Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd January 2013, 14:35   #12001  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,642
@all
To report bugs please use the thread http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=166487

@get8p
please read http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1608655#post1608655
and http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=166487
Use -keepDialnorm.

@phate89
a mix DPL II can recover the surround (more or less) with the appropiated decoder in audio receivers.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2013, 15:20   #12002  |  Link
phate89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post

@phate89
a mix DPL II can recover the surround (more or less) with the appropiated decoder in audio receivers.
But if my goal is to convert the track to aac or mp3 through wav it's useless and i should use -downtostereo right?
phate89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2013, 15:59   #12003  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,642
No matter if is aac, mp3 or wav. Your receiver can restore the surround and center channels if have the DPL II decoder inside.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2013, 16:37   #12004  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,942
Dolby ProLogic is an analog technology. It analyzes phase directions and delays in signals as electrical voltage fluctuations, not as bits and bytes.

There is no technical relation between Dolby ProLogic (analog surround sound mixing) and Dolby Digital (digital audio compression), except for the same company which developed them.

A third different, unrelated technology developed by the Dolby Labs are noise reduction techniques for audio on magnetical tapes.

And a fourth, even more unrelated remark: Thomas Dolby made a song about Science! But his stage name was only inspired by the noise reduction techniques, he was not a member of Dolby Labs...
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid

Last edited by LigH; 3rd January 2013 at 16:50.
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2013, 17:18   #12005  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by get8p View Post
Proper ac3 decoding. Whilst a freeware prog like azid can properly decode ac3, it's a real shame such powerful instrument as eac3to uses nero/libav for that, because both decoders has defects.
Are those libav problems reported to the devs?
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2013, 17:22   #12006  |  Link
paradoxical
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The decoder author responded in the thread. The problem is that the results in that thread are based on the libav decoder as it was more than a year and a half ago. Which is why madshi asked if those results were even still relevant.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
The test you're linking to is 1.5 years old and the guy reponsible for the libav AC3 decoder has seen and commented on the test results those 1.5 years ago, too, so I would say a retest would be needed to make sure those results are still valid today. And if they are, a bug report should be created for libav/ffmpeg, so that the problem is fixed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2013, 18:57   #12007  |  Link
bilditup1
Registered User
 
bilditup1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
We can't support downloaded (and fake) files.
Right, didn't mean to offend anyone or feel entitled
bilditup1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2013, 19:05   #12008  |  Link
phate89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
No matter if is aac, mp3 or wav. Your receiver can restore the surround and center channels if have the DPL II decoder inside.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Dolby ProLogic is an analog technology. It analyzes phase directions and delays in signals as electrical voltage fluctuations, not as bits and bytes.

There is no technical relation between Dolby ProLogic (analog surround sound mixing) and Dolby Digital (digital audio compression), except for the same company which developed them.

A third different, unrelated technology developed by the Dolby Labs are noise reduction techniques for audio on magnetical tapes.

And a fourth, even more unrelated remark: Thomas Dolby made a song about Science! But his stage name was only inspired by the noise reduction techniques, he was not a member of Dolby Labs...
Ok i finally understood. Thanks for the help
phate89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2013, 23:02   #12009  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
thanks for the update!
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2013, 09:55   #12010  |  Link
Groucho2004
►◄
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villainy
Posts: 4,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
No matter if is aac, mp3 or wav. Your receiver can restore the surround and center channels if have the DPL II decoder inside.
Picking up on that once more - I don't have a surround setup (and probably never will), just a plain stereo system. In this case I should always use "-downStereo", right?
Also, if I downmix DTS tracks, should I use the "phaseshift" option or does the downmix algorithm take care of that? How can I even determine if the back channels have a phase shift?
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2013, 12:17   #12011  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
Picking up on that once more - I don't have a surround setup (and probably never will), just a plain stereo system. In this case I should always use "-downStereo", right?
Yes.
Quote:
Also, if I downmix DTS tracks, should I use the "phaseshift" option or does the downmix algorithm take care of that? How can I even determine if the back channels have a phase shift?
This is a old question.

A correct 5.1, no matter if is AC3 or DTS, must have surround channels already "phaseshifted" over same info in front channels, by soft or when are recorded with microphones at different places, if you do a new "phaseshift" you can finish with 180 than convert the mathematical "+", in mix functions, in a "-" and cancel many info.

Like you don't know how the 5.1 was generated my recommendation is don't use "phaseshift", most the times is the correct way. And only try "phaseshift" when the previous mix sounds strange.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2013, 12:24   #12012  |  Link
Groucho2004
►◄
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villainy
Posts: 4,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Yes.

This is a old question.

A correct 5.1, no matter if is AC3 or DTS, must have surround channels already "phaseshifted" over same info in front channels, by soft or when are recorded with microphones at different places, if you do a new "phaseshift" you can finish with 180 than convert the mathematical "+", in mix functions, in a "-" and cancel many info.

