Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th October 2019, 03:29   #1  |  Link
voightkampfferror
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
noob questions.

I Have some basic questions for you guys. I've admittedly not done too much research on this forum but what I have I haven't come up with too much. figured some of you superstars may be willing to help me directly

1. sometimes bd rebuilder doesn't launch a decoder at all. right now I'm rebuilding a movie that is in MPEG4 format and it isn't using LAV for decode. I'm wondering about this because my processor isn't anywhere near fully optimized and when BD rebuilder uses LAV it uses all cores close to 100%. is there something I can or even should change to make the jobs faster in this regard? This is on an AMD 2700x if that matters.

2. If I have any hardware decoding available to me should I be using it? I would love to cut down on job times but I've read a lot of info that claims quality suffers and I don't want to budge on that front. Is that info out of date at this point? I have a GTX 1070 card. (I usually go with a dvd9 backup of blu-ray.)

oh and to everyone responsible for this software and its progression over the years, a huge thank you to you all!
voightkampfferror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2019, 03:50   #2  |  Link
videoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 841
Quote:
Originally Posted by voightkampfferror View Post
you superstars
Flattery will get you everywhere.

Quote:
If I have any hardware decoding available to me should I be using it? I would love to cut down on job times but I've read a lot of info that claims quality suffers and I don't want to budge on that front.
Decoding is always bit correct no matter whether you do it on the CPU or GPU. If HW speeds things up, go for it!

Welcome to the forum, a haven for all that channel the divine, and champion what is right and correct.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2019, 02:50   #3  |  Link
Mark_Venture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 185
Decoding via hardware or software should be the same quality.

When it comes to encoding, hardware had been inferior. There have been steady progress on the hardware encoding front with GTX10xx being better than GTX9xx, etc., and again with Nvidia's RTX series, and the GTX1660/1660ti (gtx1650 has older hardware encoder). So much so that there is said to be little, if any difference between software and hardware encoding quality, with better speed. Unfortunately BD Rebuilder isn't using hardware encoding.
Mark_Venture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2019, 05:44   #4  |  Link
voightkampfferror
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
I think in this case flattery is warranted, my knowledge in this forum is script kiddie level at best.
you've put me into a good position to do some major research and testing at this point so thank you!
voightkampfferror is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.