Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th March 2012, 23:23   #12901  |  Link
DragonQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 930
Well then you're using software decoding with MadVR. If you really want to use DXVA2 with MadVR, use DXVA2 Copy-Back mode.
__________________
HTPC Hardware: Intel Celeron G530; nVidia GT 430
HTPC Software: Windows 7; MediaPortal 1.19.0; Kodi DSPlayer 17.6; LAV Filters (DXVA2); MadVR
TV Setup: LG OLED55B7V; Onkyo TX-NR515; Minix U9-H
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2012, 14:57   #12902  |  Link
deado
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 30
Well I found a temporary solution to getting fullscreen exclusive working in Windows 8 - just kill Windows Explorer first before you play a file, then fullscreen excl. works =)

EDIT: Actually a slightly more convenient way is to just 'Restart' explorer (not kill it) - this also seems to work. I don't know exactly why just doing this fixes everything, but it does.

Last edited by deado; 29th March 2012 at 00:24.
deado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2012, 16:55   #12903  |  Link
Kado
Otaku
 
Kado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 576
Just a quick question...

Is there a difference in using madvr built in h.264 decoder or using lav decoder or ffdshow performance wise and IQ?

Cheers!
__________________
In the school, the three guys met. Their relation had been changed in the season, and turned into three love stories.
Kado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2012, 00:01   #12904  |  Link
magnusr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 62
A noob question.

I am using mpchc x86 + hali media splitter + lav video x86 + madvr. Should I set LAV video configuration to use hardware decoder NVIDIA CUVID? It's set to NONE at the moment. Everything works fine.

I selected LAV video x86 and lav audio x86 during lav installation (I didn not select the LAV splitter).

Using GTX 680 under Windows 7 x64 SP1.
magnusr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2012, 00:22   #12905  |  Link
nx6
Playing with MKV files...
 
nx6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnusr View Post
I am using mpchc x86 + hali media splitter + lav video x86 + madvr. Should I set LAV video configuration to use hardware decoder NVIDIA CUVID? It's set to NONE at the moment. Everything works fine.
Why fix what isn't broken?
__________________
Intel Core i7 920, 6 GB RAM | GeForce GTX670 | Win8.1 | LAV 0.64 / MadVR 0.87.10 | Zoom Player v10 / MPC-HC 1.7.8
nx6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2012, 00:32   #12906  |  Link
Owyn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kado View Post
Just a quick question...

Is there a difference in using madvr built in h.264 decoder or using lav decoder or ffdshow performance wise and IQ?

Cheers!
It has one? O_o
Cuz I use ffdshow (along with madVR) so it could play 10bit video
Owyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2012, 00:59   #12907  |  Link
Kado
Otaku
 
Kado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 576
Well... Maybe some multi threading optimizations or new libavcodec versions as lav filter and ffdshow are updated more regularly... They all play 10bit though...

Sent from my Defy using Tapatalk 2
__________________
In the school, the three guys met. Their relation had been changed in the season, and turned into three love stories.
Kado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2012, 08:28   #12908  |  Link
magnusr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by nx6 View Post
Why fix what isn't broken?
It's just that i recently swapped from ati to nvidia. Maybe I should take use of hardware acceleration?

Anyway tried it and seems to work fine with both none and nvidia cuvid.
magnusr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2012, 11:37   #12909  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnusr View Post
My GTX 680 findings with NVIDIA WHQL driver 301.10. Windows 7 X64 SP1. Connected to 63" Samsung Plasma using hdmi.

Had to do the inf fix for 0-255 rgb before install.
How can I tell if I need this fix? (I'm using a laptop with nvidia 9600m GT + hdmi)
Thanks
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2012, 12:12   #12910  |  Link
DragonQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnusr View Post
It's just that i recently swapped from ati to nvidia. Maybe I should take use of hardware acceleration?

Anyway tried it and seems to work fine with both none and nvidia cuvid.
DXVA2 Native is the best if it works because it uses the least resources and power. DXVA2 Copy-Back and CUVID are the next best options for hardware acceleration, especially if you want to use MadVR (which doesn't work with LAV DXVA2 Native).
__________________
HTPC Hardware: Intel Celeron G530; nVidia GT 430
HTPC Software: Windows 7; MediaPortal 1.19.0; Kodi DSPlayer 17.6; LAV Filters (DXVA2); MadVR
TV Setup: LG OLED55B7V; Onkyo TX-NR515; Minix U9-H
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2012, 14:05   #12911  |  Link
magnusr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
How can I tell if I need this fix? (I'm using a laptop with nvidia 9600m GT + hdmi)
Thanks
Black will look grey. washed out...
magnusr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2012, 17:20   #12912  |  Link
n3w813
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 80
If madVR can't be used with LAV DXVA2 native, then what is the next best renderer to use?
n3w813 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2012, 18:24   #12913  |  Link
DragonQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 930
EVR I presume.

