Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th September 2018, 14:36   #52361  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpainlesskodi View Post
Odd, my Receiver is reporting 8bit
I'll double check later today and I'll report back.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1809 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 398.11 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2018, 14:43   #52362  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 829
In KODI DS player there is full screen, full screen windowed and just windowed, HDR doesnt work in just windowed, has to be full screen or full screen windowed to work, although that didnt for my NVIDA 1050 card either but I havent bothered to try that for months so that must have changed.

Not sure i'f have a use for none full screen mode though.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2018, 16:56   #52363  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 227
Hi folks. I'm humbled to request your help. I know it's off topic somewhat. Please don't rip me new one for asking here. I'm desperate! I've sought confirmations for months in the appropriate forums elsewhere and it fell on deaf ears. I know many of you are testers and perhaps in the same boat, so to speak, and I value your conclusions. Here is the problem and why it's related to madVR somewhat:

Presently using official KODI v.17.6 with external players including MPC players with LAV and madVR and all is well. I want to start using official KODI v.18 and all is not well anymore. I want to present the problem to its bugtracker so it can be addressed before v.18 releases or goes release candidate (RC). I've been using nightlies since the 1st one up to the last.

An nVidia resolution change needs to occur when a 3D MVC frame packed (iso) title is called played via MPC, LAV, and madVR. I use a native refresh rate of 2160p for everything in my full chain 4k setup. Resolution needs to change from 2160p to 1080p for 3D compliance. madVR provides this change as it always has. KODI v.18 crashes when it does. v.17.6 does not and never did. I have no idea if it's my problem exclusively or widespread? No one has been willing to confirm or deny after asking many times, many different ways, in many different threads. So I'm here... begging and infringing.

What is required:
4k display.
nVidia GPU for certain or perhaps an AMD. ( I am unable to determine if other GPU's are affected) Also, I've tried with various drivers which made no difference.
Official KODI v.18 beta or nightly. No amount of settings fiddling made any difference such as fullscreen, windowed, fullscreen windowed, etc.
*note* You do not need 3D capability or even a title for that matter.

How to reproduce:
Open GPU control panel and set native resolution to 2160p. No other settings matter afaik.
Open KODI v.18 and leave it open. (no particular settings required afaik except that the GUI is set to 2160p which will be automatic since it matches GPU setting)
Window or any other method KODI so you can access your open GPU control panel.
Change resolution in GPU control panel to 1080p. You may have to change it back to 2160p before KODI crash happens but I didn't.

Either all is well with KODI and the crash is all my own or you too will notice KODI has resized, the GUI looks primitive, and it is unresponsive leading to a MS error report the moment you try to interact with the GUI.

Sorry to intrude. Please confirm or deny if possible and thank you in advance...
P.S. Reply here if acceptable and/or to thread linked in my signature and thank you again.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D

Last edited by brazen1; 10th September 2018 at 17:09.
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2018, 17:00   #52364  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 667
turn on logging and scroll through the created file in appdata kodi folder
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2018, 17:13   #52365  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 227
Log was 1st diagnostic I did. Nothing to indicate in it. Advanced debug log can't create either. Crashes.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2018, 17:30   #52366  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 829
if you start KODI with your desktop in 1080p mode and setup KODI gui as 1080p does it still crash?
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2018, 17:38   #52367  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 227
Of course not but using 1080p with a 2160p chain is not very appealing for desktop use and/or KODI GUI usage. Again, 17.6 works perfectly and always has. V.18 is a different story. Just seeking tester(s) duplicating exactly what I asked so I can submit a bug report on the bugtracker. Without a confirmation, it's futile. To make matters worse, there is only one Windows dev and he doesn't have any 4k test bed afaik. Thanks for your input though...
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D

Last edited by brazen1; 10th September 2018 at 17:42.
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2018, 17:48   #52368  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 829
I have a bug when using MADVR refresh rate switching from 4k to 1080p when playing MVC 3D stuff, this is why i was asking. Try turning off refresh rate switching in MADVR and have your external player do it maybe?
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2018, 18:09   #52369  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 227
I'm using official KODI. DSPlayer has your problem (built on 17.6 which is not version problem for me at all in any way). Turning off refresh rate in official KODI has nothing to do with external player refresh rates, only KODI internal VideoPlayer (which in your case is DSPlayer). Fwiw, I did turn it off/on just for kicks when testing but made no difference. I ran into problems in the past using match refresh rates in MPC external player(s) with no refresh rate control in madVR. Switching to allowing madVR to control them instead of the player(s) worked perfect and always has been since.

