Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 31st May 2019, 08:29   #56401  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 732
Quote:
Originally Posted by grendelrt View Post
I have a weird issue. I used the report 2020 to display option to do some testing, and now even when I am on the desktop and in SDR on 709 material, my display is still getting reported BT2020. If I switch sources to my Oppo player it clears, but no matter what I do now on my computer it is stuck sending the BT2020 flag. Is there any way to clear this?

Edit: A full DDU uninstall of the drivers seemed to have fixed it. Isnt that option supposed to work as a toggle though? If I uncheck it, shouldnt it turn that flag off that nvidia is sending?
I have noticed the same issue recently. Yes it should work as a toggle. I haven't had a chance to debug it, but it definitely doesn't work as it should. It could be a change in madVR, as I haven't changed the OS or GPU driver (I'm testing 430.86 at the moment but I get this issue with 385.28 to).

Please could you report:

GPU & driver version
OS version and build
madVR version

Anyone else noticed this?
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000

Last edited by Manni; 31st May 2019 at 08:32.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 09:09   #56402  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Asmodian, how does HD upscaled to 1440P @ 120hz Smooth Motion look? Also is 4K worth downscaling with SSIM 2D to that res for 120hz SM? Just curious..
Smooth motion at 120Hz looks like the native refresh rate to me, the resolution and smooth motion don't really interact in my experiance. 2160p is noticeably better than 1440p for both 1080p upscaled and 4K (obviously) but 1440p still looks very good with good scaling. Smooth motion does not make SSIM 2D any less helpful either, in my experiance the extra details from SSIM are mostly only visible when not in motion and for 24p at 120Hz smooth motion does not noticeably soften the image anyway.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 09:50   #56403  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Smooth motion at 120Hz looks like the native refresh rate to me
Well that's a good thing, but I'm kinda disappointed.

Am splashing out on a Pana FZ950 OLED, no more downscaling for me, gonna miss the plasma refresh resolution but there's a lot to gain with an upgrade now.
Even Sony's BFI isn't good enough that I would want to use it as the flicker bothers me.

A pity every display technology we've had replacing the previous one has gone backwards in terms of motion resolution.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 10:53   #56404  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Am splashing out on a Pana FZ950 OLED
That's good, so finally someone can test chroma 4:4:4 and judder free playback with PC mode @ custom 23Hz on Panasonic
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
A pity every display technology we've had replacing the previous one has gone backwards in terms of motion resolution.
And banding, tinting, DSE, etc
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)

Last edited by chros; 31st May 2019 at 11:33.
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 12:01   #56405  |  Link
miroslav22
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Hi,

I'm looking to buy a new Nvidia GPU for madvr processing but I want the best processing power for a reasonable budget.

A 1080 is only roughly 35-40% faster than a 1060 in standard 3dmark benchmarks.

However am I correct in thinking that the processing capability of madvr would be more linearly proportional to the number of unified shader cores in an Nvidia GPU? Or is it more complex than that? ie would a 1080 with 2560 cores have half the rendering time of a 1060 with 1280 cores (assuming identical source and settings)?

Thanks for any advice
miroslav22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 12:21   #56406  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,487
That's how it works, yes. I have a used 1060 6GB and it's enough for me (using HDR passthrough) with a 4k screen. But if you can get similarly priced better card then go for it.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)

Last edited by chros; 31st May 2019 at 12:23.
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 14:32   #56407  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Well that's a good thing, but I'm kinda disappointed.

Am splashing out on a Pana FZ950 OLED, no more downscaling for me, gonna miss the plasma refresh resolution but there's a lot to gain with an upgrade now.
Even Sony's BFI isn't good enough that I would want to use it as the flicker bothers me.

A pity every display technology we've had replacing the previous one has gone backwards in terms of motion resolution.
It is supposed to be as good as gets for current displays, particularly the color accuracy of its internal HDR 3D LUTs. Probably won't be disappointed with it. You will want a 65" screen if possible if you are moving to a 4K display and care about visible improvements from upscaling, which I would assume you would.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 15:30   #56408  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Well that's a good thing, but I'm kinda disappointed.

Am splashing out on a Pana FZ950 OLED, no more downscaling for me, gonna miss the plasma refresh resolution but there's a lot to gain with an upgrade now.
Even Sony's BFI isn't good enough that I would want to use it as the flicker bothers me.

A pity every display technology we've had replacing the previous one has gone backwards in terms of motion resolution.
welcome to the OLED club, guarantee you wont be disappointed but watch out for 5% black vertical banding, its much better than my first gen 4k OLED but it can still be a panel lottery for OLEDS.
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 19.9.2
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.74.1 - 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 15:34   #56409  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 406
Quantum Oled is suppose to fix all that, and reduce visible burnin as well.

