Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th August 2010, 13:13   #12221  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,455
his broken english makes my eyes bleed, and mark also doesn't see the point to show the audio infos in ffdshow VIDEO: http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...ostcount=12121

but surely, we're not worthy
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2010, 13:38   #12222  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,126
@devs:

we're working on defining a new media type (GUID + structure), with the main purpose being to connect 3D splitters, decoders and renderers. If you're interested, please post your feedback here:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=156051
madshi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2010, 17:35   #12223  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by STaRGaZeR View Post
That "blur" is because you're probably using YV12
the blur is fine, subs look great right now...a nice in-between blurry and edgy:
I just wish I could have them in the exact yellow tint I want:

I've tried to change the hue/saturation/RGB levels blindly, to no available
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2010, 06:55   #12224  |  Link
hoborg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 454
Hi.
I noticed in "ffdshow_rev3517_20100731_clsid.exe" that DTS is not decoded correctly when use libavcodec, libdts working fine (i am not using passthrough).

EDIT:
Seems to be already fixed in "ffdshow_rev3527_20100808_xhmikosr.exe".
__________________
Working machine: Win10x64 + Intel Skull Canyon
My HTPC.

How to start with Bitcoin

Last edited by hoborg; 10th August 2010 at 07:22.
hoborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2010, 12:48   #12225  |  Link
27049215
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Hi, when using 'libsamplerate high quality' as resampler it crashes mpc-hc.
'ff_samplerate.dll' is the problem said by OS crash report

This is reproducible on my computer, here is the steps:
1. open any movie file
2. randomly click on the seek bar
3. after 10~20 clicks, there is a chance that mpc-hc will crash

when using libavcodec as resamper, everything is fine

my computer spec:
win xp sp3
mpc-hc svn.2212
ffdshow_rev3527_20100808_xhmikosr_icl11
27049215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2010, 13:28   #12226  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,307
Try with the VS2008 build instead.
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2010, 14:13   #12227  |  Link
27049215
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by STaRGaZeR View Post
Try with the VS2008 build instead.
tried ffdshow_rev3528_20100810_xhmikosr, still crashes mpc-hc

after more investigation, the crash always happens when playing avi video files
I remux avi into mkv, and the problem is gone, quite weird...

Last edited by 27049215; 10th August 2010 at 14:21.
27049215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2010, 14:32   #12228  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,307
I'm out of ideas then.
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2010, 18:41   #12229  |  Link
_xxl
ffdshow user
 
_xxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Romania
Posts: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by 27049215 View Post
Hi, when using 'libsamplerate high quality' as resampler it crashes mpc-hc.
'ff_samplerate.dll' is the problem said by OS crash report

This is reproducible on my computer, here is the steps:
1. open any movie file
2. randomly click on the seek bar
3. after 10~20 clicks, there is a chance that mpc-hc will crash

when using libavcodec as resamper, everything is fine

my computer spec:
win xp sp3
mpc-hc svn.2212
ffdshow_rev3527_20100808_xhmikosr_icl11
ff_samplerate.dll was updated some time ago. Please check if older builds work fine. If so I''ll revert it.
_xxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2010, 19:28   #12230  |  Link
27049215
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxl View Post
ff_samplerate.dll was updated some time ago. Please check if older builds work fine. If so I''ll revert it.
You are referring to svn.3421, right?
however, i tried ffdshow_rev3425_20100508, no problem with this version

I think it's something else that trigger this crash, I will try more svn builds later

Update: I have located the problem is between 3498 and 3507

Last edited by 27049215; 10th August 2010 at 19:39.
27049215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2010, 21:27   #12231  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,307
There are builds between r3498 and r3507 here, can you try those?
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2010, 05:24   #12232  |  Link
27049215
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by STaRGaZeR View Post
There are builds between r3498 and r3507 here, can you try those?
OK, more test performed, the problem is between r3500 and r3503
27049215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2010, 07:20   #12233  |  Link
Momber
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by Momber View Post


This happens every time I run the video decoder configuration.
It still happens every time, including rev3516.
I have tried uninstalling and re-installing (enabled resetting of all ffdshow options) multiple times.
Win XP SP3, DX as of June 2010
Momber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2010, 17:43   #12234  |  Link
NiFa
Audio & video enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 74
Just updated from vista to 7, now I have problems with FFDshow, I can't get DXVA to work with Win 7 32-bit, in vista it worked perfectly.

My system is:
Win 7
HD4200 with cat. 10.1
MPC-HC rev.2223 output EVR Sync
FFDshow rev.3488

Edit: Seems that UAC needs to be enabled or FFDshow DXVA won't load.

Last edited by NiFa; 12th August 2010 at 18:26. Reason: found problem
NiFa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2010, 01:10   #12235  |  Link
Alexander01
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 45
Can anybody please fix this bug with the DXVA part of ffdshow: http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func...41&atid=867360

I also made a topic about this in th ffdshow forum, but no one is responding. See here: http://ffdshow-tryout.sourceforge.ne...pic.php?t=1560

This bug is really annoying because some movies are really small (cinema format). Placing those subtitles into an already small picture is not really comfortable to watch :P
Alexander01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2010, 14:16   #12236  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,307
It's not a bug, it's a limitation. Letterboxing involves resizing, and you can't resize if you use DXVA. The option should be greyed out in the DXVA config.
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2010, 14:33   #12237  |  Link
janos666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 430
I have some questions which I can't find in the FAQ. I am confused about the Audio Decoder settings.

