Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th April 2018, 17:38   #50101  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxkolonko123 View Post
Nah nah sir I can't be bothered to deal with that anymore hehe it is never a fun. But maybe a second OS on diff partition, clean just to check and see, would be way easier then reinstall everything etc for no reason if it won't make any difference
In my case I have other reasons to do a clean install. I do think in my case it'll end up helping my madvr performance a bit and allow me to crank up some settings that I've had to relax which will impact my overall PQ. Right now I have madvr dialed in fairly well for my 1060 but if a reinstall can give me a little bit more performance, then I will surely put it to good use. LOL
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator (Optimus)
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2018, 17:43   #50102  |  Link
maxkolonko123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
In my case I have other reasons to do a clean install. I do think in my case it'll end up helping my madvr performance a bit and allow me to crank up some settings that I've had to relax which will impact my overall PQ. Right now I have madvr dialed in fairly well for my 1060 but if a reinstall can give me a little bit more performance, then I will surely put it to good use. LOL
Fair play, let us know if did improve after fresh windows
maxkolonko123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2018, 18:32   #50103  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 983
I would start with the driver rather than reinstall the entire OS. It is unlikely madVR performance will improve at all. It is mostly worried about your GPU.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2018, 20:11   #50104  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxkolonko123 View Post
Fair play, let us know if did improve after fresh windows
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
I would start with the driver rather than reinstall the entire OS. It is unlikely madVR performance will improve at all. It is mostly worried about your GPU.
Well, I needed a clean Windows install anyway, so, it was time.

Full clean install, clean driver install, and reinstalled J River MC24. Kept most of my madvr settings although for some reason it didn't pick up the same devices. I say this only because I don't know if it's relevant or not. Exact same device names but madvr detected them as new and greyed out the old ones. Anyway, set those up again and left everything else the same in madvr as it was before. I'm still getting some drops/repeated frames when bitstreaming, but, it's certainly a hell of a lot better out of the box than it was. We're talking 1 every 5 or so minutes. That's before attempting any custom res settings so this gives me hope that I may be able to solve the issue when I get some time later. Rendering times for the settings I have are around 15ms which is good. Haven't played with 3D yet to see how that goes. I'm not recommending people go reinstall windows, however. Simply saying that I needed to anyway and now that I have it certainly has improved things. Most likely, as you said, it's all driver related.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I7 3770k, GTX 1060, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
Laptop: MSI GT70 Dominator (Optimus)
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2018, 03:57   #50105  |  Link
MrDVader
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
Can I down convert 2160p to 1080p but retain WCG bt2020 color space?

I have a JVC DLA-RS400 projector which up-converts to 4k and can do HDR, albeit, badly (the HDR that is).

However, my existing HTPC setup is not ideal for 4k due to HDMI cable length and aging HD7950 graphics card.

So, is it possible to down convert but retain the wide color gammet content? If so, how should I setup the MadVR HDR settings? I'm running win7 to a 1080p Denon receiver (which prevents passing 4k to the projector.
MrDVader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2018, 07:17   #50106  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 121
@Madshi

I have been following your work on the AVS forum re HDR to SDR conversion with corrective tone mapping - what are the chances of MadVR being able to trigger HDR, but perform the same corrective type of processing (as some suspect the OS HDR Toggle does)?

Would be amazing if possible, as so many HDR releases are badly mastered.

K

Last edited by oldpainlesskodi; 5th April 2018 at 08:53.
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2018, 10:20   #50107  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 697
interesting request, what about having a virtual HDR mode that conversts SDR to something that looks like HDR, now that would be cool.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2018, 12:13   #50108  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,984
Sony TVs can already do this, but it's not on the same level that this is on. It takes between three and 10 minutes to convert one minute of SDR footage. If they offered a cloud service madVR could tie into to make changes to the video that would be very cool.. but also a long way off, maybe madVR might do something many years from now.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2018, 13:25   #50109  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 697
I meant a FAUX HDR mode like LG and SAMSUNG TV's have, VIVID with bells on, just adds a bit extra to the image, obviously nowhere near as good as real HDR mode but it would be a nice addition,
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2018, 13:31   #50110  |  Link
maxkolonko123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
interesting request, what about having a virtual HDR mode that conversts SDR to something that looks like HDR, now that would be cool.
Clean gpu driver installation after DDU, without changing a thing in madvr 1.2h expected frame drop, but i see drops occure more often when check osd.

But now any of the custom mode wont work for me, only EDID one, the rest give me blank screen, or is getting rejected by gpu.

Last edited by maxkolonko123; 5th April 2018 at 15:11.
maxkolonko123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2018, 15:53   #50111  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneaker_ger View Post
I assume that is the problem because the x265 command-line changed some time in the past. Now it must be "--transfer smpte2084" or simply "--transfer 16".
I tested your proposal. Your assumption was right. Now my LG C6V switch to HDR mode. MadVR recognize the input as HDR, but the the colors are totally wrong on my TV. Some colors are too red, some are too blue....and with a lot of artifacts. I still do not know where the problem lies. After converting the HDR source to SDR the video displayed is quite acceptable.
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2018, 15:55   #50112  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,543
Its quite possible that your TV doesn't like non-BT2020 HDR, since that would likely never exist in the wild.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2018, 16:08   #50113  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxkolonko123 View Post
Clean gpu driver installation after DDU, without changing a thing in madvr 1.2h expected frame drop, but i see drops occure more often when check osd.

