Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th November 2018, 17:55   #28081  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 752
There are a lot of hidden options to rerender video, to change video, but I don't see anything for changing BD menu(s) that have 4:3 set when 16:9 should be. I got a hold of a compilation BD, and the movies are fine in 16:9, if I play the .TS files (or convert them to MKV from BD-RB). MPC-HC plays them as should be. But through PDVD 12 and Player, naaaah. Every video "displays" as 4:3 until the menu. Which is 16:9. Pick a movie, and menu for it is displayed with an clip from the movie. In 4:3 with Subtitles On/Off, or back to menu...a cheap menu. Pick Play and the movie starts..in 4:3. For PDVD 12 I have to change "Keep Aspect Ratio" and select "Stretch to Fit Screen". Solved, but I'd like to not have to do that. Is there an option I haven't come across yet, or some other tool? I don't use TSMuxeR outside of BD-RB..so I'm not sure. I don't want to rerender the videos, so I suspect it's as "simple" as editing a DVD and changing a flag and saving back (DvdRemakePro) and is non-destructive to video. :-)
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2018, 22:22   #28082  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 817
If so desired, those of us with GTX 10xx cards can run some tests so others don't have to get one unnecessarily
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2018, 09:31   #28083  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
If so desired, those of us with GTX 10xx cards can run some tests so others don't have to get one unnecessarily
And how is this going to help the user that cannot afford a new GTX card? BDRB with UHD support that requires the purchase of an expensive graphics card is going to keep that user from using BDRB.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2018, 12:56   #28084  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
And how is this going to help the user that cannot afford a new GTX card? BDRB with UHD support that requires the purchase of an expensive graphics card is going to keep that user from using BDRB.
Maybe we can figure out some settings that carry over to software encoding
By the way, BDRB already supports DGIndexNV
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16814125920
Why don't you offer some suggestions to help the situation
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2018, 14:35   #28085  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Maybe we can figure out some settings that carry over to software encoding
By the way, BDRB already supports DGIndexNV
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16814125920
Why don't you offer some suggestions to help the situation
Yes. But DGIndexNV isn't required for BD-RB to work!
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2018, 17:54   #28086  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Yes. But DGIndexNV isn't required for BD-RB to work!
True, but CPU encoding is causing issues that you are having problems solving
There might be some setting that is causing the issue, I thought that using NVEnc for testing might show it and then the settings could be adapted to CPU encoding
Either way, to play UHD discs or files smoothly on a HTPC requires a GTX 10xx card or equivalent unless the bit rate is real low
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2018, 19:08   #28087  |  Link
Wizzu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 43
Hi Jdobbs, hi all,

After 2 years without a glitch and dozens of flawless encodes,(thanks!), an old demon comes to haunt me again: AUDIO ENCODING ERRORS! My, oh my...

I suspect it's the source that is the culprit. ROME Season 2 Blu-rays. HD-XLL audio files.

With older versions of BD-Rebuilder (50.10.18 for instance), the error comes out as an AFTEN error. With the latest version, just as an audio encoding error.

Any idea?.....

-------------
[11/18/18] BD Rebuilder v0.60.04
[13:11:53] Source: ROME_SAISON_2_1-5
- Input BD size: 70.40 GB
- Approximate total content: [04:37:20.039]
- Target BD size: 22.95 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- Quick-Play Reauthoring mode enabled
- Quality: High Quality (Default), Two Pass
- Decoding/Frame serving: DirectShow
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=1 HD=0 Kbs=448
[13:11:55] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [13:11:55] Processing: VID_00001 (1 of 5)
- [13:11:55] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00001]
- [13:16:21] Reencoding video [VID_00001]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 83'199 frames
- Bitrate: 10'504 Kbs
- [13:16:21] Reencoding: VID_00001, Pass 1 of 2
- [14:17:59] Reencoding: VID_00001, Pass 2 of 2
- [16:56:44] Video Encode complete
- [16:56:44] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (eng): Reencoding audio to AC3...
- [16:56:44] ReencodeAudio() 00075 1801
[18:21:44] - Failed to reencode audio, aborted

Last edited by Wizzu; 18th November 2018 at 19:11.
Wizzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2018, 21:39   #28088  |  Link
Wizzu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 43
OK, I recalled that the first time I had audio encoding errors with BD-RB (in 2012... lol...) it was down to the use of a special character in the output path name. Specifically it was a "ž" that was not accepted by AFTEN.

So I tried a couple of different path names with the ROME episodes. To my surprise I discovered that the culprit was the french diacritic character "╔" (Episodes in french is "╔pisodes"). BUT... only the uppercase "╔": the lowercase "Ú" works OK... go figure!

