Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th June 2019, 09:34   #56581  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
a 3d LUT should only take a couple of MS.
3d LUTs in madVR can only be used for tone mapping. This shader is for passthrough.
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2019, 09:41   #56582  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,723
that's not true. you can use a 3D LUT and still output HDR.

Last edited by huhn; 15th June 2019 at 09:45.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2019, 09:48   #56583  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 101
There's no checkbox to trigger the HDR mode so the screen will remain in SDR mode with much less brightness.
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2019, 09:51   #56584  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,723
this should be automatic just by seeing the type of the 3D LUT if it is a 3D LUT with PQ madVR has to trigger HDR.

HDR calibration isn't something new anyway it just complicated in comparison.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2019, 10:07   #56585  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 101
I just tried a LUT to process HDR content and it does not activate the HDR mode, so it might be a bug.

Last edited by Alexkral; 15th June 2019 at 10:16.
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2019, 10:48   #56586  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
you are currently not using an native decoder and the main reason i don't like to recommend AMD apu is that they are limited to 8 lanes of PCIe.

what so ever check out GPU-Z
It seems to be 16 lanes.
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2019, 11:00   #56587  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,723
check the sensors to see if you run into any bottlenecks.

so the 8 PCIe are only a limitation for dGPU strange choice AMD but good in this case.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2019, 16:45   #56588  |  Link
toki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 47
OK, I got a new 4k tv. It's a sony x950g and I'm having the same problems at 60z. I can't get it to go to RGB. I also can't get it to switch to 10bit. Another problem I'm having, which is why I posted in here is when I add the refresh rate rule to madVR 4k starts skipping. When I remove it, it runs much smoother. Halp

Last edited by toki; 15th June 2019 at 16:49.
toki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2019, 19:41   #56589  |  Link
xabregas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 119
Hi, which one of the new nvidia gpus is good enough for 1080p>4k upscaling at 60HZ and also 4k UHD BluRay playback with HDR? Ofc with hugh quality madvr settings.
xabregas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2019, 19:58   #56590  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
that's not true. you can use a 3D LUT and still output HDR.
It seems that the functionality of processing HDR content has been removed in the latest version, or simply doesn't work. I have tried it with several LUTs with the output PQ transfer function, with DXVA2 copy-back decoding, FSE, Direct3D 11 for presentation... and the HDR mode is not triggered. In madVR v0.92.16 there was an explicit option to "process HDR content by using an external 3DLUT" with a checkbox to send HDR metadata to the display that enabled the HDR mode, but in the latest version the only option is "tone map HDR using external 3DLUT " without a checkbox to send the HDR metadata, so it seems logical to think that this is intentional.

Anyway I can only make assumptions as usual, coincidentally this was part of my first question in this thread back in October of 2018 and still no answer.
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2019, 20:21   #56591  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,723
there is still "send the following HDR metadata..." in version >86<
i know it was put into the same category so it was a feature and it looks like it should still work but i can't answer that for you and well i better just stop here because it's been awhile since last october.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2019, 21:56   #56592  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
there are so many ways to fix color issue with madVR none of them should be this slow.
That is, there are no other ways to fix color issue with HDR madVR?
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2019, 08:45   #56593  |  Link
Charky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by toki View Post
OK, I got a new 4k tv. It's a sony x950g and I'm having the same problems at 60z. I can't get it to go to RGB. I also can't get it to switch to 10bit.
Without HDMI 2.1 (which AFAIK doesn't exist yet GPU-side, and is only supported by the new LG C9 display-side), you can't output RGB 2160p60.
__________________
Charky

"Rule #1 : If it works, don't change anything."
Charky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2019, 08:50   #56594  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charky View Post
you can't output RGB 2160p60.
Surely you meant to say 10 or 12 bit? 2160p60 RGB 8bit is fine.
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT , Win 10 x64 (1903), Quad Core @ 4.4ghz, Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung UE55KS8000, YAMAHA NSF51 speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2019, 09:55   #56595  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpainlesskodi View Post
Surely you meant to say 10 or 12 bit? 2160p60 RGB 8bit is fine.
Also, 8bit RGB 2160p60 is better quality than 12 bit YCbCr 4:2:2. This is not true if watching via a bluray player but it is when using madVR. I use 8bit RGB 2160p60 most of the time, over HDMI 2.0, on a LG C7 and now a C9.

HDMI 2.1 allows RGB 2160p120, which I am very much looking forward to when a GPU with HDMI 2.1 comes out.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2019, 10:06   #56596  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post

HDMI 2.1 allows RGB 2160p120, which I am very much looking forward to when a GPU with HDMI 2.1 comes out.
Yeah, will be nice from a technical view, but I don't see myself rushing out to upgrade my entire A/V chain...
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT , Win 10 x64 (1903), Quad Core @ 4.4ghz, Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung UE55KS8000, YAMAHA NSF51 speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2019, 10:11   #56597  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,723
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMU View Post
That is, there are no other ways to fix color issue with HDR madVR?
there is older version with that option.
you can use the windows HDR where this could work.
or it just works for you.
you should still figure out where your gpu is taking ages for an totally trivial conversion.

there are far more variables to check why this could go wrong.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2019, 12:45   #56598  |  Link
Charky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpainlesskodi View Post
Surely you meant to say 10 or 12 bit? 2160p60 RGB 8bit is fine.
Yes I did meant 10/12 bits RGB

Envoyé de mon SM-G930F en utilisant Tapatalk
__________________
Charky

"Rule #1 : If it works, don't change anything."
Charky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2019, 13:26   #56599  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpainlesskodi View Post
Yeah, will be nice from a technical view, but I don't see myself rushing out to upgrade my entire A/V chain...
Stuck on 1080 on my OLED until my amp gets updated, banged in some 48Gbps HDMI cables for good measure. Most of my stuff is 1080 anyway so I can deal for now, but damn OLED is so God damned clean/pure in picture quality, get that 4:4:4 poppin and lord almighty, it's glorious. 10-bit is a waste of time based on the Pana OLED with my limited testing.

Last edited by ryrynz; 16th June 2019 at 13:28.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2019, 13:38   #56600  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
banged in some 48Gbps HDMI cables for good measure..
Yeah, I've updated all my cables in the chain to 48Gbps versions too.

And when I go to update my display (but not any time soon), I'll def be looking at OLED.
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT , Win 10 x64 (1903), Quad Core @ 4.4ghz, Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung UE55KS8000, YAMAHA NSF51 speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.