Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th May 2018, 05:30   #50701  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,103
Haha, it seems like this question happens at least once a page now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
It is a bug in a feature that was implemented in 92.13 to prevent sending 10 bit HDR video to Nvidia's drivers, madVR only outputs 8 bit with both SDR and HDR but the issue with 10 bit banding only happens when using fullscreen windowed with Nvidia's HDR mode.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oguignant View Post
I just see this: (NV HDR) after the Display Hz. What does it mean?
It means madVR is using Nvidia's API to render HDR video.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 05:43   #50702  |  Link
Oguignant
Registered User
 
Oguignant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
It means madVR is using Nvidia's API to render HDR video.
hi Asmodian! a pleasure read your message.

I see. I always use this API? I mean, in previous versions too? Before, this message did not appear to me. I have the "HDR content to the display" and "send HDR metadata to the display" options activated. And the HDR is activated in my LG OLED

About the first question: hehehe yes, I published my question without reading the previous messages. My mistake.
__________________
"To infinity, and beyond!"
Oguignant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 05:52   #50703  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,103
Yes, it used to use this API but there was no message about it in the OSD. It could also use the AMD API or indicate the Windows HDR mode was on. Now madVR tells us what it is doing.

Edit: The first versions of madVR that supported HDR only used the Windows API but madshi added support for the other APIs a few versions ago, before the OSD message about them.
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 5th May 2018 at 06:32.
Asmodian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 07:39   #50704  |  Link
suanm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 85
Why can't madVR process correctively 4k UHD video in input format 4:4:4 10bit after decoding with lav decoder ?
I use the lav as a decoder and the output format is Y410 4:4:4 10bit. When i play 4k UHD video with madVR,the frames drop too many.However,after i switch Y410 4:4:4 10bit to P010 4:2:0 10bit,the playback of 4K UHD video is normal as usual.
Y410 4:4:4 10bit doesn't work out with madVR ?
suanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 07:44   #50705  |  Link
Betroz
Is this for real?
 
Betroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ver Greeneyes View Post
Hmm, good point. I checked the repository of old versions and the last version in which the queues fill is v0.91.5. In v0.91.6 and newer the queues no longer fill.

However, even in v0.91.5 the queues only fill up to 5-7/15 for me. I'm also fairly sure the regression itself is caused by the update to Windows 10, even if older versions of madVR managed to avoid it.

Edit: Aha, NGU seems to be the culprit somehow. v0.91.6 introduced NGU Anti-Alias, which I was using for chroma upscaling. If I enable NGU for chroma upscaling in v0.91.5 the queues stop filling, even if I select the "low" quality option which gives me an average rendering time of 4.5ms.

Edit2: Yes, going back to v0.92.14 if I set chroma upscaling to Bicubic60 I get 5-7/15 like in v0.91.5. If I use super-xbr I get 2-4/15 (even though the rendering time is practically unchanged at 3.5ms) and if I select NGU I get 0-2/15 and it starts dropping frames. Is it running into some sort of windowed mode GPU memory usage limit or something??
Yes that matches my findings aswell. Something seems to be wrong with NGU in combination with the 1803 update to Win10.
__________________
My HTPC : i5 6600K | nVidia GTX 1080 | TV : Panasonic VT30 65"
Betroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 07:47   #50706  |  Link
Betroz
Is this for real?
 
Betroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
Stick with Windows 10 1607-14393 - it's the perfect Windows for video playback with madVR with overlay-free true fullscreen support.
That version of Win10 is probably not secure anymore? Have you blocked Windows Update then? Win 8.1 with latest updates would be better for MadVr then I think.
__________________
My HTPC : i5 6600K | nVidia GTX 1080 | TV : Panasonic VT30 65"
Betroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 08:02   #50707  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,676
secure?
are generally ok with an 6 month old build most most stuff like spectre are totally meaning less for personal user.
and what do they even want to steal for your HTPC anyway?

Quote:
Why can't madVR process correctively 4k UHD video in input format 4:4:4 10bit after decoding with lav decoder ?
I use the lav as a decoder and the output format is Y410 4:4:4 10bit. When i play 4k UHD video with madVR,the frames drop too many.However,after i switch Y410 4:4:4 10bit to P010 4:2:0 10bit,the playback of 4K UHD video is normal as usual.
Y410 4:4:4 10bit doesn't work out with madVR ?
lavfilter doesn't decode 4:4:4 out of blu rays it's 4:2:0.
so if you want lavfilter to send 4.4:4 from BD UBD sources for what ever reason it has to upscale that with the CPU in not the best quality and it not cheap at all.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 08:36   #50708  |  Link
Grimsdyke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by iakoboss7 View Post
hello, anyone noticed reduced average rendering time with the new windows 10 update?
in files where i got ~10ms now i get ~5ms. playback is perfect as always.
am i the only one? i didnt find any mention in the last 10 pages.
Performance indeed seem to have been improved. I got render times now ~ 2 ms faster than before the update !!
Grimsdyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 09:23   #50709  |  Link
suanm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
lavfilter doesn't decode 4:4:4 out of blu rays it's 4:2:0.
so if you want lavfilter to send 4.4:4 from BD UBD sources for what ever reason it has to upscale that with the CPU in not the best quality and it not cheap at all.
Got it,thank you
suanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 10:39   #50710  |  Link
svengun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oguignant View Post
About Madvr v0.92.14

Hello. One question, I just see this: (NV HDR) after the Display Hz. What does it mean?

