Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th December 2019, 18:44   #8941  |  Link
NanoBot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 167
What "file format" did you select on the main tabulator ? If you select mp4 or mkv, an additional mux job has to be added. If you select RAWAVC, then only an encode job will be created.
NanoBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2019, 21:33   #8942  |  Link
vasquuez
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by NanoBot View Post
What "file format" did you select on the main tabulator ? If you select mp4 or mkv, an additional mux job has to be added. If you select RAWAVC, then only an encode job will be created.
I selected mkv. In earlier version of megui -long time ago there was no mux job after adding video in queue, so that's why I'm surprised. So it is needed then? And after this I will make mux of all parts - audio, video and subs?
vasquuez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2019, 23:37   #8943  |  Link
NanoBot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 167
The encoder will always produce a raw video file first and add this job to the queue. If you select mp4 or mkv as output file format, in a second step the raw video file has to be muxxed into your selected container format and this mux job is automatically added to the queue.

If you prefer to mux video, audio and other track types by yourself, just select RAWAVC and you will get a raw h264 file. After that, you can use your preferred muxxer, e.g. mkvtoolnix, to do the mux job manually.

The same procedure applies if you want to use the h265 encoder, there you have to select RAWHEVC to get a pure h265 file.
NanoBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2019, 00:05   #8944  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by vasquuez View Post
I selected mkv. In earlier version of megui -long time ago there was no mux job after adding video in queue, so that's why I'm surprised. So it is needed then? And after this I will make mux of all parts - audio, video and subs?
For x264 at least, in Options/External Programs, there's a setting labelled "x264: use external muxer for MKV". When it's unchecked and MKV is selected as the File Format, the encoder will write the encoded video directly to an MKV, so there will no longer be an additional muxing job added to the job queue.

I don't think x265 has the ability to write the output directly to a container.

Last edited by hello_hello; 10th December 2019 at 00:12.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2019, 00:50   #8945  |  Link
vasquuez
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by hello_hello View Post
For x264 at least, in Options/External Programs, there's a setting labelled "x264: use external muxer for MKV". When it's unchecked and MKV is selected as the File Format, the encoder will write the encoded video directly to an MKV, so there will no longer be an additional muxing job added to the job queue.

I don't think x265 has the ability to write the output directly to a container.
Thank you will check this setting.
vasquuez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2019, 08:43   #8946  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,006
The original x265 from Multicoreware only writes raw HEVC; but AFAIR, there are modded versions with additional input/output modules.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2020, 05:44   #8947  |  Link
goldensun87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 35
I recently had to reinstall my OS. I downloaded the latest version of MEGUI, and I installed all the disabled components from the Update list. But still, the file indexer and seemingly nothing else, is working. Currently, I have a source file with VP9 video and OPUS audio, which I had previously remuxed into MKV using ffmpeg. On previous OS installs, I would install individual codecs separately, with programs like Haali Media Splitter, Flash Video Splitter and XVID, but this time, I installed only the K-Lite Codec Mega Pack. Do I have to tweak some settings in K-Lite Codec? Or, should I install those individual programs like I used to? Because before the OS reinstall, I was able to work with VP9 and Opus flawlessly.

Update: Initially, I thought something got messed up because I was working with my internet off, and I keep forgetting that most of MeGUI's tools are downloaded from the MeGUI server upon first use of respective tool. So, I deleted the whole program, and started over with a fresh download. This time, made sure to download all tools BEFORE attempting an encode. But, when I finally attempt to encode my file, it still doesn't work. At this moment, a thought occurs to me. I switched to Maori keyboard so that I can type vowels with macron, and my file's name has those characters in it. So, I removed those characters, and VOILA! Encode worked like a charm!

