Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th May 2019, 15:38   #56241  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,894
should be fullscreen exclusive.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2019, 15:44   #56242  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 406
Guys, How is 980Ti's NGU performance, assuming CPU decode.

It's got all dem' Cudas
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2019, 16:01   #56243  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
should be fullscreen exclusive.
You are saying this in response to my question on the display signal re-syncing?

I have full-screen exclusive off, but I also tried it on and the behavior didn't change with respect to the display needing to re-sync the signal when the video opens and closes.
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2019, 16:15   #56244  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 732
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
Anyone have any suggestions for this issue?

I set up a HTPC for a friend, but for some reason, whenever a video opens or closes (Like starting a video in MPC-HC or then closing MP-HC itself) it causes his display to have to re-acquire it's signal.
It could be because the player/renderer is set to use Full Screen Exclusive. Set it to use Full Screen Windowed and you shouldn't get the resync.

Alternatively, the desktop is set to 60hz or 50hz and the player/madVR switches to a different refresh rate when the video is played (usually 23hz).

For this reason, I have my desktop set to 23hz, that way only get a resync when playing non-23p content. However, with HDR there is a resync anyway, even if the refresh rate is the same.

If you don't want a resync ever, then you have to switch the OS to HDR and use an option to convert everything to the same refresh rate, but that's really not recommended.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2019, 16:47   #56245  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
It could be because the player/renderer is set to use Full Screen Exclusive. Set it to use Full Screen Windowed and you shouldn't get the resync.

Alternatively, the desktop is set to 60hz or 50hz and the player/madVR switches to a different refresh rate when the video is played (usually 23hz).

For this reason, I have my desktop set to 23hz, that way only get a resync when playing non-23p content. However, with HDR there is a resync anyway, even if the refresh rate is the same.

If you don't want a resync ever, then you have to switch the OS to HDR and use an option to convert everything to the same refresh rate, but that's really not recommended.
I tried both exclusive full screen and full screen windowed mode. I tried every option in the rendering tab in madVR.

But even when the player opens the video in a small window in MPC-HC in the middle of the display it still happens.

I mentioned I have Windows already locked at 3840x2160 23Hz RGB 12-bit (and I tried 8-bit as well).

I have all refresh rate switching features in the video player and madVR disabled. The JVC info screen reports the exact same video signal info before and after it goes to a black syncing screen.

It's just completely stumping me as to why it's happening. And remember then it also happens when the video player is closed, but again there is no refresh rate change actually taking place.

There is also no syncing issue happening when i switch between window and full screen in the player, just when the video is started and when it's closed.


Why would HDR need to be on? I am tone-mapping HDR to SDR in madVR. The projector is seeming not actually switching anything between the desktop and video playback, but yet it always has to re-sync.
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2019, 17:06   #56246  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 732
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
Why would HDR need to be on? I am tone-mapping HDR to SDR in madVR. The projector is seeming not actually switching anything between the desktop and video playback, but yet it always has to re-sync.
I mentioned HDR in case you wanted to use HDR passthrough in madVR. Obviously not necessary if you're using pixel shader.

No idea what's causing your issue. It certainly wasn't the case with my rs500 and isn't the case with my rs2000.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2019, 21:04   #56247  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,894
if you are using an nvidia card try NCP -> display -> adjust display colour settings -> content type reported to display and set it to something that is not auto.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2019, 21:16   #56248  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
if you are using an nvidia card try NCP -> display -> adjust display colour settings -> content type reported to display and set it to something that is not auto.
Yeah, I should have posted this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m0T0Oln6khk

This is exactly my issue, but unfortunately, the "fix" had no affect. I tried both desktop and video mode from the drop down.
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2019, 21:50   #56249  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,894
are you sure you have selected the correct screen. only two options sounds odd for a projector.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2019, 22:06   #56250  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
are you sure you have selected the correct screen. only two options sounds odd for a projector.
I'm not sure what you mean by this. What 2 options do you mean and how many should there me.

