Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th January 2013, 21:11   #1  |  Link
heerschop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 23
Add DialNorm to AC3

I want to add dialog normalization to a ac3. As I understand I have to use aften to add the dialnorm to a AC3.

I found several versions of aften:
1- Soucreforge (2007-12-04) => http://sourceforge.net/projects/win32builds/files/Aften%20%28A_52%20Audio%20Encoder%29/
2- wavtoac3encoder aften-git (2009-12-26)=> http://code.google.com/p/wavtoac3encoder/downloads/detail?name=aften-git-20091226-icl11_1_054-win32-bin.zip&can=2&q=

Which version of aften is the best to use or are there better builds to find?

greetz
heerschop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2013, 21:18   #2  |  Link
get8p
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
heerschop
AFAIK, Aften won't let you set up a dialog normalization. Plus the encoding quality ain't all that good, compared to Dolby Digital encoder.
You might want to use Sonic Foundry Soft Encode for that, it has licensed Dolby encoder on board.
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2013, 22:35   #3  |  Link
heerschop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by get8p View Post
heerschop
AFAIK, Aften won't let you set up a dialog normalization. Plus the encoding quality ain't all that good, compared to Dolby Digital encoder.
You might want to use Sonic Foundry Soft Encode for that, it has licensed Dolby encoder on board.
I already use aften to add the dialog normalization (aften.exe -dnorm). It is only for adding dialog normalization and not dynamic rang compression. It has to be a command line driven application as I want to use it in a script.

Is ffmpeg a better application to create an ac3 with dialnorm ? It's only for adding the dialnorm to the ac3 not for determining the dialnorm.

Last edited by heerschop; 6th January 2013 at 00:15.
heerschop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2013, 04:43   #4  |  Link
Mug Funky
interlace this!
 
Mug Funky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: i'm in ur transfers, addin noise
Posts: 4,555
Quote:
Originally Posted by get8p
Plus the encoding quality ain't all that good, compared to Dolby Digital encoder.
care to link us to some ABX results?

soft encode is woefully old, slow and the only reason to use it would be for the DRC that aften (and it's successor that is merged into ffmpeg) doesn't implement.

quality at important bitrates (192, 224 and 384-448 for 6ch audio) has been very good for years now. short blocks and channel coupling have improved matters too.

try the ac3 encoding built into ffmpeg before making unsubstantiated claims.
__________________
sucking the life out of your videos since 2004
Mug Funky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2013, 12:58   #5  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,712
To answer the heerschop question, the best Aften version is the last aften-git-20091226-icl11_1_054-win32-bin.zip, and don't know new exe versions after this.

If you want change DialNorm to an AC3 file, you can try Change_dn.exe from here: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1493146#post1493146

@Mug Funky
I know than ffmpeg AC3 encode have some improvments (also Stereo mid/side rematrixing) over Aften, but I don't know how to pass to ffmpeg Aften parameters like -dnorm.

Other Aften parameters than can be usefull was:
-readtoeof 1 -pad 0 -dsur 2 -xbsi2 1 -dsurexmod 2

Other problem with ffmpeg was the sample precission between included decoders-encoders. Last time I analyzed was limited to 16 bit.
Can now ffmpeg send 24 bit samples to AC3 encoder if source is, for instance, a TrueHD/FLAC with 24 bit?
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2013, 14:53   #6  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,939
I thought:
Code:
[-dynrng #]    Dynamic Range Compression profile
                   0 = Film Light
                   1 = Film Standard
                   2 = Music Light
                   3 = Music Standard
                   4 = Speech
                   5 = None (default)
source: aften -h
would add drc when encoding with aften,...
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2013, 15:51   #7  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
would add drc when encoding with aften,...
But don't work like other certified AC3 encoders.
I can't recommend use DRC with Aften.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.