Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th September 2017, 21:28   #22221  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonQ View Post
Mixed 1080p/25 and 1080i/25 is valid for a UK HDTV broadcast over DVB-T2.
If it's encoded properly then that's not a problem. The progressive parts will be detected as progressive, and interlaced as interlaced. It's only a problem if it's not done properly.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 17:00   #22222  |  Link
P.J
🎸
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonQ View Post
Mixed 1080p/25 and 1080i/25 is valid for a UK HDTV broadcast over DVB-T2.
But it's not mixed.
P.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2017, 22:34   #22223  |  Link
jaytrinitron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 4
LAV Mixing Questions

Hi, so I am trying to use the LAV Audio mixer to mix down 6.1/7.1 audio to 5.1, preferably without losing audio information and just dropping channels. What do I need to set the center mix, surround mix, and LFE mix levels sliders to, and what exactly do these settings do? Can I ensure that all of the information in the 6.1/7.1 is folded down into the 5.1?
Also this may be a long shot here but for the ffdshow audio mixer, if I take 5.1 audio and mix down to 2.0, are all the channels in the 5.1 mix carried over to the 2.0 mix, including the LFE channel?
jaytrinitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2017, 23:52   #22224  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 143
The purpose of mixing is to "fold" all the audio channels into the ones to be output, so they won't be lost.

The channel levels settings do what is explained in the LAV GUI: they control the level of individual channels when downmixing. For example if you downmix to stereo and set one of the settings to 0, you won't hear that/those channel(s).

I suggest to test with this file: https://www.sendspace.com/file/ftt56e
__________________
HTPC: E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti, DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60 | Desktop: 4690K, Radeon 7870, Dell U2713HM | Windows 1703, MediaPortal/MPC-HC, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR | Laptop: i5-2520m, Windows Insider
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2017, 17:57   #22225  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaytrinitron View Post
Hi, so I am trying to use the LAV Audio mixer to mix down 6.1/7.1 audio to 5.1, preferably without losing audio information and just dropping channels. What do I need to set the center mix, surround mix, and LFE mix levels sliders to, and what exactly do these settings do? Can I ensure that all of the information in the 6.1/7.1 is folded down into the 5.1?
Also this may be a long shot here but for the ffdshow audio mixer, if I take 5.1 audio and mix down to 2.0, are all the channels in the 5.1 mix carried over to the 2.0 mix, including the LFE channel?
0.71 for all channels and LFE should be correct if doing 5.1. It's only Stereo where you (probably) don't want LFE.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2017, 18:07   #22226  |  Link
DragonQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 917
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelGraves13 View Post
0.71 for all channels and LFE should be correct if doing 5.1. It's only Stereo where you (probably) don't want LFE.
Yep, although I normally use 1.0 for centre just because so many films seem to be mixed with low and/or muffled voice tracks these days.
__________________
HTPC Hardware: Intel Celeron G530; nVidia GT 430; OCZ Vertex 2 (120 GB)
HTPC Software: Windows 7; MediaPortal 1.16.0; Kodi 17.3; LAV Filters (CUVID); MadVR
DragonQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2017, 16:21   #22227  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 38
I have a 2.1 analog system, 2 satellites plugged into and receiving their feed from the subwoofer.

Because of this, I left center and surround at the default of 0.71 but changed LFE to 1.58.
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2017, 16:29   #22228  |  Link
strumf666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 70
Input for a 2.1 system is usually stereo output, which would make changes to LFE level useless; unless I am missing something.
strumf666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2017, 16:36   #22229  |  Link
e-t172
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 516
strumf666: I believe you are confused. Sunspark is discussing downmix coefficients for a stereo output.

Sunspark: yes, this is correct. 1.58 is +4 dB, which is mixed into both channels, thus becoming +10 dB total after the sub downmixes it down to mono, pursuant to ITU-R BS.775. It checks out. (If you are using a cheap "PC" 2.1 system you might want to lower it though, as such levels are likely to overload your subwoofer. You need a system with high SPL output to be able to take full advantage of LFE.)
e-t172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2017, 05:12   #22230  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by e-t172 View Post
strumf666: I believe you are confused. Sunspark is discussing downmix coefficients for a stereo output.

