Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th September 2017, 14:10   #45581  |  Link
kalston
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by imhh11 View Post
I like the sharpness of the UHD pic but the red tint not so much. Guess the HDR to SDR conversion isn't perfect. Or maybe it's supposed to look like that
kalston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 14:14   #45582  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by BetA13 View Post
nope, using windows 7 here, so this option wouldnt work here anyway.
im using:

LAV: DXVA2 CB
MadVR: direct3D 11 presentation, present a frame for every sync, FSE Mode, enable windows overlay, with an CPU queue of 16 and GPU at 10.

The Problem does not go away when playing with these settings.. well, i could be thats its better in d3d9 mode.. not shure really, didnt have enough time to test it more..

not shure if this has something to do with it, but i get 1 frame repeat every 40 - 50 seconds, and NO matter what i try, this NEVER changes. looking at some different screenshots in here, 50 sec. is really bad..

But also, like i sayd, im very happy with the perf. increase. (finally i can use NGU AA at med. without going over teh 40% GPU usage mark)

greetz

EDIT:

allmost forgot, The stuttering and such also happens when i just move the mouse down to the seekbar, but do NOT actually seek..just bringing the seekbar up, most of the times makes the Video start to stutter and the above described things start to happen.. (in my last post).
Bringing up the seekbar makes madVR enter low-latency mode. It's not nice but possible that it might stutter there, but when the seekbar goes away, it should also at least then get back to smooth. Not sure why that doesn't seem to work for you. How are the queues looking in the OSD (Ctrl+J) after the seekbar is hidden again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kalston View Post
I like the sharpness of the UHD pic but the red tint not so much. Guess the HDR to SDR conversion isn't perfect. Or maybe it's supposed to look like that
Mars is the red planet, after all. But seriously, it's hard to say how it's supposed to look like exactly.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 15:45   #45583  |  Link
enctac
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
Maybe problem with madVR 0.92.2. (Intel GPU only?)
"D3D11 fullscreen windowed" doesn't switch to 10bit.

Spec: i7-4702MQ(HD4600), Win10 Anniversary(not CU) https://pastebin.com/c2gKPbuA
(I know my display is 6bit+FRC.)
MPC-BE x86/x64 1.5.1 (build 2755) beta
LAV Filters 0.72.2.66-git (HW decode : none)

1. restore default settings.bat
2. "devices->properties->the native display bitdepth is:" : [10bit (or higher)]
3. "rendering->general settings->enable automatic fullscreen exclusive mode" : [OFF]
4. "rendering->general settings->use Direct3D 11 for presentation(Windows 7 and newer)" : [ON]
5. play movie
6. switch to fullscreen
7. see OSD

Result:
madVR 0.92.1 -> D3D11 fullscreen windowed (10bit)
madVR 0.92.2 -> D3D11 fullscreen windowed (8bit) <- doesn't switch to 10bit

(But in this post, madVR0.92.2/Win10CU/GTX1080 works fine.)
enctac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 16:20   #45584  |  Link
mrmarioman
Registered User
 
mrmarioman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Hard to say what it is. Do you have your GPU set to Adaptive Power? If not, try that. Also try disabling any 3rd party applications that might affect the GPU like GPU-Z or f.lux.


Not really.


Not sure how/why MPC-BE should make trouble here when PotPlayer doesn't. Usually with problems like this the media player isn't at fault. But I suppose there's always an exception to every rule.


What exactly does "lock up" mean in detail?


Known problem, to be fixed in 0.92.3.


Are you using the new native D3D11 decoding option in LAV?


There are many possible reasons why this could happen. Here are a couple of questions and comments:

1) When you say "blu-ray player" do you mean a 1080p Blu-Ray player and a 1080p Blu-Ray, or are we talking about UHD Blu-Ray? This is a really important difference, and missing in your post.

2) In your blu-ray player, can you choose different output settings, like RGB vs 4:2:0 vs 4:2:2 vs 4:4:4 etc? Can you try to see if any of them looks different, maybe nearer to what the PC outputs? If so, that might indicate that your TV might not handle one specific type of input as well as another. Otherwise, if all looks the same, we can probably rule out the TV as the guilty party here.

3) For a fair test, use the same HDMI port with the identical TV settings for both the blu-ray player and the PC.

4) In your PC, I (always) strongly recommend to use RGB output with 0-255 (Full) range. Try the madVR "use D3D11 for presentation" option and in the display properties tell madVR that your display supports 10bit. Finally, make sure that in your GPU control panel there are no funny color modifications, skin tone optimizations or other crap enabled.

5) Have you tried resetting madVR to default settings, just to be safe?

6) Do you have the OS setting "HDR and Advanced Color" turned on or off? Please make sure it's turned OFF, because it's a really bad option.

7) If all else fails, you could also try to let madVR convert the HDR content to SDR for you (using pixel shader math). It could look better or worse than what the Samsung does internally, when receiving HDR content. You can also try different "display peak nits" values.
I think I've tried most of that. I haven't set madvr to default values yet. I'll give it try.


