Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th September 2019, 19:23   #57401  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,882
if madVR uses tensor cores AMD cards simply can't run that filter they are simply unable to do that he has to rewrite the hole shader so it can run much much slower on AMD cards.
and there is nothing to unlock there is no additional hardware.
these cards have 2560 streaming processors and there is nothing wrong with that they are made to render games.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2019, 19:30   #57402  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,293
So they didn't add any additional hardware for encoding/decoding? That's a shame. And no, of course they wouldn't be able to take advantage of any tensor core algorithms that may, or may not, get added to madvr. I didn't know if AMD had added something similar in their cards but it would seem the answer to that is a resounding NO. That's definitely a pity.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2019, 19:38   #57403  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,882
they have added new decoder and updated the encoder but nothing any madVR filter or render software will ever care about.
both are not competitive with nvidia or intel but the decoder are good enough(i hope still investigating) and you usually don't need more then what these new cards have to offer for now and it is currently not important if a card can decode 120 fps or only 60 fps both are enough.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2019, 20:30   #57404  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,293
Yea, and we don't even KNOW for sure that the tensor core algorithms will make it down to madvr. And even if they do, is it going to be "soon"? Possibly not. I think you could potentially get a year or two before it's even relevant. Unless madshi surprises us.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2019, 05:01   #57405  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,293
I finally had to break down and setup profiles. That was a long time coming but now that I've got my RTX 2070 and TV shows are starting to come back, I'll be using madvr to upscale my TiVo recordings. XFinity is not exactly known for their high quality. LOL So things like Walking Dead 720p 3mbps need a fair bit of assistance compared to upscaling a nice 1080p blu-ray (man you should see Revenge of the Sith upscaled on my C8! Very High NGU sharp for luma and high NGU AA for chroma WOA!). But, it also takes quite a bit more processing power to upscale at 60fps than it does at 23.976, especially when going from 720->2160. It's a "bit of a jump" as it were. I'm not able to get to Very High on luma upscaling NGU sharp. I can do High as long as I set chroma down to medium NGU AA. I suspect a 2080ti wouldn't have much issue. Such is life. I knew the 2070 would be a compromise when I bought it but I have no regrets. madvr handles the upscaling very well and cleans that picture up nicely. Bring on my shows.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2019, 05:27   #57406  |  Link
seiyafan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 161
I am having a lot of presentation glitches with RX 5700, one in every 5-10 seconds, while the rendering time is 20ms and dropped frame is 0, any ideas?
seiyafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2019, 05:36   #57407  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,293
What do the queues look like?

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2019, 05:53   #57408  |  Link
seiyafan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 161
They are mostly full.
Decoder: 23-24 / 24
Upload: 17-18 /18
Render: 16-18 /18
Present: 11-12 /12

rendering time: 20 ms
present time: 0.7 ms
seiyafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2019, 11:19   #57409  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by seiyafan View Post
I am having a lot of presentation glitches with RX 5700, one in every 5-10 seconds, while the rendering time is 20ms and dropped frame is 0, any ideas?
have you got FSE turned on?
__________________
OLED EF950-YAMAHA RX-V685-Win101809-4K 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX580 19.9.2
KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.14/0.74.1 - 3D / DIRECT3D11 / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2019, 12:10   #57410  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by seiyafan View Post
They are mostly full.
Decoder: 23-24 / 24
Upload: 17-18 /18
Render: 16-18 /18
Present: 11-12 /12

rendering time: 20 ms
present time: 0.7 ms
Queues are higher than default. Have you tried the default queues?

QB
__________________
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2019, 12:14   #57411  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 536
0.7 ms present time sounds like a lot. On both my systems in FSW (present queue 4) it's 0.12
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2019, 12:42   #57412  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,293
I concur... try lowering the queue sizes back to default and see if that helps.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2019, 20:09   #57413  |  Link
seiyafan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 161
I lowered the queues back to 12/8/8, for rendering if I use anything lower than 12 there is no presentation glitch but present time would increase from 0.7 ms to 18 ms, after a while the present queue cannot fill up in time and would cause frame drop.
seiyafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 02:29   #57414  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
Yea, and we don't even KNOW for sure that the tensor core algorithms will make it down to madvr. And even if they do, is it going to be "soon"? Possibly not. I think you could potentially get a year or two before it's even relevant. Unless madshi surprises us.

If you buy the Horse before the cart, By the time the Cart becomes available, The Horse is past its prime, has a limp, and is about to die.

WAIT for the cart, THEN buy the Horse, idealy On -Black Friday-

I learned this after getting pulled into the whole DX11 ready GPU debacle.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 03:21   #57415  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,293
I didn't buy any horse before the cart. I had a 1060 when I upgraded my machine and it wasn't powerful enough for my use case. I upgraded to the 2070 and absolutely love the card. (I do game occasionally when time permits, as well). And now I can crank the options I want to crank to get the picture quality I'm looking for. If tensor core support comes to madvr while I own this card, that's a bonus. If it doesn't, I have the raw power I need for the quality I'm looking for.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 03:38   #57416  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,214
You NEED the horse before the cart when it comes to any hardware implementation through software, that's how the process works and how it needs to work.
It's a lot easier to work with hardware that actually exists.