This setup has only a single display even connected to the PC.

It's RTX 2070 -> Marantz 8802 -> JVC RS600.
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2019, 03:08   #56251  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 537
huhn means usually you have more choices in the content type drop down, like 'photos', 'movies', 'games', etc.
I only have 'video' and 'desktop' too.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2019, 09:34   #56252  |  Link
khanmein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
Yeah, I should have posted this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m0T0Oln6khk

This is exactly my issue, but unfortunately, the "fix" had no affect. I tried both desktop and video mode from the drop down.
I don't have the option and no issue with displayport.
khanmein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2019, 09:50   #56253  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,214
Who actually has the latest Nvidia drivers actually change timings for them? I can't get anything over 1 frame repeat I think it was every 13 odd mins. It's like the drivers themselves are just preventing changes.
Nothing I select makes a difference. With 385.28, no problems at all..Seems that quite a few people are in the same boat. Narrowing down what's allowing people to get results vs not might be useful in improving this?
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2019, 11:30   #56254  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 406
I have a slight fear in the back of my mind that with streaming, the flock has moved away from media collection, and concurrently away from Good'ol PC playback.

With less users overall, the worst iteration of this play out is non-support down the road for our beloved hobby.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2019, 12:46   #56255  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Nothing I select makes a difference. With 385.28, no problems at all..Seems that quite a few people are in the same boat. Narrowing down what's allowing people to get results vs not might be useful in improving this?
I'm pretty sure it doesn't work for anybody, they just haven't noticed it.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2019, 13:02   #56256  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,214
I guess the best solution will be to use Smooth Motion @ 120Hz to avoid this situation altogether. Is Smooth Motion @ 120Hz better than 24Hz with no frame drops/repeats? Anyone done any comparisons? Huhn?
I could hold with a 1080 and 385.28 until I upgrade to a HDMI 2.1 setup.. real shame it hasn't eventuated this year, although with the LG 9 series OLED you could manage 1440 at 120Hz.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2019, 15:21   #56257  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
I guess the best solution will be to use Smooth Motion @ 120Hz to avoid this situation altogether. Is Smooth Motion @ 120Hz better than 24Hz with no frame drops/repeats? Anyone done any comparisons? Huhn?
I could hold with a 1080 and 385.28 until ...
For me the best is to use 23p for 23fps content. And you can do it with 385.28 as you've said. But everybody favours something different ...
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2019, 17:10   #56258  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
with streaming, the flock has moved away from media collection, and concurrently away from Good'ol PC playback.
With less users overall, the worst iteration of this play out is non-support down the road for our beloved hobby.
You still need good timings in order to avoid frame drops/repeats even with streaming. People move away from PC to Android boxes or players integrated to their TV even for local media playback.
Surprinsingly, PC playback may actually be saved by streaming, with a lot of people watching from their laptops.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2019, 18:48   #56259  |  Link
cremor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Who actually has the latest Nvidia drivers actually change timings for them? I can't get anything over 1 frame repeat I think it was every 13 odd mins. It's like the drivers themselves are just preventing changes.
Nothing I select makes a difference. With 385.28, no problems at all..Seems that quite a few people are in the same boat. Narrowing down what's allowing people to get results vs not might be useful in improving this?
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
I'm pretty sure it doesn't work for anybody, they just haven't noticed it.
I'm not on the latest version, but with 430.53 (hotfix) I can use the custom modes from madVR without problems. Although I have to say that I only ever tried to optimize the pixel clock because that already bringt me multiple hours between expected frame drops/repeats.

RTX 2070 with a gaming monitor. Custom modes for 100 and 119 Hz.

Last edited by cremor; 16th May 2019 at 11:44.
cremor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2019, 19:07   #56260  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 708
cremor
Do you use a 23 Hz mode of any kind (standard or optimized)? Other refresh rates than 23 Hz don't have problems in short intervalls of frame drops or repeats, as far as I know.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.