Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th October 2009, 02:22   #61  |  Link
Keiyakusha
契約者
 
Keiyakusha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,576
Can't get it work under win7. Every app that trying to use it just hangs so I even can't construct any graph...
Keiyakusha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2009, 02:33   #62  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keiyakusha View Post
Can't get it work under win7. Every app that trying to use it just hangs so I even can't construct any graph...
Yes, same here. After the "diavc.ax" was registered, TimeCodec.exe didn't even startup. I just hung with 100% CPU load, the window never appeared.

Also GraphStudio froze as soon as I tried to add DiAVC to the graph. So I had to unregister the filter again

I don't know what compiler was used to make that binary. But if the Intel C Compiler was used, it may be this issue showing up on Windows 7.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 6th October 2009 at 02:36.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2009, 02:35   #63  |  Link
jakor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 56
I think support of H264_VLD_NoFGT in DXVA1/2 killed the industry of PC AVC decoders.
__________________
great idea generator
complicated code creator
jakor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2009, 03:00   #64  |  Link
Astrophizz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 184
Just a quick test and I got ~72% as fast as DivX and ~84% as fast as CoreAVC in the GraphStudio decoder performance test. I have a Core Duo @ 2.0 GHz - basically the same as your dev system. Also the settings app doesn't seem to properly set it as the default decoder for h.264 for me.
Astrophizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2009, 07:35   #65  |  Link
schweinsz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keiyakusha View Post
Can't get it work under win7. Every app that trying to use it just hangs so I even can't construct any graph...
Only WinXP, win2000 and vista are supported now.
schweinsz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2009, 08:52   #66  |  Link
schweinsz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrophizz View Post
Just a quick test and I got ~72% as fast as DivX and ~84% as fast as CoreAVC in the GraphStudio decoder performance test. I have a Core Duo @ 2.0 GHz - basically the same as your dev system. Also the settings app doesn't seem to properly set it as the default decoder for h.264 for me.
I uploaded a bad version wrongly. I have uploaded the right version just now. You can use it now.

The following is my test result.
timecodec, null renderer
MissHK2008.mkv, 1920x1080, about 4Mbps, 24fps
DiAVC: User: 9s, kernel: 0s, total: 10s, real: 46s, fps: 293.7, dfps: 64.2
CoreAVC: User: 8s, kernel: 0s, total: 8s, real: 50s, fps: 348.8, dfps: 59.8
DiVX: User: 10s, kernel: 0s, total: 10s, real: 49s, fps: 275.9, dfps: 59.9

goldcurse.mp4, 1920x1080, about 50Mbps, 24fps
DiAVC: User: 7s, kernel: 0s, total: 7s, real: 87s, fps: 306.4, dfps: 27.5
CoreAVC: User: 4s, kernel: 0s, total: 4s, real: 96s, fps: 554.4, dfps: 25.0
DiVX: User: 8s, kernel: 0s, total: 8s, real: 93s, fps: 276.7, dfps: 25.7

After May, 2009, I never profile the DiAVC using the intel vTune, after then I improved the DiAVC very much. I will profile it recently and I believe I can still improve it very much.

Besides, the DiAVC setting only change the merit, what more things do I need to change?
I found the media player classic can select the decoder with biggest merit, but wmp not.

Last edited by schweinsz; 6th October 2009 at 08:58.
schweinsz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2009, 09:41   #67  |  Link
Astrophizz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 184
Hm, with this new version nothing happens when I try to connect it in GraphStudio (not frozen... just nothing happens). Timecodec doesn't even see it
Astrophizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2009, 09:59   #68  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
same here...

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2009, 11:09   #69  |  Link
schweinsz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrophizz View Post
Hm, with this new version nothing happens when I try to connect it in GraphStudio (not frozen... just nothing happens). Timecodec doesn't even see it
Unzip to the same folder, and re-register the DiAVC decoder (Run the DiAVC setting.exe, Press the button "Register DiAVC decoder").
Or you can use the regsvr32.exe to register it.

I am a newcomer to the directshow development. I am only good at algorithms of video coding.
schweinsz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2009, 13:39   #70  |  Link
Keiyakusha
契約者
 
Keiyakusha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by schweinsz View Post
Only WinXP, win2000 and vista are supported now.
I know this. But knowing this doesn't make things any better for me so I had to try
Keiyakusha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2009, 21:53   #71  |  Link
Astrophizz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 184
Even when I register it manually I still can't see it in timecodec or connect it in graphstudio. Maybe it's something on my end.
Astrophizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2009, 22:10   #72  |  Link
Keiyakusha
契約者
 
Keiyakusha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,576
I re-downloaded DiAVC and now as far as I can tell I have the same behavior as Astrophizz has. Don't see it in TimeCodec and can't do anything with it in Graphstudio (can't even insert it). But nothing freezes anymore. So maybe this is not really win7-related issue?

