Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th March 2019, 10:47   #55321  |  Link
austinminton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicog View Post

I tried also almost everything. Sometimes FSE works, sometimes not (I don't know why!)
![/U]
When you experience stuttering, press Ctrl+J to see if FSE is even enabled. Sometimes fse fails when I try to use other windows on my pc monitor and something is playing on the TV. As soon as FSE fails, the stuttering returns on my setup.
austinminton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 11:08   #55322  |  Link
Nicog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinminton View Post
When you experience stuttering, press Ctrl+J to see if FSE is even enabled. Sometimes fse fails when I try to use other windows on my pc monitor and something is playing on the TV. As soon as FSE fails, the stuttering returns on my setup.
Hi, thanks for your help but this I already checked - and impossible to miss it as I use a videoprojector (JVC X7900), which is really painful to use in FSE...

I tried also all what Asmodian suggested - without any success. But I just tried separatly - I have to try also all together.
Nicog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 11:38   #55323  |  Link
austinminton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 71
Yes I agree. Since it was an incremental process and FSE finally fixed it for me, I might be ignoring the other fixes that helped me resolve the problem. So here goes from memory, just to summarize on what I had to do for my 2080ti (after upgrading from a 1080).

Fresh Windows 1809, fully updated, with game mode and Focus assist off (including all focus assist settings off, not just the main one).
Nvidia latest (now 419.35), adaptive power, default color space (rgb full works too without stuttering). Using Freesync on my PC screen without issues on displayport. TV connected on hdmi.
Madvr even default settings needs FSE.
Lav dxva2 copyback
I also had to disable my onboard realtek audio in bios and uninstall its drivers, otherwise i was getting spikes in madvr processing occasionally.

Cant think of anything else really.
austinminton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 13:32   #55324  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinminton View Post
Works fine for me on 419.35 (and 419.17). I use default color settings on nvidia cp. It goes into 8bit hdr if its 4k@60, otherwise goes into 12bit which I have confirmed with my receiver.

In fact everything related to bit depth is working well for me now. For normal 1080p23, 2160p23 files I get 12bit output and 4k@60 (for normal desktop usage) I get 8bit.
ye I am talking about 4K60 . it doesn't go to 10 bit like it suppose . if I choose YcbCr 4:2:2 10 bit then it works fine without randomly white dots.
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 14:21   #55325  |  Link
austinminton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 71
4k60 RGB (or ycbcr 4:4:4) cant go to 10bit due to hdmi 2.0 bandwidth limitations. Not very sure if displayport can do it. White dots does sound like a cable issue?

Last edited by austinminton; 13th March 2019 at 14:28.
austinminton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 14:30   #55326  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinminton View Post
4k60 RGB (or ycbcr 4:4:4) cant go to 10bit due to hdmi 2.0 bandwidth limitations. Not very sure if displayport can do it. White dots does sound like a cable issue?
4K60 4:4:4 runs at 17.82Gbps, but only with the default 8-bit BT.709 color. That’s the same color gamut as 720p and 1080i/p. The whole point of HDR is to increase color volume, which it can’t do unless there’s first an increased color gamut. That means stepping up to BT.2020, which in turn means 10- or 12-bit deep color. The HDMI 2.0 spec also calls for a minimum 10-bit color with BT.2020.

Here's how it stands...

Main + 2 sides;
(Remember it has to be under 18Gbps…)

4K 60 4:4:4 (no HDR) = 17.82Gbps

4K 30 4:4:4 10b-HDR (no 60fps) = 11.14Gbps

4K 60 4:2:2 10b-HDR (no 4:4:4) = 17.82Gbps

Main + 3 sides;

4K 60 4:4:4 10b-HDR = 22.28Gbps
__________________
Windows 10-1909 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 15:37   #55327  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock View Post
4K60 4:4:4 runs at 17.82Gbps, but only with the default 8-bit BT.709 color. That’s the same color gamut as 720p and 1080i/p. The whole point of HDR is to increase color volume, which it can’t do unless there’s first an increased color gamut. That means stepping up to BT.2020, which in turn means 10- or 12-bit deep color. The HDMI 2.0 spec also calls for a minimum 10-bit color with BT.2020.
4K60p 4:4:4 can only run in 8bits, so 12bits isn't an option for that.

The HDMI 2.0 specs doesn't call for 10bits with BT2020. I send RGB 8bits with BT2020 without any problem. The gamut used doesn't have any effect on the bandwidth. Bit depth does.

For the content, UHD Bluray specs call for 10bits if PQ Gamma (and usually BT2020) is used, but that's a content spec, not a HDMI spec for playback.

MadVR can tonemap and dither 10bits BT2020 content to 8bits BT2020 without any added banding (at least when using pixel shader tonemapping, I have checked this using passthrough). It's perfectly valid to do so and it does limit the necessary bandwidth to a max of 300Mhz at 4K60p with no visible loss of picture quality if using the correct settings in GPU/madVR, which can be useful in some situations.