Funny how when RTX came out people many were mocking the ray tracing and now after a few good implementations of the it and some incredible examples on youtube it's now obviously "the future"
Some people just have zero foresight and no belief in the possibility of anything not only shown the benefits of but described in detail by professionals and it's astounding to me.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 04:16   #57417  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,293
I agree to a point. But nVidia didn't launch it in the best possible light, either. Hardware wise it's fantastic if not a tad pricey. What they needed _AT LAUNCH_ was a killer demo of the tech and they didn't really deliver that aspect. I get it, hardware needs to come first, but, they had the hardware in house. They could have done what console mfg's do and partner with someone, anyone, to have a launch day killer demo. Anyway, we're long past that point, the hardware is solid, we're starting to see what the thing can really do, and I'm absolutely on edge waiting to see what this tech is going to deliver in madshi's capable hands. Tensor core AI algorithms should be pretty fun. BUT, that's making an assumption that isn't a guarantee at all....that we get them in either the free madvr or the pro madvr. So far, that's unknown. Nonetheless, I'm very happy with my RTX card....even as it stands today.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 05:25   #57418  |  Link
fourbigkids
Registered User
 
fourbigkids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Blank screen during video playback

Hi all.

I am running MPC-BE v.1.5.3 with madvr 127.0.0.1 on a Windows 10 HTPC with an Nvidia RTX 2060. The video is fed via HDMI to a pre-pro and then to a Sony TV XBR85X850F. It is also fed via a DsplayPort - HDMI adapter straight to the Display. I have madvr setup to open full screen and to change the refresh rate of the TV to match the video file.

All is working as expected on the HDMI - Pre-pro - display leg. However, with the adapter - display leg, while the desktop of my HTPC is visible, when I play a video file (irrespective of the file type) with MPC-BE, I get audio but no video on the display. Just a blank screen. The DisplayPort-HDMI adapter doesn't seem to be the problem as the same video plays and is visible using PowerDVD and MS Media Player on the adapter-display leg, just not MPC-BE and MadVR.

I have reinstalled both MPC-BE and Madvr and imported the last previously known working settings, but no luck.

Appreciate any pointers.

********* edit: madvr v0.92.17 :-)

***Issue resolved with another active 4K DisplayPort - HDMI adapter. I tried 4 and two worked. Oddly, vlc worked with all 4 adapters.

Cheers,

Allan

Last edited by fourbigkids; 29th September 2019 at 06:49.
fourbigkids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 05:37   #57419  |  Link
elraffa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by fourbigkids View Post
Hi all.



I am running MPC-BE v.1.5.3 with madvr 127.0.0.1 on a Windows 10 HTPC with an Nvidia RTX 2060. The video is fed via HDMI to a pre-pro and then to a Sony TV XBR85X850F. It is also fed via a DsplayPort - HDMI adapter straight to the Display. I have madvr setup to open full screen and to change the refresh rate of the TV to match the video file.



All is working as expected on the HDMI - Pre-pro - display leg. However, with the adapter - display leg, while the desktop of my HTPC is visible, when I play a video file (irrespective of the file type) with MPC-BE, I get audio but no video on the display. Just a blank screen. The DisplayPort-HDMI adapter doesn't seem to be the problem as the same video plays and is visible using PowerDVD and MS Media Player on the adapter-display leg, just not MPC-BE and MadVR.



I have reinstalled both MPC-BE and Madvr and imported the last previously known working settings, but no luck.



Appreciate any pointers.



Cheers,



Allan
where can I download madvr version 127.0.0.1?

Enviado desde mi Redmi Note 6 Pro mediante Tapatalk
elraffa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2019, 06:37   #57420  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
You NEED the horse before the cart when it comes to any hardware implementation through software, that's how the process works and how it needs to work.
It's a lot easier to work with hardware that actually exists.

Funny how when RTX came out people many were mocking the ray tracing and now after a few good implementations of the it and some incredible examples on youtube it's now obviously "the future"
Some people just have zero foresight and no belief in the possibility of anything not only shown the benefits of but described in detail by professionals and it's astounding to me.
even now ray tracing is a joke. except a wonder in optimisation is happening it will stay a joke on all cards that are not 2080 ti or new releases. will it be a default feature sometime in the feature yes there is a high chance for that.
but if you want to use ray tracing on a 2060 get used to 1080p. they charge a huge premium for a feature that is barely used and useless in the near future and AMD just joined the price wagon.

ray tracing cores are not tensor cores just to make that clear.
@elraffa
127.0.01 doesn't exist. it's the ip address that is used to connect to your own PC.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.