I use MadVR on my desktop with DXVA2 Copy-Back but my laptop isn't powerful enough to play some 1080i/25 streams without using DXVA2 Native, so I use EVR instead. I also use EVR on my HTPC but that's purely because MediaPortal doesn't support MadVR, unfortunately.
__________________
HTPC Hardware: Intel Celeron G530; nVidia GT 430
HTPC Software: Windows 7; MediaPortal 1.19.0; Kodi DSPlayer 17.6; LAV Filters (DXVA2); MadVR
TV Setup: LG OLED55B7V; Onkyo TX-NR515; Minix U9-H

Last edited by DragonQ; 29th March 2012 at 18:26.
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2012, 22:48   #12914  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnusr View Post
Black will look grey. washed out...
Well, the problem is that it's all relative. How can I be sure of that?
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2012, 22:51   #12915  |  Link
mark0077
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
Well, the problem is that it's all relative. How can I be sure of that?
If you can get a pure black image, and make it fullscreen, you can either just try to remember how dark it was compared to the side of you're TV / rim before and after, or perhaps take a photograph before or after trying to keep the camera in the exact same position. For me its quite obvious as when it works, the black is as jet black as the rim of the TV, when its not OK, its worlds away from being anywhere near the same as the TVs rim.

A solution I found, instead of having to edit the inf file (which means for example the driver won't install then in Windows 8 as it has been modified), I install the NVidia drivers normally and open regedit and simply search (Ctrl-F) for an nvidia related drivers area entry like perhaps

UserModeDriverGUID

Everywhere you find it (F3 to find next occurance), add the DWORD entry below next to it.

SetDefaultFullRGBRangeOnHDMI

setting its value to 1.

Then just reboot, or perhaps change resolution once or twice, and the color difference will noticibly kick in. I'm sure someone could make a nice little .bat script to do this also Might be a nicer solution than editing inf files all of the time.

Last edited by mark0077; 29th March 2012 at 22:59.
mark0077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2012, 02:36   #12916  |  Link
futurex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 155
Pardon me if this has been asked before, but is there any difference, all other things being equal, between madvr and evr custom pres when playing 1080p on a 1080p display? I take it madvr has better scaling etc but is any scaling actually done in this case? What about a resolution such as 1920x800? Does that need to be scaled?

Thanks!
futurex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2012, 04:36   #12917  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by futurex View Post
Pardon me if this has been asked before, but is there any difference, all other things being equal, between madvr and evr custom pres when playing 1080p on a 1080p display? I take it madvr has better scaling etc but is any scaling actually done in this case? What about a resolution such as 1920x800? Does that need to be scaled?

Thanks!
The short answer is yes, scaling is done even if the width and/or height match the screen size and madVR does a better job of that than any other renderer does on the basis of objective and subjective tests and data. The long answer exists on the first page and within previous pages of this thread.
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2012, 06:09   #12918  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by futurex View Post
Pardon me if this has been asked before, but is there any difference, all other things being equal, between madvr and evr custom pres when playing 1080p on a 1080p display? I take it madvr has better scaling etc but is any scaling actually done in this case? What about a resolution such as 1920x800? Does that need to be scaled?

Thanks!
It's hard to notice given a 1080p on 1080p display, but if you playback any free to air stuff at lower res which is then scaled up, EVR-CP is absolutely horrendous. MadVR is the only renderer capable of giving me exactly how my sammy TV would scale the video. My wife used to complain recorded TV shows look inferior (and thought it was all normal coming from VHS days) until I changed it to MadVR.

Although one thing I'd like to point out is that the scaling algo of my sammy TV tends to lean towards the softer ones with little ringing. Those algos provide the best match.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2012, 12:15   #12919  |  Link
Negi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 24
MadVR won't work if the monitor is in vertical orientation

I often watch videos when my monitor is in a vertical orientation (1200x1600) out of laziness, but I noticed that under these circumstances together with the LAV filters, madVR dies horribly. It does not display any video, and then the audio stream dies within two minutes. Then, depending on the video, mpc-hc crashes. This is completely fixed by changing the orientation back. I am not sure if this happens with ffdshow, but it definitely happens with the LAV filters.

Last edited by Negi; 30th March 2012 at 14:09.
Negi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2012, 14:22   #12920  |  Link
Hypernova
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by futurex View Post
Pardon me if this has been asked before, but is there any difference, all other things being equal, between madvr and evr custom pres when playing 1080p on a 1080p display? I take it madvr has better scaling etc but is any scaling actually done in this case? What about a resolution such as 1920x800? Does that need to be scaled?

Thanks!
Actually, I believe the most important feature of madVR is not scaling, but the fact that it avoids (almost) all the messing up your video card driver can made. Another one is madVR use the best possible conversion/dithering if you need one. Personally, the reason I first use madVR, despite the fact that my GPU at the time cannot quite handle it, is the better dithering. It clearly show less color-banding for me.
__________________
Spec: Intel Core i5-3570K, 8g ram, Intel HD4000, Samsung U28D590 4k monitor+1080p Projector, Windows 10.
Hypernova is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.