Quote:
Originally Posted by imhh11 View Post
More or less. I've tried to capture it. But it doesn't show how it really looks.

Screenshot on PC, and my phone for the blu ray shot.


madVR (it looks much better than this, this looks washed out).

https://abload.de/img/mediaplayerclassicscrzlsx6.png

And this is blu ray.

https://imgur.com/flswrGb
mrmarioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 17:06   #45585  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,079
Looks to me like you're playing a HDR movie without it actually being handled like HDR.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 19:28   #45586  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmarioman View Post
I think I've tried most of that. I haven't set madvr to default values yet. I'll give it try.




More or less. I've tried to capture it. But it doesn't show how it really looks.

Screenshot on PC, and my phone for the blu ray shot.


madVR (it looks much better than this, this looks washed out).

https://abload.de/img/mediaplayerclassicscrzlsx6.png

And this is blu ray.

https://imgur.com/flswrGb
It's not possible to take HDR screen captures of movies/tv at the moment.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 20:12   #45587  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 207
Sorry for the slight off-topic, but has anyone ever had any issues with RGB Full over HDMI with NVIDIA and Creators Update?
I just updated to Windows 1703 and everything was fine until my display first changed from 59 to 50 Hz to watch some PAL TV. From that moment on, I couldn't get RGB Full to display correctly again no matter what: blacks are washed out and whites are clipped at the same time, and this happens everywhere in every app and content. It makes no sense, it looks like the GPU is applying some kind of positive offset to the values, how can blacks we washed out but whites clipped?
When I set the display to YCC or RGB Limited everything is fine again so this is really coming from the GPU display output stage.

I've searched all over the Web but I can't find descriptions of problems that match this specific behaviour.
I've deleted every trace of any NVIDIA driver and registry key using DDU, rebooted, and installed latest driver 385.41 (was using 384.94 before), but it's still exhibiting the same behaviour.
I haven't touched my TV or AVR settings, the only thing that has changed is Creators Update, and it's really weird that this only started the first time I changed refresh rate, up until that moment everything was displayed properly.
I'm using HDMI out, 8-bit, to an SDR TV via an HDMI 1.4 AVR setup as passthrough (no video processing).

If anyone has encountered this, it would be really nice to know what you did to fix it. I'm running with RGB Limited in the meantime but this is giving me a headache...
__________________
HTPC: E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti, DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60 | Desktop: 4690K, Radeon 7870, Dell U2713HM | Windows 1703, MediaPortal/MPC-HC, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR | Laptop: i5-2520m, Windows Insider
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 20:20   #45588  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,864
I am running the Creators Update with Nvidia and use HDMI out to my TV. RGB Full works well for me.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 23:01   #45589  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
Sorry for the slight off-topic, but has anyone ever had any issues with RGB Full over HDMI with NVIDIA and Creators Update?
I just updated to Windows 1703 and everything was fine until my display first changed from 59 to 50 Hz to watch some PAL TV. From that moment on, I couldn't get RGB Full to display correctly again no matter what: blacks are washed out and whites are clipped at the same time, and this happens everywhere in every app and content. It makes no sense, it looks like the GPU is applying some kind of positive offset to the values, how can blacks we washed out but whites clipped?
When I set the display to YCC or RGB Limited everything is fine again so this is really coming from the GPU display output stage.

I've searched all over the Web but I can't find descriptions of problems that match this specific behaviour.
I've deleted every trace of any NVIDIA driver and registry key using DDU, rebooted, and installed latest driver 385.41 (was using 384.94 before), but it's still exhibiting the same behaviour.
I haven't touched my TV or AVR settings, the only thing that has changed is Creators Update, and it's really weird that this only started the first time I changed refresh rate, up until that moment everything was displayed properly.
I'm using HDMI out, 8-bit, to an SDR TV via an HDMI 1.4 AVR setup as passthrough (no video processing).

If anyone has encountered this, it would be really nice to know what you did to fix it. I'm running with RGB Limited in the meantime but this is giving me a headache...
There are some issues with 385.41 (no 12bits in custom modes), so I reverted to 385.28. I suggest you try that version and see if it helps.

Even if you use DDU, select custom install during installation of 385.28 and check the option to clean install.
__________________
Win 10 Pro x64 V1709 MCE add-on
i7 3770K@4.2Ghz 16Gb@2.1Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 390.77 RGB Full 4:4:4 12bits
MPC-BE / LAV / MadVR / MyMovies V5.24
Denon X7200WA to JVC RS500/X7000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2017, 23:18   #45590  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 207
I did that.
When I updated from Windows 1607 I was running 384.94, which I never had any problem with, and the issue started with that same driver. Afterwards I tried updating to 385.41 which didn't fix it, then I cleaned everything with DDU and then reinstalled 385.41 using "Perform clean install".
As the problem first happened with 384.94, I don't think 385.41 is the cause.

Will try 385.28 anyway tomorrow when I have time.

