Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th May 2018, 20:34   #50861  |  Link
Clown shoes
King of the Jungle
 
Clown shoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Shoreditch, London
Posts: 429
Could some of the guys having issues with custom resolutions clarify what their actual issues are?

I'm on the latest Nvidia drivers and have a custom res created in MadVR working perfectly.

I have noticed that some custom resolutions cause specific issues with my display such as green HDR but that only appears to be the closer I get to exactly 23.976.

I can get a decent custom res with everything working that only has 1 frame drop every hour or so. I can certainly live with that.
Clown shoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2018, 22:49   #50862  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 178
I upgraded to the latest driver a few days ago. This morning I tried custom mode setup as I've succeeded doing in the past with older drivers and failed. I tried Warners guide which is slightly different than how I normally did it in the past and still failed. All is well until I get to the pop up that says to play a video for half an hour and then return to madVR and press 'optimize' again. After playing a video I select 'optimize' again and it just returns me to the define timing parameters window again as if I didn't play a video to be analyzed. No new timing modes are added. Just the few originals. Selecting 'optimize' after playing a video pops up to play a video. After 4 attempts, I gave up. Also noticed MPC players start paused and simply deleting custom timing mode stuck awaiting analyzing didn't correct. Had to reinstall driver and video starts in play mode as it should. I also noticed when using DVDFab Player (nothing to do with madVR) HDR engages but the video crawls. Reinstalling the nvidia driver cured this too. Both were fine before messing with custom mode for 2160p 23Hz. I don't doubt it works for others, I just can't get it to cooperate.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10v1803 X5690 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 8bit Desktop @60Hz 8,10,12bit @Matched Refresh Rates
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD DVDFab
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D

Last edited by brazen1; 13th May 2018 at 22:54.
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2018, 23:11   #50863  |  Link
Clown shoes
King of the Jungle
 
Clown shoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Shoreditch, London
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
I upgraded to the latest driver a few days ago. This morning I tried custom mode setup as I've succeeded doing in the past with older drivers and failed. I tried Warners guide which is slightly different than how I normally did it in the past and still failed. All is well until I get to the pop up that says to play a video for half an hour and then return to madVR and press 'optimize' again. After playing a video I select 'optimize' again and it just returns me to the define timing parameters window again as if I didn't play a video to be analyzed. No new timing modes are added. Just the few originals. Selecting 'optimize' after playing a video pops up to play a video. After 4 attempts, I gave up. Also noticed MPC players start paused and simply deleting custom timing mode stuck awaiting analyzing didn't correct. Had to reinstall driver and video starts in play mode as it should. I also noticed when using DVDFab Player (nothing to do with madVR) HDR engages but the video crawls. Reinstalling the nvidia driver cured this too. Both were fine before messing with custom mode for 2160p 23Hz. I don't doubt it works for others, I just can't get it to cooperate.
So after you have played at least 30 minutes worth of 23.976 material ,does the 23hz option say "custom timings, optimization data available"?
If so, when you click on this and then press Optimize again, which window are you then taken to?
You said "define timing parameters" but the two windows I have are "edit timing parameters" if I press edit and "optimize timing parameters" if I press Optimize.
Clown shoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2018, 03:37   #50864  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 885
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
I upgraded to the latest driver a few days ago. This morning I tried custom mode setup as I've succeeded doing in the past with older drivers and failed. I tried Warners guide which is slightly different than how I normally did it in the past and still failed. All is well until I get to the pop up that says to play a video for half an hour and then return to madVR and press 'optimize' again. After playing a video I select 'optimize' again and it just returns me to the define timing parameters window again as if I didn't play a video to be analyzed. No new timing modes are added. Just the few originals. Selecting 'optimize' after playing a video pops up to play a video. After 4 attempts, I gave up. Also noticed MPC players start paused and simply deleting custom timing mode stuck awaiting analyzing didn't correct. Had to reinstall driver and video starts in play mode as it should. I also noticed when using DVDFab Player (nothing to do with madVR) HDR engages but the video crawls. Reinstalling the nvidia driver cured this too. Both were fine before messing with custom mode for 2160p 23Hz. I don't doubt it works for others, I just can't get it to cooperate.
Did you check to see if your custom mode was added in the Nvidia control panel? It sounds like your custom mode is being ignored and not being used/measured by madVR when playing a video with the correct refresh rate.

I ran into an issue after running DDU and installing new drivers where something seemed to be saved in the registry or madVR where custom timings were already available in the madVR custom modes menu after a fresh driver install. I went through the normal process and the custom mode was simply ignored.

