Source() line.

Also, if your ConvertToYV12() function does not contain "interlaced=true", omit the "interlaced=true" argument from the ColorMatrix() call.
kumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2007, 05:48   #19  |  Link
slimer5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 30
alright, gotta try this out now.

btw, what does the added (interlaced=true) to ConvertToYV12 do and why wasnt it already there?
slimer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2007, 05:54   #20  |  Link
kumi
Straight to video
 
kumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 637
DVD Rebuilder adds that to segments that need interlaced processing. Don't modify it...
kumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.