Edit: also, the "Microsoft Basic Display Adapter" doesn't show the issue, which means the card is correctly outputting in RGB Full when Windows is using its basic "software" video driver.
__________________
HTPC: E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti, DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60 | Desktop: 4690K, Radeon 7870, Dell U2713HM | Windows 1703, MediaPortal/MPC-HC, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR | Laptop: i5-2520m, Windows Insider

Last edited by el Filou; 13th September 2017 at 23:23.
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 00:30   #45591  |  Link
Telion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by BetA13 View Post
i only habe one wierd problem. when i seek in fullscreen (FSE) the movie beginns to stutter, the buffers dont fill up and the gpu usage plus render times go way high...
After restarting the player everything is fine again..
madshi, I also started to encounter a very similar behaviour, but in XP (i.e. nothing fancy - FS windowed old path, sw decoding). The CPU buffers are OK, but the GPU ones stop to fill up to their max values with subsequent massive frame dropping. Although rendering/present times aren't constantly high, they begin to have random huge spikes, which are absent in the same place of a video in normal conditions. The queues continue to remain at the same low values (around 1) regardless of these spikes. I still use an old GPU, so nothing power related here. I can't reproduce this reliably or figure out the exact conditions, but it indeed seems to be somehow related to seeking. Maybe not just seeking, but seeking + pausing in some unclear combinations (something related to this?). Reloading a video fixes this (once it happened when I had debanding on and was fixed by turning it off, but since then I also couldn't reproduce this). There were no such problems in v0.91.11.

Also, I noticed that when a video is paused, the first number of the rendering queue is zeroed and then filled up again from scratch, but after unpausing it just continues. What does this mean? In a queue format "X-Y / Z", what's the difference between X and Y?
Telion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 01:57   #45592  |  Link
Magik Mark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset1982 View Post
madshi, playback of my video files sometimes start paused and i have to resume it by hitting "space". It only happens sometimes... Any idea what error this could be?
This is also happening to me.

Are you using "Xysubfilter"? Try "Asssubfilter". It has minimize this issue for me
__________________
Asus X99 Sabertooth - Xeon E5 2695 - Asus Strix GTX 960 4G - DDR4 16GB Predator - Pioneer KRP 600M (isf calibrated) - Yamaha A3030 - Windows 10 x64 - Kodi with DSplayer - Lav - MadVR - XYsubtitle
Magik Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 02:00   #45593  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 249
I play everything upscaled @4K, DVDs 480/576, BDs that are 32.98 and also some at 50.
Under Display Modes have I got all listed I need?
Since 480 DVD NTSC is interlaced do I have to also place a 2160i60, in the list?
I also have a couple of BDs that are 30 interlaced...

As I have it:
2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p25, 2160p29

My proj is a JVC X9500

Last edited by 70MM; 14th September 2017 at 02:20.
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 05:13   #45594  |  Link
khanmein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 83
@madshi When I'm playing any videos with windowed mode + enabled OSD (Ctrl + J) & paused, the OSD is flickering. If full-screen, no issue.

This scenario is normal or a bug? Thanks.
khanmein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 06:34   #45595  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,412
@70mm

try 2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p50, 2160p59, 2160p60

never output interlanced because there are major issues with RGB conversation and stuff like this and you can't upscale an interlanced image without deinterlancing it first.(there are exceptions but it is better to ignore them)

for interlancing there is only 25 frames 50 fields either written as 25i or 50i and 30 frames 60 fields written as 30i or 60i.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 07:49   #45596  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 249
Thanks for that huhn, I have changed my display modes as your instructions and will test.
Is it still best to have "auto activate deinterlacing when needed" ticked - with if in doubt activate deinterlacing?
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 07:57   #45597  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,412
i recommend you to use the default deinterlancing settings.

video mode will work with every source but it is not the best choice for every source.
so you have to change video and film mode by yourself or live with video deinterlancing.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 08:19   #45598  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 249
Can you tell me what is the default settings for the deinterlacing page please?
Ive changed it so many times to get mixed media to play nicely I have forgotten the default settings..
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 08:26   #45599  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,412
https://abload.de/img/deinterlancing3hums.png
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2017, 08:50   #45600  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 249
Im really having problems locking onto different media since I removed my Lumagen Pro from my madvr setup.
The JVC X9500 is not locking on when the media changes, it always used to... Now the screen goes black and never recovers...
I setup the display modes per huhns instructions 2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p50, 2160p59, 2160p60, is there something from this list I have missed????
I play everything upscaled to 4K DVDs 480/576 and Blurays 23 and a couple which are 25.

I want to play all 25 media as 24 as my JVC is so slow to sync between different media.
I always in the past had the box ticked for treat 25p movies as 24p, but things are just not working correctly with mixed media...

I keep loosing the sync on the JVC and have to restart the proj, then I loose it again when the media changes from say 23.98 material to 25, its so frustrating...

I have a better image without the Lumagen in the chain but I cant get the proj to syc with the different media, it always did when i had the Lumagen...
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.