Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th September 2008, 17:23   #41  |  Link
Diodato
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 16
Works right of the box. But I have the CUDA SDK installed.

WinXP SP3
E6600@3.0GHz
8800 GTS 512MB
nVidia display drivers v177.84

Source: sat DVB-S2 stream (1920x1080, HP@L4.0)
FPS: 45-50
CPU: 6-11%

Nice work Donald!
Diodato is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 17:41   #42  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,474
it would be nice if somebody could test speed during transcoding from blu-ray -> x264 rip. (software decoding vs hardware decoding)
Atak_Snajpera is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 17:42   #43  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
it would be nice if somebody could test speed during transcoding from blu-ray -> x264 rip. (software decoding vs hardware decoding)
That can't be done until I complete DGAVCDecodeNV. Coming soon as I've already worked through all the quirks of using the GPU.
Guest is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 18:02   #44  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
I had to delete all the dlls except nvcuvid.dll on my laptop, but I got it working on my laptop. I installed the SDK beforehand to make sure this would work. I still don't want to try anything since I have several processes -- including a scheduler --- depending on nvapi.dll that I don't feel safe replacing my system32 copy.

C2D @ 2.16 GHz
8600M GT
Vista SP1 w/ CUDA 177.84 drivers + toolkit
12 - 17% CPU
38 - 48 fps (averaging 46ish, only dips to 38 rarely)
Source: Pirates of the Carribean 3, blu-ray rip


So it's definite something went bad with my desktop. I'm going to disregard this since I'll be reinstalling XP on it anyway.


@neuron2: Let me know when you get a working copy. I'll be glad to do some beta testing for you on my laptop. My last transcode (PoTC3) took 80 hours on a 2 GHz Opteron 170. Decoding Blu-Ray + light filtering (Read: MVDegrain3) + high compression in x264 => 0.6 - 0.7 fps in x264. So, this would be a HUGE benefit to have
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.

Last edited by Sagekilla; 13th September 2008 at 18:17.
Sagekilla is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 18:19   #45  |  Link
lucassp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Romania, Timisoara
Posts: 223
Works right out the box with ForceWare 177.92 (no CUDA SDK/Toolkit installed) on: 8800GT 512MB, XP SP3, C2D E8400@3,5GHz!
lucassp is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 18:24   #46  |  Link
Yoshiyuki Blade
Novice x264 User
 
Yoshiyuki Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California
Posts: 169
Ok, before I go ahead and install the CUDA kit, here are the error messages I'm getting:

- Upon opening DGAVCIndexNV, I recieve the warning message, "ERROR: cuInit failed (100)" Hit yes to continue blah blah, cancel to supress...
- Attempting to open an AVCHD video file gives me this error message, "GPU decoder: Failed to create video decoder"
- When closing the program I get a warning. "cuvidDecodePicture: 400" Hit yes to continue blah blah, cancel to supress...

The two DLL files you included with the program were actually already in the SysWOW64 folder (basically System32 for 64-bit Windows OSes), and the same error messages came up before and after I replaced them. Using an 8800 GTX. I'm going to install the 3 files right now. I've done this before to test the Folding@Home GPU client so it should be no problem to install.
__________________
"I'll take a potato chip... and eat it!"

Last edited by Yoshiyuki Blade; 13th September 2008 at 18:35.
Yoshiyuki Blade is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 18:27   #47  |  Link
kemuri-_9
Compiling Encoder
 
kemuri-_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,348
It's working fine for me.
worked right out of the zip on my
8600 GT (512MB)
XP x64 SP2
Phenom 9850

took 2 mins to run through my AVC .TS that's 24min @ 720p60.
the standard libavcodec version couldn't even decode these .TS files either!

while it was saving the project i was watching the process explorer graphs for it, was using 25% CPU utilization (1 core)
about 50% of the 25% was attributed to kernel times for the I/O

in play mode it does 43 fps with 20% cpu utilization, half still with kernel times
__________________
custom x264 builds & patches | F@H | My Specs

