Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-2 Encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th January 2008, 05:19   #141  |  Link
halsboss
likes to tinker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: girt by sea
Posts: 635
022 pdf manual says
Quote:
*LUMGAIN
parameter sensitivity (0 - 4) type integer
Status not required
Default 0
Example *LUMGAIN 2
This command adapts the quantization matrices on dark scenes so the bitrate will be raised.
• 0 no change
• 1 mild change
• 2 moderate change
• 3 heavy change
• 4 hit dark scenes real hard
Not sure of the exact issue, hank said
Quote:
caused by the LUMGAIN command which adapts the matrices

Last edited by halsboss; 9th January 2008 at 10:11. Reason: spelling
halsboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 15:56   #142  |  Link
ron spencer
DVD Magistrate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sodor
Posts: 997
duh...I am an idiot.....never read the manual...sorry.

I guess one needs to know the bitrate gain for the options set, so that the stuttering problems some have faced are avoided.


thanks....
ron spencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 23:18   #143  |  Link
halsboss
likes to tinker
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: girt by sea
Posts: 635
I don't know how to find the bitrate gain

The mpv's are in this post http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...41#post1084341
and the latest mpv without the *LUMGAIN is at http://rapidshare.com/files/82567023...mgain.mpv.html which I guess one could compare to http://rapidshare.com/files/82078017/test-022.mpv.html

Are you sure it's only bitrate gain and not matrices changing or something ? (I don't know what's in an mpv, so I don't know if that's a valid question). The reason I ask is that muxman accepted the mpv as valid.


The 1st stutter is within the first few seconds. The audio keeps going but the picture freezes for a second or two.

Delete-Link #1: http://rapidshare.com/files/82567023...16441092167457

Last edited by halsboss; 9th January 2008 at 23:23.
halsboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2008, 23:53   #144  |  Link
ron spencer
DVD Magistrate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sodor
Posts: 997
hank may need to document the gain....and then we can alter our encode.
ron spencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2008, 20:49   #145  |  Link
mashiwen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Is HCenc 022 not support avis v2.5.7 yet?

"DirectShowSource ("main1.grf",fps=23.976,framecount=158725,audio=false)"
I think framecount is a new command in avis v 2.5.7,and HCenc 022 says that DirectShowSource doesn't have a named argument"framecount"
mashiwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2008, 21:44   #146  |  Link
cweb
Registered User
 
cweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pandorica
Posts: 528
Did anyone else encounter a problem connecting via remote desktop to a running hc encoder, since this seems to just stop and not continue encoding when you do this?
__________________
PC specs for bug reports: Intel Core i7-4790K @4Ghz Win10(Linux VM) PCI express NVIDIA RTX 2060 SUPER graphics card
http://twitter.com/cwebdesign
cweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 13:33   #147  |  Link
MrC
AVStoDVD Dev
 
MrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,302
Constant Quantization issue.

AVS Script:
Code:
DirectShowSource("E:\Movies\clip.avi", convertfps=true)
ConvertToYV12
Lanczos4Resize(720,576)
SSRC(48000)
Using HCenc thru CLI, output is very very flickering and blocky:
Code:
-i "C:\Documents and Settings\CORSIE\Desktop\prova.avs" -o "E:\Movies\VideoCQP.m2v" -maxbitrate 8000 -profile fast -aspectratio 4:3 -nointerlaced -dc_prec 8 -matrix MPEG -cq_maxbitrate 4.667 -wait 2
Using HCenc thru INI file, output is fine and encoding is faster:
Code:
______________________________________________
*infile         C:\Documents and Settings\CORSIE\Desktop\prova.avs
*outfile        E:\Movies\videocqp.m2v
*maxbitrate     8000
*profile        fast
______________________________________________
*cq_maxbitrate  4.667
*matrix         MPEG
______________________________________________
*dc_prec        8
*progressive
*aspect         4:3
*bias           30
______________________________________________
I think that encoding options are exactly the same... So why that difference?



Bye
__________________
MrC

AVStoDVD Homepage
AVStoDVD @ Doom9 Forum
MrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2008, 14:59   #148  |  Link
Mr_Odwin
FAVC Man
 
Mr_Odwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrC View Post
Constant Quantization issue.

AVS Script:
Code:
DirectShowSource("E:\Movies\clip.avi", convertfps=true)
ConvertToYV12
Lanczos4Resize(720,576)
SSRC(48000)
Using HCenc thru CLI, output is very very flickering and blocky:
Code:
-i "C:\Documents and Settings\CORSIE\Desktop\prova.avs" -o "E:\Movies\VideoCQP.m2v" -maxbitrate 8000 -profile fast -aspectratio 4:3 -nointerlaced -dc_prec 8 -matrix MPEG -cq_maxbitrate 4.667 -wait 2
Using HCenc thru INI file, output is fine and encoding is faster:
Code:
______________________________________________
*infile         C:\Documents and Settings\CORSIE\Desktop\prova.avs
*outfile        E:\Movies\videocqp.m2v
*maxbitrate     8000
*profile        fast
______________________________________________
*cq_maxbitrate  4.667
*matrix         MPEG
______________________________________________
*dc_prec        8
*progressive
*aspect         4:3
*bias           30
______________________________________________
I think that encoding options are exactly the same... So why that difference?