The variable here is v.17.6 (working perfect) vs v.18 (problematic). Unless someone actually tests and denies my results. Hoping for a confirmation because if it's my very own problem and not widespread, I will never (fix) my setup because I've no idea what is to blame and will never know tbh.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D

Last edited by brazen1; 10th September 2018 at 18:14.
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2018, 18:36   #52370  |  Link
iSeries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 602
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazen1 View Post
or you too will notice KODI has resized, the GUI looks primitive, and it is unresponsive leading to a MS error report the moment you try to interact with the GUI.
I get this sometimes when I close a 4k HDR film, no problem going to HDR but when I close the player (MPC-BE as external player) and go back from HDR to SDR , Kodi (17.6) is resized to a 4:3 format and looks extremely low res with big icons. I have to kill it through task manager and as soon as its killed, the desktop is back to normal. This only happens going from HDR back to SDR, and not all the time. No problem when not using Kodi.
iSeries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2018, 18:57   #52371  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 227
Fwiw, I don't experience what you have using 17.6. You can see my specs in my sig to compare that might help you. Everything I use is the latest available except GPU driver which is 385.28 although for testing I've tried many others and revert back to 385.28 because all newer drivers introduce specific bugs detrimental to my usage and yours too if you cared. Also try ALT + F4 when closing player instead of letting player auto close (if you are using the setting). Also do exactly the opposite DSPlayer recommends, set KODI to 'use fullscreen' and madVR to use FSE. Problem solved I think. Sounding like others are having issues with 17.6 so v.18 would be out of the question for you guys to test if 17.6 isn't even working correctly for your setups. Maybe others will step up also. Really seeking tester(s) for my description if you are non-problematic with 17.6.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D

Last edited by brazen1; 10th September 2018 at 19:03.
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2018, 19:46   #52372  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpainlesskodi View Post
Odd, my Receiver is reporting 8bit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
I'll double check later today and I'll report back.
I have no idea why it seemed to work when I tested briefly last night. Although the levels are definitely fixed, the custom res doesn't seem to stick, even after it's been manually enabled. Even when you select 23p manually, the custom res (incorrectly labelled 24p) isn't selected automatically by MadVR anymore. So I do get 12bits, but with the crappy default nVidia refresh rate.

I'm not going to fiddle with drivers every time I reboot, so I'm back to 385.28.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1809 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 398.11 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2018, 20:09   #52373  |  Link
tij
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
this is not an osd bug.

the desktop still runs at 60 Hz while the GPU runs at 24 hz.

I am having same problem with this composition rate (not sure when it started definitely on Windows 1709 never noticed it noticed it only after 1803).

Was running Win10 1803 (build 17134.254) and GF1070 with 399.07 when noticed the problem. Since then tried 391.35 397.93 398.98 (drivers for which I recall it used to work correctly), but all exhibit same problem (trying to download latest 399.24 now)

So here is summary (both HD and SD material):

FSE: display 29.79, composition 60, D3D11 (10bit)
Fullscreen Windowed: display 29.79, composition 29.8, D3D (8bit)

Reason I start investigating it cause could not get Fullscreen Windowed to output 10 bit (actually if OS HDR is turn on Fullscreen Windowed does output 10bit but 3D with OS HDR flickers at low rate unwatchable)

Using LG OLED E6 that does not show refresh rate but can guess its probably receiving stated display rate (3D stuff in FSE also shows composition rate of 60, but 3D works this implies GPU sending 23 to TV otherwise, TV wont switch to 3D mode since there is no standard that defines 3D at 60 rate)