Last edited by kemuri-_9; 13th September 2008 at 18:29.
kemuri-_9 is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 18:46   #48  |  Link
Daodan
unrecognized user
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: home of Stella Artois
Posts: 303
Tested a bit with a 25mbit 1080p30. With display disabled I get ~40fps with 8800gt 256mb and 10% off e6400 oc. I get 120fps with coreavc in timecodec. The cuda way should be faster however while encoding that output as well.
__________________
zzz
Daodan is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 18:49   #49  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
I found what might be a bug -- If I exit DGAVCNV while previewing a movie (disable display is checked) I simply get an error message from windows telling me the program has stopped working. No other debug info. On another note, I've also noticed the issue with half the CPU usage being towards kernel usage. Take a look here: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6.../kernusage.png
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.
Sagekilla is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 18:53   #50  |  Link
lucassp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Romania, Timisoara
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoshiyuki Blade View Post
Using an 8800 GTX.
It doesn't work with G80 GPU's: Geforce 8800 GTX, 8800 Ultra, 8800 GTS 640MB/320MB!
lucassp is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 18:56   #51  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
I think those GPUs have bitstream decode only.. I could be wrong.
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.
Sagekilla is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 18:58   #52  |  Link
Yoshiyuki Blade
Novice x264 User
 
Yoshiyuki Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucassp View Post
It doesn't work with G80 GPU's: Geforce 8800 GTX, 8800 Ultra, 8800 GTS 640MB/320MB!
Yeah, I posted concerns on the main thread here: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...05#post1182305. It was still worth a shot though.

I installed all the necessary files with pretty much the same errors as before. Gonna try it on my bro's 8400M GS.
__________________
"I'll take a potato chip... and eat it!"

Last edited by Yoshiyuki Blade; 14th September 2008 at 16:11.
Yoshiyuki Blade is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 19:11   #53  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
Btw for all Nvidia users please can some confirm this behaviour (especialy on G92) http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=140767 would be nice if you could post your results there about this issue if you have the time
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004
CruNcher is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 19:23   #54  |  Link
crypto
@DVBPortal
 
crypto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagekilla View Post
@neuron2: On my both my computers I received the error message on simply opening DGAVCNV saying:

Code:
ERROR: cuInt failed (100)

Hit Yes to continue ....
Code:
GPU decoder: Failed to create video decoder.
Same here, I also get both errors. The first when starting DGAVCIndexNV. The second when loading a stream. Plus when ending
Code:
cuvidDecodePicture: 400

Hit Yes to ....
CUDA is installed. Badaboom is running ok.
crypto is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 19:26   #55  |  Link
menlvd
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Moscow
Posts: 97
waiting for DGAVCIndexNV.dll ...
menlvd is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 19:31   #56  |  Link
Inventive Software
Turkey Machine
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lowestoft, UK (but visit lots of places with bribes [beer])
Posts: 1,953
@crypto: what card you running? Tried the DXVA checker Donald linked to in the 1st page?

ATTENTION EVERYBODY: This does NOT work with first generation 8 series cards based on the G80 GPU. These include the 8800 GTX, 8800 GTS 320MB / 640MB, and 8800 Ultra cards, as they do not have the VP2 PureVideo decoding engine.

Those with these cards reporting them working would do well to tell me so I can edit this statement.
__________________
On Discworld it is clearly recognized that million-to-one chances happen 9 times out of 10. If the hero did not overcome huge odds, what would be the point? Terry Pratchett - The Science Of Discworld

Last edited by Inventive Software; 13th September 2008 at 19:34.
Inventive Software is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 19:31   #57  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
I still have to work out some issues with my desktop -- I'm not fully sure what's wrong with the system so it could be a number of things. My problem may or may not be related to yours.
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.
Sagekilla is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 19:33   #58  |  Link
kemuri-_9
Compiling Encoder
 
kemuri-_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by menlvd View Post
waiting for DGAVCIndexNV.dll ...
that would be DGAVCDecodeNV.dll
__________________
custom x264 builds & patches | F@H | My Specs
kemuri-_9 is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 19:41   #59  |  Link
crypto
@DVBPortal
 
crypto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 434
OK, I got it running.

Here are my results with TS 1080i PAFF 25 Hz:
FPS is 42-45
CPU is at 0 (That's zero) ???

@Inventive Software
GTS 8600 on Vista Ultimate 32 Bit Q6600
crypto is offline  
Old 13th September 2008, 19:47   #60  |  Link
bob0r
Pain and suffering
 
bob0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,337
Where do i read the FPS?

The FPS box at the bottom is empty here.
(8800 gts g92)
bob0r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.