Bye
I had this problem too. I don't think I speak out of turn when I say that hank is now aware and has already implemented a fix for the next release.
Mr_Odwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2008, 12:08   #149  |  Link
Graigddu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 48
Can i ask whether there would be a better matrix for xvid encoding than the default MPEG or BACH 1 which i have tried,
i have also changed autogop to 12 and set lumigain to 2 and bias to 30 in the HCGui and use Mr Odwin's FAVC for the main setting changes but would another matrix work better at smoothing macroblocking in darker scenes.

Sorry if this is posted in wrong area still a newbie on here
Graigddu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2008, 21:31   #150  |  Link
foustapfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Just for the record, the problem I reported some time ago ( 1 and 2) is fixed in 0.22.

I don't know it is has been fixed actively or as a side effect of some other changes. Anywas, thanks Hank for this encoder that gets better every day!
foustapfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2008, 02:18   #151  |  Link
AlanHK
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 237
I also had a problem with CQ mode.

I got underruns when muxing the resulting file. After a long time spent making new audio files, thinking that was the problem, I finally realised that the video bitrate was too high, (the logfile showed it to be 12,000) and that was because I had not selected the "max bitrate" option on "Settings 1" . It would be nice if this was selected by default.

But later a related problem. I then ran a batch job with my usual options (2-pass) overnight. I was surprised and annoyed to find that the jobs were done in CQ mode, though I had not specified this in the command line. Of course, I found that the default ini file now had a *CQ line.
There appears to be no way to override this on the command line. So to protect myself against this I must make a minimal ini file and tack a "-ini" option to all my batch commands.

Could there be an option like "2pass=yes", or "cq=0" that will override any *CQ in the ini?
Also something like "frames=all"; I am bodging that now with
"-frames 0 999999" in case there is an old "*FRAMES" line in the ini.

Last edited by AlanHK; 28th January 2008 at 02:21.
AlanHK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2008, 22:51   #152  |  Link
hank315
HCenc author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 570
New (beta) release of HC022.
This release (HC022.1) fixes most of the reported bugs and has some new features.

Bug fixes:
- CQ as parameter input fixed
- possible VBV underflow errors fixed
- reported time using suspend/resume fixed
- error in framelog file fixed

New stuff:
- lossless intermediate file for 2 pass encodes
- VBV progress bar changed, now shows the buffer fullness
- added return code, returns 0 on normal exit, 1 on error
- small bitrate control tweaks
- XML format chapter input
- added -2pass, -frames all, -noini and -lossless as parameter for CLI input
- user data skipped for HD encodes
- some optimizations for SSSE3, reducing the number of non-aligned memory reads

This one is released as a beta first because of a *lot* of internal changes.
It does OK running my usual tests, but some extra testing won't hurt so please do...

Can be downloaded here: www.mediafire.com/?9pozg2ynimz (link updated)
__________________
HCenc at: http://hank315.nl

Last edited by hank315; 18th February 2008 at 17:29.
hank315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2008, 23:51   #153  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,007
I am getting the ERROR:
No MMX detected, aborting .....
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2008, 23:56   #154  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
What is your processor?
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2008, 00:07   #155  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,007
Intel P4 2533 MHz Northwood
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2008, 00:17   #156  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
Ha ha, I get the same error and I have an FX-55.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2008, 03:20   #157  |  Link
mikeytown2
Resize Abuser
 
mikeytown2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 623
hank315
I did a quick test, it works on my box. specs in sig.

Also I'm a little curious about the lossless option. Are you using huffyuv, uncompressed, ect? You might want to have an option to put the lossless file somewhere. In my case i have multiple harddrives. And the one with the temp dir might be full. A very simple estimation of the temp file size might be helpful as well. Thanks for implementing this btw!
mikeytown2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2008, 07:20   #158  |  Link
AlanHK
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
I am getting the ERROR:
No MMX detected, aborting .....
Me too.
I have an AMD, 2400 MHz, and quite definitely it DOES have MMX.
AlanHK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2008, 10:04   #159  |  Link
Fluffbutt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 55
Working fine here, Q6600.
__________________
|
Meeow!
Fluffbutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2008, 11:11   #160  |  Link
AlanHK
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 237
Looks like Intel is okay, AMD is no-go.
AlanHK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.