It's stunning that non-english or special characters in folder/file names can still be an issue in 2018. Brings back memories from the 80's and DOS. Lol

Anyway, problem solved again. Audio encoding errors? Try changing the output path name to something simpler without accentuated or special characters....
Wizzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2018, 22:08   #28089  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Why don't you offer some suggestions to help the situation
I know nothing about UHD video. The settings I use to encode BD compliant video I got off the net from those who created/work with x264. As for x265, there has to be something out there that says what the settings should be for UHD compliant video. If the x265 developers want the industry to use their product, they have to be providing help somehow.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2018, 22:40   #28090  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Scarborough, Canada
Posts: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
I know nothing about UHD video. The settings I use to encode BD compliant video I got off the net from those who created/work with x264. As for x265, there has to be something out there that says what the settings should be for UHD compliant video. If the x265 developers want the industry to use their product, they have to be providing help somehow.
The software is using x265 thru ffmpeg. Is the problem in x265 or the way ffmpeg does the settings
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:15   #28091  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,185
Update: I've found at least one source of the sync issues in UHD-BD. When you use closed GOPs (automatically set when --uhd-bd is used) TSMUXER randomly loses frames from the .hevc file when it is muxing, causing the sync issues. I have no idea why, but running a trace through all the packets shows the problem. It doesn't happen when I use an original .hevc file that came directly from a disc, so I'm not sure whether TSMUXER or X265 should get the blame.

What I found, though, is that I can generate an M2TS file using FFMPEG without the missing frames. Luckily FFMPEG has to be included with BD-RB for UHD anyway (in order to frame-serve HDR to X265). So right now the plan is to manually integrate the video stream from the FFMPEG output into a BD structure created by TSMUXER. The other option (if that gets problematic) is to simply have BD-RB generate the rest of the structure itself. If this works I may have a solution by Thanksgiving. But I've gone down a lot of other promising rabbit holes in the past few weeks -- so I'm not promising anything. Still, I'm cautiously optimistic.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; Yesterday at 01:22.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:16   #28092  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 903
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Update: I've found at least one source of the sync issues in UHD-BD. When you use closed GOPs (automatically set when --uhd-bd is used) TSMUXER randomly loses frames from the .hevc file when it is muxing, causing the sync issues. I have no idea why, but running a trace through all the packets shows the problem. It doesn't happen when I use an original .hevc file that came directly from a disc, so I'm not sure whether TSMUXER or X265 should get the blame.

What I found, though, is that I can generate an M2TS file using FFMPEG without the missing frames. Luckily FFMPEG has to be included with BD-RB for UHD anyway (in order to frame-serve HDR to X265). So right now the plan is to manually integrate the video stream from the FFMPEG output into a BD structure created by TSMUXER. The other option (if that gets problematic) is to simply have BD-RB generate the rest of the structure itself. If this works I may have a solution by Thanksgiving. But I've gone down a lot of other promising rabbit holes in the past few weeks -- so I'm not promising anything. Still, I'm cautiously optimistic.
Sounds clever and innovative Boss, good work!
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:59   #28093  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 495
Christmas is coming and BD-RB is better and better thanks to jdobbs incredible efforts. It is high time I prepared some "moderate" gift that can be put under the Christmas tree...

@Lathe

on the label of the present I am going to write: "Merry Christmas jdobbs!

mparade&Lathe", if you don't mind of course

Last edited by mparade; Yesterday at 11:02.
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 19:11   #28094  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 903
Quote:
Originally Posted by mparade View Post
Christmas is coming and BD-RB is better and better thanks to jdobbs incredible efforts. It is high time I prepared some "moderate" gift that can be put under the Christmas tree...

@Lathe

on the label of the present I am going to write: "Merry Christmas jdobbs!

mparade&Lathe", if you don't mind of course
That is most kind mate!
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 14:34   #28095  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Update: I've found at least one source of the sync issues in UHD-BD. When you use closed GOPs (automatically set when --uhd-bd is used) TSMUXER randomly loses frames from the .hevc file when it is muxing, causing the sync issues. I have no idea why, but running a trace through all the packets shows the problem. It doesn't happen when I use an original .hevc file that came directly from a disc, so I'm not sure whether TSMUXER or X265 should get the blame.

What I found, though, is that I can generate an M2TS file using FFMPEG without the missing frames. Luckily FFMPEG has to be included with BD-RB for UHD anyway (in order to frame-serve HDR to X265). So right now the plan is to manually integrate the video stream from the FFMPEG output into a BD structure created by TSMUXER. The other option (if that gets problematic) is to simply have BD-RB generate the rest of the structure itself. If this works I may have a solution by Thanksgiving. But I've gone down a lot of other promising rabbit holes in the past few weeks -- so I'm not promising anything. Still, I'm cautiously optimistic.
Well... the FFMPEG M2TS output is pretty ugly and can't be used as-is. I'm going to have to scan the stream and make corrections. This will add more time (to write more code to do this) and to the process (scanning the stream). It already needs an extra conversion step to create timestamps (FFMPEG can't generate the M2TS directly from an hevc elementary stream). Uhhhgghh.

[Edit] An interesting sidenote. When TSMUXER creates its stream and misses frames during playback -- it never actually modifies the HEVC stream. If I demux it from the created M2TS the output is identical to what went in. What appears to be happening is that TSMUXER fails to recognize some of the frames -- and they don't get a timestamp for playback and (apparently) get lost in the PES packet of the previous frame. Not positive about that... guessing. I'll need to pull out the PES packets to know for sure.

The bottom line is that I'm not sure how long all this might take -- but Thanksgiving is out of the picture.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; Today at 18:58.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 23:50   #28096  |  Link
LowDead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 154
Would this thread be of any interest?

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=174491
LowDead is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.