Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th November 2017, 16:32   #47181  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test View Post
Hello,

i bought a Nvidia 1050Ti for my 4k Beamer and madvr. But as i see, this card is not fast enough for this job. In this thread, the 1060 is recommended, but is this card really fast enough for high settings (also for 1080p and 720p upscaling to 4k)?

Thank you!
I would go for a 1070. I tested a 1060 and a 1070 before I decided to stay with the 1070. You just have a bit more room for higher settings or image prozessing (like adaptive sharpen or so)
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, EVGA GTX1070 16 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi 17.5, latest MadVR (x64), LAV Filter latest nightly (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)

LG 4K OLED (55C7D)
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2017, 16:34   #47182  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,561
and how do you define high settings?
a 1050 ti can run madVR with advanced settings so it is working as it should.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2017, 17:28   #47183  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 416
The main problem I ran into with 4k on my 1060 is that Smooth Motion takes a lot of juice when you apply it to (upscaled) 4k content. So make sure you turn off Smooth Motion unless you have a lot of untapped processing power.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2017, 18:01   #47184  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 224
Quote:
and how do you define high settings?
a 1050 ti can run madVR with advanced settings so it is working as it should.
depends. If you want to have enough resources for 60fps material, different resolution files with high quality upscaling settings like NGU "high" or "very high" luma and high chroma settings like NUG AA with different rendering options like noise reduction, sharpening and s.o. I would go for 1070. I am completely happy with it. With the 1060
I sometimes reached the limit and /or the card was getting very hot. With the 1070 the card stays relaxed and silent even with high quality settings.
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, EVGA GTX1070 16 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi 17.5, latest MadVR (x64), LAV Filter latest nightly (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)

LG 4K OLED (55C7D)
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2017, 18:22   #47185  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Its stored as BT.2020, 10-bit 4:2:0. The actually used colorspace could be smaller, and usually is in fact DCI-P3 for now. The HDR metadata tells you this: BT.2020 -> DCI-P3 means that its using a BT.2020 container with DCI-P3 color volume, as described above.
The more important part about HDR however is that its stored using a different transfer function (ie. how to convert it to RGB), called PQ (Perceptual Quantizer, standardized as SMPTE ST 2084), and if you use the wrong one it looks washed out - for example, if a renderer doesn't support HDR, or the info has gone missing. There is no "cheating", it just looks washed out when its being mis-interpreted by the renderer. You can't look at a YCbCr image without some sort of processing...

The HDR10 metadata is stored with every HEVC CVS (coded video sequence, what most people call "GOP"), so its repeated regularly in the bitstream. In a file format like MPEG-TS, as used on Blu-ray, this is important, because there are no global headers at the beginning of the file, or anything like that.
It doesn't contain a whole lot. It contains the color volume (ie. it specifies that the mastering was done in DCI-P3, for example), the white point, and the min/max luminance of the mastering display.
Thanks for the basics, nev.
Now I'm curious about the displaying part.
__________________
MSI GE60-0NC(i73630QM,16GB,IntelHD4000(10.18.10.4653)+GeForceGT650m(2GB,v355.98)+muxless,1920x1080@60Hz,Plextor M5M 256GB SSD,Win8.1x64+MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR)+Yamaha RX-A830+LG 55LD650(1080p@24/25/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2017, 18:34   #47186  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 213
Many things fixed with 388.31 , get it now. FSE should work now. powerdvd16 17 3D is fixed , it's not blinking black every second but there is no 3D effect. so it's not 100% fixed. Also when trying to watch 3D movie for some reason PowerDVD think it's HDR and set to 12bit , that's when using the Default Color in NVCP . if changing it to NVidia color and 8 bit RGB then it stays 8 bit which is the correct for 3D bluray.



Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post

The data is passed as untouched YCbCr to madVR, which then converts it to RGB. Either for pass-through, or conversion to SDR.
BT.2020 -> DCI-P3 means that its using a BT.2020 container with DCI-P3 color volume, as described above.
For LG OLED55C6 TV should I choose Colour Gamut Normal/Auto or Wide for HDR movies ? because the Calibrators are saying to use Normal/Auto .

DCI-3 is for Dolby Vision or what does it mean ?

BT.2020 means it's HDR ?

are they both different or the same ? How would I know if I need to use Wide or Normal/Auto with the HDR movies I watch ?

Last edited by x7007; 15th November 2017 at 19:01.
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2017, 19:00   #47187  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by x7007 View Post
For LG OLED55C6 TV should I choose Colour Gamut Normal/Auto or Wide for HDR movies ? because the Calibrators are saying to use Normal/Auto .
depends on your display calbration target my screne is in native gamut with a 3D LUT
Quote:
DCI-3 is for Dolby Vision or what does it mean ?
it's a colorspace like BT 709 bt 601 or BT 2020.
Quote:
BT.2020 means it's HDR ?
no BT 2020 cna be used on SDR too but in general it is HDR
Quote:
are they both different or the same ? How would I know if I need to use Wide or Normal/Auto with the HDR movies I watch ?
this highly depends on your HDR settings and calibration setting can or mostly are different depending on the source.

how your TV deals with this well you have to figure that out by yourself. my guess is the gamut setting is ignore for HDR or different for HDR and SDR.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2017, 19:39   #47188  |  Link
Test
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset1982 View Post
depends. If you want to have enough resources for 60fps material, different resolution files with high quality upscaling settings like NGU "high" or "very high" luma and high chroma settings like NUG AA with different rendering options like noise reduction, sharpening and s.o. I would go for 1070. I am completely happy with it. With the 1060
I sometimes reached the limit and /or the card was getting very hot. With the 1070 the card stays relaxed and silent even with high quality settings.
This. I want to go f.e. NGU high with 720p and 1080p Content - also with 720p content with 50fps. Also the new setting "Noise Reduction" is not doable together with jink (chroma) + artifact removable settings. If i buy a new card, i want that all these options together should work smooth.
Ive clocked my 1050Ti 230Mhz higher (card has no 6pin power plug) - so there is not more possible and the card is operating on the limit.

Will buy a 1070 i think. First i thought im waiting on Volta, but thats too long for me (no release date known).

Thank you very much guys - this helped a lot!

Last edited by Test; 15th November 2017 at 19:44.
Test is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2017, 19:54   #47189  |  Link
Razoola
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by x7007 View Post
Many things fixed with 388.31 , get it now. FSE should work now. powerdvd16 17 3D is fixed , it's not blinking black every second but there is no 3D effect. so it's not 100% fixed. Also when trying to watch 3D movie for some reason PowerDVD think it's HDR and set to 12bit , that's when using the Default Color in NVCP . if changing it to NVidia color and 8 bit RGB then it stays 8 bit which is the correct for 3D bluray.
Does this driver fix the issue with HDR not switching off after playback of a HDR movie?
Razoola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2017, 20:15   #47190  |  Link
mrmarioman
Registered User
 
mrmarioman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
Does this driver fix the issue with HDR not switching off after playback of a HDR movie?
Nope, just tried. It still turns on Windows' HDR and everyrhing looks washed out.
mrmarioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2017, 23:15   #47191  |  Link
nsnhd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test View Post
This. I want to go f.e. NGU high with 720p and 1080p Content - also with 720p content with 50fps. Also the new setting "Noise Reduction" is not doable together with jink (chroma) + artifact removable settings. If i buy a new card, i want that all these options together should work smooth.
Ive clocked my 1050Ti 230Mhz higher (card has no 6pin power plug) - so there is not more possible and the card is operating on the limit.

Will buy a 1070 i think. First i thought im waiting on Volta, but thats too long for me (no release date known).

