Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > (HD) DVD & Blu-ray authoring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th February 2009, 10:39   #1081  |  Link
asherungar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 84
can anybody share on how they re-encode to add borders?
to be compliant 1080p/720p ?
Thanks
asherungar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 11:17   #1082  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,251
It is out of the scope of this thread, but:

Option 1: use software product to make it for you. There are a lot of tools in this forum.

Option 2: you need to have

* AVC decoder
* AVC/h264 splitter
* AviSynth

Create a simple AVS script to process your video file, adding borders. For example if you have 1920x800 video, you need to add 140 pixel on both top and bottom sides. Easiest way to get it done is with:

AddBorders(0, 140, 0, 140)

Of course you can write it this way:

myheight = (width()==1920) ? 1080 : 720
bordersize = int ( (myheight-Height() )/2 )
AddBorders(0, bordersize, 0, bordersize)


It will add top and proper top/bottom borders for 1920x.... or 1280x... clips.
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 11:28   #1083  |  Link
asherungar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 84
what do you use to run the avisynth? (sorry for the bad knowledge..)
i mean, what program do you give the avisynth as input?
asherungar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 11:36   #1084  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,251
Avisynth is a frame server and can be used with directshow.

Let's say you have a video file of non-compliant resolution called Movie.mkv.

Copy and paste this code in notepad and save it as

Movie.avs

Code:
directshowsource("D:\MyFiles\Movie.mkv",audio=false)
orgheight = int( Height() / 2 ) * 2
myheight = (width()==1920) ? 1080 : 720
bordersize=int( (myheight-orgHeight )/2 )
AddBorders(0, bordersize, 0, bordersize)
ConvertToYV12()
Then play this .avs file with your favorite player. Drag&drop it on your video player icon or something alike.

Don't forget that complete re-encoding to AVC (with x264) for hour and a half movie could take 2-4 hours on a fast machine (and sometimes a lot more - depending on x264 parameters).

What avisynth does is process each frame of your video, apply these transformations and outputs the changed frame to your player or encoder. So you will need to give this script as input to x264.exe and it will produce a nice .264 file that you can mux with tsmuxer.

A nice Picture in Picture for custom menu may be created in seconds with avisynth and look like this:



creating 2 video (motion) thumbnails of two titles playing for 10 seconds and creating title preview
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP

Last edited by deank; 16th February 2009 at 13:04.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 13:06   #1085  |  Link
asherungar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 84
so why does it take 14 hours when using meGUI?
asherungar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 13:11   #1086  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,251
We're really getting off-topic here. For a quality encoding you must give it a time... Two pass encoding takes more than twice longer but creates better quality videos. It all comes to x264 settings. And of course your machine performance is one of the major factors.
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 14:48   #1087  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,251
A preview of what can happen in some of the next releases:





15 seconds video for top menu (preview)... (10MB)
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP

Last edited by deank; 16th February 2009 at 15:05.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 14:54   #1088  |  Link
miloka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by deank View Post
A preview of what can happen in some of the next releases:


A 15 second video for top menu... (i'll upload the sample in a bit)
....just an idea i had simialar to yours.

instead of putting a preview of the movie one could also put a picture like the front cover as preview....
this could be also much more faster and more simpler than a clip that had to be encoded first?!
as i said , just a proposal
miloka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 14:57   #1089  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,251
Encoding of this 15sec title screen with 7 video-thumbnails takes only about a minute to be generated.
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 15:27   #1090  |  Link
zoner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 61
i really like that small preview windows...however a text below each window will be the best especially when it comes to eps of the same show.

ps
thank you for putting some much time into this amazing prog.
zoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 15:40   #1091  |  Link
~bT~
н∂-ƒαиαтι¢
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 1,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by deank View Post
A preview of what can happen in some of the next releases:

15 seconds video for top menu (preview)... (10MB)
this is looking great!

ps. pls can everyone stay on topic..

