Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Subtitles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd March 2009, 17:45   #21  |  Link
saint-francis
too much lurking
 
saint-francis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0xdeadbeef View Post
Therefore, if you want to convert the frame rate, you have to select the source and target frame rates manually.
How is this done? I see no option to specify frame rate. Only resolution. I actually see nothing about frame rates at all in your tool.

Fantastic tool BTW. I'm loving it. Thanks for all of your hard work.
saint-francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2009, 17:53   #22  |  Link
0xdeadbeef
Author of BDSup2Sub
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by saint-francis View Post
How is this done? I see no option to specify frame rate. Only resolution. I actually see nothing about frame rates at all in your tool.
Changing the frame rate is not visible in the main view. However, when you select "Save" in the file menu, an export dialog pops up where you can set the checkbox for "Change frame rate". If this checkbox is active, the source and target frame rate can be edited and the time stamps will be changed accordingly during export.

Last edited by 0xdeadbeef; 3rd March 2009 at 17:56.
0xdeadbeef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2009, 18:32   #23  |  Link
saint-francis
too much lurking
 
saint-francis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0xdeadbeef View Post
Changing the frame rate is not visible in the main view. However, when you select "Save" in the file menu, an export dialog pops up where you can set the checkbox for "Change frame rate". If this checkbox is active, the source and target frame rate can be edited and the time stamps will be changed accordingly during export.
Gotcha. Thanks.
saint-francis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2009, 23:57   #24  |  Link
turbojet
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,840
Hey thanks for the program it's definitely useful however I came across some subs that are misaligned that I reported here. If you could take a look at it be much appreciated.
turbojet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2009, 01:05   #25  |  Link
0xdeadbeef
Author of BDSup2Sub
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 478
How am I supposed to take a look if you didn't post a stream?
Besides, if two different tools which don't share a single line of code, show the same behavior, chances are that the stream is either buggy or uses an undocumented/unknown formatting feature.
Anyway, without a stream, nobody can tell for sure.
0xdeadbeef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2009, 03:25   #26  |  Link
~bT~
н∂-ƒαиαтι¢
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 1,005
how do i get the subs to show up in white rather than grey?
~bT~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2009, 05:57   #27  |  Link
turbojet
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,840
Here's one of the many streams, most sup's I've converted to 720p with BD-RB has shown the problem so I think it would be a pretty common issue. I just found BDSup2Sub earlier today so this is the first.
I think it is issues with the streams like you say, I've seen many strange displays with SupRip over the past year or so but they seemed to ocr ok so I didn't pay much attention to it. But these strange displays play fine in the retail somehow.

Last edited by turbojet; 4th March 2009 at 06:20.
turbojet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2009, 12:29   #28  |  Link
0xdeadbeef
Author of BDSup2Sub
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 478
Can you name a frame that you think is misaligned in this SUP?
On the first look, the window (WDS) locations and sizes seem to be valid.
BTW: how was this created? It contains DTS info, so it was probably not created with EAC3TO...
0xdeadbeef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2009, 17:40   #29  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska Dev-Helper
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 721
i converted some BD.sups and i finde a timestamp problem in the sub.idx
some subtitles are shown too long...

sample is here

load the sub/idx in SubtitleCreater an go to subtitle 135 and you will see what i mean.
Thats not a mistake of SC because during the playback in MPC the subtitle are shown too long.

hubble

Last edited by hubblec4; 4th March 2009 at 17:43.
hubblec4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2009, 18:30   #30  |  Link
turbojet
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,840
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0xdeadbeef View Post
Can you name a frame that you think is misaligned in this SUP?
On the first look, the window (WDS) locations and sizes seem to be valid.
BTW: how was this created? It contains DTS info, so it was probably not created with EAC3TO...
5, 8, 11-26, 29-40, 42-56, 58, 63-71, 73,75, 77, 81-83, 86-90, 92, 93, 95-101 are all the 'shifted' entries in the first 100.

It was demuxed with tsmuxer I will try eac3to and see if that changes anything.

eac3to threw an error
s06 Writing the destination file failed.
Aborted at file position 2052063232.

Last edited by turbojet; 4th March 2009 at 18:35.
turbojet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2009, 19:50   #31  |  Link
0xdeadbeef
Author of BDSup2Sub
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 478
@turbojet
Hm, looks like the windows are perfectly centered, but the image is quite a bit smaller than the window in this case (which it usually isn't). Since there is no window in the VobSub format, the image is displayed at the coordinates of the window and thus is shifted left. Problem is that I'm unsure how to handle this case (image smaller than window) in general. Maybe centering is an option, maybe there are flags in the stream that define what to do. I'll have a look.