Thank you very much guys - this helped a lot!
That's sad to hear since I also want to get a 1050ti and a 1070 is out of my price range. As luma should be given priority over chroma, if you let chroma at the minimum "bilinear", what the maximum luma upscaling the 1050ti can archive ? Is NGU sharp high possible with certain noise reduction settings by luma upscaling 720/1080p to 4k ?
nsnhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2017, 00:09   #47192  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,714
1050Ti just ain't strong enough, just spend as much as you can afford, 1060 minimum.. or else trade offs galore.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2017, 02:17   #47193  |  Link
austonrush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsnhd View Post
That's sad to hear since I also want to get a 1050ti and a 1070 is out of my price range. As luma should be given priority over chroma, if you let chroma at the minimum "bilinear", what the maximum luma upscaling the 1050ti can archive ? Is NGU sharp high possible with certain noise reduction settings by luma upscaling 720/1080p to 4k ?
Save up and get a 1070! you'll regret going lower, as you'll have to compromise on settings.
austonrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2017, 07:31   #47194  |  Link
Test
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 3
As the two guys above correct said - the 1050Ti is too slow. I tried to put chroma on the lowest Setting (DXVA i think), but if you want to use some of the image enhancement-options, you have no chance with this card.

And if you get a compromise you have always to hope that the power and temperature target are not reached and if so the card is clocking down. Apart from that, the card is heating my whole case while using madvr - so at the end of a film, the card is getting louder and louder and hotter.

So it is f.e. not possible to use with 4k the Noise Reduction. And 60fps-Content like Streaming or Billy Lynn - there you have to add an additional Profil where everthing is on DXVA.

Its the same thing with 720p content. Ive tried different settings to have a better picture with DVBViewer, but 720p50 upscaling to 4k => you can only usw low settings (in combination with 1 or 2 Image enhancement options) - but things like as i said noice reduction or reduce artefacts - no chance.

Last edited by Test; 16th November 2017 at 07:33.
Test is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2017, 07:47   #47195  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,714
1050 Ti would be fine with Full HD screen, it's slightly faster than my 960 and I find that quite capable for the majority of my content. Most of the work goes into 480-720 resolution stuff but if you're using a >1080 res screen now you'll want to put more work into that resolution and that requires quite a bit more grunt. A 1060 on a full HD screen should give you the ability to do almost anything but with a 4K screen you'll only just get by and make compromises. Don't get the 1050 Ti, waste of time.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2017, 09:05   #47196  |  Link
yukinok25
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 17
Hi madshi, I keep having crashes every time I move the seekbar back and forth, it started to happen from the 0.92.3/4 if I recall correctly.

When you have time, can you please check my crash report?:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/t7ahmp...ash+report.txt

Thank you very much!
yukinok25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2017, 09:38   #47197  |  Link
sat4all
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 22
Hi Madshi,
Any plans for the near future, to move black bars detection from cpu to gpu. as now with hdr content copy-back decoding put too much load on the cpu. arround 70% in my case ''i5-7500T''.

kind regards

Last edited by sat4all; 16th November 2017 at 09:40.
sat4all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2017, 10:38   #47198  |  Link
Razoola
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmarioman View Post
Nope, just tried. It still turns on Windows' HDR and everyrhing looks washed out.
My issue is with it not turning off after playback ends and not things looking washed out.
Razoola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2017, 10:41   #47199  |  Link
foozoor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by sat4all View Post
Hi Madshi,
Any plans for the near future, to move black bars detection from cpu to gpu. as now with hdr content copy-back decoding put too much load on the cpu. arround 70% in my case ''i5-7500T''.

kind regards
He's already mentioned it.
You'll have to wait and just stop using this feature for this type of videos.
foozoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2017, 12:22   #47200  |  Link
mrmarioman
Registered User
 
mrmarioman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
My issue is with it not turning off after playback ends and not things looking washed out.
If you have an Nvidia card it shouldn't turn on at all. That's not how it should work with Nvidia. And colors are wrong, at least for many people.
mrmarioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.