Last edited by Keiyakusha; 6th October 2009 at 22:12.
Keiyakusha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 20:09   #73  |  Link
schweinsz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keiyakusha View Post
I re-downloaded DiAVC and now as far as I can tell I have the same behavior as Astrophizz has. Don't see it in TimeCodec and can't do anything with it in Graphstudio (can't even insert it). But nothing freezes anymore. So maybe this is not really win7-related issue?
I am sorry, I will fix the problem as fast as I can and then I release the correct version.
schweinsz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2009, 22:59   #74  |  Link
schweinsz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keiyakusha View Post
I re-downloaded DiAVC and now as far as I can tell I have the same behavior as Astrophizz has. Don't see it in TimeCodec and can't do anything with it in Graphstudio (can't even insert it). But nothing freezes anymore. So maybe this is not really win7-related issue?
I have uploaded a new version of the DiAVC to www.di-avc.com, the new version improve the registration part and add support to other windows platforms. As the google site is down, the two download address is from the www.di-avc.com.
The previous problems are from the registration and the flush the residual frames when bitstream end. I have fixed them.

Last edited by schweinsz; 12th October 2009 at 23:05.
schweinsz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2009, 23:31   #75  |  Link
VFR maniac
Spinner of yarns
 
VFR maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 164
Hmm...
I registered diavc.ax by regsvr32, but the filter was not connected with any streams, and filename pointed C:\WINDOWS\system32\regsvr32.exe.

OS: Windows XP SP2


Edit: Registration succeeded with DiAVCSetting.exe, but the order of displaying frames is confusion.
__________________
僕と契約して、L-SMASH developerになってよ!
L-SMASH | L-SMASH Works | Opus-in-ISOBMFF specification and reference software

Last edited by VFR maniac; 13th October 2009 at 00:02.
VFR maniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2009, 23:41   #76  |  Link
Keiyakusha
契約者
 
Keiyakusha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,576
Hi. Just tried new version and it works for me! I don't have much time to play with it now, since I know that results may vary a bit depending on tested file. But I did some quick comparison on small SD sample. On my Core2Duo @ 2.66 ghz it looks something like this:

DivX: 735.6873
DiAVC: 710.6077
CoreAVC: 667.2235
FFDShow/ffmpeg-mt: 541.4999
Microsoft DTV-DVD:476.1
FFDShow/libavcodec: 461.1986

All of these measured in 3 passes using Graphstudio with null renderer, except Microsoft DTV-DVD. It shows astronomical results sometimes. So TimeCodec was used for it instead. I like the results so far, will play more with it later. Thanks for the update!

Last edited by Keiyakusha; 13th October 2009 at 00:01. Reason: Grammar...
Keiyakusha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2009, 23:59   #77  |  Link
Astrophizz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 184
Just did a quick test with timecodec.exe and got this on some 720p content (2.0 GHz CoreDuo):
DiAVC: User: 3s, kernel: 0s, total: 3s, real: 21s, fps: 656.7, dfps: 103.9
DivX: User: 3s, kernel: 0s, total: 3s, real: 19s, fps: 688.9, dfps: 111.4
CoreAVC: User: 8s, kernel: 0s, total: 8s, real: 22s, fps: 261.2, dfps: 95.9

That's pretty impressive.
Astrophizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2009, 01:14   #78  |  Link
Keiyakusha
契約者
 
Keiyakusha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,576
With HD video DiAVC is faster for me. Faster than DivX for about 4-8 fps

What I noticed:
- Can't connect DiAVC to Haali video renderer
- Playback in MPC-HC is jumpy. It means I see blinking of almost random frames. Have no idea why this is happening. In graphstudio with the same filter chain all seems to be fine.
- I see decoding artifacts sometimes:

At 6-8 second with with this sample.
other decoders - no problems.
Keiyakusha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2009, 19:58   #79  |  Link
schweinsz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keiyakusha View Post
With HD video DiAVC is faster for me. Faster than DivX for about 4-8 fps
Yes, the similar results with me.
(My laptop: intel core duo T2350 1.86G, ram 1G, FSB 533MHz, harddisk, 80G, ati mobility radeon x1450)
timecodec, null renderer

MissHK2008.mkv, 1920x1080, about 4Mbps, 24fps
DiAVC: User: 9s, kernel: 0s, total: 10s, real: 46s, fps: 293.7, dfps: 64.2
CoreAVC: User: 8s, kernel: 0s, total: 8s, real: 50s, fps: 348.8, dfps: 59.8
DiVX: User: 10s, kernel: 0s, total: 10s, real: 49s, fps: 275.9, dfps: 59.9


goldcurse.mp4, 1920x1080, about 50Mbps, 24fps
DiAVC: User: 7s, kernel: 0s, total: 7s, real: 87s, fps: 306.4, dfps: 27.5
CoreAVC: User: 4s, kernel: 0s, total: 4s, real: 96s, fps: 554.4, dfps: 25.0
DiVX: User: 8s, kernel: 0s, total: 8s, real: 93s, fps: 276.7, dfps: 25.7


