Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th June 2014, 12:28   #17601  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,348
Forgot to push the ffmpeg repo, apparently. All fixed.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2014, 18:02   #17602  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,348
LAV Filters 0.62.0
Code:
LAV Splitter
- Fixed: The filtered Forced Subtitles stream did not properly send all related subtitle data in some cases

LAV Video
- NEW: Implemented a WMV9 MFT decoder to replace the old DMO decoder for VC-1/WMV3 on Windows 7 and above
- NEW: Support for VP7 video
- Fixed: Multi-threaded video decoding could result in a handle leak on some systems
- Fixed: Video processing was slow on Windows XP due to inefficient memcpy use
- Fixed: DVD subtitles could overlap on some discs

LAV Audio
- Fixed: Dynamic format switching to an audio stream with a different sample rate did not work in some cases
Download: Installer (both x86/x64) -- Zips: 32-bit & 64-bit

Mostly pushing this release to get updated ffmpeg libraries out, as well as not cause the new things to rot too long.

WMV9 MFT

As it appears, the WMV9 DMO decoder is kinda broken on Windows 8.1, it doesn't properly identify interlaced videos anymore, which causes them to never engage deinterlacing.
To solve this problem, I've implement a new wrapper around Microsofts decoder, using the MFT (Media Foundation Transform), instead of the DMO. DMOs are a tech from Windows XP and before, and are really old and deprecated, while MFTs are new and clearly better supported - plus getting the information I need out of it was actually quite a bit easier than with the DMO before.

Note that this has no influence on anything DirectShow, LAV is not a Media Foundation filter all of the sudden, it just happens to use the WMV9 MFT, nothing else changes.

Anyway, have fun, and as always report any regressions you find.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2014, 08:33   #17603  |  Link
meetajhu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 22
Hi nevcairiel, i created 2 icons or logo's for your lav filters hope you like it

Audio icon :

Video icon:
meetajhu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2014, 09:20   #17604  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,784
I doubt they are easily recognizable at 16×16 in the SysTray...
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2014, 09:39   #17605  |  Link
meetajhu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
I doubt they are easily recognizable at 16×16 in the SysTray...
These are just concept images the final images will be properly scaled and i'll create a system tray icon for each of them.
meetajhu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2014, 12:19   #17606  |  Link
Qaq
AV heretic
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 422
Thanks for the new version!
Qaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2014, 09:46   #17607  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,901
LAV Video decoder Properties -> Formats , still say "Use Microsoft WMV9 DMO decoder ....".

Also, having installed both versions (x86 & x64), I realized that whatever change I do to one version properties (for example x86 from DXVA native to DXVA copy-back), it happens also to the other version (x64) and the opposite.

Is it normal ?
__________________
Win 10 x64 (19042.572) - Core i5-2400 - Radeon RX 470 (20.10.1)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all

Last edited by NikosD; 14th June 2014 at 10:25.
NikosD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2014, 22:30   #17608  |  Link
Finnish Flash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Finnish Flash View Post
Hey nev, awesome job with the decoder, mate!

I've been using LAV + MPC-HC for streaming MPEG-TS from my ISP's recording service. Aside from the playback taking some extra seconds to start comparing to VLC, it's working very well.

In order to be able to rewind and fast-forward and get the full duration of a file instead of just a couple of seconds from the beginning, I have to insert the following to registry:
Code:
[Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\http]
"Source Filter"="{B98D13E7-55DB-4385-A33D-09FD1BA26338}"
This enables splitting video and audio from HTTP protocol with LAV Splitter, right?

Could you make this a default setting, or is there some downside to this? I mean, this could help someone else, too.
I'd like to point out that the latest version, spesifically the latest FFMPEG update, significantly shortened the loading times (I'd say about 5 to 10 times), so absolutely great!
Finnish Flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2014, 11:53   #17609  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,302
Nev, it seems I have some MPEG-1 videos that LAV Video doesn't decode. Windows MPEG's decoder is used instead.

