Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th March 2018, 20:24   #2981  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosKing View Post
I wrote a small "vs plugin loading checker" script and got some errors...
What does "No entry point found" mean exactly? CombMask should be a vs dll.
Error 193 means it's a 32Bit dll, correct?

Is it possible to not autoload all plugins when using get_core()?


...
No entry point simply means the dll doesn't export a function named VapourSynthPluginInit (or it's stdcall mangled equivalent). It's simply not a VS plugin then. Note that unlike avisynth the entry point stuff has never changed...

Error code 193 can be found here
here. It's vague but probably corrupt file or not the correct bitness.

Autoloading will always be on. Don't put stuff in the folder if you don't want to use it. If you don't use it I'll taunt you and call you smelly.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2018, 22:00   #2982  |  Link
ChaosKing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,795
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
No entry point simply means the dll doesn't export a function named VapourSynthPluginInit (or it's stdcall mangled equivalent). It's simply not a VS plugin then. Note that unlike avisynth the entry point stuff has never changed...

Error code 193 can be found here
here. It's vague but probably corrupt file or not the correct bitness.

Autoloading will always be on. Don't put stuff in the folder if you don't want to use it. If you don't use it I'll taunt you and call you smelly.
After a long and thorough shower I pushed this script with some updates to github in case some one needs it: https://github.com/theChaosCoder/vap...h-plugin-check

Code:
#######################################
checking dlls in E:\PortableApps\VapourSynth\plugins64
#######################################
Errors:
-------
Failed to load E:\PortableApps\VapourSynth\plugins64\bilateralGPU.dll. GetLastError() returned 126. A DLL dependency is probably missing.
Failed to load E:\PortableApps\VapourSynth\plugins64\libIlmImf.dll. GetLastError() returned 126. A DLL dependency is probably missing.
Plugin load failed, namespace focus already populated (E:\PortableApps\VapourSynth\plugins64\libtemporalsoften.dll)

Errors: Not a VS-Plugin
-------
No entry point found in E:\PortableApps\VapourSynth\plugins64\CombMask.dll
No entry point found in E:\PortableApps\VapourSynth\plugins64\ReduceFlicker.dll
No entry point found in E:\PortableApps\VapourSynth\plugins64\XySubFilter.dll

Errors: incorrect bitness (32bit instead of 64bit) or corrupt file.
-------
Failed to load E:\PortableApps\VapourSynth\plugins64\externalfilters.dll. GetLastError() returned 193.
Failed to load E:\PortableApps\VapourSynth\plugins64\scenechange.dll. GetLastError() returned 193.
Failed to load E:\PortableApps\VapourSynth\plugins64\tc2cfr.dll. GetLastError() returned 193.
Failed to load E:\PortableApps\VapourSynth\plugins64\temporalsoften2.dll. GetLastError() returned 193.

Notices:
-------
cudart64_80.dll some dll for CUDA GPU stuff
libfftw3-3.dll is a dependency by fft3dfilter or mvtools-sf
libfftw3f-3.dll is a dependency by fft3dfilter or mvtools-sf
libiomp5md.dll is part of the Waifu2x-w2xc filter
libmfxsw64.dll is part of the DGMVCSourceVS filter
svml_dispmd.dll is part of the Waifu2x-w2xc filter
w2xc.dll is part of the Waifu2x-w2xc filter
#######################################
Found 103 dlls. Errors: 10 Notices: 7
__________________
AVSRepoGUI // VSRepoGUI - Package Manager for AviSynth // VapourSynth
VapourSynth Portable FATPACK || VapourSynth Database
ChaosKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2018, 21:01   #2983  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,548
R44-test1

Basically the only notable change is largepage support. Try it and see if it makes memory allocation when processing 4k material faster. To better compare it can be disabled by setting the environment variable VS_NO_LARGE_PAGES. Have fun...
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2018, 10:50   #2984  |  Link
hydra3333
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: crow-land
Posts: 540
Thank you.
hydra3333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2018, 05:35   #2985  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,259
Small question, how can I check whether either: 'core.nnedi3.nnedi3' or 'core.znedi3.nnedi3' is available.
Background: I want to adjust a bunch of scripts (like havsfunc.py) to only use 'core.znedi3.nnedi3' in case it's available and use 'core.nnedi3.nnedi3' otherwise, since the OS X Installer currently has no znedi3 (same for eedi3m).

Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2018, 05:58   #2986  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,259
Thanks!
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2018, 06:27   #2987  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,259
Thanks.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2018, 07:27   #2988  |  Link
VS_Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
Basically the only notable change is largepage support.
You could be interested in this possible windows 10 system bug, reported by 7-Zip author and some 7-Zip users, causing system crashes and corruption when using large memory pages
VS_Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2018, 21:39   #2989  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,548
I'm disappointed, nobody benchmarked it? Do I really have to produce my own benchmarketing material?

Btw, the bug seems to be fixed in the spring creator's update so hopefully by the time R44 is released it won't really be a problem. I think the only other real improvements for R44 will be further tweaks to the memory pool. There have been surprisingly few bugs reported so far, only the poor core 2 quad users don't like R43...
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2018, 22:57   #2990  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
benchmarketing
Freud likes that.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2018, 13:56   #2991  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,752
The only other application I remember having support for large pages is 7-zip.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2018, 06:25   #2992  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,259
So enabling large page support is a bad thing atm.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2018, 19:35   #2993  |  Link
VS_Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 98
Shouldn't Linux, macOS and Windows 10 v18.03 users be safe testing with Large Memory Pages? It would be nice to have any benchmarks from them.