Sunspark: yes, this is correct. 1.58 is +4 dB, which is mixed into both channels, thus becoming +10 dB total after the sub downmixes it down to mono, pursuant to ITU-R BS.775. It checks out. (If you are using a cheap "PC" 2.1 system you might want to lower it though, as such levels are likely to overload your subwoofer. You need a system with high SPL output to be able to take full advantage of LFE.)
This is the only PC speaker system I have ever bought, ACS-48.. 80 watts total.. they're old now but I think they still have lots of life left. https://www.cnet.com/products/altec-...-series/specs/

I set Windows volume to 65% and use the volume control on the speakers the rest of the way. Bass dial on the back is set to about 1/3 of turnable range I think.

You make a good point about other systems maybe having trouble.

Last edited by Sunspark; 24th September 2017 at 05:28.
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2017, 19:17   #22231  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 143
An alternative if you know the real specifications of your speakers is to use Windows' native Bass management (in "enhancements" tab in Sound control panel) to filter the low frequencies your subwoofer or full range speakers can't manage, that way you can include the LFE channel without worrying about it causing problems.
__________________
HTPC: E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti, DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60 | Desktop: 4690K, Radeon 7870, Dell U2713HM | Windows 1703, MediaPortal/MPC-HC, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR | Laptop: i5-2520m, Windows Insider
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2017, 01:47   #22232  |  Link
jmone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 572
FYI - Latest Nightly includes a later version of libbluray which now supports (decrypted) UHD BD structures.
jmone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2017, 22:47   #22233  |  Link
De-M-oN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 147
Can it be used together with ffdshow? Or does it collide with it? Because I still have ffdshow installed since the past.

Can it be used as DirectShowSource for mkv files in avisynth?

While TMPGEnc 6 reads the mkv with frameaccurate audiosync, the reader of avisynth (ffms2, l-smash) all have 5 to 13 frames here and there difference in audiosync. I could reduce it to 5 frames by adding the fps of the video to the reader. But still: TMPGEnc reads them frameaccurate.
I think TMPGEnc's Intel Media SDK Decoder reads the timecodes of the MKV, while avisynth indexes the file which gives slightly wrong results?

Can I circumvate this with these filters maybe?
De-M-oN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2017, 00:30   #22234  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,204
directshowsource is not know no be frame accurate but you could use this filter for it and you can use lavfilter to decode and ffdshow for processing this may not work under every situation.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2017, 02:41   #22235  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,204
i have a file that doesn't play correctly with avcodec using lavfilter but it is fine when i use "use microsoft WMV9..." or DXVA2 so should i bring it directly to ffmpeg or is this here the right place for a wrongly decoded file?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2017, 04:01   #22236  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,507
I'd post it here as many have done beforehand, sometimes Nev pulls some code from FFmpeg or submits his own patches, so here is a good place.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2017, 07:18   #22237  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 8,954
The FFmpeg software VC-1/WMV3 decoder not being perfect is known. Why would you want to use it anyway? Thats what the Microsoft MFT is for.
As long as it works fine using DXVA2 (which uses parts of the FFmpeg decoder), its not something I'm really interested in.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 30th September 2017 at 07:23.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2017, 11:38   #22238  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,204
well not every windows 10 version has a decoder and it is not a strange encode or something it is directly remuxed from a BD.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2017, 14:03   #22239  |  Link
P.J
🎸
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by P.J View Post
I reported this issue to MPC-BE decoder and they fixed it.
Hope Lav fixes it too =/
Still waiting for a fix
P.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2017, 17:07   #22240  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,635
I notice some weird behavior with D3D11VA copyback: It roughly has twice as high CPU usage as DXVA2 copyback.
With EVR in MPC HC, this is just ~2% vs. ~4% CPU usage, but with madVR, it's ~6% vs ~12% (4k 50fps HEVC 10 bit video).
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.