Last edited by ~bT~; 17th February 2009 at 01:20. Reason: typo
~bT~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 18:50   #1092  |  Link
zoner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 61
when adding a m2ts, multiavchd still adds the m2ts overhead to the output prediction.
resulting in the wrong estimate
zoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 19:01   #1093  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,251
Yes, prediction is like ~ +10%... not a real value to count on, but most of the time the difference is about 10-300MB which is not a big deal and the output is almost always a bit smaller then the prediction (it is better having your output a bit smaller than the prediction and having it fit in the output media).
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP

Last edited by deank; 16th February 2009 at 19:08.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 20:27   #1094  |  Link
zoner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 61
yes you are correct, however this is not true when adding a single m2ts file.
in my case i added a 7.93GB m2ts. the estimate shows around 8.8GB.
now, i know this is wrong, but it could easily mislead ppl who doesnt have this info.
if removing this feature when adding avchd/m2ts is a problem i guess we can live with it
zoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 21:01   #1095  |  Link
jdeiro
Brazilian PS3 Fanboy
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rio de Janeiro/RJ/Brazil
Posts: 20
+1 donator, just as I promised.

Keep up the good work!! I've been advertising your program on a brazilian PS3 forum, check it out: http://www.htforum.com/vb/showthread.php?t=91999&page=1

Cheers!
jdeiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 21:05   #1096  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoner View Post
is not true when adding a single m2ts file...

...i know this is wrong, but it could easily mislead ppl who doesnt have this info.
Predicting output of media that multiAVCHD accepts is almost impossible. I thought these values can help estimating final results, not relaying on them.

Compilation contents as subtitles, audio tracks that will be reencoded or not included or.... or... - they all affect output size and there is (probably) no application that can give you estimate output in advance. I can remove this info, but I don't see the point. If one uses the program long enough or is aware of media input, he won't rely 100% on the 'estimated output' value. It is just for guidance... Hence the "~" symbol.

@jdeiro: I know I read it every day. Thanks
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP

Last edited by deank; 16th February 2009 at 21:07.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2009, 19:37   #1097  |  Link
joerg-daniel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
hi, I'm using multiavchd build 386 to build a bluray
with advanced options keep all audio tracks + add external audio tracks + and keep original - activated
but still have trouble.
the true-hd is converted again and only 10 of 23 subtitles are added.
also track infos are lost :-(
joerg-daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2009, 19:43   #1098  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,251
I don't know who would need 23 different subtitle tracks when using multiAVCHD for HOME ENTERTAINMENT.

About True_HD - you need to remove the checkbox to convert TrueHD to AC3, but it will not be muxed properly (because of tsmuxer). You can use another tool to fix the TrueHD track - it came up few days ago - take a look at AVCHDmanager thread.
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 03:45   #1099  |  Link
MMtracker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
deank,
Another donation! (actually five days ago, but had to wait to post) Thanks again for making this program! I burned a AVCHD format disc with 4 clips from a Canon HF100 using the custom menu, played on a Panasonic DMP-BD35 NTSC. Everything worked perfectly! The only unexpected item I noticed was that if I picked white for the text color, the main title was gray instead of white, but the list of video titles were in white. If I selected other colors, the main title and video titles were the color chosen. It showed up that way on the preview as well. (I really like the title listing preview!)

This tool was the missing piece to my camera-to-archive puzzle. This is the only tool I have found that can use an "average" computer to archive AVCHD video to disc (since there is no processing of the original footage). Your title additions over the last couple of weeks have really upgraded the quality of the end result.

Thanks again, and I'll be ready to test the panasonic SDHC card version if you happen to add that functionality.
MMtracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 05:10   #1100  |  Link
MMtracker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Upon further review (Build 386), the main title is always a few shades darker than the video titles, so I'm guessing that was by design. It's easy to work around because of the preview capability...I just got caught having a gray background, where the white lettering was clear but the main title was a little hard to read.

The following aren't major items, but I'm just hoping to help with small cleanup items, as finding them yourself can get very tedious. Let me know if you need or want further clarification on these below.

How is the file order determined when dragging multiple files over to the Media tab? I dragged file names 00000.MTS through 00024.MTS over to the media tab, and the order was shown as 00019-00024, then 00000-00018 (The list will always be in order , but the first file will be down in the list somewhere instead of the top). I noticed then that if no files are selected and del is pressed, it will take the top file and move it to the bottom of the list, so by hitting the delete button a few times I was able to get the list showing in chronological order, 00000-00024. Once I found that out, it was easy to get the listing the way I wanted it.

Once when I was adding and removing files, I deleted all of them but had one still listed in the Title editor. adding and removing programs did not get rid of it, though I did not use the clear button. I restarted the program and couldn't reproduce it.

Thanks!
MMtracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avchd, blu-ray hd-dvd, mkv, multiavchd, re-author

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.