Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd November 2016, 22:01   #40661  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sp00kyFox View Post
not assuming that people don't know what they talking about would be. you're making one wrong assumption after the other instead of conceding that your discussion partner may be as competent as you are and taking him by the word.
Without continuing this discussion too much, if you test then specify you've tested and and post a relevant screenshot to what was stated in the post. And just perhaps if told it's a driver problem with your system, you could believe it rather than focusing on how wrong I am.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sp00kyFox View Post
the previous version I had was v375.63. before I posted here I did try all the driver versions from the nvidia archive beginning with v359.06 (1.12.2015) with no avail.
Unfortunate, I'd be surprised if all working versions had this issue though or perhaps it's something else related to the system.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sp00kyFox View Post
your assumption is wrong again. I did put several hours into it before I decided to ask if someone else knew this problem. which did help.
Fair enough, your assumption was wrong also. And yes StinDaWg I know when to use that word, talk about a petty post.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2016, 22:59   #40662  |  Link
Sp00kyFox
Registered User
 
Sp00kyFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Without continuing this discussion too much, if you test then specify you've tested and and post a relevant screenshot to what was stated in the post. And just perhaps if told it's a driver problem with your system, you could believe it rather than focusing on how wrong I am.
the screenshot in my initial post was relevant to the problem, that's why I posted it. I even explicitily stated that it is not a performance or heat problem, knowing that this will be the first thought of some people. and it's not a question of believe. I just already considered the idea that it might be a driver problem. maybe it is but then it is not something that is specific to a certain version and thanks to your information we know that this can't be the only causing factor since you're using the same driver version without this problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Unfortunate, I'd be surprised if all working versions had this issue though or perhaps it's something else related to the system.
well it must be then. perhaps it is the GPU and the factor is more specific than the overall architecture type.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Fair enough, your assumption was wrong also.
I had various theories about the problem that haven't worked out so far. I'm still interested to hear what 32bit player you were using though.
Sp00kyFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2016, 23:31   #40663  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sp00kyFox View Post
the screenshot in my initial post was relevant to the problem, that's why I posted it. I even explicitily stated that it is not a performance or heat problem, knowing that this will be the first thought of some people.
Pays to have what you say and what you link match for reference in future, but that wasn't that big a deal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sp00kyFox View Post
I had various theories about the problem that haven't worked out so far. I'm still interested to hear what 32bit player you were using though.
It won't be related to the player. I used MPC-BE x86.
Given that this issue occurs with quite different systems in the same area (32 bit OpenCL) it might possibly not be a driver bug. This will not be easy to troubleshoot, I can't recall ever having visual corruption with NNEDI3.
Did you try what huhn suggested? Also did you try running the reset defaults batch file in the madVR directory? I've found this to fix the odd issue like this over the years.

Also, just for the hell of it test madVR 0.87.21 & 0.87.0 which are the first revisions where NNEDI3 made an appearance in case any madVR code changes have affect on the output.

Last edited by ryrynz; 24th November 2016 at 00:10.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2016, 23:45   #40664  |  Link
Kotik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by VHT View Post
You are not alone. I've had the same problem since the day one when I started usind madVR+LAV with 3d movies. Movie is fine but subtitles are in wrong depth. I've also tried different subtitle engines, original BluRay discs etc. but with no luck.
Nice to know that i am not the only one having this issue.
Kotik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 00:11   #40665  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 225
I've this issue, only running Madvr.

Only when reproducing (not in pause) and mostly noticeable on dark background, i've this sort of "flickering" like barely visible translucent horizontal bars. Like a sort of "signal interference". This can't be captured on screenshot.

What could be?
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 00:14   #40666  |  Link
Q-the-STORM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 174
//nevermind...

Last edited by Q-the-STORM; 24th November 2016 at 00:55.
Q-the-STORM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 00:25   #40667  |  Link
YxP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 99
Well NGU seems to be pretty damn awesome. I can use NGU-low for chroma AND both luma and chroma doubling with my AMD HD7850 GPU and the fan isn't even 100%. I know that at least luma doubling is working, because of the obvious quality change, but from what I quickly gathered from this thread, this might not be how it is supposed to be? Should my setup be struggling? OSD seems to be working. Anyways, I'm not using either chroma or chroma doubling NGU other than for testing purposes. However, bilateral-NGU could be interesting, if it's within reasonable performance requirements.

On a personal note, I'm very happy to see NGU to land, since this is probably the first time that even my friends, who don't normally care for picture quality, actually noticed that things on the screen changed when I switched from super-xbr 100 to NGU-low. Can't give higher praise to madshi than that.

@leeperry Looks like you still have your 7850 and 13-series drivers? Could you report some numbers for comparison? I'm on the latest 64bit crimson. Same card.

