Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th May 2018, 15:55   #50641  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by x7007 View Post
What about the LG OLED TV's ? B6 , C6

for HDR you need to choose Game Console/HDMI instead PC Input , And choose HDR Standard Picture mode

what is GL ?
Sorry I don't have an LG.

I have no idea what GL means.
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (19.9.2) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (1903), Silverstone LC13B-E, Onkyo TX-NR686, Samsung UE55KS8000, Mission M35i speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2018, 16:20   #50642  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,984
GL=good luck
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2018, 17:06   #50643  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 251
So which mode should I use ?

Windows HDR Enabled + Madvr 10bit + HDR Passthrough + TV GameConsole/HDMI Input + Full Windowed or FSE ?

Windows HDR Disable + " + " " + " " + Full Windowed or FSE ?


Because Windows HDR gives 8 bit + Dithering in Windowed and maybe FSE I think, and MadVR gives 8 bit when Full Windowed mode.

So which is the best choice ?

Would I notice any quality differences between 8bit Windows HDR and Madvr 8 bit Nvidia ? and also differences in MadvR 10 bit FSE ?
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2018, 17:30   #50644  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by x7007 View Post
So which mode should I use ?

Windows HDR Enabled + Madvr 10bit + HDR Passthrough + TV GameConsole/HDMI Input + Full Windowed or FSE ?

Windows HDR Disable + " + " " + " " + Full Windowed or FSE ?


Because Windows HDR gives 8 bit + Dithering in Windowed and maybe FSE I think, and MadVR gives 8 bit when Full Windowed mode.

So which is the best choice ?

Would I notice any quality differences between 8bit Windows HDR and Madvr 8 bit Nvidia ? and also differences in MadvR 10 bit FSE ?
It is unknown what Windows does to the image, but the images should be identical between the two.

The best set up is to use the Nvidia private API (passthrough - send metadata), so you don't have to toggle HDR on and off. This is clearly most convenient.

To get 10-bit passthrough, you must enable fullscreen exclusive mode until there is a fix a the driver level for banding with 10-bit HDR passthrough when set to windowed mode. SDR playback is unaffected by this bug.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2018, 17:31   #50645  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by x7007 View Post
So which mode should I use ?

Windows HDR Enabled + Madvr 10bit + HDR Passthrough + TV GameConsole/HDMI Input + Full Windowed or FSE ?

Windows HDR Disable + " + " " + " " + Full Windowed or FSE ?


Because Windows HDR gives 8 bit + Dithering in Windowed and maybe FSE I think, and MadVR gives 8 bit when Full Windowed mode.

So which is the best choice ?

Would I notice any quality differences between 8bit Windows HDR and Madvr 8 bit Nvidia ? and also differences in MadvR 10 bit FSE ?
Windows HDR Disable + " + " " + " " + FSE

Edit - looks like Warner306 and I commented at the same time
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (19.9.2) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (1903), Silverstone LC13B-E, Onkyo TX-NR686, Samsung UE55KS8000, Mission M35i speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2018, 17:36   #50646  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
It is unknown what Windows does to the image, but the images should be identical between the two.

The best set up is to use the Nvidia private API (passthrough - send metadata), so you don't have to toggle HDR on and off. This is clearly most convenient.

To get 10-bit passthrough, you must enable fullscreen exclusive mode until there is a fix a the driver level for banding with 10-bit HDR passthrough when set to windowed mode. SDR playback is unaffected by this bug.








Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpainlesskodi View Post
Windows HDR Disable + " + " " + " " + FSE

Edit - looks like Warner306 and I commented at the same time

Ok thanks . FSE is so annoying, takes ages until the images start to play when going in FSE. out is ok
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2018, 18:54   #50647  |  Link
truexfan81
Registered User
 
truexfan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 138
whats going on here?

evga 1050ti fw latest nvidia driver, windows 10 1803 madvr 0.92.10
any idea whats going on here?


thanks
truexfan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2018, 18:55   #50648  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,715
Try small buffers, I like 6 for GPU buffers and 4 fames presented in advance. I have noticed that smaller buffers perform better than giant ones.

Also, it looks like you are not using the default flush and wait options? Put those back to the defaults.

Quote:
Originally Posted by x7007 View Post
FSE is so annoying, takes ages until the images start to play when going in FSE.
Can you actually see any difference with 10 bit compared to 8 bit? I simply use 8 bit all the time, 10 bit is very unimportant for madVR's video out. Dithering FTW.
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 4th May 2018 at 18:59.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2018, 19:04   #50649  |  Link
truexfan81
Registered User
 
truexfan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Try small buffers, I like 6 for GPU buffers and 4 fames presented in advance. I have noticed that smaller buffers perform better than giant ones.

Also, it looks like you are not using the default flush and wait options? Put those back to the defaults.



Can you actually see any difference with 10 bit compared to 8 bit? I simply use 8 bit all the time, 10 bit is very unimportant for madVR's video out. Dithering FTW.
edit: I got it, had to add another profile for my image enhancements to turn them off for 50/60fps videos.