It also impacts performance, as processing 12bits takes more resources than processing 8bits.

12bits causes a lot of issues with nVidia recent drivers, especially with madVR custom refresh rates and NV HDR switching, so using 8bits can also help with that.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1909 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 442.19 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25/CMC V3.1
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000

Last edited by Manni; 13th March 2019 at 15:41.
Manni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 15:47   #55328  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
I like adaptive myself, it clocks all the way down pretty fast, but not so fast as to ever disturb madVR.

However, anything besides Optimal Power works fine.
Does setting it in global vs application specific make a difference ?
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 16:05   #55329  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,033
Application specific overrides the global setting. But in most cases this value is not set in application specific settings. You can see with Nvidia Profile Inspector tool.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 17:35   #55330  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
4K60p 4:4:4 can only run in 8bits, so 12bits isn't an option for that.
-SNip snip snip_

Has anyone quality assessed 444 8bit vs 422 10/12bit , which is better visually

Assssuming they got 10/12bit working of course.

Is the extra chroma more worthwhile than the m0ar bits


I understand ideally, we'd have displayport w/ 444-12
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 17:47   #55331  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 741
Frankly the bandwidth is only an issue with 60p content, so as I don't care about Billy Lynn I'd rather have 444 12bits for all my 23p content (99.99% of what I watch).

Unfortunately there is a bug with the JVCs, at 4K RGB 444 12bits the colorspace is forced internally to YCC422, even at 30p and below. This messes levels (when using video levels) as it requires PC levels to work, and possibly some bad things happen to chroma behind madVR's back. That's why I'm using 8bits at the moment (along with issues with calibration in 12bits). Hopefully they will fix this.

Otherwise I'd rather use 444 12bits with all my 23p content and 444 8bits with 60p, given that the driver switches automatically, than limit all content to 422 and hobble madVR's chroma upscaling.

I'm sure others will have other preferences, for good reasons

All this will last until HDMI 2.1, but we'll probably have to wait a couple of years before we can upgrade the whole chain to that.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1909 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 442.19 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25/CMC V3.1
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000

Last edited by Manni; 13th March 2019 at 21:10.
Manni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 21:39   #55332  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 452
Even when we get the ports, I bet they'll still screw up 10bit and we'll be stuck at 8..

hahahaha

Btw, manni, how are you setting up dispcal 3DLut to work with the Madvr HDR tonemapping mode, Or are you using the SDR lut.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz

Last edited by tp4tissue; 13th March 2019 at 22:24.
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 22:36   #55333  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
Btw, manni, how are you setting up dispcal 3DLut to work with the Madvr HDR tonemapping mode, Or are you using the SDR lut.
I tonemap HDR with pixel shaders and use an SDR DCI-P3 baseline in the projector with a 3D LUT for that (P3 gamut, 2.2 power gamma target). Works great.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1909 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 442.19 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25/CMC V3.1
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 23:14   #55334  |  Link
maxkill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
I tonemap HDR with pixel shaders and use an SDR DCI-P3 baseline in the projector with a 3D LUT for that (P3 gamut, 2.2 power gamma target). Works great.
Give me your shader files please.
__________________
Optimal 4k settings for smoother image MadVR guide
http://forum.doom9.net/showthread.php?t=176161
maxkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2019, 01:18   #55335  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
I tonemap HDR with pixel shaders and use an SDR DCI-P3 baseline in the projector with a 3D LUT for that (P3 gamut, 2.2 power gamma target). Works great.

is this through hcfr or dispcal
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2019, 14:14   #55336  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
Does the user snowknight have the vega 56 or 64 ?
I don't know, I couldn't find it.
RX Vega 56.
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2019, 14:49   #55337  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowknight26 View Post
RX Vega 56.
Thx for nfo SnowK .
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2019, 16:44   #55338  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
is this through hcfr or dispcal
At the moment it's a lightning LUT (101 points) generated in under 10 minutes by Calman Ultimate, as the projector is very linear and I get near reference results like this. When I need more, I will compare what I get with a larger LUT in Calman and in Lightspace (I own both).

But DisplayCAL should give very good results. In fact it gave me better results than Lightspace using the same profile created with Lightspace when I had issues with my rs500.

If DisplayCAL (well, Argyll) was able to support my BasiCColor Discus, I would happily use DisplayCAL to create my 3D LUTs. Florian definitely provides better support for madVR users than either of the other two companies.

I don't know about HCFR, I haven't used it in a long time as I don't think it supports the Discus either.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1909 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 442.19 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25/CMC V3.1
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000

Last edited by Manni; 14th March 2019 at 16:46.
Manni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2019, 17:26   #55339  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 452
Guys, If I choose 23hz RGB 12-bit output in nvidia.

Does that make madvr output levels in 0-4095 ?
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2019, 17:54   #55340  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,164
as i said to you before this option currently has no effect on what madVR outputs.

12 bit is in general not on option maybe with DX13 maybe never.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.