@ryrynz You saw it necessary to tell me that big screens don't matter, only the distance from the screen. You do have some attitude and nobody is being too much of a dick about it. Let's all be friends, shall we?
YxP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 00:29   #40668  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by YxP View Post
@ryrynz You saw it necessary to tell me that big screens don't matter, only the distance from the screen. You do have some attitude and nobody is being too much of a dick about it. Let's all be friends, shall we?
Here I'm looking at a 24" screen I'm about 1 1/2 feet away from it.
My 65" TV is about 2 1/2 meters away, my 24" screen encompasses more of my vision than the 65" TV does and I can resolve more detail too.
This isn't attitude it's simple science mate.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 00:34   #40669  |  Link
YxP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Here I'm looking at a 24" screen I'm about 1 1/2 feet away from it.
My 65" TV is about 2 1/2 meters away, my 24" screen encompasses more of my vision than the 65" TV does and I can resolve more detail too.
This isn't attitude it's simple science mate.
Don't you think anyone in the world would understand that? And especially the people on this forum?
YxP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 00:36   #40670  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by YxP View Post
Don't you think anyone in the world would understand that? And especially the people on this forum?
Pretty easy to see this for yourself. But anyway.. keep to madVR topic :P
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 00:59   #40671  |  Link
Georgel
Visual Novel Dev.
 
Georgel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 196
Someone please sticky this!!!!!

DO NOT install SVP on Pascal GPUs based setups!!!!!!!

I made the ugly mistake of trying to use SVP on an 1080, madVR + mpcHC setup. That thing broke my drivers, I alost had to reinstall windows. After uninstalling it, madVR and MPC HC kept crashing, even reinstalling them, erasing all registry entries did not fix it.

Keep in mind, SVP breaks the Nvidia driver entirely!

On NGU, I don't use it until the coil whine will maybe get a fix. I'm scared of why no game and nothing else causes coil whine, but madVR w/ NGU does, so I'll just use it after this gets solved...
Georgel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 01:07   #40672  |  Link
Sp00kyFox
Registered User
 
Sp00kyFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
It won't be related to the player. I used MPC-BE x86.
I was curious. but you're right, just tried the stable and the beta. no luck there. I think we can exclude the player as a factor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Did you try what huhn suggested? Also did you try running the reset defaults batch file in the madVR directory? I've found this to fix the odd issue like this over the years.
yes. I also did a new clean installation of madVR and tried changing various settings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Also, just for the hell of it test madVR 0.87.21 & 0.87.0 which are the first revisions where NNEDI3 made an appearance in case any madVR code changes have affect on the output.
weird. with these versions I can tell madVR to use NNEDI but it just refuses to do so. the picture is not affected at all (just plain image upscaling) and in the OSD NNEDI isn't mentioned.

I reinstalled the current version and used GPU-Z to see if there is something noticeable with the sensor data. but all is fine, no value reaches the limit when using NNEDI.
Sp00kyFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 01:13   #40673  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sp00kyFox View Post
weird. with these versions I can tell madVR to use NNEDI but it just refuses to do so. the picture is not affected at all (just plain image upscaling) and in the OSD NNEDI isn't mentioned.
Try 0.88.10 & 0.88.11
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 01:19   #40674  |  Link
plasma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgel View Post
Someone please sticky this!!!!!

DO NOT install SVP on Pascal GPUs based setups!!!!!!!

I made the ugly mistake of trying to use SVP on an 1080, madVR + mpcHC setup. That thing broke my drivers, I alost had to reinstall windows. After uninstalling it, madVR and MPC HC kept crashing, even reinstalling them, erasing all registry entries did not fix it.

Keep in mind, SVP breaks the Nvidia driver entirely!

On NGU, I don't use it until the coil whine will maybe get a fix. I'm scared of why no game and nothing else causes coil whine, but madVR w/ NGU does, so I'll just use it after this gets solved...
Maybe you are only one but I had no problems with my 1060 +svp+mdvr+mpc-hc. I could not find anything on the internet indicating that there is a problem with pascal gpus
plasma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 01:30   #40675  |  Link
Scyna
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Also, just for the hell of it test madVR 0.87.21 & 0.87.0 which are the first revisions where NNEDI3 made an appearance in case any madVR code changes have affect on the output.
Hmm madvr 0.87.21 works fine for me. I swap back to the latest madvr and back to nnedi3 not working. So something with newer Madvr broke nnedi3?

Edit: nm 0.87.21 nnedi3 doesn't work. it just defaults to jinc if you turn on neddi3.

Last edited by Scyna; 24th November 2016 at 01:39.
Scyna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 01:47   #40676  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 913
Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgel View Post
Keep in mind, SVP breaks the Nvidia driver entirely!
what?
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 18362| GPU Caps Viewer 1.42.4.0
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
Intel Xeon X5660 @2.80GHz
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 01:47   #40677  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scyna View Post
It just defaults to jinc if you turn on neddi3.
Yeah those earlier versions were pretty broken, try the other two I posted, I'm not sure if this has ever worked for your setups but it's worth a shot..
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 01:59   #40678  |  Link
Scyna
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Yeah those earlier versions were pretty broken, try the other two I posted, I'm not sure if this has ever worked for your setups but it's worth a shot..
yea same thing happens with both those versions.
Scyna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 02:39   #40679  |  Link
Scyna
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 33
So after testing with ryrynz. It was Nvidia cuvid the culprit when you have it enabled in LAV video.
Scyna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 02:41   #40680  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,278
I've confirmed this on my 960 as well with it falling back to Jinc, it only happens when using 32 bit playback. Nice one Scyna.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.