Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th May 2016, 03:04   #37981  |  Link
bcec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 81
Just when I thought madVR can't get any better, and that it is already amazing as it is... this deringing thing is frigging fantastic! Ringing in the original bluray source is my number 1 annoyance. I am even annoyed by ones caused by very mild DNR+EE that is present in newer titles like Force Awakens. This thing is doing wonders! A big THANK YOU!

Last edited by bcec; 16th May 2016 at 03:12.
bcec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 03:08   #37982  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 280
If using Exclusive Mode, do you also have Full screen Window mode turned on?
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 04:09   #37983  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
If using Exclusive Mode, do you also have Full screen Window mode turned on?
Exclusive and Windowed modes are mutually exclusive. That is what "windowed" means in this context, i.e. "not exclusive".

Or do you meant something else?
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 04:46   #37984  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Exclusive and Windowed modes are mutually exclusive. That is what "windowed" means in this context, i.e. "not exclusive".

Or do you meant something else?
So you never have both turned on at the same time, correct?
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 04:47   #37985  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 280
Is there anyway to stop the small couple of jumps I get at the start of each movie?
There are no frame drops after a few secs..
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 04:50   #37986  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I think so, but I'm not sure right now.
Thanks, This might actually be the preferred behavior too.

Now that madVR handles HDR files, and there is even some wide gamut content, users might be very confused if an "HDR" BT.2020 or DCI P3 gamut file looked really washed out by default. You sort of need a default target gamut.

Having "unset" actually default to "Normal PC mode" makes sense to me but I suppose you could also remove that option and simply default a new display to "this display is already calibrated" set to BT.709 with pure power 2.20. Something to worry about for v1.0.

I haven't mentioned it yet but "reduce ringing artifacts" is great.. like all these new options it is hard for me to offer useful feedback for but it is a Good Thing. The updated version is better still.
Thanks a lot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
So you never have both turned on at the same time, correct?
Correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
Is there anyway to stop the small couple of jumps I get at the start of each movie?
There are no frame drops after a few secs..
The option "delay playback start until render queue is full" is your best bet. Try increasing queue sizes if needed.
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 16th May 2016 at 04:54.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 05:15   #37987  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post

Correct.


The option "delay playback start until render queue is full" is your best bet. Try increasing queue sizes if needed.
When I try to use Exclusive mode by itself the image starts to break up and stutter.

When I playback in just Window Mode its stable, why is this?

Last edited by 70MM; 16th May 2016 at 05:37.
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 05:36   #37988  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
The option "delay playback start until render queue is full" is your best bet. Try increasing queue sizes if needed.
I have "delay playback start until render queue is full" turned on yet I still get the few dropped frames at the start of everything for a couple of secs.

When increasing queue size, which cue do I increase, the render one?
What numbers might some people here increase this to?
I have all mine set at 8...
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 07:08   #37989  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
I have "delay playback start until render queue is full" turned on yet I still get the few dropped frames at the start of everything for a couple of secs.

When increasing queue size, which cue do I increase, the render one?
What numbers might some people here increase this to?
I have all mine set at 8...
There are so many things it might be it is hard to offer specific suggestions. Try increasing and decreasing all the queues within their full range (well, over 24 GPU queue is getting crazy). You can use GPU-Z or similar to watch your video memory to make sure you aren't running out with very large queue sizes.

Try lower queues too, all the way down to the minimums. Try changing the "how many video frames shall be presented in advance" numbers too. Usually the CPU queue size is less important, as long as it is big enough and usually stays full.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 11:11   #37990  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 280
Is there a way for a 3rd party control system to control any of the MADVR functions via IP? I have currently been using Eventghost but I would like to eliminate the middleman and control it directly if possible.
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 11:53   #37991  |  Link
mzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 841
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
madVR v0.90.19 released

* deringing now adds some grain to deringed image areas[/code]
??? What's the point of this? Adding grain is just more noise isn't it?
mzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 13:44   #37992  |  Link
Patrik G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 58
problem with the Sony HDR camp Demo

well i had this problem before also with the picture turned all white but it would go away if i flipped between fullscreen and window mode
but now the blown out details are there all the time

any setting you can get it to work properly or is the problem with the Nvidia Graphics cards ?
latest madvr and latest lav build

Last edited by Patrik G; 16th May 2016 at 13:47.
Patrik G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 13:52   #37993  |  Link
burfadel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by mzso View Post
??? What's the point of this? Adding grain is just more noise isn't it?
Grain is noise, but applying the right type of this type of noise can subjectively improve the picture. The key thing is to use a grain fine enough, grain that changes with each frame, and of the right strength. You only want a very slight amount!

I actually use Janwillem's Semi-randow greyscale noise shader with my own noise amount (it's configurable in the shader text file). I think it's great! You don't want colour noise, only luma. One of the things that is obvious with a very light amount of added noise is that the picture seems to be sharper without aliasing or other sharpen artifacts, and also the picture is less flat.
burfadel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 14:04   #37994  |  Link
Werewolfy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
It's not that easy. Edges are either detected as being ringing or not. If they are detected as being ringing then I try to remove them. Different "strengths" don't really make too much sense here. Well, ok, there are some thresholds I'm using. But if I allow you to lower those, you'll get less ringing removed and maybe fewer artifacts in some places, but then you'll get more ringing left in the image, and some other artifacts instead. I don't think it would really improve the situation much.
I understand your point but maybe it would makes sense to do a test build with different tresholds to play with? Maybe we will find a better compromise, maybe we won't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
But please try the next build, it has some (smallish) improvements. Maybe it works better for you? It's not perfect, though. And it probably never will.
I just tried it and I found more artefacts. Look at the teeth of the characters. It's maybe the only thing that keeps me to use it all the time with compressed videos.

Deringing 90.18 vs 90.19
Deringing off vs on

Here's the original picture but I don't know if it will help because on my side, deringing doesn't seem to work on juste one picture.

http://postimg.org/image/5t877ur9t/
__________________
Windows 8.1 x64 - Intel Core i5-4670K (4.2 GHz) - 8 GB DDR3 - MSI Geforce GTX 1080 8 GB - Sony KD-55A1

Last edited by Werewolfy; 16th May 2016 at 14:07.
Werewolfy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 14:12   #37995  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrik G View Post
problem with the Sony HDR camp Demo
That file is broken.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 14:56   #37996  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Glad you like it!
Very much so! Watched some content this weekend with it. It's quite impressive indeed!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
JRiver MC uses the madVR version in the user folder. Ideally you should upgrade both versions. In theory you don't need 2 installations. You could remove the one from the Program Files folder. madVR would only work with JRiver MC then, though, and not in any other media player.
The way I do it is to run the install bat from the jRiver MC folder and then it's exposed to other players from that location, as well. It's been working for me.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 15:35   #37997  |  Link
Patrik G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
That file is broken.
nope
next suggestion
am i the only one with this issue ? lol

everyone with a nvidia graphics card and Win10 should have this issue.
Patrik G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 15:40   #37998  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,895
and everyone has the same problem because this file is broken.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 15:46   #37999  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
As expected, unfortunately deringing in .19 looks quite dirty with cartoons.

.18:



.19:
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2016, 15:48   #38000  |  Link
Patrik G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
and everyone has the same problem because this file is broken.
ok i get it
didnt know the file was broken for all
thought it was a bad download so i downloaded it again and its the same.

lets hope for a new demo then.

whats broken with the sony hdr demo btw?
Patrik G is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.