Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Newbies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th January 2020, 11:45   #1  |  Link
Jamaika
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 697
Problem adding other links to the library

Hi

I would like to know how to add, remove, change directories that redirect to other creators' websites on github.com.

Cheers
Jamaika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2020, 23:56   #2  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
Please add more context (also to the title of your thread). What exactly are you referring to?
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊

Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 11th January 2020 at 00:00.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2020, 18:03   #3  |  Link
Jamaika
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 697
I meant specific directories e.g. charles @ 8377bb3. How do you add them?
https://github.com/team-charls/jpegls-wic-codec
Jamaika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2020, 20:14   #4  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
You probably want to read about Git submodules then, which is not specific to Github at all but a standard Git feature.

See here, for example:
* https://git-scm.com/book/en/v2/Git-Tools-Submodules
* https://chrisjean.com/git-submodules...-and-updating/
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊

Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 12th January 2020 at 20:16.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2020, 19:58   #5  |  Link
Jamaika
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 697
Thanks for the answers. I thought it was much simpler. It seems simple but I'm too stupid. Git module doesn't want to work. Apparently, the entire program must be created.
Code:
[submodule "jvetvvc/Lib/HDRTools"]
	path = jvetvvc/Lib/HDRTools
	url = git://gitlab.com/standards/HDRTools/tree/d624e507f92c61a47a2583cd482faeb529f8895d.git
[submodule "jvetvvc/Lib/svn_360Lib"]
	path = jvetvvc/Lib/svn_360Lib
	url = git://jvet.hhi.fraunhofer.de/svn/svn_360Lib/branches/360Lib-10.0-dev.git
[submodule "jvetvvc/Lib/VVCSoftware_VTM"]
	path = jvetvvc/Lib/VVCSoftware_VTM
	url = git://vcgit.hhi.fraunhofer.de/jvet/VVCSoftware_VTM/tree/54f92a9869137f6505b507112ee8f0c56d63af31.git
[submodule "jvetvvc/Lib/pthread_win32"]
	path = jvetvvc/Lib/pthread_win32
	url = git://github.com/ShadowsocksR-Live/pthreads4w/tree/5b7cfbbb0edf1c72e526f5491e3f55c21782464a.git
[submodule "jvetvvc/Lib/libgomp"]
	path = jvetvvc/Lib/libgomp
	url = git://github.com/gcc-mirror/gcc/tree/2c8297996a7ab3496c5d2f798cdbe4cab749468e/libgomp.git
[submodule "jvetvvc/Lib/mingw-std-threads"]
	path = jvetvvc/Lib/mingw-std-threads
	url = git://github.com/meganz/mingw-std-threads/tree/bee085c0a6cb32c59f0b55c7bba976fe6dcfca7f.git
Jamaika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2020, 22:04   #6  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamaika View Post
Thanks for the answers. I thought it was much simpler. It seems simple but I'm too stupid. Git module doesn't want to work.
Just follow the instructions in the second link I provided. To sum it up once again:

In order to add a sub-module to your Git repository, use the command "git submodule add <submodule_url> <directory>" (for example: "git submodule add https://code.videolan.org/videolan/x264.git libs/x264").

This will add the sub-module and create a file called ".gitmodules", if it does not exist yet. You normally do not create this file manually or edit it directly.

Once the sub-module has been added, the ".gitmodules" file and the new directory can be committed just like any other file. And, as always, your changes won't appear on the remote server (e.g. Github) until you push them!

That's it
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊

Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 13th January 2020 at 22:17.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2020, 14:43   #7  |  Link
Thishis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Just follow the instructions in the second link I provided. To sum it up once again:

In order to add a sub-module to your Git repository, use the command "git submodule add <submodule_url> <directory>" (for example: "git submodule add https://code.videolan.org/videolan/x264.git libs/x264").

This will add the sub-module and create a file called ".gitmodules", if it does not exist yet. You normally do not create this file manually or edit it directly.

Once the sub-module has been added, the ".gitmodules" file and the new directory can be committed just like any other file. And, as always, your changes won't appear on the remote server (e.g. Github) until you push them!

That's it
Thanks for link. I got to know to do it from the link you shared.
Thishis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.