Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd January 2013, 15:33   #1  |  Link
PixelH8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mux aac stream (adts) into AAC wrapper?

So I extracted the aac stream out of a video but it's hard for many programs to see the proper audio length of raw adts, so I need a way to put it back into an AAC wrapper. MKA, MP4, M4A are all very easy but I see nothing for AAC aside from re-encoding it?

This seems like something extremely simple but I can't figure it out.
PixelH8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2013, 15:39   #2  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 991
It seems you are misunderstanding something. The file extension .AAC normally (and already) means AAC with ADTS headers. "Pure" or "raw" AAC is normally useless, and we'd like to know what software you used for getting them in the first place.
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2013, 03:49   #3  |  Link
PixelH8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Doh! I figured it out. It was mostly a "problem" with foobar2000 not being able to seek through raw aac without a container (something about sample-exact processing). I just used mkvextract to mux out the aac track of a youtube video, but I couldn't get foobar2000 to recognize the duration and seeking is disabled. Turns out aac doesn't support seeking and programs that can seek through aac are apparently not using "sample-exact" methods. Bummer.
PixelH8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2013, 09:36   #4  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,714
Like filler56789 say you "raw" aac is useless.
The files extracted by mkvextract aren't "raw" because have ADTS headers.

The problem about recognize the duration is common to all audio with Variable BitRate (VBR) out of a container or without a global header, like some .mp3 or .dtshd also, because to know the exact duration must be read before the whole stream.

The problem about exact seeking of VBR audio is common to all audio out of a container, only a container like .mka or .m4a provide the indexes to locate a exact sample.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.