Last edited by truexfan81; 4th May 2018 at 19:24.
truexfan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2018, 19:31   #50650  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,715
The reason this wasn't immediately obvious when looking at the OSD was because you turned off all the "wait" options in the "when and how shall the GPU be flushed:" section of windowed mode, "after the last render step" should be one of the wait options so madVR can report rendering times.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2018, 21:45   #50651  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by truexfan81 View Post
evga 1050ti fw latest nvidia driver, windows 10 1803 madvr 0.92.10
any idea whats going on here?
I'm having the same issue, I think Windows 10 1803 changed something that broke windowed mode. Using FSE mode is the only workaround I've found.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2018, 23:00   #50652  |  Link
iakoboss7
Registered User
 
iakoboss7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 13
hello, anyone noticed reduced average rendering time with the new windows 10 update?
in files where i got ~10ms now i get ~5ms. playback is perfect as always.

am i the only one? i didnt find any mention in the last 10 pages.

rx 480 with latest drivers.


also about the low (0-1) queues many have (alongside dropped frames), the culprit is freesync.
when i disable it everything is fine. its not windows fault. this started with the last madvr versions.
also reclock doesnt work that well at the same time...

Last edited by iakoboss7; 4th May 2018 at 23:24.
iakoboss7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2018, 23:48   #50653  |  Link
Betroz
Is this for real?
 
Betroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by iakoboss7 View Post
also about the low (0-1) queues many have (alongside dropped frames), the culprit is freesync.
when i disable it everything is fine. its not windows fault. this started with the last madvr versions.
also reclock doesnt work that well at the same time...
Not for me. I have this problem, and it's not that. I use an old plasma TV from Panasonic, so no freesync there

Also the queues fill up nicely with an older version av MadVr with NNEDI3 128 settings. Even with queue size of 24.
__________________
My HTPC : i7 6900K @ 4.2 | nVidia GTX 1080Ti | TV : Samsung 75Q9FN QLED
Betroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2018, 23:54   #50654  |  Link
cyberscott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by x7007 View Post
What about the LG OLED TV's ? B6 , C6

for HDR you need to choose Game Console/HDMI instead PC Input , And choose HDR Standard Picture mode

what is GL ?
I own a LG C6. I can play HDR videos perfectly fine with the C6 set to PC Input. I can also play HDR compatible PC games in the same mode.
I mainly use my C6 as a big monitor.
cyberscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 00:05   #50655  |  Link
FDisk80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Israel
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magik Mark View Post
How about custom refresh rate?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Nope, still busted with 397.55.
madVR gives this error when trying to apply custom timings.


Last edited by FDisk80; 5th May 2018 at 00:15.
FDisk80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 00:22   #50656  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDisk80 View Post
Nope, still busted with 397.55.
madVR gives this error when trying to apply custom timings.
Is this still with 1080p?

Do you also get this error if you select EDID/CTA? That's the only option that works for me with my JVC PJ, and it gives me 1+ hour of drop free playback (with 4K/UHD though, I haven't tested 1080p). I haven't tried the latest driver, but it worked with all the former ones (which you reported as not working as well).
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 00:25   #50657  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Betroz View Post
Also the queues fill up nicely with an older version av MadVr with NNEDI3 128 settings. Even with queue size of 24.
Hmm, good point. I checked the repository of old versions and the last version in which the queues fill is v0.91.5. In v0.91.6 and newer the queues no longer fill.

However, even in v0.91.5 the queues only fill up to 5-7/15 for me. I'm also fairly sure the regression itself is caused by the update to Windows 10, even if older versions of madVR managed to avoid it.

Edit: Aha, NGU seems to be the culprit somehow. v0.91.6 introduced NGU Anti-Alias, which I was using for chroma upscaling. If I enable NGU for chroma upscaling in v0.91.5 the queues stop filling, even if I select the "low" quality option which gives me an average rendering time of 4.5ms.

Edit2: Yes, going back to v0.92.14 if I set chroma upscaling to Bicubic60 I get 5-7/15 like in v0.91.5. If I use super-xbr I get 2-4/15 (even though the rendering time is practically unchanged at 3.5ms) and if I select NGU I get 0-2/15 and it starts dropping frames. Is it running into some sort of windowed mode GPU memory usage limit or something??

Last edited by Ver Greeneyes; 5th May 2018 at 00:37.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 01:24   #50658  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberscott View Post
I own a LG C6. I can play HDR videos perfectly fine with the C6 set to PC Input. I can also play HDR compatible PC games in the same mode.
I mainly use my C6 as a big monitor.
You can use HDR in PC mode but, on the C7 at least, the gamut coverage is much worse. Home theater or similar offers better HDR rendering but also uses 4:2:2 color subsampling.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 01:29   #50659  |  Link
mlauzon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
I keep hearing about MadVR, but have no idea how to use it, can someone ELI5 please & thank you..?!
__________________
Michael
mlauzon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 01:34   #50660  |  Link
FDisk80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Israel
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
Is this still with 1080p?

Do you also get this error if you select EDID/CTA? That's the only option that works for me with my JVC PJ, and it gives me 1+ hour of drop free playback (with 4K/UHD though, I haven't tested 1080p). I haven't tried the latest driver, but it worked with all the former ones (which you reported as not working as well).
Yes, this is a 1080P HDTV.
I can't even apply EDID/CTA, the test button is grayed out because those are already the timing that are being used by default when switching to 1080P@23hz mode.



But it's not optimal. Those timings result in 23.977hz and there is a frame repeat every 2 or 3 minutes.
FDisk80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.