Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th December 2010, 20:48   #10841  |  Link
Skinleech
A.K.A Mangoat
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 203
I took delivery of a Blackgold 3620 DVB-T2 decoder yesterday so I can cap Freeview HD streams in the UK. I have got it set up with DVBViewer to record the incoming .ts streams - the broadcasts are 1440x1088/50i with AAC audio streams (AAC-LC afaik). Eac3to can correctly identify the streams in the source .ts but it can't proces the AAC tracks in anyway. For example, eac3to says the following when checking a recorded stream:

Code:
eac3to v3.24
command line: eac3to  "L:\Recorded TV\12-10_19-18-52_BBC HD_Wild China.ts"
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TS, 1 video track, 2 audio tracks, 1 subtitle track, 0:01:41, 50i
1: h264/AVC, 1440x1080 50i (16:9)
2: AAC, English, unknown parameters, -1718ms
3: AAC, English, unknown parameters, -1252ms
4: Subtitle (DVB), English
Bitstream parsing for tracks 2 and 3 failed.  <WARNING>
Demuxing these tracks may still produce correct results - or not.  <WARNING>
If I demux the tracks I get AAC files, but these still cannot be processed by eac3to. If I try playback in MPC, the audio is detected as a mpeg stream, and fails to play - no AAC filter is loaded. DVBViewer plays the recorded streams without issue. Is there any way to get eac3to to parse the AAC tracks, so I can convert them to ac3 - I can then edit the streams in VideoRedo.

Here's a sample:

http://www.freefilehosting.net/12-10...bbchdwildchina
Skinleech is offline  
Old 11th December 2010, 15:04   #10842  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinleech View Post
I took delivery of a Blackgold 3620 DVB-T2 decoder yesterday so I can cap Freeview HD streams in the UK. I have got it set up with DVBViewer to record the incoming .ts streams - the broadcasts are 1440x1088/50i with AAC audio streams (AAC-LC afaik).
...
Your Track 2 is a AAC LOAS-LATM.

After extract with eac3to you need convert this aac to a standard AAC with vlc:
Code:
"D:\your path\vlc.exe" -I dummy "China_2 DELAY -1718ms.aac" --sout #std{access=file,mux=mp4,dst="China_2_nolatm.mp4"} vlc://quit
Now you have a playable mp4:
Code:
Audio format : AAC-LC
Channels ....: 6
SampleRate ..: 48000 Hz.
Duration trak: 100.096 sec., (0h. 1m. 40.096s.)
BitRate .....: 315 Kb/s
You can use the mp4 to mux with video in a mkv/mp4 container or decode with NeroAacDec

Edit: your Track 3 (also LOAS-LATM) seems a:
Code:
Audio format : AAC-HE v2 (LC+SBR+PS)
Channels ....: 2
SampleRate ..: 48000 Hz.
Duration trak: 99.584 sec., (0h. 1m. 39.584s.)
BitRate .....: 63 Kb/s
but I get only silence.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 11th December 2010 at 20:57.
tebasuna51 is offline  
Old 11th December 2010, 16:32   #10843  |  Link
Skinleech
A.K.A Mangoat
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Your Track 2 is a AAC LOAS-LATM.

After extract with eac3to you need convert this aac to a standard AAC with vlc:
Thank you very much - just tried these steps and I now have a playable audio file! I assume the conversion is not lossless, i.e. some kind of header removal? Is it possible to go direct to ac3 via VLC? I don't use it at all.

With regards to the 2nd audio track, it is likely supposed to be silence - the 2nd track is designed to carry an audio description service, but only 2 - 3 programmes a day actually use the track.

Thank you for your assistance.
Skinleech is offline  
Old 11th December 2010, 20:48   #10844  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinleech View Post
I assume the conversion is not lossless, i.e. some kind of header removal?...
Yes, the conversion is lossless, the audio data in LOAS-LATM stream is the same than audio data in .mp4.

vlc remove LOAS and LATM headers and put the header parameters in the mp4 container.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline  
Old 12th December 2010, 11:59   #10845  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life's clearer in 4K UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 12,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinleech View Post
eac3to v3.24
command line: eac3to "L:\Recorded TV\12-10_19-18-52_BBC HD_Wild China.ts"
So BBC have decided to broadcast using AAC audio. The same as ITV. This move could set a precedent for all futue FTA HDTV channels in the UK

I wonder.... Is there any chance some kind person on this forum can "whip-up" an dedicated application to strip these LOAS/LATM headers from AAC streams?


Cheers
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
Old 12th December 2010, 18:35   #10846  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,430
Any chance of implementing working outputting to NUL? Currently if you output a track to NUL:\file.ext, eac3to just stalls a few seconds in, and NUL doesn't work at all.
Snowknight26 is offline  
Old 12th December 2010, 21:25   #10847  |  Link
xkodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
I wonder.... Is there any chance some kind person on this forum can "whip-up" an dedicated application to strip these LOAS/LATM headers from AAC streams?
there is already such application(s) available:

LOAS_LATM_to_ADTS.exe: LOAS/LATM AAC to ADTS AAC

(ADTS_to_RAW.exe: ADTS AAC to RAW AAC
LOAS_LATM_to_RAW.exe: LOAS/LATM AAC to RAW AAC)

File name: AAC_Tools_NA_0.1.zip File size: 148.64 KB

as well as the zip file includes the source code in Delphi - the same programming language in which eac3to is written and thus such conversion(s) could be included easily in eac3to too

Last edited by xkodi; 12th December 2010 at 21:29.
xkodi is offline  
Old 13th December 2010, 02:59   #10848  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by xkodi View Post
there is already such application(s) available:

LOAS_LATM_to_ADTS.exe: LOAS/LATM AAC to ADTS AAC

(ADTS_to_RAW.exe: ADTS AAC to RAW AAC
LOAS_LATM_to_RAW.exe: LOAS/LATM AAC to RAW AAC)

File name: AAC_Tools_NA_0.1.zip File size: 148.64 KB

as well as the zip file includes the source code in Delphi - the same programming language in which eac3to is written and thus such conversion(s) could be included easily in eac3to too
Yes, but don't work for me.