Like you don't know how the 5.1 was generated my recommendation is don't use "phaseshift", most the times is the correct way. And only try "phaseshift" when the previous mix sounds strange.
OK, thanks!
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2013, 13:32   #12013  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
... the azid.dll should still be available from many BeSweet related sources.
Yes, but there's no matching header anywhere to be found, and the dll exports a bunch of APIs without any names or descriptions. I don't feel like reverse engineering the dll.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowknight26 View Post
Is that still accurate or is libavcodec on par now?
Argh, I changed the first page of this thread, but didn't update the same description in the help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 88keyz View Post
Curious, why the change from Nero to libav as the preferred DD decoder?
Because there were some problems with the Nero decoder. Mostly, disabling DRC didn't work for all tracks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowknight26 View Post
Errors that libavcodec spits out break the progress bar
Doesn't happen for me!! Did you maybe replace the libav/ffmpeg dlls with a different version? Can anybody reproduce this problem?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bilditup1 View Post
This still doesn't appear to work with 5.0 DTS files.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
is't true eac3to 3.25 don't downmix 5.0 files (tested DTS, AC3 and WAV).
Yes, a stupid mistake. I added all the code to make the downmixing work for all possible channel configurations, but then forgot to remove some code which disables downmixing for less than 6 channels. I'll release a new build, but I'll wait a couple of days, in case some other bugs show up. So guys, do testing *now*, because the next eac3to build will probably have to do for a few months again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by get8p View Post
avi, mp4, mov, mpg, flv demuxing(maybe even muxing, that would be fantastic). Basically, avi/mp4 support is most important feature I think eac3to is lacking, along with
Yeah, that would be nice, but it would be a lot of work, so it won't come anytime soon.


Quote:
Originally Posted by get8p View Post
Proper ac3 decoding. Whilst a freeware prog like azid can properly decode ac3, it's a real shame such powerful instrument as eac3to uses nero/libav for that, because both decoders has defects.
There's no header available for the azid.dll. I think the best solution would be to first double check whether the libav decoder still suffers from the same problem today (that test you mention is 1.5 years old after all), and if it does, post a bug report to the libav devs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by get8p View Post
and also, downmix to mono and ac3/dts dialnorm applying - minor, but still useful features.
What would you need dialnorm for? I believe it's a fundamentally broken concept.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2013, 14:32   #12014  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Doesn't happen for me!! Did you maybe replace the libav/ffmpeg dlls with a different version? Can anybody reproduce this problem?
If I extracted the zip to the same folder as previous instances of eac3to, would the latest version of libavcodec be used (avcodec-54.dll) or would old ones be used if they were present (such as avcodec.dll)?

tebasuna51 had a similar result but he used -progressNumbers or whatever the command is. Strange how mine shows the same thing as ffmpeg "[truehd @ 00000000]" whereas his shows "[libav]".

I'll see what happens when I clear out the eac3to folder..

Last edited by Snowknight26; 4th January 2013 at 14:37.
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2013, 14:38   #12015  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowknight26 View Post
I used the ones included in the zip. tebasuna51 had a similar result but he used -progressNumbers or whatever the command is. Strange how mine shows the same thing as ffmpeg "[truehd @ 00000000]" whereas his shows "[libav]".
tebasuna51's results are fundamentally different. "[libav]" means eac3to got the log message from libav. "[truehd @ ...]" means ffmpeg/libav bypassed eac3to and wrote the log directly to the command line window. Which ffmpeg/libav should not do because eac3to told it to forward all log messages to eac3to instead of writing them to the command line window. So the logging system is broken for you, but not for tebasuna51, nor for me.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2013, 14:43   #12016  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,394
Well, I'm not sure what to say but having gone through the thread I see a few people have different results.

For example:
'[libav]': http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...ostcount=11866
'[truehd @ 00000000]': http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...ostcount=11883


Edit:
Just tried a corrupt file and eac3to only showed '[libav]' so I guess it was using older dlls that were present in the folder. Case closed.

Last edited by Snowknight26; 4th January 2013 at 14:49.
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2013, 16:14   #12017  |  Link
nickintheforest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Yes, but there's no matching header anywhere to be found, and the dll exports a bunch of APIs without any names or descriptions. I don't feel like reverse engineering the dll.
Ok, azid hasn't source code. But liba52 has. liba52 in group "A" too.
nickintheforest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2013, 16:19   #12018  |  Link
paradoxical
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickintheforest View Post
Ok, azid hasn't source code. But liba52 has.
The source code isn't needed or the issue. The issue is the required header to actually call into the DLL.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickintheforest View Post
liba52 in group "A" too.
Yes, based on a test that is 1.5 years out of date. You and get8p seem to gloss over the part where madshi has repeatedly stated that you should be checking that the issue is even still relevant today since the decoder has had changes made to it since that test. Then, if the issue still exists, report them to libav so they can be fixed. This would be the best solution.

Last edited by paradoxical; 4th January 2013 at 16:34.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2013, 18:20   #12019  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
liba52 is GPL, not LGPL, so I can't use it.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2013, 18:25   #12020  |  Link
mrr19121970
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 305
Perhaps there is an issue with the new version?

http://forum.slysoft.com/showpost.php?p=361367&postcount=2976

Quote:
Used eac3to 3.25 to successfully process Brave and Finding Nemo with ClownBD. However, the playback of Brave contains audio drops (3 in the first 5 minutes) like in Total Recall (2012). I have not checked Finding Nemo yet.
mrr19121970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.