Another thing, in "Windows mode" or "Full screen" with D3D11 always appears in 8 bits, only when I use "exclusive mode" it changes to 10 bits. Before in "full screen without exclusive mode" appeared 10 bits. Why now only 8 bits appear?

Thks in advance!!!

Read back a few pages , everybody has this
svengun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 11:37   #50711  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,676
i'm really buffed that people notice the number 10 is now a 8 and not the banding it was producing...
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 13:01   #50712  |  Link
cyberscott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
You can use HDR in PC mode but, on the C7 at least, the gamut coverage is much worse. Home theater or similar offers better HDR rendering but also uses 4:2:2 color subsampling.
One reason Iím looking forward to HDMI 2.1 displays and graphic cards. This would eliminate the bandwidth issue with HDMI 2.0. Just imagine being able to use madVR at full 4K at 60Hz or more, with full 4:4:4 color subsampling and HDR!
cyberscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 13:07   #50713  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,676
but hdmi 2.0 can do RGB 60 HZ UHD and HDR.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 13:53   #50714  |  Link
strumf666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 83
Not at 12 bits?
strumf666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 14:24   #50715  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i'm really buffed that people notice the number 10 is now a 8 and not the banding it was producing...
There was banding only in passthrough, only in fullscreen windowed mode, only in Windows 10, and it was very minor. So not that surprising.

People are noticing the number 8 because in most cases, there was NO banding in 10bits, but they now have (momentarily until it's restored) lost that feature, so it's very understandable they notice the unnecessary limitation and didn't notice anything before, when everything was working fine with no banding at all (or very minor one if win10 FSW passthrough).
__________________
Win 10 Pro x64 V1709 MCE add-on
i7 3770K@4.2Ghz 16Gb@2.1Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 385.28 RGB Full 4:4:4 12bits
MPC-BE / LAV / MadVR / MyMovies V5.24
Denon X8500H>Vertex>JVC RS500/X7000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 14:46   #50716  |  Link
Clown shoes
King of the Jungle
 
Clown shoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Shoreditch, London
Posts: 429
Not off topic but certainly not something I've seen discussed here is finding an alternative way to call MadVRs stats (ctrl J)

Like many of you I presume, I am using a HTPC in my living room with a harmony hub and remote. I have a keyboard and mouse but I'd rather not have to use them if possible.

I've tried using WScript send keys inside a VBS script (as below) and adding it as a shortcut on my taskbar. I then map a button on my remote to activate the second shortcut on my taskbar, however for some reason it just doesn't want to work

Set WshShell = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
WshShell.SendKeys "^j"

I was wondering if anyone else had thought of a clever way to call the stats up, without having to resort to keyboard and mouse?
Clown shoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 15:59   #50717  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clown shoes View Post
Not off topic but certainly not something I've seen discussed here is finding an alternative way to call MadVRs stats (ctrl J)

Like many of you I presume, I am using a HTPC in my living room with a harmony hub and remote. I have a keyboard and mouse but I'd rather not have to use them if possible.

I've tried using WScript send keys inside a VBS script (as below) and adding it as a shortcut on my taskbar. I then map a button on my remote to activate the second shortcut on my taskbar, however for some reason it just doesn't want to work

Set WshShell = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
WshShell.SendKeys "^j"

I was wondering if anyone else had thought of a clever way to call the stats up, without having to resort to keyboard and mouse?
If you can map keyboard commands to your Harmony remote, it should be easy. You can change the shortcut in madVR to anything you want. You may even be able to push a button on your remote if madVR recognizes it, but I think it has to be a keyboard combination of some sort.

I use MCE Keyboard as the profile and Windows Media Center SE. Bluetooth keyboard would also work.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 16:05   #50718  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlauzon View Post
I keep hearing about MadVR, but have no idea how to use it, can someone ELI5 please & thank you..?!
- Download madVR from the first page. Unzip it to any directory and run the install.bat.

- Install a media player such as MPC-BE or MPC-HC. Select madVR as the video renderer form its options menu and configure the internal filters (splitter, video and audio).

- Play a video and access the madVR control panel with Ctrl + S.

From there, you can experiment with various settings in madVR as you wish.

For more information on madVR's settings, visit this guide. There is also a guide linked in my signature.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 16:06   #50719  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDisk80 View Post
Nope, still busted with 397.55.
madVR gives this error when trying to apply custom timings.
I'm assuming you did, but did you make sure you selected a different refresh rate than the one you are trying to customize (e.g. anything besides 23hz?).
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2018, 16:13   #50720  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 131
I added Windows Media Center SE as a device to my HTPC activity. I changed Ctrl + J to Ctrl + Z in madVR. I added a soft button to my Harmony 900 mapping the Windows Media Center SE/Ctrl + Z command and pressing it toggles stats off and on.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10v1803 X5690 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 8bit Desktop @60Hz 8,10,12bit @Matched Refresh Rates
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD DVDFab
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.