I have an Audigy 4 sound card with an analogue amplifier and relatively cheap (but not too bad) speakers. The card is theoretically 24/96 capable but it doesn't support any HDCP encryption.
I used to leave the Windows 7 output settings on 16/48. (Can it theoretically hurt the 16/48 sources if I set it to 24/96? Just to make sure that it will be able to handle a 24/96 signal if I will have any...?)

I use MPC-HC (latest SVN right now) with madVR video (FS exclusive) and ReClock (WASAPI exclusive) audio renders. I use the internal Source Filters but I disabled every internal Transform Filters to use the external FFDShow codec (it gives me more control over the settings and it is more compatible with madRV).
I try to avoid any unnecessary data manipulations. So, I don't use any FFDShow filters/plugins except the Subtitles and Mixer. (I don't really need the mixer because most of the sources match with my 5.1 speaker configuration. But the Subtitle renderer let me use madVR. It is a very nice feature. )

I used to watch movies with 16/48 DTS-1536 or AC3-640 tracks (or the "cores").
I fairly sure that I can't decode the full TrueHD or DTS-HD MA 24/96 tracks with a simple software codec and send it to a non-HDCP compliant soundcard in full resolution (and enjoy a very little bit of the extra quality).

And I think I should disable the jitter correction with ReClock.

But I am not sure anymore because the Info & CPU tab says this (with TrueHD track):
Input description: 48000Hz, 6 channels truehd (libavcoced)
Current bitrate: 5376 kbps
Juitter: -11ms

Does it really work with the full bitrate? Will it work with 24 bit if I insert a disc with 24 bit track? (I don't have any of them yet. -> Or I don't know, may be I see them as 16 bit because the softwares can't recognize the full track...)

And it says this with another disc (with DTS-HD MA track):
Input description: 48000Hz, 6 channels dts (libavcoced)
Current bitrate: 1536 kbps
Juitter: -11ms


And here is the Processing tab with the allowed sample formats. How should I configure it with 16 bit sources, 16(/24) bit soundcard and none known additional sound processing?
Or does FFDShow need to do some kind of processing anyway?
So, if I don't care about the CPU utilization, then should I set it to 32 bit FP + dithering with light noise shaping (to minimize the rounding errors) or should I set it to 16 bit only without dithering (to avoid the unnecessary resample steps with additional dithering noise)?
Does it even matter when I don't use any signal manipulation plugins? I have no idea...

If there is some proessing (even without additional filters/plugins), then how should I set the output format? Should I enable the 32 bit FP processing only and set the output format to 24 bit (to minimize the rounding errors)?


A last (and little) thing:
Is there a chance to support ASIO (or may be OpenAL) outputs? This software Dsound is weird with Vista+ (after 2006...!). This is why I choose the ReClock WASAPI output. (But it is not as convincing as the ASIO or OpenAL plugins for Winamp.) I don't apply 23.976->24 fps speedup with it (I enabled the PAL speedup but I don't watch DVDs anymore.), so I use it only as a smarter audio renderer.

Last edited by janos666; 14th August 2010 at 14:40.
janos666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2010, 15:52   #12238  |  Link
Alexander01
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by STaRGaZeR View Post
It's not a bug, it's a limitation. Letterboxing involves resizing, and you can't resize if you use DXVA. The option should be greyed out in the DXVA config.
So is there any other technique that can be used to get the subtitles on the bottom of the screen when using DXVA? In MPC-HC this is possible, but as this is a standalone player, it's not really fair to compare. Is it possible to use the same technique for this as MPC-HC does? Or is this not possible with a standalone directshow codec?
Alexander01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2010, 17:32   #12239  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexander01 View Post
So is there any other technique that can be used to get the subtitles on the bottom of the screen when using DXVA? In MPC-HC this is possible, but as this is a standalone player, it's not really fair to compare. Is it possible to use the same technique for this as MPC-HC does? Or is this not possible with a standalone directshow codec?
Not really, because at the moment ffdshow can only print stuff to the video, and your video is 1920x800, without the black bars. The black bars are added in the video renderer, and ffdshow has no control over them. MPC can do it because it has direct control over its custom renderers. When you activate letterbox when using software decoding what ffdshow does is resize to match your desired aspect ratio, in your case if the monitor is 16:9 to 1920x1080, adding black bars. Now that the subtitle filter has the bars to work on, it can print the subs there.

I say at the moment because some time ago tal.aloni talked about DXVA substreams or something like that, not sure if it could be used for this or not. Either way tal is missing, so you should forget about it. Just use software decoding.
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2010, 08:24   #12240  |  Link
tal.aloni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 496
I'm still around, PM if you need anything.
DXVA substreams has the same limitations as our software overlay method when it comes to where we can place subtitles, so it's not going to help here.

p.s.
it's not possible to use the same technique as MPC-HC does, because MPC-HC has control over the renderer.
tal.aloni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ffdshow, ffdshow tryouts, ffdshow-mt, ffplay, icl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.