Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th September 2008, 16:19   #21  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Toledo 2.2 GHz
8800 GT (G92 512MB)
Forceware: 177.92 (Forcewithin Physix Driver Cuda enabled)
Windows XP SP3

Source: Construction Run (Casino Royale Blu-Ray)

DGavcindex Preview (F5)

Libavcodec = 10 fps 50% CPU (1 Full core)
Nvidia = 18 fps 40% CPU
Nvidia = 44 fps 15% CPU (Disable Display)

Nice i didn't had todo anything just extract and start and it seems to work

Tough i see with the Display on heavy Kernel Peaks like on a VMR9 surface see http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=140767 tough it's constantly peaking while DGAvcindex is previewing
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 13th September 2008 at 16:32.
CruNcher is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:20   #22  |  Link
Zwitterion
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 80
1920x1080 AVC stream from Blu-ray M2TS:

~45 fps
~3-5 % CPU

Q6600, 8800GT (177.92 beta), WinXP SP3 x86


I didn't need to shuffle any dll's around. I also didn't need to install the CUDA toolkit or SDK. Didn't get any error messages either.
Zwitterion is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:23   #23  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Great, thank you! Then Sagekilla must have system issues.
Guest is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:23   #24  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
Installing the latest CUDA driver and the toolkit gave me the same 2 errors I mentioned before. I think this is more or less a cosequence that I actually have multiple copies of the files that need to be used, I have another copy of all the files you included in your AVC package in my system32, one of which (nvapi) is dated older than the one included.


Looks like it's time to get the good old XP install disc out again..
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.
Sagekilla is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:24   #25  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
I've tried it on several machines and it seems clear that for some reason the AMD CPUs show higher utilization. I'm investigating that.
Guest is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:27   #26  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagekilla View Post
Installing the latest CUDA driver and the toolkit gave me the same 2 errors I mentioned before. I think this is more or less a cosequence that I actually have multiple copies of the files that need to be used, I have another copy of all the files you included in your AVC package in my system32, one of which (nvapi) is dated older than the one included.


Looks like it's time to get the good old XP install disc out again..
The error is CUDA_ERROR_NO_DEVICE. Run DXVA Checker and tell me the result. It's not going to work unless your DXVA situation is OK.
Guest is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:30   #27  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Time to get busy on DGAVCDecodeNV.
Guest is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:31   #28  |  Link
Inventive Software
Turkey Machine
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lowestoft, UK (but visit lots of places with bribes [beer])
Posts: 1,953
You're making me real jealous at this point Don.

On a separate note, how easy is it to integrate/separate for MPEG-2 and VC-1?
__________________
On Discworld it is clearly recognized that million-to-one chances happen 9 times out of 10. If the hero did not overcome huge odds, what would be the point? Terry Pratchett - The Science Of Discworld
Inventive Software is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:31   #29  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
Where can I find this DXVA checker? I can't seem to find it.

The odd thing is my DXVA works perfect on my x264 files and my blu-ray discs on both systems..
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.
Sagekilla is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:32   #30  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,472
Quote:
Looks like it's time to get the good old XP install disc out again..
or maybe it's time for Vista SP1
Atak_Snajpera is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:34   #31  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
Off Topic: I prefer not -- I've used Vista SP1 for a length period of time on my laptop and there's many things that simply do not suit me. Call me old fashioned but I still prefer XP over Vista. There's too many nuances in the OS that bother me when I'm using it. I'm not ready to waste another few hundred dollars on a new OS when I have my XP SP2 disc right here.


On topic: SS: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...killa/DXVA.png
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.

Last edited by Sagekilla; 13th September 2008 at 16:37.
Sagekilla is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:35   #32  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,472
http://bluesky23.hp.infoseek.co.jp/i...ml#DXVAChecker
Atak_Snajpera is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:35   #33  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
DXVA Checker:

http://bluesky23.hp.infoseek.co.jp/d...ecker_1900.zip

Yes, integrating MPEG, AVC, and VC1 is now thinkable. None of this stuff is easy.
Guest is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:39   #34  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
Thanks, I just found it. I posted the sample in my last post
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.
Sagekilla is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:39   #35  |  Link
Inventive Software
Turkey Machine
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lowestoft, UK (but visit lots of places with bribes [beer])
Posts: 1,953
@Sagekilla: You have no H.264 hardware decoder with that chip.

EDIT: Blame Wikipedia for not giving PureVideo details for the card. Apparantly, it does, but I'd look at what drivers you have, and see whether it can be enabled in Control Panel.
__________________
On Discworld it is clearly recognized that million-to-one chances happen 9 times out of 10. If the hero did not overcome huge odds, what would be the point? Terry Pratchett - The Science Of Discworld

Last edited by Inventive Software; 13th September 2008 at 16:44.
Inventive Software is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:43   #36  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
No, that is the same thing my check shows. And see here:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/cuda_learn_products.html

Do you have HW acceleration enabled in your display properties?

I'll ask Nvidia what could cause this.
Guest is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:45   #37  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
@Inventive Software

Are you certain? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compari...its#Features_4 Also can you explain this if I don't have a hardware decoder? Link: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...killa/HWDG.png


I'm getting DXVA fine in MPC, but I don't know why I can't get it in DGAVC.
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.

Last edited by Sagekilla; 13th September 2008 at 16:49.
Sagekilla is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:51   #38  |  Link
Inventive Software
Turkey Machine
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lowestoft, UK (but visit lots of places with bribes [beer])
Posts: 1,953
Spot my edit. I mis-read, but still, my first suggestion would be to update the drivers. NVIDIA have a habit of occasionally changing a few settings between driver revisions.
__________________
On Discworld it is clearly recognized that million-to-one chances happen 9 times out of 10. If the hero did not overcome huge odds, what would be the point? Terry Pratchett - The Science Of Discworld
Inventive Software is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:52   #39  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
That it does.. Oddly though, I'm running the latest CUDA driver + toolkit as listed on the website -- yet still nothing! I believe it was the 177.84 driver I downloaded.
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.
Sagekilla is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 16:58   #40  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Maybe your system has seized the CUDA context. Try turning off DXVA wherever it may be enabled. Turn everything off for ffmpeg, for example. Just for testing...
Guest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.