Igor Pavlov (developer of 7-zip) posted his findings and thoughts some 5 days ago
VS_Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2018, 19:36   #2994  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by VS_Fan View Post
Shouldn't Linux, macOS and Windows 10 v18.03 users be safe testing with Large Memory Pages? It would be nice to have any benchmarks from them.

Igor Pavlov (developer of 7-zip) posted his findings and thoughts some 5 days ago
It's safe on all windows 10 versions. There's a workaround for the bug. Obviously D9 didn't bother to actually try it but instead went off and made stuff up...
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2018, 08:51   #2995  |  Link
VS_Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 98
I’m on laptop with an intel core i5 4gen, 8GB RAM and windows 10 home edition (v18.03 = 10.0.16299.371), so no group policy editor for me. So I tried running vspipe in a command prompt with administrator rights to get LP working.

This are the results for the same vpy script provided by HolyWu: (vspipe.exe test.vpy .)

Code:
Vapoursynth R43: (No LP)
Output 500 frames in 37.62 seconds (13.29 fps)

Vapoursynth R44-test1, VS_NO_LARGE_PAGES set:
Output 500 frames in 40.75 seconds (12.27 fps)

Vapoursynth R44-test1, VS_NO_LARGE_PAGES not set:
Output 500 frames in 37.51 seconds (13.33 fps)

Vapoursynth R44-test1, VS_NO_LARGE_PAGES not set: (on an administrator command prompt)
Windows VirtualAlloc bug detected: page still mapped
Output 500 frames in 39.67 seconds (12.60 fps)
The time variations could be related to the antivirus scanning my external USB disk in the background
VS_Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2018, 09:21   #2996  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by VS_Fan View Post
I’m on laptop with an intel core i5 4gen, 8GB RAM and windows 10 home edition (v18.03 = 10.0.16299.371), so no group policy editor for me. So I tried running vspipe in a command prompt with administrator rights to get LP working.

This are the results for the same vpy script provided by HolyWu: (vspipe.exe test.vpy .)

Code:
Vapoursynth R43: (No LP)
Output 500 frames in 37.62 seconds (13.29 fps)

Vapoursynth R44-test1, VS_NO_LARGE_PAGES set:
Output 500 frames in 40.75 seconds (12.27 fps)

Vapoursynth R44-test1, VS_NO_LARGE_PAGES not set:
Output 500 frames in 37.51 seconds (13.33 fps)

Vapoursynth R44-test1, VS_NO_LARGE_PAGES not set: (on an administrator command prompt)
Windows VirtualAlloc bug detected: page still mapped
Output 500 frames in 39.67 seconds (12.60 fps)
The time variations could be related to the antivirus scanning my external USB disk in the background
I think your background tasks have a bigger effect than large pages at its best.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2018, 04:47   #2997  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,657
I find the wording of "VS_NO_LARGE_PAGES set/not set" confusing. I have to rethink a few times every time I read it because of the double negative.
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2018, 04:52   #2998  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by VS_Fan View Post
I’m on laptop with an intel core i5 4gen, 8GB RAM and windows 10 home edition (v18.03 = 10.0.16299.371), so no group policy editor for me. So I tried running vspipe in a command prompt with administrator rights to get LP working.

This are the results for the same vpy script provided by HolyWu: (vspipe.exe test.vpy .)

Code:
Vapoursynth R43: (No LP)
Output 500 frames in 37.62 seconds (13.29 fps)

Vapoursynth R44-test1, VS_NO_LARGE_PAGES set:
Output 500 frames in 40.75 seconds (12.27 fps)

Vapoursynth R44-test1, VS_NO_LARGE_PAGES not set:
Output 500 frames in 37.51 seconds (13.33 fps)

Vapoursynth R44-test1, VS_NO_LARGE_PAGES not set: (on an administrator command prompt)
Windows VirtualAlloc bug detected: page still mapped
Output 500 frames in 39.67 seconds (12.60 fps)
The time variations could be related to the antivirus scanning my external USB disk in the background
Almost all group policies are just regedits with airs, and work the same on Home once set: This one is HKEY_CURRENT_USER\System\CurrentControlSet\Policies DWORD SeLockMemoryPrivilege value 0x1. Reboot after setting.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2018, 16:35   #2999  |  Link
ChaosKing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,795
I just tried the 4k code snipped by HolyWu + PS code above and it is SLOW:
Output 1000 frames in 172.86 seconds (5.78 fps) | 15% CPU load :-/

With "$env:VS_NO_LARGE_PAGES = 1"
Output 1000 frames in 24.06 seconds (41.55 fps) | 75% CPU load

p.s. I have 16gb of ram.
__________________
AVSRepoGUI // VSRepoGUI - Package Manager for AviSynth // VapourSynth
VapourSynth Portable FATPACK || VapourSynth Database

Last edited by ChaosKing; 17th April 2018 at 18:31.
ChaosKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2018, 22:33   #3000  |  Link
ChaosKing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,795
Now with core.max_cache_size = 32768

Code:
Output 1000 frames in 16.40 seconds (60.96 fps)
$env:VS_NO_LARGE_PAGES = 1
Output 1000 frames in 16.24 seconds (61.59 fps)
From 40 to 60fps, nice speed up! CPU load was 100% now.
__________________
AVSRepoGUI // VSRepoGUI - Package Manager for AviSynth // VapourSynth
VapourSynth Portable FATPACK || VapourSynth Database
ChaosKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
speed, vaporware, vapoursynth

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.