Here's one that does decode with LAV Video: http://www.mediafire.com/watch/ajj0mc8z4874kf4

And here one that doesn't: http://www.mediafire.com/watch/s867ud5hbond1a8
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2014, 13:27   #17610  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by STaRGaZeR View Post
Nev, it seems I have some MPEG-1 videos that LAV Video doesn't decode. Windows MPEG's decoder is used instead.

Here's one that does decode with LAV Video: http://www.mediafire.com/watch/ajj0mc8z4874kf4

And here one that doesn't: http://www.mediafire.com/watch/s867ud5hbond1a8
On my computer, the second sample plays fine with the latest LAV Video & Splitter in Graphstudio.

BTW, you should already have learned how to use MediaFire in the RIGHT way

Quote:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/s867ud5hbond1a8/EP3TeaserTrailer.mpg

Last edited by filler56789; 15th June 2014 at 13:47.
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2014, 15:10   #17611  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,302
Funny, only happens when playing in MPC-HC, LAV Video is used for both in GraphStudioNext. No idea what could be causing it, settings are the same of course.

Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
BTW, you should already have learned how to use MediaFire in the RIGHT way
I know how to use MediaFire, it's just that I consider the people on this forum smart enough to press the "Download" button right by the video preview I purposedly used. Guess I'll have to make an exception with you from now on
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2014, 15:14   #17612  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by STaRGaZeR View Post
I know how to use MediaFire
That's just your opinion alright
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2014, 19:26   #17613  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
That's just your opinion alright
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2014, 19:27   #17614  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by STaRGaZeR View Post
Funny, only happens when playing in MPC-HC, LAV Video is used for both in GraphStudioNext. No idea what could be causing it, settings are the same of course.
I took the time to confirm it, if the problem is not on your machine, then
it is in the most recent builds of MPC-HC (which I don't use BTW ~~
I tested the sample with MPC-HC Lite 1.6.8.7391 and MPC-BE 1.4.3.4793).
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2014, 22:43   #17615  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska find' ich toll
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,380
hi nev

the chapter names are displayed not correct, could you fix this please?
Attached Images
 
hubblec4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2014, 01:34   #17616  |  Link
Vasilich
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Germany, Mayence
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by hubblec4 View Post
the chapter names are displayed not correct, could you fix this please?
in what program do you see that? have you tried to use other player?
On the screenshot i just see that one piece of software cannot display chapter names in UTF-8, not more.
Vasilich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2014, 02:49   #17617  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by hubblec4 View Post
hi nev

the chapter names are displayed not correct, could you fix this please?
I'm quite sure that proper UTF-8 chapter names are being processed correctly, so you should ideally check if they are correctly encoded in the file.

In any case, a file showing the problem would be good.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2014, 09:47   #17618  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska find' ich toll
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
I'm quite sure that proper UTF-8 chapter names are being processed correctly, so you should ideally check if they are correctly encoded in the file.

In any case, a file showing the problem would be good.
ok sorry. i found the issue.
hubblec4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 04:11   #17619  |  Link
Nachbar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 33
Hello, I am trying to do some complex stream selection rules in the advanced section but its not working. Here is what I got going:

jpn|d:eng|d;jpn|!d:eng|!d

so if jpn audio is default then load english subtitle that is default and if jpn audio is not default then load english subtitle that is not default. However what ends up happening is that it loads the jpn audio but it doesn't load any subtitles at all. I guess its only looking at that I set preferred audio in the dialog above to jpn,eng.

I am doing this because some anime I have are english audio default and the default subtitle track is for signs/songs. However everything else I have is japanese audio default with default full english subs. If there is an easier way to do this that I am overlooking let me know. The main problem I am having is the usual jpn:eng chooses the first track which on this particular anime is the english signs rather than full subs.

My guess is that the code doesn't look at whether the audio track has been flagged default or not so its simply not working there because it is expecting a three letter value and doesn't know what jpn|d means.

Last edited by Nachbar; 18th June 2014 at 04:47.
Nachbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2014, 05:30   #17620  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nachbar View Post
Hello, I am trying to do some complex stream selection rules in the advanced section but its not working.
Having this approved would help with that.
Nev can we get this requested feature of selecting subtitles by substring match added in LAV?

Last edited by ryrynz; 18th June 2014 at 05:32.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.