See this post http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=157467

Is the same soft than proposed in http://www.dvbviewer.tv/forum/topic/...ts-conversion/
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline  
Old 13th December 2010, 11:08   #10849  |  Link
Skinleech
A.K.A Mangoat
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Yes, the conversion is lossless, the audio data in LOAS-LATM stream is the same than audio data in .mp4.

vlc remove LOAS and LATM headers and put the header parameters in the mp4 container.
Great, thanks. I'm currently messing about with a decent workflow so I can pull the files into VRD4 to edit ad breaks etc.

Is it possible to apply the associated audio delay to the .mp4 output by VRD during the header removal, rather than setting it in the container?
Skinleech is offline  
Old 13th December 2010, 11:54   #10850  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinleech View Post
...
Is it possible to apply the associated audio delay to the .mp4 output by VRD during the header removal, rather than setting it in the container?
Sorry, I don't know a tool to convert +delay to initial AAC silence like eac3to/DelayCut can do with AC3/DTS/MP3.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline  
Old 13th December 2010, 14:27   #10851  |  Link
b66pak
Registered User
 
b66pak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Land Of Dracula (Romania - EU)
Posts: 934
demux the mp4 to aac and apply the delay then mux back to whatever container you need...
_
__________________
if you ask a question and somebody give you the correct answer don't forget to leave a "thank you" note...
Visit The Land Of Dracula (Romania - EU)!

Last edited by b66pak; 13th December 2010 at 14:29.
b66pak is offline  
Old 13th December 2010, 14:59   #10852  |  Link
Skinleech
A.K.A Mangoat
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 203
Thanks both.

I was hoping to avoid yet another step in the process, but it looks like I may just need to go with this. My testing today was:

Demux with eac3to
Convert audio with VLC
Mux video & AAC in .mp4m (with delay) to .ts with Tsmuxer
Edit .ts in VideoRedo4

Playback in TMT5 was OK on my dekstop, but it was way out of sync on my HTPC so I'll need to do a little more work.

Anyway, enough from me as these really are off topic posts for the eac3to thread.
Skinleech is offline  
Old 14th December 2010, 07:24   #10853  |  Link
gregt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
clash of titans not processed properly

Hi All,
I tried to extract the DTS track (#4) from this Blu-ray movie that I own and the resultant flac file had the wrong track or multiple tracks mixed together because the director's voice was heard over the regular movie audio. I looked at the streams and there was no single stream file for the movie so it looks like it is quite broken up.

Any ideas?

G
__________________
zap
gregt is offline  
Old 15th December 2010, 09:32   #10854  |  Link
Skinleech
A.K.A Mangoat
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregt View Post
Hi All,
I tried to extract the DTS track (#4) from this Blu-ray movie that I own and the resultant flac file had the wrong track or multiple tracks mixed together because the director's voice was heard over the regular movie audio. I looked at the streams and there was no single stream file for the movie so it looks like it is quite broken up.

Any ideas?

G
I would post your eac3to log for a start.
Skinleech is offline  
Old 17th December 2010, 07:25   #10855  |  Link
jd213
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
When extracting a Blu-ray Dolby TrueHD track, how do I make eac3to just demux it rather than decoding/encoding? I tried inputting "-core" after "output.thd+ac3" but it's still decoding the TrueHD with libav and encoding the ac3 core with libAften.
jd213 is offline  
Old 17th December 2010, 11:31   #10856  |  Link
nurbs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,460
No way to tell if you are doing something wrong if we don't know what you are doing.
nurbs is offline  
Old 17th December 2010, 12:02   #10857  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd213 View Post
When extracting a Blu-ray Dolby TrueHD track, how do I make eac3to just demux it rather than decoding/encoding? I tried inputting "-core" after "output.thd+ac3" but it's still decoding the TrueHD with libav and encoding the ac3 core with libAften.
Example:
Code:
eac3to v3.24
command line: "D:\Programa\eac3to\eac3to.exe"
 "D:\Test\hd_dolby_truehd.m2ts"
 2: "D:\Test\hd_dolby_truehd.m2ts_2.thd+ac3"
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
M2TS, 1 video track, 1 audio track, 0:01:34, 60i /1.001
1: h264/AVC, 1080i60 /1.001 (16:9)
2: TrueHD/AC3, 7.1 channels, 48kHz
   (embedded: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48kHz)
[a02] Extracting audio track number 2...
[a02] Creating file "D:\Test\hd_dolby_truehd.m2ts_2.thd+ac3"...
Video track 1 contains 2832 frames.
eac3to processing took 2 seconds.
Done.
without decode or encode anything.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 17th December 2010 at 12:05.
tebasuna51 is offline  
Old 18th December 2010, 18:30   #10858  |  Link
krosswindz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: kernel space
Posts: 245
I was wondering if eac3to will ever support encoding to mp3 audio as well. Then eac3to would be the one stop shop for me for audio conversion.
krosswindz is offline  
Old 18th December 2010, 20:34   #10859  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,718
Just wondering, is it possible to pipe eac3to's output (WAV) to LAME?
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline  
Old 19th December 2010, 01:01   #10860  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
Just wondering, is it possible to pipe eac3to's output (WAV) to LAME?
Of course:
eac3to input stdout.wav [-down2 -normalize] | Lame -V 4 - output.mp3

Also to Oggenc, or Aften (for 3 or 4 channels).
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.