air.mp4: 1920x1080, 5.2Mbps
DiAVC: User: 7s, kernel: 0s, total: 7s, real: 30s, fps: 279.0, dfps: 73.2
DIVX: User: 9s, kernel: 0s, total: 9s, real: 30s, fps: 245.4, dfps: 72.5
CoreAVC: User: 6s, kernel: 0s, total: 6s, real: 30s, fps: 336.3, dfps: 72.8


assembly.mp4: 1920x832, 5.5Mbps
DiAVC: User: 6s, kernel: 0s, total: 6s, real: 41s, fps: 400.4, dfps: 62.5
DIVX: User: 6s, kernel: 0s, total: 6s, real: 44s, fps: 397.5, dfps: 58.7
CoreAVC: User: 5s, kernel: 0s, total: 5s, real: 46s, fps: 459.2, dfps: 56.2

blue ray.mp4: 1920x1080, 22.9Mbps
DiAVC: User: 3s, kernel: 0s, total: 3s, real: 23s, fps: 304.7, dfps: 44.1
DIVX: User: 3s, kernel: 0s, total: 3s, real: 22s, fps: 287.2, dfps: 44.4
CoreAVC: User: 2s, kernel: 0s, total: 2s, real: 22s, fps: 350.8, dfps: 45.3

deep blue.mp4: 1440x1080, 18.9Mbps
DiAVC: User: 2s, kernel: 0s, total: 2s, real: 20s, fps: 330.3, dfps: 39.0
DIVX: User: 6s, kernel: 0s, total: 6s, real: 23s, fps: 118.0, dfps: 34.2
CoreAVC: User: 1s, kernel: 0s, total: 1s, real: 21s, fps: 512.0, dfps: 37.2

goldcurse2.mkv: 1920x1080, 29.3Mbps
DiAVC: User: 10s, kernel: 0s, total: 10s, real: 84s, fps: 282.8, dfps: 36.6
DIVX: User: 12s, kernel: 0s, total: 12s, real: 86s, fps: 250.2, dfps: 35.8
CoreAVC: User: 7s, kernel: 0s, total: 7s, real: 89s, fps: 421.7, dfps: 34.3

planet earth.mp4: 1920x1080, 11.7Mbps
DiAVC: User: 14s, kernel: 0s, total: 14s, real: 91s, fps: 281.4, dfps: 46.2
DIVX: User: 15s, kernel: 0s, total: 15s, real: 101s, fps: 264.0, dfps: 41.3
CoreAVC: User: 12s, kernel: 0s, total: 12s, real: 105s, fps: 332.2, dfps: 39.7

BillSample.mp4 (interlace): 1440x1080, 5.2Mbps
DiAVC: User: 2s, kernel: 0s, total: 2s, real: 13s, fps: 617.9, dfps: 99.1
DIVX: User: 5s, kernel: 0s, total: 6s, real: 17s, fps: 210.0, dfps: 78.2
CoreAVC: User: 1s, kernel: 0s, total: 1s, real: 12s, fps: 753.4, dfps: 104.1

withyou.mp4 (interlace): 1440x1080, 4.9Mbps
DiAVC: User: 24s, kernel: 1s, total: 26s, real: 103s, fps: 579.2, dfps: 147.1
DIVX: User: 62s, kernel: 9s, total: 72s, real: 143s, fps: 211.3, dfps: 106.0
CoreAVC: User: 19s, kernel: 0s, total: 19s, real: 98s, fps: 795.2, dfps: 154.8

kellylove.mp4 (interlace): 1920x1080, 27.4Mbps
DiAVC: User: 15s, kernel: 0s, total: 15s, real: 113s, fps: 297.5, dfps: 40.9
DIVX: User: 49s, kernel: 6s, total: 55s, real: 142s, fps: 83.2, dfps: 32.8
CoreAVC: User: 13s, kernel: 0s, total: 13s, real: 124s, fps: 341.9, dfps: 37.5

The DiAVC is faster than the coreavc and divx H.264 decoder.
Especially, I found the DIVX decoder is VERY poor on dealing with interlace contents.

Next I will profile the DiAVC using the vtune, then I can improve it more. I believe I can improve it very much still. I never profile it after May, 2009.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Keiyakusha View Post
What I noticed:
- Can't connect DiAVC to Haali video renderer
- Playback in MPC-HC is jumpy. It means I see blinking of almost random frames. Have no idea why this is happening. In graphstudio with the same filter chain all seems to be fine.
- I see decoding artifacts sometimes:

At 6-8 second with with this sample.
other decoders - no problems.
Yes, there do remain many problems with the filter. I will fix them recently. About the blinking, I even found that If the DiAVC is connected to the VMR9, and set pProperties->cBuffers>1 in function "HRESULT CDiAVC:ecideBufferSize", there are blinking always, so I must set pProperties->cBuffers==1 when VMR9 in current version. I will investigate it.
btw: I can not get to the picture and the video you post.

Last edited by schweinsz; 14th October 2009 at 21:52.
schweinsz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2009, 23:56   #80  |  Link
Astrophizz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 184
I'll try to run some more tests and see if I get better results. For some reason DivX performs a bitter better on my system even though we have the same CPU architecture.
Astrophizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avc, diavc, fastest decoder, h.264, software

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.