Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th December 2017, 21:21   #47821  |  Link
Razoola
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 454
I know this is probably going to sound silly but could it be an idea that after madVR installs the bat file runs a seperate small exe to check what GFX card driver and OS version is installed. Then gives a message about known issues with that driver /setup combo?
Razoola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2017, 21:31   #47822  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,064
and who is going to maintenance and create this list and most important verify it?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2017, 21:46   #47823  |  Link
petran79
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 82
HP Laptop
Windows 10, ver 1709
Intel i7 6700HQ, 16 GB RAM, GTX 1060

Things is Madvr did not have tearing at all till now. Something with the latest update perhaps?

Unfortunately Gsync monitor is problematic. Some 2D games have issues running full screen (40 fp) or refuse to run at all

Because it supports only 40 and 75 hz. I have to use custom resolutions for 60hz but it doesnt solve the issue. Even with 60 hz there is tearing
petran79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2017, 21:46   #47824  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,251
That's what the forum is for, things get resolved eventually..
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2017, 22:17   #47825  |  Link
Goeggel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
to send 10 bit to the GPU driver you have to set your display to 10 bit.
Thank you for your prompt answer!

Nvidia display driver is set to RGB / 12 bpc / full dynamic range
madVR is set to PC levels / 10 bit and HDR passthrough

What exactly do you mean by "set your display to 10 bit"?
Goeggel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2017, 22:20   #47826  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
With nVidia (using 385.28 if Windows 10), as explained many times, you select in the nVidia CP 4K23p (apply), then you select RGB Full 4:4:4 12bits (apply). That's it. Then if the content needs more than 18Gb/s bandwidth in 12bits (say you play 4K60p content), the driver switches automatically to 4K60p RGB Full 8bits 4:4:4, and back to 12bits when the playback is over. There is no need for a script. But it doesn't work the other way around. If you are in 4K60p when you select the bandwidth, then you CAN'T select 12bits, you're limited to 8bits, simply because it's not possible to select more than 8bits in 4K60p 4:4:4.
ok, that does seem to work, however I thought I'd be able to preserve BTB now i'm using 444F-RGB but I then remembered my desktop would be crushed if I did which opens up an new set of problems. Seems to best option is to set FULL FULL FULL as suggested here.


http://kodi.wiki/view/Video_levels_and_color_space

What are you using?
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2017, 22:28   #47827  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,005
actually, i'm going to leave it on ybcr 420, my system is stable at the moment and I have a great picture with nothing to worry about, this introduces a new element if my system becomes problematic again . I'm going to wait to see if the FSE and black screen issues get fully fixed before I try a new setup but thanks for your advice, I wasnt expecting that to work to be honest, didnt think it switched colour spaces, only resolutions and hertz.

Cheers Manni / huhn
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2017, 22:35   #47828  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goeggel View Post
Thank you for your prompt answer!

Nvidia display driver is set to RGB / 12 bpc / full dynamic range
madVR is set to PC levels / 10 bit and HDR passthrough

What exactly do you mean by "set your display to 10 bit"?
i mena this:
https://abload.de/img/this76q43.png

@mclingo here is the madVR FAQ: https://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php...16&postcount=2

and about the black screen. this is a MAJOR issue and the reason i don't have a RX 480 anymore. contact the AMD support and make sue they fix this and yes i contacted them too i simply didn't accept a fundamental broken product for more than 6 months.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2017, 23:00   #47829  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,005
i have both, i still cant my 1050 stable with 3D, sometimes it works, sometimes I get a black screen, sometimes it just plays in 2D, my AMD card work fine every time, only problem iissue it crashes my PC on stopping sometimes if I don drop to 1080p desktop first. I dont watch 3D that often so its a good enough workaround, all my 2D, 4K and 4K HDR plays fine now, no issues at all.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2017, 10:51   #47830  |  Link
petran79
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 82
tearing problem solved for the time being.
Solution? Had to enter Nvidia Control panel Manage 3D applications and choose "Restore Defaults". Thing is I hadnt tampered with anything at all. Had to reinstall drivers because all of a sudden Nvidia Control Panel would not launch.

