Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th November 2012, 14:19   #1001  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,081
Quote:
I then changed to 704x428 (mod4), but filtering kept greyed out.
I closed Hybrid, reopen and adjust cropping manually to 704x428, but filtering appears greyed out anyway. It seems like manual crop disables filtering?.
Nope, I just forgot to turn the filtering back on once the cropping is fine again.

Quote:
In last Hybrid build I still find it leaves an *.ac3 audio track in /tmp, and the subtitle track is not deleted, even if I select 'Delete subtitle...'
will look at the step-by-step guide
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 14:31   #1002  |  Link
digitall.h
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Here
Posts: 257
I suppose it helps nothing, since we cannot compare (and you know what my preferences are ), but for example Handbrake detects this source autocropping as 696x426 (not mod4, but they don't use mplayer but some internals) and PAR 5568x3905 (?), that is 1.426. The reported DAR is 2.32:1

Does this help?
digitall.h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 14:35   #1003  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,081
Nope it does not help. Like I wrote, the mod4 thing is a mencoder problem and the par is detected through MediaInfo, can't do anything about it.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 14:47   #1004  |  Link
digitall.h
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Here
Posts: 257
Well, if we can manually adjust the cropping and keep filtering, it would be enough for these difficult sources.
My problem now is how to overcome the problem when mediainfo reports a wrong PAR (probably because the flag in the source is wrong).

Did you take a look at the source sample?. Does it give you the same results as it did with me?.
digitall.h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 14:59   #1005  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,081
Quote:
Did you take a look at the source sample?. Does it give you the same results as it did with me?.
same for me PAR is detected as:
Width : 720 pixels
Height : 576 pixels
Pixel aspect ratio : 1.896
Display aspect ratio : 2.370
Display aspect ratio : 2.40:1

Quote:
My problem now is how to overcome the problem when mediainfo reports a wrong PAR (probably because the flag in the source is wrong).
Other than telling Hybrid to use the aspect ratio you want: no clue
Problem might be rooted in:
1. Copy protection that writes wrong headers, which are not fixed by the ripper you use
2. MediaInfo simply misinterpreting the headers.
-> 1st thing I would try is to use another application to rip the dvd to hdd an check if the headers change.

Quote:
Well, if we can manually adjust the cropping and keep filtering, it would be enough for these difficult sources.
will compile a new version that fixes the mod4 problem of not reenabling the filtering
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 15:09   #1006  |  Link
digitall.h
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Here
Posts: 257
Quote:
same for me PAR is detected as:
Width : 720 pixels
Height : 576 pixels
Pixel aspect ratio : 1.896
Display aspect ratio : 2.370
Display aspect ratio : 2.40:1
Well, at least nothing wrong in my system.
Did you try autocrop?. Is autocrop done exclusively in mplayer/mencoder, or is there any detection algorithm in Hybrid to detect cropping?

Quote:
-> 1st thing I would try is to use another application to rip the dvd to hdd an check if the headers change.
Few options in Linux...

Quote:
will compile a new version that fixes the mod4 problem of not reenabling the filtering
Great!
digitall.h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 15:17   #1007  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,081
Quote:
Did you try autocrop?. Is autocrop done exclusively in mplayer/mencoder, or is there any detection algorithm in Hybrid to detect cropping?
mainly mplayer, but the auto crop call is adjusted depending on the source, working on it atm. (think I got it fixed)

Cu Selur

Ps.: uploaded new version for testing
PPs.: seems like ffprobe detects the aspect ratio properly,... same for mplayer during playback, but not with -frames 0 (where only the headers get checked), so seems like the headers are wrong, and the aspect ratio stored in the stream itself is correct,..
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..

Last edited by Selur; 4th November 2012 at 15:28.
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 16:36   #1008  |  Link
digitall.h
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Here
Posts: 257
Good!, I will download new version and test.

Could this ffprobe thing be used in this case, for wrong headed streams?
digitall.h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 16:38   #1009  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,081
How do you determine that the headers are wrong?
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 16:57   #1010  |  Link
digitall.h
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Here
Posts: 257
Don't ask me difficult questions...
I'm in the (confortable) user side.
I would compare mplayer and ffprobe output, and in case of discrepancies, ask for user input. Of course it may lead to errors, it's better to offer a single solution and not depend on variable user skill or taste.

I assume that sometimes a bad PAR encoded signal in stream may be corrected with a correct PAR signal in header, isn't it?. Or will PAR in stream be always correct?

As you see I have no skills in this matter, just from the user point of view. Just thinking in loud voice...
digitall.h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 16:59   #1011  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,081
adding ffprobe would mean adding another dependency,.. not really looking forward to that, if I find the time I'll look with a hex editor at the file to see if may be MediaInfo is just wrong
-> added a 'bug' to the mediainfo bug tracker zenitram can probably tell better what is going on.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..

Last edited by Selur; 4th November 2012 at 17:13.
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 17:19   #1012  |  Link
digitall.h
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Here
Posts: 257
I tried last version.
When I load this problematic source and I set cropping to 704x426 it disables filtering.
When changing it to 704x428, filtering is back again.
Good!!

Some button in the GUI, as there's in the resizing part, to adjust vertical cropping to mod4?.
[I hope this did not sound as the typical irritating suggestion from an user 'asking' things to developer. Just a sugestion if you find it may improve Hybrid...]
digitall.h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 17:23   #1013  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,081
Quote:
Some button in the GUI, as there's in the resizing part, to adjust vertical cropping to mod4?.
automatically adjusting crop values does not make much sense, but you can tell Hybrid to crop to mod4 (Crop/Resize->Misc->Advanced Auto Crop Options->mod)
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 17:26   #1014  |  Link
digitall.h
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Here
Posts: 257
Yes, I already have it adjusted to mod4. But once I apply manual cropping, if I'm not cautious to do it mod4, this setting does not correct it.
digitall.h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 17:35   #1015  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,081
Right, it does not hinder you from using non-mod4 values. Hybrid assumes that you know what you are doing.
I think it's a bad idea to add an 'adjust to modulo X' option, simply because sometime you might want to overcrop and sometime you might what to undercrop.
If it helps, I could add an option to color the width&height numbers red is non-mod-X values are selected,...
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 17:49   #1016  |  Link
digitall.h
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Here
Posts: 257
Well, it also could be, as a reminder.
It's your (very good) creation, and you're the best one to make it work the way you have it in your brain.

Related to Hybrid assuming every user know what is doing... I'm the first one that forgot once to adjust cropping to mod4...
digitall.h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 17:52   #1017  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,081
Quote:
I'm the first one that forgot once to adjust cropping to mod4...
the new version should enforce mod4 (iirc) for dvd input,...
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 18:06   #1018  |  Link
digitall.h
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Here
Posts: 257
And non-mod4 manual cropping in red numbers?
digitall.h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 18:08   #1019  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,081
no, that was a suggestion for a feature I could add.
The latest version I uploaded should enforce mod4 for autocrop on dvd input, it does not hinder you from changing the detected crop values in any way.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2012, 18:15   #1020  |  Link
digitall.h
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Here
Posts: 257
Very good, so if autocrop works normally, it will apply mod4 to DVD sources.
We can then modify them manually, if needed.

My vote for red numbers in non-mod4 height in manual cropping
digitall.h is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.