ALTHOUGh.... it's still oled, motion clarity will be meh...
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 15:36   #56410  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
That's how it works, yes. I have a used 1060 6GB and it's enough for me (using HDR passthrough) with a 4k screen. But if you can get similarly priced better card then go for it.
Asked this question a while ago, no one knew, How is the 980 Ti for NGU performance. It's got lots'o Cuda cores, and it's cheaper (used)

I think most people with overclocked 2-series and above i7 can push 4K on CPU if they know what they're doing, leaving GPU just for scaling..
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 15:56   #56411  |  Link
distobj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
HDR only working in windowed mode

Hi. After just upgrading to the latest Nvidia drivers (after being stuck at 385.28 forever), I've been unable to get HDR working satisfactorily in fullscreen mode in either Potplayer or MPC-HC, despite working perfectly in (non-fullscreen) windowed mode in both players.

MPC-HC exhibits the most curious behaviour, as HDR will enable if I move the mouse on to the screen, or let the control panel appear at the bottom; once I hide the panel/mouse, HDR disables again.

Potplayer gets stuck in a perpetual loop once entering fullscreen mode, making viewing the content unwatchable.

I've tried with and without the "enable automatic fullscreen exclusive mode" options (the above is the behaviour without it set). The behaviour differs slightly when enabled, with MPC-HC behaving as Potplayer does as described above.

I'm using the latest MadVR with Nvidia 430.86 drivers for my 1060 6GB card, and an LG B7 TV.

Thoughts? TIA.
distobj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 17:52   #56412  |  Link
chrisssj2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
430.86 has been working very well for me. 430.53 fixed that bug.

I am still experiencing mini stutters with my RTX 2080 after going to 430.86 and using the nvidia profile.
Can any RTX user confirm they have solved it?
chrisssj2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 18:05   #56413  |  Link
Charky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by distobj View Post
Hi. After just upgrading to the latest Nvidia drivers (after being stuck at 385.28 forever), I've been unable to get HDR working satisfactorily in fullscreen mode in either Potplayer or MPC-HC, despite working perfectly in (non-fullscreen) windowed mode in both players.

MPC-HC exhibits the most curious behaviour, as HDR will enable if I move the mouse on to the screen, or let the control panel appear at the bottom; once I hide the panel/mouse, HDR disables again.

Potplayer gets stuck in a perpetual loop once entering fullscreen mode, making viewing the content unwatchable.

I've tried with and without the "enable automatic fullscreen exclusive mode" options (the above is the behaviour without it set). The behaviour differs slightly when enabled, with MPC-HC behaving as Potplayer does as described above.

I'm using the latest MadVR with Nvidia 430.86 drivers for my 1060 6GB card, and an LG B7 TV.

Thoughts? TIA.
If it works with 385.28, why don't you stick to it ?
__________________
Charky

"Rule #1 : If it works, don't change anything."
Charky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 19:15   #56414  |  Link
distobj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charky View Post
If it works with 385.28, why don't you stick to it ?
Games. World War Z crashes on it, and Nvidia Experience stopped working several weeks ago.
distobj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 19:20   #56415  |  Link
garson
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
is this screen pause? the OSD show very odd numbers.
Yes, it is paused.
I will take another screenshot with movie playing.
garson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 20:32   #56416  |  Link
Charky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by distobj View Post
Games. World War Z crashes on it, and Nvidia Experience stopped working several weeks ago.
Oh, I understand

Just in case you can't figure out how to make everything work with the same drivers (and we all agree that would be the ideal scenario), dual boot might be an option. Sometimes it's easier to keep two completely separated Windows setups for different uses. I tried for hours to make a single setup work with both my LG C8 TV and Sony projector. With a dual boot and two separate Windows installs, it took me under an hour to achieve that...

Just my two cents
__________________
Charky

"Rule #1 : If it works, don't change anything."

Last edited by Charky; 31st May 2019 at 20:34.
Charky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 21:43   #56417  |  Link
nussman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
I think most people with overclocked 2-series and above i7 can push 4K on CPU if they know what they're doing, leaving GPU just for scaling..
No need to push "4k on CPU", because decoding is not done by gpu shader ...
nussman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 23:01   #56418  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 44
Is there any way with madVR to crop the edges off a video without causing madVR to zoom the resulting crop to the screen edge? Does that make sense?

I am using a projector with an anamorpic lens and the image spills off the screen, I just want to crop off some of the video with black and the projector being used doesn't have this option, so I was hoping madVR could do it.
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 23:02   #56419  |  Link
hotripper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisssj2 View Post
I am still experiencing mini stutters with my RTX 2080 after going to 430.86 and using the nvidia profile.
Can any RTX user confirm they have solved it?
Im on previous driver. Still stutters. Will try latest now. Im certain there will not be any difference. Eventually stutters always return after a fresh install. Wonder what the major issue is, I dont think it is just madvr as I get stutters with EVR as well
__________________
4790K - RTX2070 - 970EVO - EVGA Supernova 750W Gold - Sony KD55X720E
hotripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 23:15   #56420  |  Link
garson
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
is this screen pause? the OSD show very odd numbers.
Here's new screenshot, while movie is playing.



garson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.