Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th May 2018, 09:15   #50881  |  Link
XYZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by zyz
how can i backup my madvr-settings ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by fdisk80 View Post
Thanks !
XYZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 11:32   #50882  |  Link
stefanelli73
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 34
I own an OPTOMA UHZ 65 laser video projector that handles very well the HDR, in fact with madvr I'm going to passthrough .... yesterday out of curiosity I wanted to use the HDR to SDR conversion, the image is more brighter, but the colors appear washed out, even if you set it in "this display is already calibrated" BT.2020, what can it depend on?....I use MPC-BE.... I also wanted to know from the owners of AMD video cards which is the most stable driver for HDR?
stefanelli73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 12:54   #50883  |  Link
Clown shoes
King of the Jungle
 
Clown shoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Shoreditch, London
Posts: 429
Does anyone know if the process HDR content by using pixel shader math option presumes the display is already calibrated and just send the information in the same way passthrough would? Or does it take any LUTS loaded into MadVR into consideration?

My issue is that if I calibrate my display (430nits) for HDR using DisplayCal and MadVRTPG I have a problem when playing 4000nit content (sections of Mad Max are a great example) where very bright highlights turn red. The only way I can prevent this is by increasing the peak luminence to around 2500nits but this has the side effect of bringing the average luminence down and everything becomes quite dark. Setting the peak luminence to 1000nits under pixel shader math gives me almost identical results to passthrough and is the expected peak luminance for a display around the 400nit mark but I also want to calibrate my display as I know it's slightly off.

Is it possible to use pixel shader math and have a LUT loaded? and has anyone else experienced this highlight issue on very bright 4000nit content?
Clown shoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 13:38   #50884  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 277
I got a quick smooth motion question:

In case I want to use madvr's smooth motion feature to bring a 23,976 fps to 60hz display mode, do I have to use reclock to sync my audio? Or is the bitstreamed audio untouched?
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, AMD Vega RX56 8 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi DS Player 17.6, MadVR (x64), LAV Filters (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)
LG 4K OLED (65C8D), Denon X-4200 AVR, Dali Zensor 5.1 Set
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 13:46   #50885  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,215
Smooth Motion blends frames so bitstreamed audio is untouched and doesn't need to be touched.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 14:25   #50886  |  Link
noee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefanelli73 View Post
.... I also wanted to know from the owners of AMD video cards which is the most stable driver for HDR?
I'm using 18.3.4 on Win7Ult with JRiver with LAV set for h/w decode when it can. Very stable so far, but my HDR files are only samples that I've downloaded. I do see the "HDR" indicator on my TV (TCL) and the madVR stats show "AMD HDR".

Using D3D11/Exclusive/10bit/4:4:4/30Hz refresh/let madVR decide (HDR)/SmoothMotion OFF. Some 60fps/4K are choppy, not sure why, probably decoding, haven't investigated fully yet.
__________________
Win7Ult || RX560/4G || Ryzen 5
noee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 14:27   #50887  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 223
@Clown shoes

Does anyone know if the process HDR content by using pixel shader math option presumes the display is already calibrated and just send the information in the same way passthrough would? Or does it take any LUTS loaded into MadVR into consideration?


From Warner306 post on a KODI Forum :

convert HDR content to SDR by using pixel shader math: HDR is converted to SDR. The display receives SDR content.
convert HDR content to SDR by using an external 3DLUT: HDR content is converted to SDR. The display receives SDR content. If you supply multiple 3DLUT files, the one which best matches the source gamut will be used. The 3DLUT receives untouched R'G'B' HDR (PQ) data, applies tone & gamut mapping, then outputs R'G'B' data in the display's native gamut and transfer function.
process HDR content by using pixel shader math: The display receives HDR content, but the HDR source is downconverted to the target specs.
process HDR content by using an external 3DLUT: The display receives HDR content, but the 3DLUT downconverts the HDR source to some extent. The 3DLUT input/output is R'G'B' HDR (PQ). The 3DLUT applies some tone and/or gamut mapping.

https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php...942#pid2238942
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 14:32   #50888  |  Link
foozoor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 113
@noee
No problem here with archlinux and mpv with the default opengl renderer and direct rendering (enabled by default now).
But linux is more advanced than windows for multimedia.
foozoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 14:43   #50889  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 223
@foozoor

Linux more advanced ?

As a distro hopper for a couple of years I don't think so.

You have to download codecs for everything, I had to do multiple fixes to stop screen tearing in one way or another for each distro with their own individual faults.

KODI does not play DTS-HD with KODI unless you start it with flags to avoid Pulseaudio and even then it does not work all the time, its no simple task removing Pulseaudio and if you have a distro that allows you, everything else goes to pot.

I gave Linux more than enough changes and sometimes new releases just regressed every time, sharing a folder demanded rocket science on most as well.

Nvidia drivers are nowhere near as good on Linux as well.