I ran DDU a second time, and this time everything was set to the default in the madVR control panel under custom modes. Only then, I was able to get the custom mode to work. I don't know why it took two attempts with DDU to reset everything to its defaults.

Make sure everything is reset in madVR before attempting to create a custom mode. The custom mode panel shouldn't report any previous activity. And check to determine if any custom mode is available in the Nvidia control panel. If it's there, it is being ignored, so you can't optimize it.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2018, 07:56   #50865  |  Link
FDisk80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Israel
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by tingtong5 View Post
Guys, am I going crazy or is there no settings.bin file anymore? I just manually reinstalled and reconfigured Madvr 0.92.14 and now I want to backup my settings, but there does not seem to be a settings.bin file created?

Ronald
Give the madVR folder Full Control permissions for Users.
"settings.bin" should appear next time you make changes.
FDisk80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2018, 10:53   #50866  |  Link
tingtong5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Delft
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDisk80 View Post
Give the madVR folder Full Control permissions for Users.
"settings.bin" should appear next time you make changes.
Thanks! I'm gonna try that.
tingtong5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2018, 10:54   #50867  |  Link
tingtong5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Delft
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
Settings are stored in the Registry:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\madshi\madVR

You can backup/import that key with regedit.exe
Thanks man! :-)
tingtong5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2018, 18:46   #50868  |  Link
Anime Viewer
Troubleshooter
 
Anime Viewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 333
MPC-HC with MadVR flashing black screen then crashing GPU driver when entering full

I'm encountering a problem with MPC-HC with MadVR flashing a black screen(then quickly a lighter screen that can just barely be seen) then crashing the GPU driver when entering full screen in videos. It seemed to suddenly start yesterday just before Windows notified me it had an update and wanted me to restart. I made sure my graphic drivers were up-to-date after encountering the problem, but that didn't fix it. The only way I've found to watch videos for the time being is to switch from madVR to EVR custom presenter. Obviously I'd prefer to use madVR instead.

Anyone else encounter this behavior recently? Any tips to troubleshoot or work around the issue? I've tried changing a number of settings in madVR processing, scaling, and rendering, but have yet to find any setting changes I've tried to work.

mpc-hc version 1.7.13
madVR v0.92.14
LAV 0.71.0
XySubFilter
Windows 10.0.17134 build 17134
Nvidia GeForce GTX 680M running driver version 397.64 (Nvidia Control Panel set to use this GPU)
Intel HD Graphics 4000 running driver version 10.18.10.4885

Any help or suggestions are appreciated.
__________________
System specs: Sager NP9150 SE with i7-3630QM 2.40GHz, 16 GB RAM, 64-bit Windows 10 Pro, NVidia GTX 680M/Intel 4000 HD optimus dual GPU system. Video viewed on LG notebook screen and LG 3D passive TV.
Anime Viewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2018, 00:19   #50869  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 235
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\madshi\madVR\OpenCL\GeForce GTX 1080\x64

On this location there is DriverVersion says 385.41 , is it suppose to be newer or that's what MadVR version support ? or is it Driver detection which no working ?
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2018, 00:32   #50870  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 257
madshi have you ever thought of creating a NLS (Non Linier Stretch) as the Lumagen can do. I have friends who buy a Lumagen just to do this one simple process, it would be great if it was a feature in madvr. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jwF7nYe-YzM
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2018, 00:55   #50871  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,417
You should know the answer because you asked the same question several times over the last years. I doubt his opinion has changed. Here is a quote to refresh your memory:
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Do you *REALLY* want this?? I consider non-linear stretch very ugly. It looks ok as long as the camera doesn't move. But for any horizontal pans it looks totally psychadelic to my eyes, because the distortion becomes totally obvious in that situation.

I might add NLS in some far away future version, but it's very low priority because I consider NLS to be bad.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2018, 01:13   #50872  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 257
I dont want it for me as I use a movable Isco III lens. I have friends who would love madvr to have NLS, which is something I would never use myself, I always display all my ratios 100% true including Scope. Madvr contains a number of settings that it looks like madshi doesnt like that others asked for, which he has labeled "your the boss". However I dont use any of those settings and Im more than happy with everything from madvr for myself, my results are spectacular! My 145" scope, Isco III lens and upscaling everything to 4K I have no need for 4K BD discs, the image with 1080 upscaled through madvr to 4K is truly amazing from my JVC X9900.
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2018, 08:49   #50873  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 261
I switched my gtx1070 with my rx480 and now I am back on 1070. I now have to problems:

when I use my rx480, everytime the players osd (in this case kodi ds player) shows up, the screen goes black for 2-3 seconds (like I stitching form FSE to windowed mode) but this also happens with windowed mode... anyone knows how to get rid of it?