@hubblec4
This is obviously a problem in the original stream (or created by the demuxer). If you go to frame 134 in BDSUP2Read, it shows an end time stamp "00:00:00:000". This is of course a bad thing to start with.
Since I wanted to add some time stamp inconsistency checking anyway, I might add some auto fix code as well.
0xdeadbeef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2009, 22:46   #32  |  Link
0xdeadbeef
Author of BDSup2Sub
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 478
Hope I didn't destroy more than I fixed this time. First post is updated again.

04.03.2009 1.2 -> 1.3
  • x/y ofs from start PCS is used instead of that from the window definition (fixes most misaligned subtitles)
  • Time stamp inconsistencies are reported and fixed
  • Swapped checkboxes in export dialog to emphasize the relation between the "Change frame rate" checkbox and the src/trg FPS
  • Added ini file to store frame size/position and load/save paths. Probably more to follow.
  • Added upscaling (indeed the scaling algorithm already supported it, only the factors were wrong)
  • Allowed all output formats for the moment. Dunno where this will take us, but it's worth a try.
  • Added layout panel that shows the location of the subtitle
  • Worked a bit on the user interface (less rescaling of components)
  • Removed warnings about empty palettes since this seems to be pretty common.
  • All editable fields of export dialog read out again before saving (indeed already done in 1.2)

Last edited by 0xdeadbeef; 5th March 2009 at 02:25.
0xdeadbeef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2009, 04:45   #33  |  Link
turbojet
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,840
Thanks!
1.3 got rid of the misaligned subs, at the least the ones I had remembered on 3 of 3 sup's so far. I'm considering it fixed and not going to try to remember those other ones that were misaligned. I'll let you know if I see it happen in the future.

One thing I notice in vista x64 is progress bar is very small screenshot

Last edited by turbojet; 5th March 2009 at 06:21.
turbojet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2009, 06:22   #34  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska Dev-Helper
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 721
Hello

Thanks for the new version.

A new problem i found.
sample

The subtitles are doubled and the first sub has no endtime in the timestamp. the problem i found on SupRead to. Only SupRip load and show the file correctly.

hubble
hubblec4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2009, 18:32   #35  |  Link
0xdeadbeef
Author of BDSup2Sub
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 478
Well, again, this is more a problem of the stream.

The section sequence of a typical stream looks like this:
PCS(start)/WDS/PDS/ODS/END PCS(end)/WDS/END

In your stream it looks like this:
PCS(start)/WDS/PDS/ODS/END PCS(start)/WDS/PDS/ODS/END PCS(end)/WDS/END

So the whole start sequence including the the palette and RLE compressed bitmap is duplicated, yet with different start times (PTS). IMHO this doesn't make sense since it wastes lots of space. So this is most probably a authoring fault or a problem with the demuxer.

Then again, I think I can add a workaround.
0xdeadbeef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2009, 00:37   #36  |  Link
0xdeadbeef
Author of BDSup2Sub
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 478
Just a small update, mainly for the last two issues reported.
Hubble/turbojet, could you give it a try and report back?

06.03.2009 1.3 -> 1.4
  • Tinkered around with progress dialog to solve problems under Vista. Can't test it though.
  • Added frame/sequence number checks/warnings
  • Added automatic elimination of double subtitle start frames.
0xdeadbeef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2009, 04:25   #37  |  Link
turbojet
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,840
I think progress bar looks ok now in vista.
Thanks again
turbojet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2009, 10:40   #38  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska Dev-Helper
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0xdeadbeef View Post
Just a small update, mainly for the last two issues reported.
Hubble could you give it a try and report back?

06.03.2009 1.3 -> 1.4
  • Added automatic elimination of double subtitle start frames.
Well done. it works pretty good. No doubling anymore.

Thank you
hubblec4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2009, 11:02   #39  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska Dev-Helper
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 721
Another problem i have found. please look at my sample

After transcoding the time to show this subtitles is very short. Example. Subtitle 78
here is the original length from SupRip:
78
00:08:47,068 --> 00:08:50,820
-Ich heirate.
-Was? Hör auf, ich versteh ihn nicht.

but in the new file.sub/idx (open it in SC)

78
00:08:49,070 --> 00:08:50,822
-Ich heirate.
-Was? Hör auf, ich versteh ihn nicht.

the endtime seems to be correct but the starttime is too late and nobody can read this subtitle in this short time.


hubble

Last edited by hubblec4; 6th March 2009 at 11:10.
hubblec4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2009, 12:14   #40  |  Link
0xdeadbeef
Author of BDSup2Sub
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 478
Damnit, how many samples do you actually have ?

I will have a look this evening. However I assume that this is another case of stream inconsistency that SupRip detects and fixes. I just fear that each workaround added might create new problems. Also with all that stream bug fixing I somehow don't find the time to continue core development.
0xdeadbeef is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.