Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th January 2018, 18:35   #48201  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackwalker View Post
i agree but i'm using a 1050 with 2gb and memory is always full
Maybe with high memory i can get better results
i need also to upgrade CPU and motherboard on my htpc, i have a i5 950 with a good asus motherboarth with 6GB of ram.

anyway thx for your reply
have a think about what you want to achieve first, I have a much faster system than you but my GFX card is slower, I'm really happy with my picture quality just using NGU sharp medium, you may find after spending a crap load of money and pushing MADVR to the max you dont see that much difference in PQ, is it worth the outlay?

If you play everything well enough with the kit you have and you're not getting dropped frames perhaps just keep what you have.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2018, 19:33   #48202  |  Link
nekrovski
Registered User
 
nekrovski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by psyside View Post
madvr settings
Use lanczos pixel shader instead of cubic.
nekrovski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2018, 21:46   #48203  |  Link
yok833
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 73
With my GTX 1080, when I try to create a custom resolution for a "23hz" mode in madvr everything works nicely except that it also automatically creates a custom "24hz" mode in the nvidia panel. Unfortunatly, it is not possible to choose 12bit with 24hz in the Nvidia panel so i have no other choice than to stay with 8bit when I want to use madvr custom resolution
Is someone know how to fix this Nvidia bug ?
yok833 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2018, 21:49   #48204  |  Link
Vegekou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 7
I have a problem with madVR+MPC—HC64 https://streamable.com/ar0cl Anybody can help me to solve it or it’s just a bug?
Vegekou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2018, 23:28   #48205  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,000
you are playing a 23,976 movie at 60 hz so this is why you are getting frame repeats. if you arent bothered about that and you are reffering to the screen going black intermittently i'm not sure, does your receiver screen or TV suggest there is a hdmi handshake loss?

if you change the renderer back to the standard instead of MADVR does it play normally?
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2018, 23:48   #48206  |  Link
Vegekou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
you are playing a 23,976 movie at 60 hz so this is why you are getting frame repeats. if you arent bothered about that and you are reffering to the screen going black intermittently i'm not sure, does your receiver screen or TV suggest there is a hdmi handshake loss?

if you change the renderer back to the standard instead of MADVR does it play normally?
I usually don't get dropped frames, except when I move the mouse cursor on the seek bar. In that case I get dropped frames, glitches and the screen goes black intermittently.
I think it's because of the last Intel video driver (23.20.16.4901 - Intel HD 520) but I'm not sure.
All the renders works good except for madVR.
Vegekou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2018, 23:54   #48207  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,000
yeah sounds like it, drop back to an earlier driver then to test Also, i'd set up madvr up properly, get 1080p23 into display modes in MADVR so it plays the movies at the correct rate.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2018, 00:38   #48208  |  Link
Vegekou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
yeah sounds like it, drop back to an earlier driver then to test Also, i'd set up madvr up properly, get 1080p23 into display modes in MADVR so it plays the movies at the correct rate.
Same result with previous driver 23.20.16.4849

EDIT:

It works good with driver:
21.20.16.4550 (11/2016 - from windows update)
22.20.16.4718 (09/2017 - from HP)

Last edited by Vegekou; 11th January 2018 at 02:55.
Vegekou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2018, 00:44   #48209  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,773
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
I think people have suggested HDR is now fixed with they latest drivers.
They are fixed! HDR works perfectly for me now, madVR turns on HDR automatically but Windows' HDR mode doesn't turn on. Ideal.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2018, 09:32   #48210  |  Link
ShyK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
Linear light / gamma correction for upscaling needed

Hi, madshi. madvr currently has two gamma correction problems.

Please consider adding gamma correction / "linear light" to all upscaling modes. It's really a basic thing that should be available for upscaling same as it is available for downscaling.

The Jinc interpolation with the anti-ringing filter is an exceptional solution for natural-looking results with very highly reduced "aliasing" and a relatively very low amount of processing power. The problem is that in upscaling, it's largely ruined by the lack of gamma correction.

For comparison, here are upscaling results with similar, catmull-rom filters:

original image

madvr-x2-catrom-sigmoidal-off
madvr-x2-catrom-sigmoidal-on
imageworsener-x2-catrom

Sigmoidal light even makes the gamma-related "artifacts" worse.

Currently, only NGU has gamma correction for upscaling, so I'm comparing with NGU Soft, luma doubling and chroma "very high", quadrupling disabled.

madvr-x2-ngusoft

This is the same effect as what happens in downscaling, but it's much more disturbing in upscaling, because...it's upscaled. Since ImageWorsener, ImageMagick, GIMP and a few other programs give better results that are similar to each other, then I guess it means madvr just has a different, more "lenient" gamma correction implementation, but it's not better nor as good.


Example with downscaling:
madvr-x0.5-catrom
madvr-x0.5-catrom-nocorrection
imageworsener-x0.5-catrom
imageworsener-x0.5-catrom-nocorrection

Without gamma correction, pretty much identical. With gamma correction, as mentioned above, the "artifacts" are more visible in madvr.