But now any of the custom mode wont work for me, only EDID one, the rest give me blank screen, or is getting rejected by gpu.

sorry if this is a silly question but have you set MADVR to passthru to display and meta data is ticked?

NVIDIA card or AMD?, are you going through a receiver, is it defo fully HDR passthrough compatible?,
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2018, 16:14   #50114  |  Link
maxkolonko123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
sorry if this is a silly question but have you set MADVR to passthru to display and meta data is ticked?

NVIDIA card or AMD?, are you going through a receiver, is it defo fully HDR passthrough compatible?,

What have HDR passtrough to do with none HDR movie?? pc to tv for video pc to avr for sound, nvidia card.

but like i said it has nothing to do with hdr, i just cant set any custom display mode apart EDID one
maxkolonko123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2018, 16:17   #50115  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 697
sorry I misread the issue you are having.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2018, 16:17   #50116  |  Link
maxkolonko123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxkolonko123 View Post
Clean gpu driver installation after DDU, without changing a thing in madvr 1.2h expected frame drop, but i see drops occure more often when check osd.

But now any of the custom mode wont work for me, only EDID one, the rest give me blank screen, or is getting rejected by gpu.

Ok, so basically just to have a check and compare stuff, i decided to remove 23p and 24p string from madvr so basically movie is played with display refresh rate which is 59hz, and results are : 1 frame drop expect every 2.xx hour, 0 dropped frames whatsoever after 20min playback in madvr OSD !! when literally i usually get like 20droped by 20min with matching refresh rate 23.97fps
maxkolonko123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2018, 16:18   #50117  |  Link
maxkolonko123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
sorry I misread the issue you are having.
it's ok
maxkolonko123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2018, 16:22   #50118  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 983
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDVader View Post
I have a JVC DLA-RS400 projector which up-converts to 4k and can do HDR, albeit, badly (the HDR that is).

However, my existing HTPC setup is not ideal for 4k due to HDMI cable length and aging HD7950 graphics card.

So, is it possible to down convert but retain the wide color gammet content? If so, how should I setup the MadVR HDR settings? I'm running win7 to a 1080p Denon receiver (which prevents passing 4k to the projector.
You can calibrate your display for a wide color gamut in SDR mode (e.g. BT.2020), but the brightness will still be lacking. And your AVR may not passthrough the gamut. You would have to test. You would be referring to the HDR -> SDR conversion feature of madVR, which will passthrough the original gamut if you set this display is already calibrated to DCI-P3 or BT.2020 and set HDR to convert to SDR with pixel shader math.

However, before you test, you will need a graphics card with a 10-bit HEVC decoder, as your current card will not be able to downscale 4K -> 1080p, nor will it be able to decode it.

Last edited by Warner306; 5th April 2018 at 16:58.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2018, 16:24   #50119  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 983
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxkolonko123 View Post
Clean gpu driver installation after DDU, without changing a thing in madvr 1.2h expected frame drop, but i see drops occure more often when check osd.

But now any of the custom mode wont work for me, only EDID one, the rest give me blank screen, or is getting rejected by gpu.
You can only use the optimized EDID mode, or that is the only one you can set to measure the timings? If that is all you can accept to measure the timings, then there is no problem. What about the optimized modes? Can you select any of them? And are you certain you are still dropping frames with an expected frame drop every 1.2 hours? You shouldn't need a custom mode and madVR shouldn't be that inaccurate. You should do more testing.

I wouldn't sacrifice frame rate matching for a few dropped frames that are hardly noticeable.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2018, 17:01   #50120  |  Link
maxkolonko123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
You can only use the optimized EDID mode, or that is the only one you can set to measure the timings? If that is all you can accept to measure the timings, then there is no problem. What about the optimized modes? Can you select any of them? And are you certain you are still dropping frames with an expected frame drop every 1.2 hours? You shouldn't need a custom mode and madVR shouldn't be that inaccurate. You should do more testing.

I wouldn't sacrifice frame rate matching for a few dropped frames that are hardly noticeable.
I couldn't use any other for measure timing then EDID/CTA so after playing a movie and checking measured timings I can only use optimized EDID mode, can't choose any other after measured timings even when it shows 90% compatibility, from CVT to optimized pixel clock none of them can be accepted.

CVT v1-v2 blank screen till prob 20sec is gone to accept it, every pixel clock end up with disturbed image on TV, even when quickly disconnect hdmi cable and connect back i can see time to accept this mode i click yes then getting error about gpu rejecting this mode.

At the moment i have in custom mode " current timings " currently used by the GPU..... current timings,mesured timings and EDID/CTA all 3 shows same numbers and 1 frame drop every 1.07hours see screnshot -> https://imgur.com/a/OzZ5c


I won't sacrifice it either but i just want to find why is like that, i even choose in nvidia control panel to max performance from adaptive mode, it did more time to expected frame drop but yet still after playing movie for some time and checking osd i see noted drops there
maxkolonko123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.