Also rendering times goes up by around 4ms when in FSE with that weird 60 composite rate (for both 2D and 3D HD and SD)

I don't think OSD report is wrong too can move mouse and see cursor but MadVR is still in FSE (bringing play control does drop MadVR to Fullscreen Window though)

What worries me is Windows 1803 somehow hijack MadVR (reimplemented its api?) so MadVR writes 23.97 to DWM (desktop window manager) instead of directly to screen DWM process it at 60 and then outputs to screen at 23.97 certainly would explain seeing cursor on FSE screen, unless I misunderstand FSE definition completely
tij is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2018, 20:39   #52374  |  Link
tij
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 7
I am wrong setting mouse cursor to have trail and the mouse disappears from FSE so Windows cannot draw anything on MadVR FSE at least exclusive is still exclusive

still wonder if MadVR directly send frames to display or have to pass through that 60fps composition desktop that somehow honors exclusivity mode (ie does not draw anything on FSE and does not allow other apps to do so too)

or maybe in 1709 DWM was temporary suspended when in FSE (so no composition rate can be reported in OSD) and in 1803 DWM still runs in background (and hopefully allows app that requested FSE to directly write to display)
tij is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2018, 22:07   #52375  |  Link
thighhighs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by tij View Post
Also rendering times goes up by around 4ms when in FSE with that weird 60 composite rate (for both 2D and 3D HD and SD)
Compared to windowed mode? Currently windowed mode show wrong and useless OSD, because it broken (by windows update).
Dont care match about FSE if it work fine. Also i hope new madvr build comes soon and 10bit back again for windowed mode.
thighhighs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2018, 04:07   #52376  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 527
I've tried the latest HDR convert/process test build and it is awesome on my plasma.
Previously I had to make a choice between natural skin tones and good highlights and saturated colours and now I can enjoy both.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2018, 07:03   #52377  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
I have no idea why it seemed to work when I tested briefly last night. Although the levels are definitely fixed, the custom res doesn't seem to stick, even after it's been manually enabled. Even when you select 23p manually, the custom res (incorrectly labelled 24p) isn't selected automatically by MadVR anymore. So I do get 12bits, but with the crappy default nVidia refresh rate.

I'm not going to fiddle with drivers every time I reboot, so I'm back to 385.28.
Yeah, way to go Nvidia!

Mine is exactly as you described, but, even though the custom refresh is not ticked in the NVCP, using Kodi Dsplayer to do the refresh switching it somehow manages to select it, so I have one drop frame every 1.2 days, but at 8bit.

Maybe one day....

Update: 399.24 is out, but still unable to select custom @ 12bit, but, performance has improved a fair amount, on my set up at least.

Branch Info:
399.07 WHQL: r396_00-312
399.24 WHQL: r399_07-8
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (19.7.5) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (1903), Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung UE55KS8000, Mission M33i speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64

Last edited by oldpainlesskodi; 11th September 2018 at 13:12. Reason: typo
oldpainlesskodi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2018, 07:06   #52378  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 178
@ el Filou - yes, it is very very good....fingers crossed Madshi adds his new detail recovery/sharpening algo selectable for all sources, as I think he has hinted at.
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (19.7.5) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (1903), Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung UE55KS8000, Mission M33i speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64
oldpainlesskodi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2018, 08:15   #52379  |  Link
Axelpowa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 16
Hi!

I have a doubt about how to downscale UHD the best way.

I run a JVC X7500, but the eshift feature softens the picture a lot, so I decided to set the desktop to 1080p and disable the eshift.

This way and with filters(image enhancements) in madvr I get more sharpness.

The doubt is, is it normal to have to use DXVA for downscaling in madvr? Its the only way, otherwise I get huge rendering times with any other algorithm (jinc, lanzcos, etc....)

My gpu is a gtx1080.

Regards!

Last edited by Axelpowa; 11th September 2018 at 09:02.
Axelpowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2018, 09:29   #52380  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,823
check your GPU power setting and make sure it is not set to optimal.

after you did that can you make a screen of the OSD?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.