I'll just mention that the problems are not limited to this single image. I've compared using other images, and madvr's gamma correction is always worse. I'm just using this test image because it's the best for easily showcasing the problems. I'm sure you could easily improve the gamma correction and enable it for upscaling as well, and thus make madvr not just the highest quality video renderer, but also the best video and image scaling software available. On that note, I'll just add that a custom width/height box in the screenshots menu would be very useful.
Thanks.

Last edited by ShyK; 11th January 2018 at 09:52.
ShyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2018, 11:20   #48211  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,063
linear light was removed because it had major ringing issues and other reasons. which was judged on real work images not test pattern. it was rarely recommended for upscaling.

try 0.89.0 . 0.90.0 replaced linear light (we call it LL here) with sigmoidal light which to my notice is rarely spoken off.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2018, 15:33   #48212  |  Link
mrmarioman
Registered User
 
mrmarioman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
do you have your TV set in deep colour mode on you PC HDMI port?, is your PC setup as 4:2:0 10 bit, if not drop it into that mode for now as a diagnostic step.

Make sure FSE is off and Direct3D is ticked in MADVR in rendering, you should also set MADVR to passthru for HDR.

might also be worth a clean driver install, I think people have suggested HDR is now fixed with they latest drivers.
Yes, the HDMI deep colour is on. I've tried 4:4:4- 4:2:2 and 4:2:0 with the same result. Not working properly. But I found a way, more or less, to get it to work. With Pot player + MadVR, if I toggle the "send HDR metadata" option on and off a couple of times, it will eventually display the right colours. Sometimes it blows the colours of the desktop leaving the video in the player looking dull, and sometimes it works. Hit or miss.

Last edited by mrmarioman; 11th January 2018 at 15:48.
mrmarioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2018, 15:51   #48213  |  Link
psyside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 46
Hi guys, i got AN GTX960 GB, i used it to view my mobile phone S8 to view the clips, and make the best possible in terms of IQ for this card.

Can anyone tell me if i got it all good, or im missing a setting or 2?


This are the clips media info, if needed, i watch them on a Dell U2414h, with a HDMI connection, if that makes any difference...

I also got i5 2400 with 8gb of ram. Please tell me what should i change/add to get the best possible for this card, and sorry for spam!

Media info,




madVR settings,
























Last edited by psyside; 11th January 2018 at 16:00.
psyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2018, 16:19   #48214  |  Link
psyside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 46
Ok i just found out that my card is running at PCI-E 2.0, (totally forgot Sandy Bridge does not support 3.0) )

Does this make any difference for madVR?
psyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2018, 16:20   #48215  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmarioman View Post
Yes, the HDMI deep colour is on......
sorry not sure then, HDR has worked for a while now with AMD cards with no issues and most NVIDIA users on latest drivers say its fixed. Perhaps someone else can chime in here and help, might be wise to list your setup:

Hardware -

GFX card = ?
NV Driver version = ?
Windows ver + sp = ?
Main Media player = ?
MADVR ver = ?
Lav ver = ?
Deep colour KU700 = on

Setup

Desktop = 2160p / 4:2:0 10bit
Madvr direct3D = on
Madvr HDR = passthrough
Madvr calibration = ?

if you turn on HDR in windows and then play the movie using FILMS & TV does it look right?
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2018, 16:21   #48216  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by psyside View Post
Ok i just found out that my card is running at PCI-E 2.0, (totally forgot Sandy Bridge does not support 3.0) )

Does this make any difference for madVR?
No mine is too, it will be fine.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2018, 16:43   #48217  |  Link
psyside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
No mine is too, it will be fine.
This is what i got,


Also how do i show stats/fps drops in MPHC?

Attached Images
 
psyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2018, 16:47   #48218  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by psyside View Post
This is what i got,..
play a movie, then press contro+j
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2018, 16:54   #48219  |  Link
psyside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
play a movie, then press contro+j




Does this look good? how to test my card?
psyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2018, 17:02   #48220  |  Link
mrmarioman
Registered User
 
mrmarioman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
sorry not sure then, HDR has worked for a while now with AMD cards with no issues and most NVIDIA users on latest drivers say its fixed. Perhaps someone else can chime in here and help, might be wise to list your setup:

Hardware -

GFX card = ?
NV Driver version = ?
Windows ver + sp = ?
Main Media player = ?
MADVR ver = ?
Lav ver = ?
Deep colour KU700 = on

Setup

Desktop = 2160p / 4:2:0 10bit
Madvr direct3D = on
Madvr HDR = passthrough
Madvr calibration = ?

if you turn on HDR in windows and then play the movie using FILMS & TV does it look right?

Hardware -

GFX card = 980Ti
NV Driver version = Latest 390, ××
Windows ver + sp = 10 Pro
Main Media player = MPC HC ( though can't get it to work. Using Pot player for HDR)
MADVR ver = Latest
Lav ver = Latest Nightly (using D3D11 decoder)
Deep colour KU700 = on

Setup

Desktop = 2160p / RGB Full 12 bit.
Madvr direct3D = on
Madvr HDR = passthrough
Madvr calibration = Using 10 bit. NGU AA. Rest options default.

With the Windows 10 movie player something similar happens. If I turn on/off the Windows HDR toggle a couple of times it will eventually work: sometimes when it's off it will display the right colours, and when its on it won't. It's strange.

Anyway, at least I can get it to work now, with a bit of trouble. Thanks for your help.
mrmarioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.