I honestly am surprised that a factor as minor as special characters in a filename, can prevent the program from working. I'll have to try and remember this for future reference.
__________________
Smartphone repairs. PC Virus Removals. Data Recovery. Hard Drive Repairs. Gaming PC Upgrades. Custom PC Builds.

https://electronics-emended.business.site/

Last edited by goldensun87; 2nd January 2020 at 23:26.
goldensun87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2020, 19:27   #8948  |  Link
2-perf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Montreal
Posts: 9
I wish MeGUI could encode to PCM file. I have this .wav file which is from a PAL VHS and would like to do a Time Modification -> Slow-down (25 to 24) while keeping it as a .wav file in order to work with it in DaVinci Resolve afterwards.
2-perf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2020, 20:49   #8949  |  Link
2-perf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Montreal
Posts: 9
Encoding a 16-bit .wav file to .flac with a Time Modification results in a 24-bit .flac file. When no Time Modification applied, the result is a 16-bit flac.
2-perf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2020, 21:47   #8950  |  Link
LeXXuz
17 years and counting...
 
LeXXuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Add to your command line
--ctu 16
If I understand this correctly, x265 uses smaller blocks so more rows of the actual frame can be used for parallel processing.

Will this have any significant impact on quality/efficiency?

If not, I don't understand why x265 doesn't do this by default for smaller resolutions like 1080p and below?
LeXXuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2020, 09:14   #8951  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,006
@2-perf:

Audio conversions are handled in AviSynth scripts as well, so if you are able to edit the generated audio conversion script before starting the job in the queue (i.e. if you find its location), you could manually add ConvertAudioTo16bit() ... the tempo conversion will have converted the audio to float before output. MeGUI might add a selection here to add a sample type conversion in the codec configuration.

Unfortunately, I don't see a CLI parameter combination for "flac -d" that would force flac to reduce the resolution while decoding to WAV, only while decoding to raw audio (--bps=16). But e.g. Audacity would be able.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2020, 11:12   #8952  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,714
@2-perf

MeGUI can't output WAV and can't edit the audio avs scripts
There are other tool (included in MeGUI) to do the job quickly, for instance:

eac3to input.wav output.wav -25.000 -changeTo24.000 -down16

If your input wav file is included in a container you can use the MeGUI -> Tools -> HD Streams Extractor to do the job, like in the image, adding the parameters (in bold) to +Options tab:
Attached Images
 
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2020, 10:50   #8953  |  Link
Farfie
Registered User
 
Farfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 51
compendium for one click replace function?

Hey guys, long time user of MEgui and first time poster in this thread. Definitely don't know where I'd be without this software, so I thank you.

I was wondering if there was some kind of information for the Replace and With functions in the One Click Encoder tool? Is it just intended to find only one string and replace it with another? It would be awesome if there were multiple things to look for, maybe comma separated, and of course wildcards would be great too. If I wanted to remake a whole series, I could do something like:
Replace:[*],(*)
With: newgroup,new settings

Is there anything like this?
Farfie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2020, 02:14   #8954  |  Link
2-perf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Montreal
Posts: 9
Thanks LigH and tebasuna51 for the tip! Quite appreciated.
2-perf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2020, 04:30   #8955  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,079
2-perf,,
I was sure I replied again with a detailed answer to your question but I must've forgotten to submit it.

When the source is MKV or indexed by a flavour of DGIndex, the audio is extracted, added to the audio section, and MeGUI creates a script for encoding "behind the scenes". For other file types it can't extract the audio, so instead it creates a physical script it adds to the audio section. Therefore, rather than use MeGUI's audio encoder configuration for specifying a speed change, you can leave it doing nothing but encoding, and create the script for it to encode yourself.

To make creating the script less of a chore, you can add the AudioSpeed function and tell it what you need, including the output bitdepth.

From there you can encode as 16 bit flac, but foobar2000 converts to wave "out of the box", and thanks to the AVS Input DSP, it can open Avisynth scripts and play or convert the audio. If you forget to tell AudioSpeed you want a 16 bit wave file it's not the end of the world. fb2k's converter configuration lets you specify the output bitdepth when it's a lossless type.

Because fb2k can use any command line encoder for converting, you could bypass Avisynth, extract the audio and open it with fb2k and simply convert using an encoder preset you created earlier. I've saved configurations for applying speedup and slowdown with SoundTouch, SoX and FFmpeg. If you want to try foobar2000, let me know and I'll post the command lines for you.

Last edited by hello_hello; 5th February 2020 at 04:45.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
megui

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.