This annoyed me so I put my gtx1070 bak in the htpc, but now my composition rate shown in the madvr osd ist not 23,976 anymore, it is now shown as 23,980... tried different drivers, but nothing changed it back. Any idea?
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, AMD RX480 8 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi DS Player 17.6, MadVR (x64), LAV Filters (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)
LG 4K OLED (65C8D), Denon X-4200 AVR, Dali Zensor 5.1 Set
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2018, 10:42   #50874  |  Link
svengun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset1982 View Post
I switched my gtx1070 with my rx480 and now I am back on 1070. I now have to problems:

when I use my rx480, everytime the players osd (in this case kodi ds player) shows up, the screen goes black for 2-3 seconds (like I stitching form FSE to windowed mode) but this also happens with windowed mode... anyone knows how to get rid of it?

This annoyed me so I put my gtx1070 bak in the htpc, but now my composition rate shown in the madvr osd ist not 23,976 anymore, it is now shown as 23,980... tried different drivers, but nothing changed it back. Any idea?
Try the CRU (Custom,e Res Utility ) app , it is free to use (google it)

PS Your signature states a GTX 1070 16GB , there are no 16GB versions... :-)
svengun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2018, 11:28   #50875  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by svengun View Post
Try the CRU (Custom,e Res Utility ) app , it is free to use (google it)

PS Your signature states a GTX 1070 16GB , there are no 16GB versions... :-)
You are right, my fault. Changed it...

I did a restore to the last windows restore point and now it is 23,976 again...
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, AMD RX480 8 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi DS Player 17.6, MadVR (x64), LAV Filters (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)
LG 4K OLED (65C8D), Denon X-4200 AVR, Dali Zensor 5.1 Set
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2018, 13:02   #50876  |  Link
joecrow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDisk80 View Post
Give the madVR folder Full Control permissions for Users.
"settings.bin" should appear next time you make changes.
Somewhat related; how can I put the settings back to default? I tried running the "Default Settings" bat with admin but no go. Did it again, Uninstalled, deleted the entire folder and re-installed in a different location/hdd but I am still stuck with my old settings.
Reluctant to mess around in the registry but how to clear settings back to default.


Win 10 x64 (1803) latest Madvr AMD RX 460 GPU.

Last edited by joecrow; 15th May 2018 at 13:04. Reason: further info.
joecrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2018, 13:05   #50877  |  Link
FDisk80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Israel
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecrow View Post
Somewhat related; how can I put the settings back to default? I tried running the "Default Settings" bat with admin but no go. Did it again, Uninstalled, deleted the entire folder and re-installed in a different location/hdd but I am still stuck with my old settings.
Reluctant to mess around in the registry but how to clear settings back to default.


Win 10 x64 (1803) latest Madvr AMD RX 460 GPU.
Also delete this registry key:
Code:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\madshi\madVR
FDisk80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2018, 16:17   #50878  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset1982 View Post
I switched my gtx1070 with my rx480 and now I am back on 1070. I now have to problems:

when I use my rx480, everytime the players osd (in this case kodi ds player) shows up, the screen goes black for 2-3 seconds (like I stitching form FSE to windowed mode) but this also happens with windowed mode... anyone knows how to get rid of it?

This annoyed me so I put my gtx1070 bak in the htpc, but now my composition rate shown in the madvr osd ist not 23,976 anymore, it is now shown as 23,980... tried different drivers, but nothing changed it back. Any idea?
does the movie play fine after the black screen though?, if so this is perfectly normal I would say, mine takes a few seconds to switch modes and for MADVR to get started.

I've just got used to it.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2018, 16:45   #50879  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 885
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anime Viewer View Post

Any help or suggestions are appreciated.
Did you try the HD4000 to determine if it is a driver problem?
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2018, 16:49   #50880  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 885
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset1982 View Post
I switched my gtx1070 with my rx480 and now I am back on 1070. I now have to problems:

when I use my rx480, everytime the players osd (in this case kodi ds player) shows up, the screen goes black for 2-3 seconds (like I stitching form FSE to windowed mode) but this also happens with windowed mode... anyone knows how to get rid of it?

This annoyed me so I put my gtx1070 bak in the htpc, but now my composition rate shown in the madvr osd ist not 23,976 anymore, it is now shown as 23,980... tried different drivers, but nothing changed it back. Any idea?
No one has a perfect 23.976, so this is not abnormal, but 23.980 is pretty far off. Did you run DDU before exchanging GPUs?

If so, you can create a custom resolution in madVR to improve the timing. All that is important is that you're not dropping or repeating frames with the refresh rate selected. Not that you have a perfect 23.976.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.