Windows 10 and Nvidia are even more screwed up than in the 90s....
petran79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2017, 11:34   #47831  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
With nVidia (using 385.28 if Windows 10), as explained many times, you select in the nVidia CP 4K23p (apply), then you select RGB Full 4:4:4 12bits (apply). That's it. Then if the content needs more than 18Gb/s bandwidth in 12bits (say you play 4K60p content), the driver switches automatically to 4K60p RGB Full 8bits 4:4:4, and back to 12bits when the playback is over. There is no need for a script. But it doesn't work the other way around. If you are in 4K60p when you select the bandwidth, then you CAN'T select 12bits, you're limited to 8bits, simply because it's not possible to select more than 8bits in 4K60p 4:4:4.
Does this end up with your desktop running at 23.976Hz?
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2017, 12:31   #47832  |  Link
nsnhd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
all my 2D, 4K and 4K HDR plays fine now, no issues at all.
What AMD card do you have, the RX550 ? Do you upscale 720/1080p to 4k with madVR ?
nsnhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2017, 12:40   #47833  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
Does this end up with your desktop running at 23.976Hz?
Only if you select 23p by default. Once this is set, you can set it to 60p if you prefer, but it will be 8bits. It will then switch to 12bits if you launch 23p to 30p content.

I prefer to have my desktop at 23p so that I limit the number of HDMI syncs (15 secs with the JVC!) when I launch content, as 99% of my content is 23p. That way going from MyMovies to content and back is seamless and near instant.

If I was gaming more often or using the HTPC for other things, I would set it to 60p, but it's an almost 100% dedicated HTPC, so it's set to what works best for video playback, and that's 4K23p RGB Full 12bits 4:4:4.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1909 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 441.66 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25/CMC V3.1
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2017, 14:06   #47834  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsnhd View Post
What AMD card do you have, the RX550 ? Do you upscale 720/1080p to 4k with madVR ?
Hi, RX550, it doesnt really have the power to do any high quality upscaling in MADVR so I just let me TV do it.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2017, 17:55   #47835  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 125
Why not? MadVR is typically used for upscaling. The RX 550 will do fine with Jinc, SuperRes and perhaps also with NGU medium.

The idea is that madvr performs upscaling better than your TV. This is the case for my TV and projector.

Last edited by HillieSan; 19th December 2017 at 18:00.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2017, 19:00   #47836  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 573
Jinc should be fine but NGU could be tricky, huhn says the Polaris cards have problems with NGU.
OTOH, I also have doubts a TV would upscale better than Jinc.
@mclingo, have you tried comparing your TV's upscaling with madVR's Jinc?
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2017, 19:26   #47837  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,064
the really important part is the Vram is it a 4 gb or not?
NGU low or med may wotj with 4 GB and it is not like you have to use NGU there are a lot of good alternatives in madVR.

in my personal experience it is not hard to beat a TV in scaling.
my panasonic TV is so bad at scaling that lanczos AR wins hands down. Tv scaler are usually totally over the top try hard scaler.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2017, 21:26   #47838  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by HillieSan View Post
Why not? MadVR is typically used for upscaling. The RX 550 will do fine with Jinc, SuperRes and perhaps also with NGU medium.

The idea is that madvr performs upscaling better than your TV. This is the case for my TV and projector.
i tried it a long while back on my RX 480 and it wasnt 100% smooth on higher settings, no point using lower settings as my TV will do just a good a job.

I guess its worth another look though.

what do you have your chroma and image upscaling set too?

The other issue is though what happens with 3D MVC stuff, that will only work in 1080p, I didnt try that last time.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2017, 21:51   #47839  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
Jinc should be fine but NGU could be tricky, huhn says the Polaris cards have problems with NGU.
OTOH, I also have doubts a TV would upscale better than Jinc.
@mclingo, have you tried comparing your TV's upscaling with madVR's Jinc?

good call, glad I tested it again, seems their drivers have improved, I can set NG sharp medium on image and jinc on chroma and get smooth playback, 3D MVC still works as my TV wont process a 3DMVC signal higher than 1080p.

i'll have a tinker and see what I can push it to.

EDIT - sadly best I an do on 4k HDR material is lanczos on chroma upscale, anything more and i get minor gliching, to my eye is see no difference with my TV upscale with super-res on LOW at this level.

Last edited by mclingo; 19th December 2017 at 22:01.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2017, 21:52   #47840  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
the really important part is the Vram is it a 4 gb or not?
NGU low or med may wotj with 4 GB and it is not like you have to use NGU there are a lot of good alternatives in madVR.

in my personal experience it is not hard to beat a TV in scaling.
my panasonic TV is so bad at scaling that lanczos AR wins hands down. Tv scaler are usually totally over the top try hard scaler.
LG OLED 4k upscaling is actually pretty good, it also has a superes option which is also very good.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.