Windows is much better at Multimedia and straight out of the box in my opinion.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 14:47   #50890  |  Link
Clown shoes
King of the Jungle
 
Clown shoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Shoreditch, London
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock View Post
@Clown shoes

Does anyone know if the process HDR content by using pixel shader math option presumes the display is already calibrated and just send the information in the same way passthrough would? Or does it take any LUTS loaded into MadVR into consideration?


From Warner306 post on a KODI Forum :

convert HDR content to SDR by using pixel shader math: HDR is converted to SDR. The display receives SDR content.
convert HDR content to SDR by using an external 3DLUT: HDR content is converted to SDR. The display receives SDR content. If you supply multiple 3DLUT files, the one which best matches the source gamut will be used. The 3DLUT receives untouched R'G'B' HDR (PQ) data, applies tone & gamut mapping, then outputs R'G'B' data in the display's native gamut and transfer function.
process HDR content by using pixel shader math: The display receives HDR content, but the HDR source is downconverted to the target specs.
process HDR content by using an external 3DLUT: The display receives HDR content, but the 3DLUT downconverts the HDR source to some extent. The 3DLUT input/output is R'G'B' HDR (PQ). The 3DLUT applies some tone and/or gamut mapping.

https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php...942#pid2238942
Thanks MadJock but that doesn't really answer my question
Clown shoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 14:50   #50891  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clown shoes View Post
Thanks MadJock but that doesn't really answer my question
It sort of does in a way as the only time it mentions LUTs taken into account is when an option with LUTs in the option is selected ?
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 14:56   #50892  |  Link
foozoor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 113
@madjock
Mpv doesn't need external codecs.
Nvidia GPUs are used in most of top level Linux supercomputers and are optimized.
I use Kodi on a sweet $30 amlogic S905 box and 4K@60hz, HDR and DTS-HD are not a problem.
We are not in 2009 anymore.

Last edited by foozoor; 17th May 2018 at 15:11.
foozoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 15:02   #50893  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 223
@foozoor

We are not in 2009 anymore.



Haha, tell that to Linux when you have to use an app to manually mount NTFS drives

Don't get me wrong I liked XFCE for speed, and liked messing with Arch etc, but when it all boils down to it, its a lot of work for simple task sometimes.

Using KODI with Nvidia and MadVR, or using lesser variants on everything on Linix, I think Windows 10 has come a long way for ease of use and lets face it Linux has had years to get to a place for a novice, but is just stagnating now.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 15:02   #50894  |  Link
noee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by foozoor View Post
@noee
No problem here with archlinux and mpv with the default opengl renderer and direct rendering (enabled by default now).
But linux is more advanced than windows for multimedia.
Yeah, well, all my machines except for one are running OpenSUSE Tumbleweed and while TW is *good* out of the box for multimedia on AMD (JRiver and MPV), madVR on Windows is *exceptional*. It's the only reason (besides a couple of games and for testing) that I keep a windows machine around.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock
Haha, tell that to Linux when you have to use an app to manually mount NTFS drives
Seriously, dude? This isn't 2009.
__________________
Win7Ult || RX560/4G || Ryzen 5

Last edited by noee; 17th May 2018 at 15:06.
noee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 15:17   #50895  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by noee View Post
Yeah, well, all my machines except for one are running OpenSUSE Tumbleweed and while TW is *good* out of the box for multimedia on AMD (JRiver and MPV), madVR on Windows is *exceptional*. It's the only reason (besides a couple of games and for testing) that I keep a windows machine around.



Seriously, dude? This isn't 2009.
Haha as I said I did enjoy messing with Linux, if I have TBs of media, I sure as heck was not converting them to another format after buying more TBs of hard drives to move them to before converting .

But just the AVR not showing DTS-HD and the likes without switches is signs of 2009, not the future.

madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 15:26   #50896  |  Link
foozoor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by noee View Post
madVR on Windows is *exceptional*.
Just use Linux with mpv for better HDR support, yes the d3d11 renderer needs some little fixes. RAVU and recent FSRCNNX shaders are just like NGU-AA/NGU-Sharp, FSRCNNX is sometimes sharper and RAVU is sometimes softer but they are majorally the same. You can tweak smooth motion (interpolation) settings...

Except the new and not released yet (not scaling related) algorithm, madVR is not that exceptional.

@madshi
Any more news about the new algorithm?

Last edited by foozoor; 17th May 2018 at 15:39.
foozoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 15:46   #50897  |  Link
Clown shoes
King of the Jungle
 
Clown shoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Shoreditch, London
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock View Post
It sort of does in a way as the only time it mentions LUTs taken into account is when an option with LUTs in the option is selected ?
Not really. It doesn't mention whether or not an existing LUT will be ignored when Pixel shader math HDR processing is active and the REC709 LUT still shows up in the MadVR OSD

I presume it isn't active but I would like confirmation as I need to find a work around for my HDR LUT red highlight issue.
Clown shoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 16:42   #50898  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,818
Just don't respond to foozoor, he is a known troll.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 16:50   #50899  |  Link
foozoor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 113
I am here to dynamize this almost dead thread.
But I confess I have a strange way of spreading my love for madvr.
foozoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2018, 16:52   #50900  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 223
@nevcairiel

Noted.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.