Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Newbies
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 8th October 2002, 12:58   #1  |  Link
reutter

General newbies dictionary

hi!

I'm really new to this all and so I have read most of the faqs and tuts, but there are still *basic* questions unanswered!

you often find a faq or q&a and the first question is eg "what is the ... option for".
but what I would expect first is what that program is used for?

as I read through the faqs I began to write down all program-names and abbreviations (file-extensions) I stumbled over.
my wish would be a *basic faq* (also acting as reference) where is listed:
.) name of program
.) what is it for ("field of durty")
.) link to faq, homepage or download
and
.) abbrevation
.) what the abbr stands for
.) what does the abbr mean
.) when will I need it
.) link to ...

I wasn't sure if I should post the list here - so I attached it!
this list should only be a motivation - surely it is not complete in any way (but it would be very helpful for newbies!!!)

what do you think?

thanks
michael
reutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2002, 23:35   #2  |  Link
inoteb
OggMedia addict

Hmmm, why not... if it really interests several peoples.
inoteb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2002, 01:04   #3  |  Link
Justinus
Anime Otaku

Quote:

.) name of program
.) what is it for ("field of durty")
I think you it already says briefly what the duty of each software on the main download page.
Quote:

.) link to faq, homepage or download
If you use search, you will find more information which you can filter by yourself. Moreover, you can find links on the Link page. Download is already on the main software page.
Quote:

.) abbrevation
.) what the abbr stands for
.) what does the abbr mean