Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > One click suites for DVD backup and DVD creation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th March 2003, 12:45   #1  |  Link
Jayce
DVD2one Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 83
DVD2one new version out now (1.1!)

Here's a new version of DVD2one with the following new features:

- Full disk copy mode added.
Please note that the image quality will be less than when you use movie-only copymode, because there is more data to copy and also all soundtracks will be included.

- New system to calculate the compression ratio.
This should keep the image quality more stable.

- Improved the progress bar.
It should run continuously now for all movies.

- Added detection that you try to read directly from a protected DVD.
__________________
<-- Official DVD2one.com team member -->
Jayce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2003, 12:48   #2  |  Link
hakko504
Remember Rule One
 
hakko504's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 1,611
Nice. I'll check it out tonight.
__________________
/hakko

http://www.boardgamegeek.com
hakko504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2003, 15:53   #3  |  Link
Scarpad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 196
Well on the right track but you absolutely need to be able to select Audio streams doing ful disk. I never select all streams only the DD or DTS. This compromises image quality way too much.
Scarpad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2003, 16:37   #4  |  Link
Sofaking
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 7


cheers guys,ill check it out,im running it already and its again the fastest 1

edit: first movie(blade2) is alright, have past the test,theres quality loss,good to watch though (used the default settings=3289MB)
Have to test on that 1,anyways its working whitout a bug

takes 69 min to complete,conclusion dvd2one is fast

keep up the great work on this piece of software

Last edited by Sofaking; 20th March 2003 at 21:34.
Sofaking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2003, 17:53   #5  |  Link
wangofree
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 72
No news?

I'm surprised this new version isn't mentioned in the DOOM9 news section....
__________________
So many movies, so little time...
wangofree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2003, 18:16   #6  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,723
Just did my first movie -- looks good so far, will advise after burn and viewing on the bigscreen. There's a couple of good ways I can imagine to remove the extra audio streams before compressing... I'll try a couple and give some feedback.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2003, 18:31   #7  |  Link
monomer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 140
Hey, THANKS!
Personally, I was very satisfied with the previous version... this just "sweetens" the deal.
Keep up the good work!
monomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2003, 22:41   #8  |  Link
Lazza
DVDR Junkie
 
Lazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 116
v.1.1.1 out now.....

Quote:
There was a very small bug in the new compression ratio function, which could cause the program to crash. This is fixed now.
Lazza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2003, 23:39   #9  |  Link
DVC2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10
Just did a full copy of Yamakasi - PAL:

Original DVD:
Total filesize 7.429.886
Movie 6.225.656
Extras 1.204.210

DVD2ONE 1.1.1:
Total filesize 4.579.548
Movie 3.837.768
Extras 741.780


Everything tested out allright - all menus working fine - all extras selectable and playable - all audiotracks and subtitles present and selectable.
Quality SURPRISINGLY GOOD - naturally not CCE quality but definately acceptable considering the transcoding of the movie from 6.225.656 to 3.837.768 - I could show this dvd to everyone I know and noone would question it was the real thing.

And how long did this 1 to 1 copy including transcoding take ??

A staggering 19 min !!!!!!!! Yes you read it correct - 19minuttes total.

Simply incredible

Last edited by DVC2; 21st March 2003 at 00:00.
DVC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2003, 23:40   #10  |  Link
nyplayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 94
Unfortunately it doesn't remove the layer break when you do 1:1...This causes my ps2 to freeze at layer break.
nyplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2003, 23:49   #11  |  Link
DVC2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10
Ever considered getting a real dvd-player instead of using a gameconsole ? the ps2 is not exactly famous for its compatibility as a dvd-player Just Kidding

http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread....threadid=66369

ReneB has some comments on the "layer break issue"

Apart from this you must admit that 19 minuttes to create a 1 to 1 copy is pretty impressive

Last edited by DVC2; 21st March 2003 at 00:05.
DVC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2003, 23:52   #12  |  Link
nyplayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 94
LOL DVC2...

I do have good standalones and yes you cannot beat the timing...Just a minor bug I wanted to point out in case other's have problems. Overall I am very impressed!!!!
nyplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2003, 23:52   #13  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,723
I like it. The quality is very good. Sure wish I could dump a couple of languages and use that bandwidth for video, though.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2003, 23:58   #14  |  Link
DVC2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10
you can - using ifoedit before letting dvd2one do its thing.

not an optimal sollution I agree - but workable for now - untill they release a version of dvd2one where you can.
DVC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2003, 00:04   #15  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,723
Yeah. But I wish it didn't take so long... It takes almost half as long to scan and remove streams as it does to encode.


Man, I am really getting spoiled...
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2003, 00:06   #16  |  Link
DVC2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10
hehehe - I totally agree with you - I also hate the time it takes for ifoedit to do its stuff

Talk about spoiled - in the old days (which werent to long ago) we spent days creating one dvd/svcd/vcd whatever - now we moan about spending 20 minuttes with ifoedit - LOL

Last edited by DVC2; 21st March 2003 at 00:08.
DVC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2003, 08:09   #17  |  Link
hakko504
Remember Rule One
 
hakko504's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 1,611
  1. UPDATE: v1.1.1 is out. It will fix a crashing bug when you use full-disk copy.
  2. I think the main difference etween VCD/DivX ripping and DVD2DVD ripping is that the current apps for DVD2DVD ripping requires much more usertime. We must do more stuff, wait a while and then come back and do more in order to make good DVD2DVD copies. The old VCD/DivX was much more of work when you started the rip but then it ran for 10-20h unsupervised.
__________________
/hakko

http://www.boardgamegeek.com
hakko504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2003, 08:40   #18  |  Link
DVC2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10
I have to disagree just slightly - as I see it the current ways to do dvd2dvd ripping actually requires less usertime than before when ripping to vcd/divx if we settle for the same result (just a main title) or now also even for a 1to1 copy - both of these scenarios can be done in a 3 click environment and result is great. Theres not more usertime in this than there was before. Definately not.

The main difference now is we are spoiled and dont settle for either main movie or 1to1 copy - we want to controle EVERYTHING - we wont settle for movie, we also want menus, preferably moving menus at that - we wont settle for mpegaudio, we also want ac3 or dts - we wont settle for all audiotracks and extras, we want to customize and take away certain items only.

Our demands are way higher today for the final result than it was before - and still we want it finished before we finish our cup of coffee. Call me crazy but I think we are spoiled with the options we have and the things we can do today
DVC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2003, 11:52   #19  |  Link
dvman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 18
There is a new version of DVD2One... well sort of... ReneB said that they fixed another bug this morning an put it on their site without changing the version number...
__________________
//DVMan\\
dvman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2003, 15:18   #20  |  Link
mcentee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 35
New version looks good - just also wondering about the Audio/Sub stripping. Anyone got any preference for how to do this before DVD2One does it trick. IFOEdit was mentioned earlier, but I am unsure what the sequence- there must be a guide somewhere already!
mcentee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.